Customer center login

Millenium MPS-850 E-Drum Set

739 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.5 /5
  • playability
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
Excellent value for money
shave and a haircut, 10.07.2019
I purchased the MPS-850 for home practice - I normally play an acoustic drum kit. My only previous e-kit experience was with a converted acoustic kit (mesh heads, triggers, VST, laptop etc). The performance of the MPS-850 is proving far superior. I'll go through the various components one by one.

MODULE
The kit is ready to play the instant you switch it on. This is a huge advantage for me, compared to dealing with laptop, VST, external soundcard etc. Another plus: I can't detect any latency, which makes the playing experience feel very natural. Many of the in-built acoustic type kits sound OK. With the help of the supplied manual I created my own 'User Kit' which I'm very happy with. There are several settings you can tweak to deliver an excellent response from all the individual pieces. I've made good use of the module's USB input, playing along to MP3s. You can also record to USB to listen back to your new grooves. I sometimes run the module's output to a Porter & Davies BC2. That works fantastically well! There are additional features I haven't tried yet e.g. MIDI in/out, Aux In etc. It's a well featured unit, easy to navigate.

BASS DRUM & BASS DRUM PEDAL
The supplied pedal looks like a low budget item, but works surprisingly well. Not quite as fast as my Tama Speedking but I find it perfectly usable for practice. The kick pad is mounted to a sturdy frame, separate to the rest of the rack.

HI-HAT
The MPS-850 is supplied with a 'proper' hi-hat stand. On my acoustic kit I have the hi-hats set quite high and was pleased to find the stand has sufficient height to duplicate my normal hi-hat position. I've seen a few reviews saying the MPS-850 hi-hat can't handle a disco-style open and close pattern. I've found the hi-hat responds quite well but I've had to adapt my foot action slightly to get closer to a realistic sounding feel. So the hi-hat open/close feel's not perfect but it's much better than I was expecting based on other feedback I've read. The chick and splash sounds are very good. A nice sounding 'chick' is easy and very intuitive but a splash requires an extremely rapid down and up foot movement - much faster than required with a regular hi-hat, otherwise you only get 'chick'. It's not a big deal but I'll agree with some others that there's scope for improvement to the hi-hat's open/close response and chick action.

SNARE
As with all the pads, stick response and feel from the mesh head is excellent. Initially I wasn't entirely happy with the sound of ghost notes and faster double stroke snare rolls - they sounded a little too machine-gun. After changing the snare's velocity curve in the module's settings I've now got a more natural sounding drum that handles double-stroke and other rudiment style rolls in a more realistic way.

TOMS
They worked just fine straight out of the box. At first I found the 8 inch pads were too small - I was often hitting the rim - but after adjusting the position and getting used to playing pads that are much smaller than my acoustic kit's toms, my accuracy has improved greatly! I didn't have the same problem with the 2 x 10 inch pads.

CRASH CYMBALS
Both crashes have separate bow and edge sounds. No bell sound. But they're also chokable, which is a great bonus. Once you've worked out exactly how to grab the edge in the right way, choke works perfectly every time.

RIDE CYMBAL
It's a 3 zone ride - bow edge and bell. I've seen a few comments about the bell sound being unreliable, so I was prepared for this to be an issue. What I've found is the bell function will work consistently, but only if it's struck within a very small area i.e. you have to look very carefully at the spot you're striking, which can be difficult at faster tempos. If you were recording with the kit and needed 100% perfect bell response, that could be tricky. Ideally the bell area would be larger, but for practice purposes I don't find it a major problem.

RACK & MOUNTS etc
I've never been a fan of racks, or e-kits for that matter - that's why my first venture into e-drumming was an acoustic to electric conversion - because a conventional drum kit will always look better IMO. So setting aside the fact all racks look like scaffolding, the most important thing is whether the MPS-850 rack is sturdy and reliable. I've had my kit for approx 6 weeks and it's been played for an average of an hour almost every day. So far the rack has been 100% reliable. Nothing has come loose or fallen off. It was easy to assemble, following the diagrams in the supplied manual.

SUMMARY
No doubt about it, the MPS-850 is outstanding value for money. To package such a well featured module along with bass drum (and BD pedal), snare, 4 x toms, 2 x crashes, 3-zone ride, hi-hat and hi-hat stand at this price is hugely impressive. The two supplied manuals are nicely done. One is for rack assembly and the other is a very detailed instruction book for the pads, cymbals and all module settings. I received two copies of each - one in German and one in English. Clear, concise and well written - not a hint of Chinglish!

CUSTOMER SERVICE
After a couple of weeks, one of my 10" drum pads (floor tom) developed a fault. The drum would only respond if the mesh head was struck in a very specific area, close to one of the mesh cones that sits between the head and sensor. When I contacted Thomann and described the fault, they asked me to send a video so they could get a better idea of what the problem was. I sent them a short video the following morning. Later the same day they contacted me to let me know a replacement pad was being sent free of charge. Yes, a slight inconvenience having to wait for a replacement but very reassuring to know Thomann were keen to resolve it as quickly as possible. 10/10
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
Superb bang for buck e-drum set!!!
Smileadon, 25.10.2020
After many weeks debating whether or not to buy this drum kit I finally made the plunge. I've been drumming for almost 20 years and have had many acoustic kits during that time. I wanted something that was compact, quiet and usable for home recording and for drum covers in the future. Plus,I live in an apartment.

Connected to my Mac fine, but had to remap the MIDI. Pads were assigned to different notes in my DAW (Logic Pro).

If you're new to drumming, or even have been playing for sometime, this kit would accomodate your needs perfectly. Having said that, people need to understand that an electronic kit plays and feels different from an acoustic kit. So heavy hitters will have to adjust accordingly. It can take a bashing alright tho. My background is Post/Hardcore Rock.

The kit is not perfect out the box (module settings) wise. However, you REALLY need to TWEAK the module so that it suits how you play for a more natural response. (Threshold, sensitivity, velocities, curves, and xtalk etc.) There are many YT Vids that explain all of this, so do your homework. Definitely worth the time. I love that this set has all mesh heads as you can loosen or tighten to mimic the real thing.

PROS
-All Mesh Heads (tunable)
-Full Hi Hat Stand
-Robust Module (can tweak settings unlike similar kits in the same price range)
-Module has volume faders for each pad for quick adjustment on the fly.
-3 zone Ride & chokable cymbals
-Bang for buck. You get a lot kit for the money
-Nice sized kit and compact.
-Works well with VSTs

CONS
-Sounds aren't too bad, but you have enough to get by. Grand for practising.
-Hi Hat doesn't respond quick enough, sometimes the foot splash/open hat continues after foot is pressed down. Really noticable when playing fast. I still need to tweak it a little more to match how i play.
-Rack clamps seem to not tighten but still become loose, so I find myself correcting this often. Like for example the snare support arm, can move with your hand even when the clamp is tightened.
-Rubber rims look flat and squared and seems like there's a lot of space between them and the mesh heads. Can also see metal gap in between them. Isn't a big deal but noticeable.

Overall, I'd highly recommend this drum set, I've owned a Roland TD9 in the past but honestly can't justify the money for big brands anymore, if you're on a budget and want to play/learn drums, this is the kit for you.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
Very happy with my purchase
Govinder, 22.10.2020
I've had the MPS-850 for a couple of weeks now and had a chance to give it a good thrashing, so here are my thoughts in case they're of interest to any potential buyers.

I want to say up front that I scoured the reviews to get as much idea of whether this kit was any good or not prior to purchase and I had it ordered and in the shopping cart and back out again about 4 times over about a 6 week period during which I was clearly being indecisive :-)

Thing is, for me, it is a big purchase that I can just about justify but only if it is worth that expenditure. But it's obvious that I was interested.

So, cut to the chase, is it worth the money ? Absolutely yes.
I have an excellent quality acoustic kit and I hit hard, so I was a little sceptical about the mesh heads and if the rack would stand the use but I needn't have worried. The heads can take more than you might expect and despite the fact that yes, you do play a little softer naturally on an electric kit compared to hammering it out on stage behind a 'proper' kit, it plays well and has a great feel. To be honest you're not really going to be going full on Keith Moon in your living room or spare bedroom anyway are you ?

I'll not bother going into a full review of everything about sounds etc because it's already been covered in most of the other reviews. I'll maybe just mention a few things that I didn't notice in the other ones.
If it's your thing .... I use a double kick pedal with this kit and it works perfectly. I have heard people say that they don't work very well on leccy kits because the beaters aren't hitting the optimum centre spot of the kick drum skin (mesh). Well the response is great and feels very natural to me straight out of the box, but if necessary you can adjust the sensitivity as you choose. I haven't because I don't think it needs it.

I haven't had any problem with finding the (apparently elusive g-spot) bell of the ride cymbal that others have mentioned and it doesn't need hitting harder or anything like that, it's very nicely playable actually. And while I'm mentioning cymbals - the choke function is great when you have found how to do it. It's very easy to use but makes it more 'real' sounding and less 'electric' kit.
Hi - hat .... what can I say - great to have a proper one and works well once you get used to it. Never had more than a floor pedal and flat plastic cymbal for a hi-hat on my previous electric kit.

Last thing I'll mention that I haven't seen anyone talk about is that the module and kit has very low latency which is great. I like to play online with other people around the world and latency of getting the signals around and through a computer before you even involve the randomness of the internet and it's volatile connections and speed, is the biggest issue. The MPS-850 has performed extremely well in this department so I'm happy with that too.

So in conclusion, I am over the moon with my purchase. The kit as a whole far exceeds the price tag and is easily a match for other 'named' brand equipment selling at a far higher price. It ticks all my boxes for what I require from an electric practice kit and to be honest I can't praise it highly enough. I'm sure that kits that cost many hundreds of pounds more, have more features and samples and voices and songs on them but if you really can't find anything you like on the MPS-850 module then I'm sorry but I think you're being rather over critical.

(My only criticism would be that you can't specify a time to have it delivered so I had to collect from the parcel carrier depot but that's nothing to do with the product).

A great kit. I'm a very happy customer.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
The best E-Kit for the price
Sadeem al Bakry, 23.03.2020
I am a metal drummer, I've owned and have been playing acoustic drums for the past 8 years, I recently moved house and have been having trouble with my neighbours due to the noise while also wanting to record with my band, I bought GGD samples and started looking for electronic drums, I found this drum kit and just by reading the feature sheet, I knew it was perfect for me!

Pros:
- Cheap price
- all cymbals are chokable
- ride with bell (triple-zone)
- all pads are two-zone
- Fairly large sizes
- durable rack
- mesh pads feel nice
- everything triggers well enough
- inputs can be split to add more pads
- kick pedal and hi-hat stand included
- sample import
- aux in
- faders to mix the sound
- overall has a lot of great features.

Cons:
- Ride bell only sometimes triggers if hit really hard and really accurately
- a lot of x talk
- my crash 2 input was single-zone
- module sounds are not very realistic
- sample import only allows one-shot samples
- very sensitive triggers but not very dynamic in terms of velocity

overall I would recommend this kit to anyone with a budget of under $1000 because although the module sounds arent great, you can use sample software such as GGD, Superior drummer or steven slate drums, and have large pads to enjoy, the only other drumkit to compare this to is the Alesis crimson or the Alesis DM10 and both of those kits are much more expensive with similar features just larger sizes (by only 2 inches) and unless if your main problem comes from the ride, just use a splitter cable, use tom 4 as a single-zone pad, and get a triple-zone ride which would make this kit the best drum kit under $1000
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
Great E-drum set for rehearsals
Heeplv, 25.04.2021
So, first and foremost – yes, this E-drum set is great value for money. It works fine and allows to cover vast majority of use cases, for which entry-level electronic drum sets are bought. Fantastic job, Thomann, thank you!

The hardware is very sturdy on my opinion, plastic parts are made thick and dense. Metallic parts are great as well. Mesh drum pads are also very good, especially, considering the price. Drum module is easy to use and has a plenty of features. The possibility of instantly adjust volume of instruments is awesome!

Instead of listing pros and cons, let me just summarize the things, for which MPS-850 is ready and for which (likely) not.

Ready for:
- Practicing at home;
- Learning to play drums;
- Playing simple grooves;
- Rehearsals;
- Small venue gigs, where acoustic set will be too noisy and non-manageable;
- The bands, which play simple songs live, when the quality of sound, mobility and simplicity of an E-drum set are the top priority;
- Recording in a studio, using the MIDI output of drum module.

Not ready for:
- Playing complicated drum patterns and/or solos;
- Playing dynamically articulated grooves (the kit is not supporting multisamples);
- Playing veeeery fast;
- Recording in a studio, using the analog output of drum module – as long, as there are no separate outputs for each instrument.

Some very subjective thoughts

As a very tall person, I would like to make the drum rack a bit bigger and wider. Say, +10 centimeters for each drum rack tube (excluding the snare tube, which is great). Also, the hi-hat could be a bit more sensitive, with better tracking of pedal release.

I know that this fact might be considered as a feature of an expensive setup, but I would like to have the multisample support here. At least, for the snare only. We all know that real drums and cymbals produce very different sound when heavily hit vs lightly. The snare, when hit lightly does not produce much sound of a resonant drumhead, and vice versa; etc… As far as I understand, this drum module can only play one sample per trigger, so the only difference will be its volume, not the character of a note.

One more thing to mention is the headphone amp, which is a bit underpowered. When using Beyerdynamic DT770 80 Ohm version, the headphone volume is always at maximum.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
Awesome price/quality relation
Penguin0, 09.05.2020
This is my 2nd e-drums. My previous was a Roland td-12 from about a decade ago
I'm used to play acoustic and electronic drums and so you can understand my pov.

This millennium drums it's very good quality for buck but do not expect excellent top quality.

It is easy to setup, easy to get it running, the rack seems durable enough but I wouldnt be dismounting this too often, it sounds well enough, the module has tons of customisations, the triggers seems to be catching most of the strokes ( if you increase sensitivity it can go almost real) if you are using double pedal, the kick sens must be increased quiet a lot because you are not hitting the middle. Cymbals are ok but sometimes crashes are triggering 2nd zone on rim.. also the ride bell is hard to trigger. The hihat stand seems legit but you must get accustomed.
Over all, 100% recommend, specially since the next go is more than double the money.

I've paired this with superior drummer and a clarett interface. I'm getting very nice numbers in terms of delay and sounds fantastic.

If you need a practice drums this won't disappoint you. For professional use, it may get a bit short but it will put a good fight against other big numbers.

Thomann has worked very well and they have a reliable but low budget product.

The shipment was fast, in 3 days at home.

If you reading this and you are not very sure, I'll tell you, buy even if it is not on stock, as soon they receive they will send. Thank you Thomann
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
Amazing to get back to playing
TheKen, 24.03.2020
As a beginner/Imtermediate who spend nearly 10 without a drum kit, this kit is a Godsend!

The price you pay for what you get is very, very reasonable.
The kit isn't too loud when your playing and can be easily folded away if you don't have too much room in your house. The sound quality is brilliant especially when you sit down and tweak all the settings to how you want them. Mighty fun going through all the voice sounds too. There are endless combinations. All rims can be triggered and reset, the crashes and ride can be choked. It's got it all.

Anyone who is picking up drums, getting back into them or simply can't have a full acoustic kit where they live, this is the one for you.

There are a few small cons of course, though they aren't anything to cry about.
1: The highhat can be tedious sometimes using the splash but figured out you have active it when open then close the pedal to get it to work. Muscle memory takes care of the rest.

2: The ride bell has to be given a good hard and precise hit to trigger it. It can be inconsistent at times even at that.

3: I'm currently having a issue with the usb recording not playing the full track recorded after I plug into my computer. Could be a simple fix but still working on it.

Regardless of the cons, this kit was 10/10 IGN worth the money!
As for the last con, if you play on using the midi outlets they work perfect.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
What you pay is what you get.
BPCMediaTeam, 26.04.2021
It's an decent starters drum kit for a fair price.
But don't expect to much from it.
The sounds aren't the most beautiful drum sounds you'll ever play on a e-drum set. Some drum sounds even sound pretty awful.

For a perfect kit I had to set up my own drum kit combining the best sounds I found and of course with some EQ tweaking on each drum/cymbal, etc.

After putting all this effort it was pretty much worth his price. Due to soft drum pads it's feels pretty good to drum on it. Drum pads have a pretty decent rebound. The only big issue I found is that sometimes the right crash doesn't recognize some hits which can sound pretty awful or lame during an performance.
I've heard this is not unique and comes very often with this kit. I've had friends with this kit telling me to have the same problem and with a bit of googling I found there were many more.

But after all if your budget is around this price It's a pretty decent starters kit. If you're more mediocre/senior I would recommend to go for an more expensive kit than this one.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
Unfortunate Experience
KaiRB, 02.07.2020
Unfortunately, I didn't have a very good experience with this drum kit and have had to return it.
I was in high hopes with this kit after seeing video demos on YouTube, as well as demos on this site as well, however didn't have any of that once it arrived.
The kit itself once setup looks great, and feels great mesh-wise, however, I was sent the wrong part for the snare drum which was a sign straight away, and the hi-hat, despite setting it up correctly multiple times, also was not working at all.
The sound, even on max volume I could barely hear it through any headphones. I had to chuck it through my 4x12 Marshall Amp to be able to actually hear it, would not work with anything else.
For whatever reason on random kits as well, it would keep playing different sounds on the kick drum, including on the "Metal" kit, it would keep adding on this cheery-go-lucky sound effect as well, which just made it sound awful for what would be a "Metal" kit.
The only kit I actually liked was the Marimba one... it's the only one that actually sounded good in my opinion, and that's saying something for what should be a drum kit.
So to conclude, I might've just had a dodgy kit, but in my opinion it was definitely not worth the wait and excitement, and definitely not worth the £529.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
Terrible service and employees but decent product
Radavidof12, 09.02.2021
The service offered by Thomann was the worst I have experienced and ruined Christmas. Do not trust the estimated delivery time or the staff at this company.
It took over one month for my product to arrive, and the Thomann staff consistently lied to me about the delivery process. They invented tracking numbers and status reports, eventually having to admit that they never even sent the package. While awaiting my payment, they were very quick to respond and offer "support" but as soon as my money had arrived in their account, the responses were far slower or completely non existent. I have accumulated large bills through calling both Thomann and the delivery company (international calls), and Thomann refuse to acknowledge this, despite it being their fault as a result of their deceitful behaviour.
I would never trust this company again, as they have no customer service skills or care.
I informed Thomann that this was a Christmas present for my 5 year old son, stressing the importance of the delivery being on time. Unsurprisingly, Thomann showed no care and made absolutely no effort to try and ensure the delivery was on time.
Product is decent.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
Still early days, but...
afsartori, 21.10.2020
I only played it for about 7h, and I can already tell you a few things. Overall, it's a decent kit. I like that it has 4 toms, 2 crashes, ride, high-hat, snare and kick drum, like a proper drum kit. It sounds decent, but could be better. Presets aren't that many, but it's sufficient for practicing and having fun. Built-in tracks are also fun, but sometimes too simple and not plenty enough. These are details. There are three things that annoy me the most: 1) it's not very responsive. Sometimes you have to hit a bit too hard to get the right trigger on the ride and on the high-hat. 2) Some cables are not long enough. This is a problem for me, because I am left-handed and I share the kit with a right-handed player. Every time I want to play, I want to swap the positions of the kick and the high-hat, but the cables coming from the control box don't allow for the high-hat to be placed much farther than its default position. So I get very limited and cannot access the rest of the kit. I will try to solve this by buying extension jacks. 3) Initially I had a problem with the high-hat, which kept rotating away from me. I solved it by screwing the mounting pole better. Last but not least, the kit is not as quiet as you'd hope. If you play it late night and your neighbour is on the other side of the wall, I'm pretty sure he'll still hear you.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
Great starter amateur electronic drum kit.
rickmusic , 23.11.2019
Ok let's get straight to it.

If you can not play the drums and would like to learn and are not able to facilitate an acoustic drum kit, then this is the drum kit for you. I would suggest the build quality for this kit is best suited for compact playing and practicing within the studio as apposed to live performance.

Why did I consider this drum kit in the first place?
. Drum configuration.
. Cost.
. Response and feel. Being a composer, rather than use a midi controller to enter in drum parts, I'd like to increase the realism by playing it in real time.

. Drum configuration.
The Millennium kit comes with the right amount of drums and cymbals. Not too many to be overkill, but enough to be creative and play various genres of music. Nice.

. Cost.
The best E-Drums out there are Roland. However, two things: Musicians are artists and artists don't have huge amounts of money. There's no two ways about it, Roland needs to review the cost of its drums. Secondly, I'm not sure if it's because of a differing music scene in Japan or if they're focusing too much on AI or what, but making their e-drums look more like acoustic drums for aesthetic reasons is an unnecessary cost. Therefore the price tag for this set for what you get, is great.

4 reasons why I'm returning the kit, leaving the most deciding factor until the end.
1. The sounds. I didn't expect the sounds to be amazing for the price tag, as I'll predominantly be using sample libraries so not a huge deal.

Here's where the kit goes from a five star to a two:

2. I don't see the point of making e-drums the same size as acoustic drums as it doesn't have a bearing on the sound and compromises on compatibility along with cost. However, I feel that the snare is just a tad too small when playing cross stick. Could perhaps be larger to around 12'.
3. Any ride cymbal in the world that has a bell does not have a bell that small. Cymbal needs to be larger as does the bell.
4. Hi Hat. It has an open sound and closed sound. However if you wish to play hi hat with your foot and splash the cymbals, you can't. If you're playing subtle grooves like a disco or funk hi hat part with the open/close, it doesn't really respond.

Therefore a great beginner e-drum kit for the price. If Thomann were to make the kit with a more responsive hi hat, slightly larger sturdier snare, larger ride, similar price tag, i'll be the first one in line to buy it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
Not without it's flaws
IamNotaDrummer, 04.01.2021
First off, I bought this kit as an upgrade from a very cheap Alesis E-drum kit. I have no prior experience with e-drums except that cheap kit and now this.

I am using this kit to learn on and found it very simple to set up and start playing on. It has enough space to be set up like a real drum kit so it feels great when playing it. I would recommend this to anyone who doesn't want to spend £1000+ on a e-drum kit but still wants a full mesh kit.
I only had one issue with this kit and that is that one of the 10" triggers stopped working suddenly one day (the one I used as the snare), Thomann were very quick replying to my message and will be sending a new one as soon as they are back in stock. I have just taken tom 4 away and I am using that as the snare pad, when the new one arrives I will just add tom 4 back in so no loss and I can still practice.

TL;DR - This is a great kit for the money and I would recommend it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
cmmpsantos, 04.03.2021
This set is wonderful for beginners. Although I prefer acoustic drums and I already had one, this set is great for practicing, specially now that I can't have an acoustic drum set at my current home. The hi-hats really gives you a great simulation of real ones. The rack is perfect and the 4th tom and 3rd cymbal is a must.
The only reason I don't give 5 stars to playable is because I feel the bass drum sensibility is a little bit weak, specially when using my double pedals.
Regarding quality/price is a very excellent choice if you can't afford to buy a more expensive e-drum set.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
Excellent value
Kerry B, 03.10.2020
I’m a total beginner on the drums, and this is my first kit, so bear in mind that I don’t have anything else to compare it to. I spent a while researching the alternatives before settling on the 850 – for the same price I could have got a very basic Roland kit, or a slightly lower spec Alesis. In the end the proper hi-hat and the extra pads swung the decision for me (would I have missed them? no idea yet).

Assembly took me a couple of hours, but the manual was generally pretty clear. Everything seems to be solidly made. As I said, I don’t have anything to compare it to, but the module sounds seem fine to my inexpert ears. It works seamlessly with my Mac too, if I need more options. There aren’t any training functions built in, but something like Melodics is probably better anyway.

The two playability issues I’ve seen mentioned a lot are the difficulty of triggering the ride bell (it does seem pretty sensitive to where and how hard you hit it, but I haven’t tried adjusting anything yet), and of playing a hi-hat splash (initially it seemed almost impossible, but it works much better if you increase the gap between the hi-hat pad and the trigger module).

Overall I’m very pleased so far, and it seems like an awful lot of kit for the money.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
Love this kit
StixxRaiders, 27.04.2021
Very affordable, lots of drums and cymbals, most kits of this price normally have 1 crash so to have 2 is amazing, hooks up to my DAW with no issues, I've used this to rehearse at home, to make content for my channel and to write and record demos for my band. can not recommend this kit highly enough
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
Perfect eDrum for beginners or normal drummers
YurGene, 14.04.2021
I ordered this eDrum because I wanted to play drums after years, but I don't have the room to play on an acoustic drum set. This eDrum has an excellent price and it's very easy to set up. Very good produced. The on board sounds are nice. I didn't play that much but I will do it in the future. I am very happy about this eDrum and I can recommend it. Thanks to Thomann
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
Good for the price, but pads break easily
Kris123321, 02.01.2021
I've had this kit for about 6 months now and I've really enjoyed playing it...when it works. The pads feel realistic to strike, the Hi-Hat can be a bit finicky at times but works well enough for practice, and having a real kick pedal is a nice touch too.

However, I've had to contact customer support twice in such a short space of time in order to replace defective pads so I'm starting to think there is a reason this kit is cheaper than most. Pads have stopped registering beats correctly mid-practice, producing nothing but rim-clicks or no sounds at all which has made me have serious concerns about the longevity of this kit.

I wish I could leave a more positive review, since this kit offers a lot on the surface and is a great tool for beginner-intermediate drummers but at this point I would advise anyone looking at investing in E-drums to save your money and pick a higher quality product.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
Awesome
fcm50, 31.12.2019
For this price line, this is the best purchase ever. The mesh pads provides very good sensibility and dynamics, the cymbal pads has the choke mode. The module doesn't provide the best sounds but if you use any kind of software such EZdrummer 2.0 or similar, you can have the best of this e-drum. The midi i/o gives you the way to connect the module on your computer and uses another module as a slave giving you more pads to set up your kit.

totally recommend.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
Fantastic kit for its money
lexkab, 23.09.2020
I bought this kit as an upgrade from my Alesis Nitro. It has impressive amount of pads and even a hi hat stand, not to mention mesh pads. The built in kit sounds are ok but can be customized, connection to the computer was not a problem
This kit is perfect for practicing at home, not taking too much space and quiet
Pros:
+ hi hat on a stand with hat simulator
+ 10 piece
+ mesh pads
+ overall assembly quality
+ looks pretty cool
+ ok for double kick pedals
+ metronome options: can do 1/4, 1/8 clicks etc
+ recording to the usb stick
+ equalizer for different pads
Cons:
- some built-in kit voices arent mind blowing
- sometimes issues with midi input on mac
- have to replace the pad on bass drum after a week
- no learning options in the module(vs old alesis) if you need that

Overall it's a great choice for a home kit, I am quite happy with it, feels more natural than entry level Alesis I had before
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
The perfect choice!
Carnivore, 03.10.2018
If you are either a begginer/intermediate drummer seeking for the perfect instrument to practice and develop your skills or a skilled drummer in need of something to fit in your apartment and play late nights, this is the perfect choice.

I was pleasantly surprised with the quality (including the fixtures and stands) after reading more than one interview complaining about those. Are these made out of plastic? Of course they are! At this price point, what is to be expected? Titanium?? Beign careful you will have this set up in minutes, for a quality comparable to drum sets costing twice as much.

Playability is semi professional and natural, and the sound selection is useful, reasonably broad and varied (of course you can always go midi here and plug straight to more professional soundsets).

Compared to Rolands, to name but one, you will end up having something better in terms of quality if you compare this set with other at similar price point. That, plus double the features. Many months today after daily use, and nothing to complain about.

To render this set into something more professional, you might consider replacing the bass drum pedal (the one provided is not bad at all, gets the job done, but if you are already accustomed to more professional resources, chances are you will miss that) and probably add a regular cymbal stand or two to have more flexibility in terms of playing real state. Aside from that, you can plug this set to the plugin of choice (in my case EZ drummer metal soundsets) and you will be in for a 100% pro solution.

In case you are a begginer, this set will enable you to transition easier to an acoustic set (compared to Roland entry level options, for instance) and will be a breeze to transition to high end MIDI drum sets.

This is, in my most sincere opinion, and absolute winner!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
Feature-rich and best for value kit
Exci, 14.03.2019
First of all, I'm a complete beginner. Having done some research for e-drum kits around this price range, this knocks everything else out of the park.

Pros:
The fact you get a three-zone ride as well as mesh pads on all drums and a proper hi-hat stand are all very good selling points for me. Having your hi-hat actually move up and down along the pedal (and only wobble when the hi-hat is open, just like an acoustic kit) is in my opinion essential for a realistic feeling of playing the drums. You can't get a real hi-hat stand with other kits anywhere near this money range.

Additionally getting 2 crashes, a ride and 4 toms for this price? It's a steal! I cannot comment on the kit's durability as I have just received this set - we'll see how it holds over time.

The sounds that come with the module are ok, nothing special, but I plan on using it with software on my PC and therefore that is not important for me.

Cons:
Two issues worth mentioning however, which are not a huge deal but they're worth mentioning:

Firstly, the snare drum trigger will trigger a rim shot even if you just touch the rim and not the pad itself. If you use some software like EzDrummer you will be able to configure touching the rim as a cross stick OR a rimshot, but at least as far as I can tell, you cannot do both rimshots and cross sticks on the snare. To be honest I'm not sure how much you'd have to go higher in price of a snare trigger to have proper rimshot and cross stick functionality.

Second, while the ride is a three-zone cymbal, getting the bell to trigger has been inconsistent for me as very often I get a bow sound instead of a bell when I'm quite clearly hitting the bell with the tip of my stick. I've spoken with support and unfortunately that's how it is. Oh well - possible future upgrade.

Overall, for the price that you're paying you're getting a really good kit that doesn't look like a toy and it has everything you need. Absolutely recommended for beginners and possibly intermediate-level players too.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
Good Beginner E-Kit
Aron97, 01.06.2021
I've had this kit for over a year now, and I still play on it regularly. A few things broke down in that first year, but that is probably because i'm a rock drummer. Thomann handled the warranty cases really well and I thanked them for it. The price is the reason i bought this kit, and i don't really regret it. The only thing is that it is not as durable as i'm used to in a E-drum kit. the triggers in the pads are the weakest spot on this kit, so if you're a hard hitter mabye pick a different kit. I now play a little more careful ald the kit keeps working now, so overall a nice kit if you don't hit too hard.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
Not for heavy hitting metal players.
heavy hitting metal drummer i guess..., 04.10.2020
im struggling to find the worth of this electric kit, the high hat does not function like an acoustic hat at all, and am hardly able to play it the way i would want to, the drums themselves are not very loud through the headphones negating its use of being a quieter alternative to the acoustic set up, and dont get me started on the clamps that hold the angle of the snare and toms, im having to use a peice of shoelace to stop the angle of the snare from dropping as im playing, now granted, i play metal and i have a "slightly" heavy hand, but this should not be happening, ive tightened the clamps to within an inch of their life and still it drops, also the maximum hight of this kit without some sort of block or something else to raise it up makes me feel like this was designed with children in mind who are short, and dont hit hard, not very happy tbh with this purchase.

TLDR: hi-hat does not function like acoustic counterpart, clamps dont hold up under slight heavy hitting, and its too short on the legs.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
playability
features
sound
quality
DENNIS de chile, 26.11.2020
It has only one detail that may be important for people who do not have electronic skills and that is that with the vibration of the blows the cables that go very close to the sensors, which are inside the box or the toms, are cut very often. I have to open and weld
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Millenium MPS-850 E-Drum Set

£499
Free shipping incl. VAT
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-40
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24