Rode M5 MP

258 Customer Ratings:
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.7 / 5.0
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
28 written ratings
Total
features
sound
quality
Great Value, Great Mics
Jack D, 09.04.2018
As my first matched pair of mics I was really looking forward to getting my hands on them from the moment I made the purchase. I can say nothing but great things about these microphones, they are absolutely fantastic for their price and in my opinion excellently built. Whether your recording or gigging they can take a beating with their robust structure and finish. The mic clips are a little stiff but I wouldn?t class that as a bad thing as they are sure to stay secure in the clips.

So far I have used these microphones to record piano, guitar and also as drum overheads. I have also used them underneath a stage from Irish dancing as FX mics and I was really pleased with what they picked up.

Having worked with more expensive mic in the past the M5s are truly a bargain and I would highly recommend them.

Great work from Rode again!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
very competitive
Steven2363, 10.12.2013
I have found these microphones to be absolutely fantastic for their price, excellent (mostly) flat frequency response gives a beautifully clear representation of whatever you're recording and in my opinion adds a slight bit of it's own warmth to the texture of the sound. so far I have used these microphones to record uilleann pipes, violin, mandolin and banjo using them as a close and far set, I am also using them to record piano, guitar and drum overheads in AB position. In my experience these microphones are boxing above their class in terms of price, competing with much more expensive microphones including the Rode Nt-5s. Could not recommend them more for a beginner producer on a budget.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Fantastic little mics for amazing value!
RemyG, 01.09.2019
I bought these two little microphones some years ago because I was looking for some multi-purpose and cheap mics to do some home recordings of a variety of acoustic instruments, like guitar, cajon, voice... And I must say I've been really happy with the quality of the sound that gets picked up by them. They are well balanced, really light and discreet, and they work well by themselves or as a pair. The only thing I would say is that due to some poor care on my part the metal receiving end of one of them got a bit damaged and bruised, but as I said it was due to my own negligence so nothing bad to say about them really! Highly recommended for beginner home recorders who don't want to spend too much money but still get a decent sound!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Alround talent
SaschaC, 16.02.2014
The Rode M5 Pair is really amazing.

Sound:

I own these microphones for over half a year now and i am quite impressed about the quality. I haven't noticed any noise or other annoying sounds combined with my Focusrite Saffire 6 USB.
I recorded vocals, acoustic guitar, acoustic bass, flute and pinao with a high resolution and natural sound.
Even in a church they cut quite a dash.

Reliability and durability:

These twins are built to last! They are finished quite tough.
Another great thing about them is, that they are so small.

There is just one little thing what is annoying. The microphone clamp is a little to tight.
It is a pain in the arse everytime you take them out of the box to fumble them in the clamp.

Finally these mics are definitely worth the price.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
One of the best budget pair of microphones
Aetherstone, 17.07.2018
I am sure that for this price tag, the pair is more than worth every single cent (and even more).
I own 3 different small condenser microphones: akg p17, sontronics stc1 and rode m5 mp.
I compared them directly and scientifically and I can with no doubt say that the rode is surely better than the other 2. maybe the other mics have more functions (like pad, low cut or interchangeable capsules) but regarding the sound timbre I really prefer this one.
The mounting system is also of a good build quality (unlike akg and sontronics).
The pair comes equipped even with a wind foam stopper and I really can't ask much more for the price!
As for the moment I see no downsides. You sure would find even better mics but you would have to raise your budget of 50/100 euros minimum.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Best SDC's in this price range!
willdefear, 07.11.2018
Truly the best sounding SDC's in this price range. I've used these many times for drum overheads in live sound and recording, and they truly are the best i've heard at this price level.

The extra small format makes them ultra portable, yet they still provide a rich cymbal sound and don't appear 'trashy' like some cheaper condensor mics can.

My only gripe is the lack of a pad switch, but it hasn't been a huge issue so far.

Overall highly reccomended if decent SDC's are needed on a budget!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Natural crisp sound
04.10.2014
The Rode M5 is a superb mic for recording or live applications, at least in my opinion. Acoustic guitar sounds natural, vocals sound full and balanced. Of course the sound is dependent on the mic placement, so you can get feedback and the sound might not be excellent, if you have to compromise with the placement. And handling noise is remarkable, so I wouldn't use this in a place where someone might move it during a speach or other.
But all in all, I do think that this is a very good mic in its niche, and a great assett in recording or live. Everything that I have done with these, I have been happy with.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Universal pen mics
Maximoff, 11.04.2018
I bought them for home studio, recording strings, grand piano, and for job "outside of studio".

Yep, these are not the best sounding small diaphragm mics, but for that price...

I often record some events on outside, in classic consert halls, or overheads for drums. I need well and true sounding mics, not expensive. When I take it with me, I don't afraid of some issues, like falling down, breaking, or something like that. Because they are strong made, lightweight and cheap.

But, wherein, sounding amazing in this class.
On my opinion, thes sound more soft, than Rode NT5.

Pros:
- Well known, respectable Australian manufacturer, giving extended warranty.
- Price.
- True open sound.

Cons:
- Weak bass response

Good, well sounding, stereopair. Nothing extra. Universal mics.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Rode MP5 pair
Jonathan1247, 05.01.2015
There was a fault with the first Pair of these I received. There was a 10-15dB background hiss in one of the pair. Thomann's return procedure worked flawlessly and I had a replacement pair a few days later.

I haven't used these microphones in the field yet however on unboxing and some testing in the studio I have the following observations.

The sound quality is very neutral with plenty of detail lending itself for varied creative use. I've tried them with a small group of voices and a guitar and the results are all pleasing and very usable.

On the physical side it would have been good to include a stereo bar but as I already had one, no problem. The clips supplied are extremely tight but once the mics are in, they have a very smooth locking mechanism which makes adjusting them very easy. I would just suggest that you assemble the mics in the clips before you put them onto a stand or a bar as the forces needed to get them into the clips might cause damage or injury!

They are solidly made so in spite of the issue with the clips I never felt I might damage the mics. They don't have Pads so you can't make adjustments for extreme environments or instruments.

Value for money is clearly the winner here. These are quality mics for which you could pay at least double for something equivalent. The lack of a stereo bar and pads in no way takes anything away from the bargain that these transducers represent.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Brilliant mics for the money.
07.12.2015
I'm not a big fan of Rode mics normally. I've found their large diaphragm mics to be too spotty and distorted in the top end.

However, these are great mics for the money. I needed some backup mics for sessions with lots of musicians.

These don't have a bunch of character but that's exactly what I wanted from them.

They are quite hot and don't have pads which is a shame because it precludes them from being used on anything too loud. They can handle the SPL as far as I can tell but overload most preamps.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
No doubts, this is a winner
maajstor, 25.09.2014
I bought this pair of microphones as an upgrade over single EV RE200 mic for miking a concert piano in our local church.
It's like my ears suddenly opened and I can finally hear all the tones this piano produces. I set them pointing straight from above at 90 degrees angle positioned at 1/3 and 2/3 of strings scale, at about 30cm height. I mix them in mono to get even frequencies in both sides of the church.
Although I own 6 of M5's big brothers NT5's, I find no substantial difference in sound between the two, at least not in my application.
There are no cut/pass switches, no user changeable capsules, only pure plug-and-play microphone.
My best recommendations.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
All purpose, clear sound!
Tim van Emmerloot, 24.12.2018
I used these for several things. Guitar amp recordings, overheads, hihats and even snare. These give a really nice and clear sound! (I made a video using them for mono OH and Snare: Sequence - Tim van Emmerloot, on youtube)

Im not a fan of dynamic snare mics, so I used these and they work really well!! Definitely a good purchase if you're looking for sdc mics!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great Value
01.08.2016
The sound these mics can produce for the price is amazing - I use these with a Rode M3 on the Hi Hat and they get seriously good results. Fantastic product. Rode as usual are a real winner here.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Incredible !
Ian Ginn, 03.03.2016
These microphones are the business.
Purchased 2 for my congas.
Recorded acoustic guitar through them, they sound superb.
Small, lightweight and incredible sound.
Great Thomann service as usual.
BUY THEM,,,,you won't be disappointed.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Sounds awesome
Fools gold, 31.05.2019
more money for your buck. Great sound
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Very good!
julian spiteri, 31.01.2018
I have used these mics in live situations where I miced a classical guitar and an acoustic violin. They sounded very nice with these mics. Also they did give a lot of output before feedback.
The mic clip is very stiff and it is true that it is not easy to insert the mics in it but that makes them more secure and you know they won't fall off.
They are also very small and portable. Great work from Rode!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Wow
JustinC, 17.05.2015
I am totally satisfied with the results I achieved using this pair of small diaphragm condensers. I am using them mostly to record strings instruments ( violin, viola, cello and an Egyptian Kanoon until now ). The sound is accurate, warm and natural. They look like they are built to last and for this price is a real bargain.
As a fun fact, I asked the cellist who I recorded for an estimative price and he said...around 500 ? for each at least :)

I was surprised to see they come with their own mounting clams and windscreen, which is not much but adds to the value. You just have a hard time fitting it to those clips but once they're in place, they are very stable.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Love them
Macbury, 16.09.2017
Nice and clear, not too pricey
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great allround mics
xoonoow, 24.11.2018
Bought the Rode M5 MP more than 3 years ago. I use them on a small stage on weekly basis, both for instruments (violin, chello, recorder) and vocals in live acts. I'm satisfied with the sound, due to the dimensions easy to set them in a visually non-intrusive way. The only thing i miss is carrying packet, the original paper box packaging is too big to carry day to day.
I like these mics, great value for the price, I always have them in my pack.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Excellent well priced microphones
Jonathan5131, 03.08.2017
My son found these microphones to be a very good alternative to the more expensive range of microphones. He uses them with his percussion instruments which include conga, bongos, cymbals, shakers etc... If you do not want to spend too much money but still have a good microphone, I would recommend the Rode M5.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great value
imreych, 11.11.2019
I ordered the matched set for home recordings using acoustic guitars and other instruments. They are great value and appear to be well built -- although I have not used them for too long. They do not have a low-cut filter or a Passive Attenuation Device (PAD) switch, although this is probably understandable at this price range. An on/off switch could have helped. The included mic clasps are quite tight, which is another small issue. But, I am really trying to find something negative to say here... ;-)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great buy
ptr22, 26.05.2015
Considering the price these microphones are amazing. I was on the search for something small, light and affordable that still sounds great for ambience or overheads and these mics are perfect for that. Highly recommended.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
good stuff
Federico Vivani, 17.09.2017
They are a good option, especially if you do not have a good budget and you want to record with an acceptable sound quality. They are great to record string quartets and small string orchestras. I've tested it and works perfectly fine. It also has an extended warranty up to 10 years. The only thing against which serial number (printed to the website and authorize the extended warranty) is printed on the product box, so if you throw it away you automatically lost the warranty. (as I did it, because I've bought it in a trip, and when I was about to return I needed some space in the suitcase, so I threw it, and when I arrived to my country I realised that I needed the box )
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great value small condenser mic set
TomMc, 09.05.2017
When I saw the price of this pair of small diaphragm condenser mics I was a little skeptical that they might be rubbish. I was wrong! These are very good quality mics and for the money very well worth it. I was somewhat shocked by the actual size of them - they're tiny but they are very effective and offer a good quality sound (at least on acoustic instruments). I used them on a harp to capture a stereo image and I couldn't be more happy. In an ideal world I'd love to have a dozen Neumann's at hand however that's beyond my budget. As a very happy compromise I have been adding in different mics to cater for a number of recording applications and on my most recent project, these came in and worked perfectly. I'm considering buying another pair as I think they're extremely versatile for my uses and so affordable.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great Value for Money
08.08.2016
Bought these as a throw around pair for a small wedding band that I have. Primarily being used as drum OHs.

Needed something a bit higher quality than bottom end but not too expensive and these seemed to be the pair for me.

The quality of the mic is fantastic. Nice weight and a good size. comes with the clips and wind protectors. So far they work great and are putting up with my abuse.

I won't go into reviewing the sound as its very subjective but would recommend checking the RODE YouTube account. Great videos on there, basically that is what made me buy these.

The only downside is that I wish they came with a little bag or wallet to keep them together and safe. I currently take around the box they came in. However I have another foam mic box, so i think i will cut out a little slot in the foam for them to live in.

Apart from that a very usable pair of pencil mics.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Rode M5 MP

£125
Free shipping incl. VAT
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-35
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Phone: +49-9546-9223-20
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
(1)
Recently Viewed
Modal Argon8

Wavetable Synthesizer 8-Voice polyphonic, 37-Key keyboard with velocity (FATAR TP9/S) with aftertouch, 120 Wavetables divided into 24 banks of 5 morphable waveform sets, 28 Static wavetable processors, 32 Wavetable oscillators, 4 per voice, with 8 types including: Phase Mod...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Rode VideoMic NTG

Rode VideoMic NTG; On-Camera Shotgun Microphone; Highly directional supercardioid polar pattern; Convenient cold shoe mounting on camera; Frequency response: 35 Hz – 20 kHz (±3 dB); High sensitivity: 50 mV, SPL: 120 dB; Peak warning light; -20 dB Pad switch;...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Soundbrenner Core

4-in-1 Smart music tool in clock format 4 Functions: Watch, vibrating silent metronome, magnetic tuner and decibel meter, You always have your tools with you, whether you're practicing at home, recording in the studio or even performing on stage.,...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Mooer GE 250

Mooer GE 250 Amp modelling & Multi Effects, multi-effects pedal, 70 high-quality amp models from the Micro Preamp series, 32 different default cabinet simulations (IRs), supports 3rd party impulse responses (IRs, 2048 pts.) in 10 free user presets, 60 drum...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Epiphone Les Paul Custom Ebony

Electric Guitar Body: Mahogany, 5-Way body binding, Neck: Mahogany, Fretboard: Ebony, Pearloid Block fretboard inlays, Neck profile: SlimTaper, Scale: 629 mm (24.75"), Nut width: 43 mm (1.693"), 22 Frets, Pickups: ProBucker 2 (neck) and ProBucker 3 (bridge) humbuckers, 2...

Recently Viewed
Varytec Colors SonicStrobe

Varytec Colors SonicStrobe; LED stroboscope with ambient effect; Over 200 SMD 5730 LEDs provide bright and dynamic strobe and blinder effects; In addition, more than 140 SMD5050 RGB LEDs provide color accents in the background; special surface of the reflectors...

Recently Viewed
Varytec Colors StarBar 12

LED Bar With 12 warm white beam LEDs and 12 RGB segments, Ideal as an eye catcher on the stage and in discos, Light and robust construction, Subdued grey soft frost cover Technical Data: Light source:...

(2)
Recently Viewed
Toontrack EZX Kicks & Snares

Toontrack EZX Kicks & Snares (ESD); expansion pack for Toontrack EZ Drummer 2 (item 399369) / Superior Drummer 3 (item 419735); in 8 different studios detailed recorded kicks and snares, suitable for a lot of different musical styles; contains 43...

Recently Viewed
Tascam BD-MP1

Tascam BD-MP1; Blu-ray / Media Player; supported Media: BD25, BD50, BD-ROM, BD-R, BD-RE, DVD, DVD+R, DVD-R, DVD+RW, DVD-RW, CD, CD-R, CD-RW, SD cards (up to 128 GB) and USB flash media; NTSC/PAL conversion; BD-Live function; HDMI high-definition audio/video out with...

Recently Viewed
Presonus StudioLive AR16c

18-Channel Analogue Mixer with USB Audio Interface 18 x 4 USB 2.0 (USB C) audio interface (24 bit / 96 kHz), Multi-track recording on Mac and PC, SD card recorder / player with 24 bit / 44.1 kHz (recording:...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Moog Subsequent 25

Moog Subsequent 25; Analog Synthesizer; 25-Keys (semi weighted, velocity sensitive); Mono- and Duo-Paraphonic-Mode; two Oscillators with Sync and Pulse-width Modulation; Square Sub-Oscillator; Noise Generator; Ladder Filter (6/12/18/24 dB per Octave); two DAHDSR Envelopes; LFO; analog MultiDrive on the Filter Output;...

Recently Viewed
NEO Instruments micro Vent 122

NEO Instruments micro Vent 122; emulation of a Leslie 122; perfect for guitar, organ and keyboard signals; two selectable speeds (Speed1 continous, Speed2 Slow/Stop/Fast); Variable microphone to rotors distance; true bypass; 6.3mm jack input and output; dimensions: 113x 65x 47mm;...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.