Customer center login

Sennheiser E 906

1401 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.9 /5
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
features
sound
quality
One of my favourite Mics
D Rea, 05.08.2020
This is (simply put) an incredible mic. Having spent years using SM57s for a guitar amp application, this was a breath of fresh air. Clear, crisp top and mid range without the nuisance expanding bass response of the 57. The flat head design makes it a great space saver when micing live and the strong clip design means the mic can hang (god forbid) if necessary.

The Supercardioid pattern catches a small touch of the projection of the amp that can give a bit of perceived space and size that simple cardioid mics might miss out on (depending on the quality of the space the amp is placed in). This can be a negative with unwanted rear pickup in small live setups or poor recording environments, so do keep that in mind. I have used this as a snare mic on a couple of occasions and have to say it did a wonderful job. Depending on your preference. the rear pickup can be useful or completely painful depending on genre, style, player etc etc, but definitely opens up options.

I haven't used the Hi cut/boot much, however definitely can be a useful if you have a lot of top end energy you want to deal with before it reaches the desk.

The only thing is that I feel a little conscious when handling it in comparison to something like the 57. But almost a year on , it hasn't failed me yet.

And it even tells you which way is front so idiots like me know where to point it (while giving Sennheiser a little bit of advertising)

Great mic for great money.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Bang for the buck
Jackfisher, 04.07.2019
The 906 is my second "serious" microphone and it does what it's spouse to do: mic up my guitar cab.
It's very straight forward, take an XLR cable, plug it into your interface, turn on phantom power and set it up on you cab and play!
I'm micing a marshall 1x12 with a celestion speaker, going into a focusrite 2i2 2gen, and it just works.
Worked great so far for both clean tones and high gain, it's a jack of all trades but not really a master of all.
If you are looking for something to mic up a cab for metal, I would go with the SM57 which is cheaper, but won't be as good with the clean tones.
There are better mics out there, but not in this price range that will do all that this mic will do, also the build quality is great, it's built like a solid brick, so you don't have to worry about it, Sennheiser really know their stuff, so they make quality gear.
Besides micing up a guitar cab, there isn't much else you can do with it since it is built with a specific purpose in mind, so it does loose in the features department.
Who is this for? For guitarists that want to record gear demos and don't want to spend too much on a microphone.
Who isn't this for? Metal guitarists that just need something to capture a really sharp and heavy sound. The 906 does low to mid-high gain well, an SM57 will do better with the really harsh stuff.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Overall great mic
andi.gal93, 19.08.2019
Not a surprise, it's known as a great microphone.

It's extremely versatile, you can use it an a lot of instruments. Mostly I use them on a electric guitar, where it's perfect. But I also tried them on snare, brass instruments,...

Pros: - small
- well built
- 3 way-switch (flat, low cut, high cut)
- price
- brand

Cons: - there are really no any I should mention here (nothing objective, only subjective)

If you are looking for a well built, good sounding, quality microphone to use it any concert, any weather condition, I recommend buying the Sennheiser E906. Worth the money!

Other official specs:
Dimensions
55 x 34 x 134 mm
Connector
XLR-3
Frequency response
40 - 18000 Hz
Weight
140 g
Sensitivity in free field, no load (1kHz)
2,2 mV/Pa
Nominal impedance
350 Ω
Min. terminating impedance
1000 Ω

The only thing, that might be confusing (or maybe only for dumb-asses like me) is the grill orientation. One side of the grill has the logo on it, and the other is black and it says "FRONT" under it. Don't confuse that with the overall orientation - front refers to the front of the mic membrane and the front should be oriented towards the speaker or other sound source! :D
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Best mic for guitar cabs!
Szymon, 12.05.2017
Sennheiser E906 is the best dynamic microphone I have ever used on a guitar cab. My first mic dynamic mic was SM57 (nothing surprising) because it was recommended to me by many guitarists and studio techs. After using SM57 for a while I've decided to try something else and see how it compares to good old 57. After receiving a package from Thomann (very fast delivery - Well done again Thomann!) I have immediately compared both microphones.
I was expecting it to sound different than 57 but not extremely different. I was blown away when I've heard E906... Warm, full, thick, ribbon-like sound. I'm extremely satisfied with this microphone. Build quality is outstanding and it's very light if anyone cares.
Highly recommended!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Insanely natural recordings
Mdizzle, 12.05.2021
I've now got this hanging permanently from my Fender Blues Combo, and it does a remarkable job at presenting an uninhibited, completely natural sound. Whatever you play out of your amp, this mic'll capture it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
nikos.hou, 22.10.2019
great mic. I used it for snare drum micing. It certainly sounds better than the shure mic all the soundguys use. and the price is good
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
No advertising needed
Q_ball, 28.05.2019
The best I've had so far. Far more like it than sure sm57 ... Use it for metal guitars and it excels no matter where I place it, which is the other good thing ... handles well the highs, nice middle range and present lows. On top of that the switch it has makes it even more versatile.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Extreamly solid
ILikeWeirdThings, 09.02.2020
Solid mic great sound, no issues, if you alredy have 3 SM57 then this is 100% on your list.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Sennheiser E 906
Munex, 12.07.2021
Beast sennheiser Microphone for instrument's recording and by the actual price by thomann I couldn't let it easily go.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
A step up from a SM57
Iain M., 22.09.2014
As a relative newcomer to the world of live sound until now I've been content with a pair of SM57s for miking guitar cabs.

But on the recommendation of a trusted and experienced touring engineer friend I purchased a pair of Sennheiser E906s and am delighted!

The initial sound is noticeably richer and warmer but beyond that there is a three position roll off switch which enables you to sculpt the sound at source prior to reaching the desk. It's definitely worth playing with these alternatives to get the very best out of the microphones.

Also, the side address presentation of the mic means that you can get extremely close to the sound source and when used on a guitar cab, you can do away with either a mic stand, cab grab or clamp and simply hang the mic over the front of the cab.

Oh, and the side labelled 'front' is the one that should face the sound source leaving the funky 'e' logo to face the audience
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Exceeded expectations
Maxel3000, 03.11.2020
I use the mic for my Marshall 1960 cabinet. I have for many years used a SM57 for that purpose. The difference is way bigger than I expected. This is one of the best purchases I've done.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
E906 on snare!
Michi_Drums, 31.12.2018
What an incredible microphone!! I'm using it on top of my snare, combined with two SM57s, one on top next to the E906, and the other one on the bottom side. The snare sounds HUGE!! I simply love it!! What an incredible deal!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Good choice
elephantman, 26.05.2017
I use this mic on guitar cab.

I like its biting tone. Not harsh but strong highs.
Can work as a stand alone mic for guitar but even better when complemented with an other one that is stonger with the lows e.g. MD 421.

Looks cool and seems it is built to last.

I haven't experienced any drawbacks, it works like a charm.

I can only recommend it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great instrument mic
Simoncore, 05.10.2017
I bought this one as an alternative to sm57. I knew its a great mic for guitar amps, but when I tried it on a snare drum, I absolutely FELT IN LOVE with this mic! Because of the bigger size, you have to find a safe spot for it, but it totally worth it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Top!
review, 15.02.2014
I bought the Mic in 2012 due to the fact that I don't liked the sound change of my Shure SM57. I had troubles to get the same sound every night, because not only the the vertical and horizontal positioning is very important there, but also the angle.
With the Sennheiser E906 I am now completley satisfierd. I just flip it over the cap and get the same sound every night. Also the sound that comes out of the PA-system is more similar to the sound that comes out of my cab, which i like a lot. Furthermore I don't have to bring a mike stand anymore.
I rated on star less at quality, because some parts are made of plastic. For the price the whole thing could be made of metal.

Summary:
- Good Sound
- Simple handling
- Price is okay
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Perfect guitar mic
Allthatjazz, 17.12.2019
lightweight but sturdy small mic. perfect for guitar recording and amplification. clarity in the overal tone spectrum. Easy to use on a boom or a stand. Can be hung in front of your speaker because it is very light weight.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
One trick pony but a great pony!
RussellD, 10.09.2014
Originally bought this mic because I'd read they were great on snare drums. I didn't find this to be the case and thought I'd made an expensive mistake.

However, put this mic on a guitar cab and you'll be glad you did. A different flavour to the standard Shure SM57, with the three way EQ switch giving further options (this switch supposedly covers the EQ curves of previous mics in this range) Just remember to make sure the mic is facing the correct way round!

I'll probably find it works nicely on something else, but for now it's my go to mic for electric guitars.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
02.03.2015
I purchased this mike to record downtuned metal guitar in an iso cabinet.I have previously used a sure sm57 but i liked the idea of the Senheisser E906.It is easier to position and i can manouver it around more then the 57 in the restricted space of an iso cab.The souind is similar to the sm57 in some ways but i think has a more fuller sound, and it has 3 settings, normal,high for metal and a darker setting.These can be switched between with the small switch on back of mike. Just like all mikes the sound differs when pointed at different parts of the speaker.It is a great little mike for all styles of guitar.I recommend this mike and im very happy with the purchase and the service from Thoman.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Highly recommended and surprisingly versatile
Christopher1875, 29.01.2016
Whilst typically used by my colleagues for guitar cabs, which is does admirably, I have found this to be adaptable. Certainly the shape makes it ideally suited for speakers and its reputation for capturing crunchy guitar is well deserved but it also copes brilliantly with a variety of other applications, including snare and other noisy ambient percussion.
The build is terrific. Durable and reassuring. It was pitched to me as one of the best instrument mics available and I have to say I agree. Quality wise it's hard to think of anything better, certainly in a live scenario (and especially since you can basically hang it in front of a speaker in a pinch with minimal fuss).
Great item.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
A great amp microphone
Vale Perkons, 03.08.2016
I got the Senheiser E906 for studio use to upgrade my existing mic locker and I'm very pleased with the sound and design of this microphone. I use it on guitar cabinets and it captures a textured, crunchy tone with silky highs. The three position switch on the microphone allows for further tone shaping featuring a high-cut, a flat position and a high shelf boost. I still have to try the microphone on snare and brass.

The build quality is excellent - the microphone is rugged and can withstand all sorts of abuse. I recommend this microphone for both live and studio environments - an amazing product for guitar cabinets.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
I use it for guitar amps
Zolly03, 13.01.2018
Sennheiser are really nice and these e906 are nothing less!
I bought two of these for the studio. They are clean and nice sounding, quite warm and articulate. They also have a switch so you can fiddle around with that and the actual position of the mic. Their shape is nice because you can mic a cabinet without a stand, you just hang them off the cabinet and it's perfect. I compared it to other microphones of the same category and was very pleased by the outcome. It's really a matter of taste, but these microphones are indeed good sounding and an all around balanced and clear sound. I did notice that the two e906 i have do sound different a bit so i guess they are not all 100% the same, but you would expect that on any microphone. Slight differences may always appear! Good buy, i'm really pleased. They do come with small gig bags for the mic itself!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Much better than the E609
Jbite, 19.03.2019
The E906 is a far better microphone than the E609. but not as good as the MD421-II. If you have £400 to spend, buy the 421. The position switch on the E906 is very useful, I have used this mic on a wide variety of electric guitar amps, brass instruments, woodwind instruments, snare drums and even a few acoustic guitars without issue.

My biggest problem is the mic clip, which feels cheap and likely to break, just like the 421's. Why a £200 mic has such a cheap clip, I don't know.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
My dream live mic
Leon Z., 09.12.2019
I mostly play 'clean' genres (country, funk, surf, jazz, blues) and this is my favourite mic to use. A sound guy brought one out on a gig and I couldn't believe what an improvement over the usual Shure SM57 this was. Great clarity, better dynamics and such a pleasing faithful recreation of my amp tone... I was hooked. Had to buy one and yes - it delivers the goods. It makes my amps (Fender Deluxe Reverb, Mesa Lonestar) sound mic'd live simply stellar.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Awesome mic!
12.02.2017
Purchased this for my home studio, totally changed my guitar amp recordings!
a much clearer and transparent response to the sound compared to more commonly used dynamic mics, as well as a very close representation to what I actually hear from the amp itself. without even considering the positioning of it in relation to the cone, has a much wider frequency response and is much more balanced than other dynamic mics used with guitar amps.
very happy of this purchase, would definitely recommend it!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Bright, responsive, unique
Reminiscence, 20.08.2020
Used for a snare, a djembe (on top) and an acoustic guitar.
The sound is well represented by the audio on Thomann:
Really bright and responsive, with the lows cut out.
It does exactly what it seems to do and does it really well!
One of my favourite mics in my collection!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Sennheiser E 906

£155
Free shipping incl. VAT
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-35
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Phone: +49-9546-9223-4800
FAX: +49-9546-9223-4899
Phone: +49-9546-9223-40
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Online Guides
Cello
Cello
Learning to play an instrument is a long, but immensely rewarding journey, and this guide has been designed to help at the start of that journey.
Online Guides
Double Basses
Double Basses
This guide aims to help complete beginners and existing double bass students (and their parents).
Online Guides
Violas
Violas
Learning to play an Viola is a long, but rewarding journey, and this guide has been designed to help at the start.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
test results: