Customer center login

Rode NT5 MP

927 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.7 /5
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
features
sound
quality
Buy them. Now. What are you waiting for!?
Craig S., 11.08.2015
First of all, I'm not a producer, just a drummer/multi instrumentalist that wanted to start recording some stuff. They came recommended to me from a friend who is a producer and I love him for it.

They arrived in their own little box that Rode made especially for them and it's of excellent quality - sturdy, travel safe and holds everything in place well. In the box it contains the mics, 2 microphone clips, and wind mufflers (I haven't used them but I'm guessing they work well).

I set them up as overheads for my drum kit and BAM, I fell in love with them. As I said, I'm no producer so I literally threw them over my kit, not knowing anything about phase issues or anything like that, and the sound was incredible. I've used them on many recordings and every time the producer/engineer has asked me what mics I'm using as my overheads.

I also used one of them to record acoustic guitar, a cheap squire one, and it sounded amazing as well - it was also just thrown in front of it with not much thought going into placement.

I highly recommend these mics, they're amazing value for money and will never go wrong!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Amazing microphones from Rode!
Jay237921, 13.06.2018
I bought a matched pair of Rode NT5 from Thomann and I have been using them for quite a while now. I use these microphones in several scenarios, in my post-production and location recording work I use these mics for dialogue and foley recording and they sound absolutely amazing. Very low noise and excellent frequency response, they have never gone wrong in any situation so far. I use these mice as a stereo pair for my drums overhead as well, they sound bright and crisp and works well with the type of music I produce. So if you are after a bright and crisp sounding for your cymbals and general drum kit sound I'd recommend these rodes NT5.
The built quality of these microphones is brilliant, very solid and robust.
You can check this review on Sound on Sound for the Rode NT5 which you might find useful: a nutshell, I am really satisfied with the versatility of these microphones. If you are looking for a good quality pair of condenser microphones these Rodes will to the job for you and in my opinion, they are the best in this price range of course.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Best little mics!
NicholasV, 04.06.2013
I have been using two matched pairs of Rode NT5's for live recordings of classical music, orchestras, choirs, small ensembles and bands, I have the Omni capsules for them as well as the Cardioid ones, simple to set up as they have no on body controls, the mics can handle high spf's and have relatively little self noise, so they are suited both to overheads for drums or suspended above a choir. the signal response is fairly flat and can need some brightening up, but doesn't turn harsh with EQ boosts, I would compare these mics against some of the more expensive options available, in my opinion they are better than the sE1a's (a similarly priced alternative) and considering their price, they stack up well against the AKG 451b's. both sets of microphones were bought from Thomann and have been delivered quickly and without fuss in solid plastic cases with foam windshields and solid little microphone clips
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
nice mic and in budget pair
Peterfok, 24.10.2020
nice mic for me to record a group of eastern orchestra.
I have tested among some mic such as nt2a, akg c5, behringer c02, akg perception 120, shure beta 58.
nt5 gave me confidence to buy. I have bought 4 pairs of nt5 and 2 nt2a.

if you want to use this to record, I think it is less noise comparing with c02. c02 seems receiving too much unnecessary voice. (maybe mid level frequency).
nt 5 is weaker than nt2a. maybe the point is diaphragm size.
akg120 is omini mic less attractive then nt5.
akg c5's voice makes me feel that it has more low freq.
in conclusion, nt 5 is in budget and reliable. I also feel like high standard voice in low budget.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Absolutely recommended
NikMartken, 25.07.2018
After the first use of these mics you simply will fall in love with them: sturdy, small and compact but perfect for heavy duty jobs, balanced, clear, nice sound... They sound awesome on guitars and as drums overheads, but they can fit in many other uses of course, like miking percussions, shakers, hangs and all those instruments that need to be captured nice and clear both live and in the studio.
They are built for holding up "hot plugging/unplugging" if the phantom power is on while operating with cables, great feature.
These NT5 are absolutely highly recommended, great value for money and perfect for beginners and experts.
Moreover, if you forget to turn off the phantom power, they are "hot plugging/unplugging" resistant: a great feature to have (but remember to turn off the +48V always while managing condensers).
So.... yes: these NT5 are absolutely highly recommended, great value for money and perfect for beginners and experts.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
good quality
tmfer, 29.04.2021
Gets the job done very well.
I used this for choir and even for ambiente sound capture.
Overall the results were positive.
Only bad aspect was that I was expecting a slightly larger gain before feedbacl
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great pair for acoustic instruments even for boompole!
Vata Dinal, 07.11.2019
I used this mics to record upright pianos and grand pianos and I'm really satisfied. Also for acoustic and classical guitars. I also used em separately on a boom pole, worked well but only in small rooms for talks and spot recordings.

Definitely I recommend this pair!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Clear and crispy
Ballzi, 17.01.2021
if you set it right, you will get very clear results.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Works as expected
tobgan, 09.03.2020
It's a fairly precise microphone. It's a very precise microphone a really great value for the price. Sound good on acoustic guitars or overheads
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Quality, Affordable Small Diaphragm Condenser Mics by Rode
Stephen137, 25.09.2013
I chose these mics mainly based on their reputation for good build quality and on their price point. I had some reservations as I've heard a few users complain they sound 'harsh' - but I've found them to be very decent sounding. They do exhibit a slight high end boost - but this is nothing that can't be sorted out with good mic placement technique and/or a touch of EQ.

My first impression was that they are extremely well packaged in a hard plastic case with storage for accessories, and with an additional storage pouch for the mics - handy if you don't want to carry the large case around. The included mic clips are of excellent quality, and hold the mics extremely securely.

The NT5s are very solid, look fantastic and feel extremely well made. I've been running them through Motu preamps and am more than happy with the results. They're extremely sensitive, and as a stereo pair I've found they capture a very realistic sound field (especially in ORTF configuration) As ever, mic placement is crucial to achieve good results, but I've found the NT5s pretty versatile on a variety of sources. Used as single spot mics on drums/percussion they've given excellent results - they shine particularly well on cymbals, hi-hats, crashes etc. I've also had very decent results mic'ing acoustic guitars with them (one on the neck, one near the bridge). I've had a quite a few comments from visitors to my studio who thought I was in the room playing when it was actually playback they were hearing!

At this price point I can't really fault the NT5s, and would recommend them highly as a first pair of SDCs for anyone on a tight budget. They look and feel like a quality product, and they certainly deliver excellent results. add to this the included accessories and extensive Rode warranty, and I think you have an excellent stereo set for the money.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Accessorize
AdamM, 14.05.2013
These mics are great. However, it would have been nice if the pack included a stereo bar attachment for a mic stand as, for me, their main use is for acoustic guitar and using 2 mic stands is a bit cumbersome. I'd recommend purchasing a stereo bar at the same time.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
15.09.2014
Brilliant sounding mic's. They work really well as overheads for drums though there can be a slight harshness in the top end, which is easily corrected with EQ. They work sublimely on acoustic guitar, the previously mentioned high-end harshness is completely removed and is replaced with a very clear and crisp "sparkle". The low-end frequency response is relatively warm and still sounds very clear. I tried these on a set of mid and high toms and found it produced a really full "deep" sound though it is worth noting that the gain had to be set quite low to avoid massive spill from other parts of the kit.

Unfortunately, one of the RM5 clips I received was much stiffer and tighter, requiring a great deal of effort to put the mic into. The other clip was much more malleable and did not have this problem however.

I would still recommend these mic's to anyone looking for a great value set of overheads for drums or even a bedroom studio jamming some acoustic guitar.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Cheap
TouchTimeRecords, 20.10.2020
I don't like them, they are cheap and sound cheap.
Ok when you don't have anything else, maybe, but since I already have good condenser mics, in the end I sold them and bought a pair of dynamic mics (Sennheiser MD421 BF / 521).
I tried them on acoustic guitar and hated them, tried them as overheads and was very disappointed.
The only thing it was ok for was the Hi-Hat, but I mean, it always cuts out of the mix even when it's not miked, so...
I'd personally stay away and look further.
As an example, a Sontronics mic for mono is much better than any stereo array with there.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
My go-to SDCs!
Peter G. 3748, 21.01.2016
When I need a small diaphragm condenser microphone I turn to these. They're probably the best microphones of their type in this price range.

They sound very clear and crisp and are excellent when used for hi-hats, drum overheads, choirs and just about every other situation you would use a SDC for.

The capsule can be swapped out for an omni capsule (purchased separately) which only adds to the functionality.

Excellent build quality, but keep an eye on the locking screw for the XLR connection, sometimes it becomes slightly loose and can come out but is an easy fix!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Fine quality mics!
dc 73, 19.12.2020
I've been using these microphones to record classical guitars not in a studio but in my workshop. The end result was always satisfying and the price very good compared to the quality.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
I love them
maajstor, 25.09.2014
I bought 3 matched pairs of Rode NT5's and use them mainly for miking string instruments with excellent results.
I used them also as choir overhead in XY position at 90 degrees but only for recording, not FOH. The stereo sound picture I got is loud and clear, I was able to hear every detail in singing of about 20 singers in a choir. One word, unbeatable.
I tried it once with cajon, put it on the hole, but didn't like very much what I got. That is mostly due it's design nature, not a flaw. Dynamic mic with larger diaphragm does better there.
Quality is as you'd expect from Rode, at highest level, NT5 feels sturdy and durable.
In conclusion, I find NT5 an excellent choice, no regrets at all.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
The best in this price range
Radney Stanchev, 27.02.2018
Everyone knows that Rhode offers great quality at very competityve prices. The best exsamples are NT1-A and NT5. Having them both I can confirm their reputation is well deserved. I use them both in my small project studio NT1-A for vocals and acoustic instruments and NT5 mainly as overheads for drums, but it can be used also as stereo mics for naration, acoustic guitar, etc... My first impression is the obvious building quality. They look and feel reasurring. The sound is clear and crisp, I rearly use EQ with them. My room is quite small and yet I am happy with the result I get from them. I'm ot very fond of the plastic case they come with but it's not a deal breaker. Overal great mics for their value.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Can't go wrong
Robert9504, 25.02.2015
I purchased the NT5s some time ago and couldn't be happier. They function great as overheads, had them on a few different kits now and they perform great every time. As well as overheads the Nt5s done a great job as an xy pair, in the room and in front of the kit. They came in a great case and the included clips are of great quality. Would have been nice if they came with a bar for easier xy application but doesnt really take away from the purchase at all. I have been recording now with them through a pre and straight into my interface and every time they surprise me. A real "go to" matched pair.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Good product, good price.
James W74, 23.06.2019
Very good. I recorded piano trio using these and took to the studio for professional mixing. It sounded great
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Very good for the price.
14.02.2015
I have used them for many years, but manly on a "hobby level", even if I have also used them on a couple of CD productions. Good microphones, good resolution and detail, even if they are not as revealing as the classic (and expensive) KM84/184s.
The pop filters and mounting brackets do their job just fine for the money, too.

I have used them on studio recordings of guitars, wind instruments, drums, vocals (ambience mike), percussion etc. They always deliver a workable sound, even if I normally need to eq them a bit, especially the lower range, wich is not as "tight" as some better mikes. The higer mid is also not as clean as some better models, too. But it is not always you want "clean" so that is not necessarily a bad thing.

I have also made more "documentary" recordings (live church choier ets) and used them for live performances of both rock and more acoustic music. In fact, I think they are even more value for money live, as the potential improvement from a more expensive mike is often not audible in a live mix.

I would buy them again if they were stolen or lost.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Faultless sound recording
Callum G., 10.08.2019
I've used these for recording acoustic guitar - one pointing at the bridge, the other at the neck. The improvement on the previous single Rode condenser microphone is amazing. I would thoroughly recommend this setup for recording - worth every penny (or cent!).
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great for drums
Mgold.music, 24.01.2021
Best over head for drum set
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great pair of mics
SoulWorks, 09.06.2020
I unpacked these mics and connected them to an audio interface to do some test recording... and I was very impressed. The sound reproduction is excellent. I look forward to using them 'for real', as I suspect they are going to be a great addition to our set-up. And it's useful that they come with a hard case for storage!!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Love these mics
midnightdim, 01.03.2019
I started using them as overheads for drums, then used them for acoustic instruments (violin, flute) and ended up using them for every recording, even for vocals (in combination with one "main" central mic).

They sound good and clear, and in my setup (1 central mic + this pair) they add air and space.
I even used them as vocal mics on a gig once, though they're not designed for this :-)

Overall, I'm very happy about this purchase. One of the greatest tools in my arsenal!
They also come in a very handy case with nice and useful accessories (although the case could actually be much smaller).
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great mics
Joeken, 28.03.2020
These mics are great for Acoustic guitars, drum overheads, piano and much much more! Personally, I do not love the way they sound, but saying that they do sound great for the money! It would be great if they had some sort of Pad or roll off switches, but again for the money you can't be that picky.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Rode NT5 MP

£248
Free shipping incl. VAT
In stock within 3-4 weeks
In stock within 3-4 weeks

This item is expected back in stock soon and can then be shipped immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-35
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Phone: +49-9546-9223-34
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24