Customer center login

Millenium HP4

503 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.1 /5
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Excellent price but have some issues...
20.10.2014
The feature set is perfect, just what I was looking for to convert my small gig band from wedges to wired inear monitors. It has four stereo inputs and four headphone preamps. Each of the preamps can feed the signal from any of the four stereo inputs.

This is great as it allows me as an engineer to quickly listen other members mix without repatching anything, just turning the input selector. This is essential in a live situation.

Now, about these few issues...

The left and right inputs are backwards!
This was very puzzling at first. I connected everything by the book and the panning was backwards in our phones. At first I thought it was me doing something wrong on the mixer (X32) but after troubleshooting I found out that the inputs on the HP4 are indeed backwards. What's more interesting, it's not the labeling.
The first input is labeled as a left/mono input and when nothing is connected to the other input (labeled right) it does pass the signal as mono to both headphones. But that input is really the right input.

Or let me say it this way, I'm not sure if it is the inputs or headphone outputs that are reveresed, but if I connect the inputs backwards I get correct panning in the headphones.

It's no big deal in the end, not a deal breaker for sure, especially for the price. I did put a label on the back of the unit to remind me that the inputs should be connected backwards.

The other issue is that the inputs are not balanced. I have a wifi router mounted in the rack and we get some noise from it in the headphones. If I turn it off or remove it from the rack the noise disappears.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
ukris, 19.12.2020
We use it in our home studio for creating multiple monitor routes when tracking, working on music and live streaming.

Easy to set up and does what it has to do. If you ever plugged power supply cables and jacks into a thing this should be pretty self-explanatory.

No issues encountered with it at all.

Only con: the on/off switch is on the back. Bear in mind when planning the layout of your setup.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
PERFECT HEADPHONE AMP... HOWEVER!
The L.C.A Studio, UK, 18.06.2013
I was looking for a simple 4 way headphone amp, so this was perfect. Nothing fancy or unnecessarily complicated like the samson and behringer stuff, just a 'source select' and 'volume' control.

It works great - HOWEVER, one day a strong smell came from the Headphone amp... which I believed to be the smell of a capacitor blowing... and it stopped working.

To this day I am unsure of why or how this had happened (Thomann said they would investigate and tell me the problem, but never did) although they did send me a brand new replacement immediately, and they covered all the P+P costs.

The new unit is working great, and I am very pleased. I LOVE THOMANN!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Really useful but a bit noisy
imlach, 11.05.2020
This unit is really quite useful, especially given it's matrixing ability of 4 ins and 4 outs.

The caveat I have with it is that it's quite noisy, and when the headphones are driven past the middle there's quite an audible hum.

Nonetheless, it finds good use in my rack in my home studio
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Simple
Mockie, 18.12.2019
Very simple, no messing with this. It's got options to send signals out and doesn't overcomplicate things by adding EQ or mono or any other messing.
Headphone and a line out is all you need and it's all you get in this puppy. Buy this if you don't need all the bells and whistles that are on other headphone amps but still need a rack mounted unit. However, if you don't, then consider the smaller headphone distribution units that are just as good
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Seems to have a critival design flaw, avoid!!!!
TrEr, 05.05.2013
I've decided to update my review of this product as it has developed some critical issues over time.

I purchased three of these over a period of a couple of years. Two of them have now developed an issue where the inputs fail one by one. The third one is still ok but has hardly been used, I got it only for a backup.

The failed inputs have developed LOUD distortion and have become useless. One of the units even had this problem straight out of the box on one of the inputs. Then the rest of the inputs followed one by one. It didn't happen all at the same time and not every input has failed yet. My first unit still has one working input, my second unit now has two working inputs and the third is still ok (but like I said, it has not been used much).

Four channels with four inputs may seem like an excellent deal at this price but unfortunately it seems to have a serious issue that makes fail gradually within a couple of years of sporadic use. I've not used them more than around 2-3 hours pr week on average.

Before the inputs failed the sound was allright. Not something I would use for mixing or casual listening, it is slightly noisy and sounds a bit harsh, but more than adequate for tracking/monitoring.

Unfortunately it doesn't seem to last very long. Not recommended!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Really good value, nice features
Basmartin, 21.03.2021
With this unit, you can send four individual cue mixes, unlike other similar boxes in this price range where you only can send one or two stereo mixes to the headphones. The headphone amps has enough power to work with both hi z and low z headphones and delivers a pretty good sound. Not the same detailed sound as in my Motu 1248 headphone amp, but good enough for cue mixes. There's enough info across the whole frequency spectrum for the musicians to get a feeling of what's going on. Build quality is pretty good, but lacks at little bit consistency; all the pots doesn't feel the same. But for the price they work more than ok. I've used it a lot for the last couple of years and have had no problems with it. In fact I will get one more unit because sometimes 4 headphone mixes aren't enough-
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Can`t beat the price
Karl-Erik, 17.05.2016
The Millenium HP4 is a great product in it`s price range.
It`s dirt cheap and delivers what you need and is flexible enough for most applications.
I use is for tracking a band and the sound quality is more than good enough for tracking.
It has ample power and flexible input switching.
It takes four separate stereo signals in and in the front you can hook up four headphones assign what ever input you want to the headphone channel.
Every channel also has a line out if you need to feed the headphone mix to a mixer or other unit.
As usual Thomann`s delivery was quick and hassle free.
Did I mention this unit is incredibly cheap?
I hope Thomann keep churning out cheap, cheerful and functional gear for the budget minded.
For critical listening through high impendance headphones I have a separate much more expensive headphone amplifier.
The difference isn`t all that big.
The Millenium HP4 is a great utility unit to have around for live recording in a studio.
Get`s the job done.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Excellent sound, solid product
el frasho, 18.08.2021
Tgis really is excellent, lots of volume. Feels like it will last forever.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Got what I expected.
Domodel, 05.08.2019
The device looks solid. Noise in sound did not notice. There is a strong click when switching channels. Enough power. Not happy only bright, blue light... Looks like the devil put it there.)))
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Happy with this amp!
nm121, 08.07.2018
Very good. Excellent sound. Basic but functional for what I need. The only problem is putting it in a rack. It's not that deep at all and only 1U, so when in with other things, you need very small hands.....
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Cheap and cheerful
Kitapci, 22.06.2014
This does as it needs, it amplifies 4 headphone signals as need and does a very good job at that. Its pretty well featured too, able to take 4 mono or stereo signals and instead of passing them through to the corresponding output channel, each output can choose which signal from the input it outputs. This is useful if your mixing 4 monitor mixes as you can switch between the channels and hear what the artist is hearing.

It also has a line but I cannot comment on the usability or functionality of this as I have yet to use it.

It doesn't have the most amazing build quality, it does indeed feel cheaper than other units and on channel one my units volume knob is extremely stiff; initially taking two hands to turn it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Atlieka savo paskirti
Sigitas, 28.01.2015
Daiktas tikrai atlieka savo paskirti. Su dejais laidais (vienoj pusej stereo jack, kitoj 2 mono jack) pajungiau stiprintuva prie Scarlett garso plkstes ausiniu isejimu. Taip gavau arba 2 stereo kanalus, arba 4 mono su skirtingais miksais kiekviename. Muzikantai gali atsisukti savo kabnala ir pasireguliuoti garsa. Jei naudot konsole su aux'ais, tai pajungimas dar paprastesnis.
Stiprintuvo garso kokybe nebloga. Tiesa, klipina gana geit zemus daznius, tai kick'as negrazus skamba. Stiprinimo lygis geras. Net Beyerdynamic DT-880 Edition 600 Ohms paveza :-).
Manau, kad kaina atitinka kokybe. Rekomenduoju.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
4 channel flexibility
MC PityoPutyi, 07.10.2013
I'm using this product in a rehearsing studio for monitoring vocals and instruments. Firstly I look around on the net to check the cheapeast possibilities on the market....also checked the E-bay and other audiotechnical sites....but I did not want to spend 90-100 Eu for a used product.
Than I've found the solution in the Millenium products. HP4 was half price and it has flexible input and output variabilities. We also can use it with mono and stereo sources and each input can put on all output separetly either. It's in robust metal standard rack house so you can fix and take it anywhere you want to use.
The only deficiency is the rear side has signed the outputs opposite as the inputs are on the back side. Same direction would be much more clear, but maybe it's irrelevant.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Useful, not perfect.
Stefan113, 07.02.2014
Chosen specifically to provide power for multiple headphone mixes from pro tools outputs. This task is one it completes with ease. 4 channels of output, each with a selector to choose from the 4 channels of input. This is an extremely useful and versatile unit even for its flaws... It goes LOUD. Beware! However, on occasion it has been liable to distortion at low levels, on all or just some input and output channels. I feel that this is a far better unit overall, when compared to the Behringer HA400 which is probably the closest comparison at both features and price. Were it to break down or be stolen, I would either buy the same again, or save up for the Presonus HP60 which is IMO the top top headphone amp.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
razzy, 04.01.2018
One channel broke pretty fast. Sounds ok.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
HP4 headphone preamp.
Sparky, 25.01.2018
This is a hard review to write, as for the price it is an excellent bit of kit, however the first one we ordered was a disaster the pots went one by one over just a few weeks and was unusable it was a real disappointment.

I've only ever had to return one other bit of kit I bought form Thomann, and this service is absolutely first class, they replaced the first one and the second one works fine.

Having 4 separate feeds is fantastic for our band we all use IEMs and having a personalised mix to each member of the band makes for better performances.

The sound is OK, but really on stage using IEMs you're not looking for HiFi quality, just a clean signal and the mix you need. Great for stage work or even rehearsal and recording - but not for anything above that.

Although you'd have to question the logic behind anyone buying this type of preamp for HiFi listening, it's great for what it does.

For bands on budget who want to move to personalised IEMs it is a very good investment.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Great little tool
09.07.2015
This is an amazing little head phone amp for the price. the addition of input selection is really handy as well. cracking up the level does reveal a sizeable noise floor, but for getting audio to a loud drummer and sharing mixes. It's perfect.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Great bang for the money
Jonas Lonthra, 08.12.2019
A very simple way to power four separate headphone stereo lines. Without all the lights and switches of other units but with great functionality. It's just a shame that the inputs are not balanced and it could have a bit more headroom. But for the price you don't get 4 separate stereo lines anywhere else.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Do the job
AROSS, 11.01.2019
Simple and efficient. Handling a bit cheap but who cares for an headphone amp ?
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Good enough
19.06.2016
Everything is ok. Sound, handling. I will probably buy another one soon.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
As good as any
TommyVee, 18.02.2016
For the price, as with a lot of these things, you cant go wrong. If you need an amp that can have 4 different inputs, then this is the one for you.
I use this for tracking a band where each player needs their own headphone mix, and it comes in very useful.

Also the fact that it has 2 outputs means you can route a signal back through into a compressor or external unit as an additional output if this is in your rack with a patchbay.

Very useful and well built.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Annoying
Andrew551, 24.09.2015
Pros:
- 4 stereo inputs.
- Each of the four outputs has a four way switch to choose what to hear.
- Quite loud

Cons:
- Unbalanced inputs. If this paralleled off an output that is also sent elsewhere, beware the signal to elsewhere becomes unbalanced.
- It just doesn't sound very good. Its hard to say what it does to the sound, but I don't like it.
- On the front panel next to each headphone out is a peculiar "stereo output". This will drive headphones and is always full volume. It is an accident waiting to happen. (and has happened to me)

If you are faced with a straight choice between this and a Presonus HP4, then buy the Presonus. I find this Millenium / Alctron HP4 is just annoying.
(I own a Presonus HP4 and I think it sounds lovely)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Millenium hp4
Michael H. 821, 17.05.2013
Great Straight forward easy to use piece of gear. Really worth the value for small studios.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
PERFECT
Andrew350, 16.01.2021
exactly what was needed. used for running a wired IEM system via an Xair18. plenty of volume available from this unit.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Millenium HP4

£62
Including VAT; Excluding £8 shipping
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-33
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Phone: +49-9546-9223-33
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328