Customer center login

Millenium BS-500 Set

5156 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.3 /5
  • quality
Total
quality
9 years later still standing strong
Victor Valiant, 23.06.2020
+Stands the test of time.
I've used this Millenium BS-500 Set since 2011.
For nearly 9 years now, they've kept my Yamaha HS80M up.
With an Auralex acoustic pad in between them.

+Reliable
The weight all rests on the thick metal pin,
which is pinned at the position/height you set the shaft to be.
After all these years still reliable & no sign of wear.

+Great cable relief from connector
There's a cable hook provided to attach to the shaft for cables.
I've positioned the hook to face the front rather than the backside so the XLR cable runs in an smooth curvature from front of shaft to back at the speaker.
This way the hook takes the weight of the cable, and not the connector that hangs from the speakers.
Both cable & speaker inputs remains as good as new.
Many overlook cable weight strain on the connector, and might damage either connector or speaker input after years hanging down.

+The Triangle base
Pockets are great for tierupping/spiral rolling remaining cable.
Keeping the power cables, audio cables separate etc
It stands sturdy, with metal carpet spikes provided to screw on for minimal ground contact.

+Base can be rotated as desired to fit with desks.
And speakers all setup can still rotate.
Nice black textured coating, never dusty & easy to clean.

Everything what's expected of a speaker stand to do it does.
Just make sure you don't place overly sized speakers on it.
Or let people walk around them to much.
It can take a nudge but not a bump. Cheers V
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Solid, Semi-Stable and Good for Homestudio
Ceyhun K., 01.10.2016
Positive: These stands are easy to mount/ adjust and are solid. They are stable for as long as the floor is perpendicular and not askew, and the height of the pole is not set too high.

The triangle shaped foot is very handy not only for stabilization but also for fitting the stand in corners! The adjustability is very flexible and suits for one's needs. One can adjust the height of the pole and the direction of the surface holder accordingly.

There is a soft material on the corners of the surface holders which prevents the speaker from sliding and shocks.

Negative: Consider taking the measurements of contact surface area of the stand and your speakers before buying. I have the Yamaha HS8 which does not perfectly fit on the surface of the stand, the speaker comes 1 to 2 cm out of the surface.

The stand is not that stable when the speaker is bigger or heavy. The surface holder is sometimes difficult to rotate.

Extra: There is a piece of metal that I do not know exactly the utility of. This piece fits in holes of the pole, I use it as a sort of security, if ever the pole doesn't hold and collapses. By putting the piece of metal in the hole, one can prevent/block the pole from sliding to the ground if ever it fails to hold.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Disappointed
Nel., 05.02.2020
They seemed sturdy, reason why I purchased them, but they are not.

VERY BAD:
- The central vertical "tube" is only held by a single screw to the middle of the base, and it is likely very weak and easy to bend/damage. It does not fit very firmly, even when screwed with a lot of force
- There is metal or paint power inside the base frame, so you have to shake the things like a mad to get out what you can. Not only that powder is likely toxic (extremely thin), but also you clearly do not want that in any studio environment (magnets from speakers, mics, guitar pickups...)
- Bad powder coating/damaged finish on the base

LESS BAD
- Feet pressed inserts at the base are moving (not properly pressed into the base)
- Plastic molded parts are low quality
- You cannot put the lower cable managers, as they simply do not fit
- Not the best welding on the base
- I wish it was possible to lower a bit more the speakers

Unless you are on a budget and do not care about a bit of frustration, go ahead. I recommend purchasing something else, especially if you plan to move them a lot. You cannot tour with that.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Good price for okay product
solidsoundsolutions, 23.08.2016
I was purchasing the monitor stands for my little home studio to finally get my speakers off my desk and I was pretty excited when the box arrived.

The stands are easily to assemble as an easy to use manual comes with them. As a fitting Allen Key is provided, the stands should be up and ready within a few minutes. Unpacking took longer. ;-)

But unfortunately my delivery must have been a Monday production. One of the poles was slightly different, the provided bolt was not long enough to connect the foot with the pole. Therefore I was not able to assemble the second stand straight out of the box. As I am living in Ireland I figured that returning the whole thing because of a screw would not make a lot of sense. I contacted Thomann customer support but decided to visit the next ironmonger before they even had a chance to answer. Issue resolved, stand is working fine now. But I will have to remove a few stars for quality and the overall rating.

I still recommend the BS-500 Set for small project studios as the price is more than fair for what you get.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Will do the job
kuca, 09.06.2021
They do the job. There is nothing wrong with them for that price. Use decoupling pad because they conduct vibrations to the floor. The stability could be better. Make sure to tighten the screws well. The quality is good, but the design could be better.

Pros:
- Height adjustment
- Build quality
- Price

Cons:
- Design
- No decoupling
- Lack of mass

These are good enough, but not the final destination. I plan to upgrade from these to something more stable.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Adequate
Handreas, 01.02.2021
For the price these are fine. Perfectly adequate for a home studio or a small studio where they for the most part will be left alone. I would probably be worried if you have lots of people hanging around and bumping into things. I use this in my home where they stand alone behind my desk, where no one else but me have any reason to faff about.

Pros:
* They work.
* I'm not afraid they will bend or break anytime soon.
* Wide adjustment of height.

Cons:
* The screw mounting the speaker-base to the pole is not flush with the base, and the thin strips of foam just barely raises the speaker above the screw.
* They're not very stiff, I wouldn't put big or heavy speakers on them, even though they claim to hold up to 45kg.
* One of the triangular bases on mine is not perfectly flat. The feet can be adjusted to level it out, but it seems to me like these are just slapped together at the factory with very relaxed margins of error.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Maybe just unlucky
LouieD, 08.05.2021
I use this two stands for a pair of Yamaha HS8 in my home studio.
When they arrived and i assembled i already felt that a unit of the two was really weak while the other feels more sturdy, in particular the tube of the weak one bend really really easily form the base and make the monitor oscillate.
The other stand feels more secure even not completely firm but does his job.
If the two unit would have been like the solid one at this price i would nothing to complain.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
A Bit wobbly for larger monitors!
zigy, 03.01.2018
They are placed at home in a room that I am currently converting into a listening room / studio. On them sit a pair of Focal Shape 65 Monitors.

The floor that they stand on is hard stone tile so at first the plastic feet were used thinking that they would be better on the hard floor. However they did not contact the floor evenly and 'felt' slippery, sliding around. Metal spikes are provided so i switched the plastic flat feet for the metal spikes and the stands have a better grip on the tiles.

The triangular base allows a more flexible positioning between furniture and the wall than if it were to be a square or circular base shape.

the hollow vertical pipe is height adjustable but the stand can sway and does not encourage the impression of solid stability.

The Focal are relatively big and their feet barely stand on the top plate. The top plate could be a little bigger for these monitors.

Overall they are good for being a being able to position the monitors where they are needed but might be better suited for smaller lighter monitors that would fit on the top plate better.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
STURDY MONITOR STANDS
08.07.2015
I just put Yamaha HS8 Monitors on these very well made steel stands. The stands are set up to just sit the monitors on and there's a couple holes pre-drilled for that type of mounting if you're comfortable with it. I would rather not drill the cabinets to secure the monitors on the stands as a personal preference so I'll be making some kind of bracket that will compliment the design and fulfill the purpose.

I really don't think the monitors will slide off because there's nice soft rubber strips on the platform of the stands though I'd just feel better knowing something else is holding them on.

As far as tipping over, I don't believe that will happen unless someone bumps into them quite hard. Currently, I have the stands at the lowest level whereas the stand base seems configured well enough to prevent tipping over at that height. I haven't tried higher levels but the higher they go, I would make sense that would increases the tipping tendency but there's room on the base to put weight if needed. That may not be necessary though, one would have to test it. The lowest height setting is perfect for me and it needs no added weight. It's all simple physics.

Great quality stands that are priced very reasonable.

Shipping takes a little more time from what I'm used to but it's worth a weeks wait or so. The price is more than fair and it seems Thomann is a great place to shop and I will do so again.

The stands are just as described and just as I expected. Thank you for reading my review and good luck shopping for great stuff!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Nice design with lot of mistakes
Styller, 21.05.2020
I choose these stands because of the design and price and few of my friends already had them.

Pros:
+ Nice looking design with a triangle base
+ Panel has already pads on the top plate
+ price

Cons:
- Mine came already scratched and it wasn't even b-stock. The package was alright so it's probably the QC.
- Not enough holding holes in the main tube
- The backing pipe metal could be with a rubber finish. Resonates on certain low-end freqs.
- the whole held mechanism could be done wiser
- no really stable with 8" heavier nearfields
- the cable holders are made of the worse plastic and don't even keep in holes
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Perfect for a hi-fi setup
Abïri, 29.08.2021
They serve its purpouse well.
I was looking for stands that could position my passive speakers at a proper height. The adjustments are reasonable and the top surface has a spongy material so that vibrations are reduced. Just be careful with the triangle base while setting up. Although it is stable on its own, a small force in the wrong direction can tip the stand. Also, try not to hit the pointy ends with your foot fingers. Already won some scars from those :)
Perfect for my hi-fi setup.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
zwittbebo, 05.07.2021
great stands for the price...easy to assemble and ready for use in no time...would recommend a bigger pad if necessary depending on what monitors you got...
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
HIgh Quality and Sturdy
Karim K, 15.07.2021
This is the perfect stands for the size of the Personus E5s, very high quality and sturdy.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
it feels cheap
buddewr, 30.06.2021
i was scared at first that my speakers would fall from them

it feels cheap its not soild but its fine not toooo bad
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Good for starting point
Robert01, 15.12.2020
These stands are good to start but I wouldn't put expensive monitors on them. I'm satisfied to use them on my secondary monitors but for main I would be afraid of resonant frequencies even if they have soft stickers on the top. Also, the overall balance isn't perfect because of the only one screw from the bottom.
If you are building your home studio or you want to use them in your rehearsal room they will serve well, but be careful when you are walking around.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
One trick pony in the best way possible
Radu Burcea, 30.05.2021
These stands came to me in the HS8 + stands and I couldn't be more happy with how they are. Easy to build, light to carry but very stable.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Very good value
producerdude, 07.05.2021
They can withstand at least a 5.6 richter earthquake with 3 kilos of studio monitors on them. Also the triangular base helps allign the speakers at the 60 degrees angle you'd likely want them.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Does the job we asked for
adicri, 03.01.2020
Nice pair of stands, easy to mount and quite stable. I use it with my HS7 and never had a problem even tough i've had a few worries at parties with people messing around .

Nice adjustable settings with a safe pin. The triangle base is steady and the top panel has a rubber grip to hold the monitor in place.

Does the job we asked for the price you paid.

Would recommend it to friends.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
mediocre
PeaKock, 13.07.2021
mediocre stands, not very weighty. a but wobbly even and the steps aren't exactly at the same height of one another. this makes that one speaker is a bit (1cm) higher than the other
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Fair deal
George Kol, 05.12.2020
I got them for my adam t5v.
Everything is ok about this product. It feels robust which is the no1 for me. I don't want to see my monitors in lying in the floor.
They come with spikes or rubber feet.
The only con i can think of is that the screws that fit the monitor plate with the stand can't be tightened up very well. It seems to unscrew every now and then. Fixed it by putting some extra nuts. Now they "don't go anywhere".
They do what they suppose to do at a good price.
Fair deal for me.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Son buenos para mis monitores 5"
Edward Vera, 02.04.2021
Son muy estéticos, se ven muy bien en el estudio, son rígidos, no me han causado ningún problema, uso unos Eris e5 y quedan perfectos con el iso-pad 5.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Millenium BS-500 Set
31.10.2016
The BS-500 stands are simple and awesome. They have plenty of room left on the upper plate for my KRK Rokit 5's, they also have 2 non-slip bands on the upper side of the holding plate (where you put your speakers on them).

The constructing of these 2 stands (they come 2 in a pack, of course) was easy, you get the picture of how to set them up inside the pack, it took 10 minutes for both to set them up.

They have a special butterfly screw that holds the shaft that's inside the main tube for raising or lowering the stands. The base is pretty big (I didn't imagine that 60 cm for each side of the triangle base is that big :) ) and the whole thing is very very sturdy. They say they can hold a maximum of 45 kg per stand, and now I believe that.

Also as a final note, they came with 2 different types of little support bits for the triangle base : 3 x plastic screws for adherance on the hardwood floor, and 3 x metal screws with a sharp end for carpet floor; they are mounted on the base of the holding triangle, on the bottom side, exactly at the points where each side intersects, there's a screw hole there. (the main purpose would be so they don't slip on the surface you have your stands)

So no cons, just pros. Thanks Thomann!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Tugrul, 11.05.2021
Perfect balance, perfect price. Thank You
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Not stable, not durable
oliverfromearth, 06.04.2021
I got them in package with my H8s, but they lasted around 1 year or so. I hoped for something more fix and trusty.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
A little wobbly but good.
05.10.2016
These stands are good quality, they wobble back and forth noticeably for a little while if given a nudge (even at the lowest height) but they're not going to fall over easily.

I would've like maybe 5cm lower minimum height adjustment but they'll definitely be tall enough for whatever you want.

Some of the carpet spike feet don't screw in as tight as they should on one stand but other than that I've had no problems.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Millenium BS-500 Set

£41
Including VAT; Excluding £8 shipping
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328