Customer center login
Country and Language

Millenium BS-500 Set

5195 Customer Reviews

5 2587 Customers
4 1722 Customers
3 649 Customers
2 146 Customers
1 91 Customers
4.3 / 5

quality

Millenium BS-500 Set
£40
Including VAT; Excluding £8 shipping
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
1
VV
9 years later still standing strong
Victor Valiant 23.06.2020
+Stands the test of time.
I've used this Millenium BS-500 Set since 2011.
For nearly 9 years now, they've kept my Yamaha HS80M up.
With an Auralex acoustic pad in between them.

+Reliable
The weight all rests on the thick metal pin,
which is pinned at the position/height you set the shaft to be.
After all these years still reliable & no sign of wear.

+Great cable relief from connector
There's a cable hook provided to attach to the shaft for cables.
I've positioned the hook to face the front rather than the backside so the XLR cable runs in an smooth curvature from front of shaft to back at the speaker.
This way the hook takes the weight of the cable, and not the connector that hangs from the speakers.
Both cable & speaker inputs remains as good as new.
Many overlook cable weight strain on the connector, and might damage either connector or speaker input after years hanging down.

+The Triangle base
Pockets are great for tierupping/spiral rolling remaining cable.
Keeping the power cables, audio cables separate etc
It stands sturdy, with metal carpet spikes provided to screw on for minimal ground contact.

+Base can be rotated as desired to fit with desks.
And speakers all setup can still rotate.
Nice black textured coating, never dusty & easy to clean.

Everything what's expected of a speaker stand to do it does.
Just make sure you don't place overly sized speakers on it.
Or let people walk around them to much.
It can take a nudge but not a bump. Cheers V
quality
3
0
Report

Report

CK
Solid, Semi-Stable and Good for Homestudio
Ceyhun K. 01.10.2016
Positive: These stands are easy to mount/ adjust and are solid. They are stable for as long as the floor is perpendicular and not askew, and the height of the pole is not set too high.

The triangle shaped foot is very handy not only for stabilization but also for fitting the stand in corners! The adjustability is very flexible and suits for one's needs. One can adjust the height of the pole and the direction of the surface holder accordingly.

There is a soft material on the corners of the surface holders which prevents the speaker from sliding and shocks.

Negative: Consider taking the measurements of contact surface area of the stand and your speakers before buying. I have the Yamaha HS8 which does not perfectly fit on the surface of the stand, the speaker comes 1 to 2 cm out of the surface.

The stand is not that stable when the speaker is bigger or heavy. The surface holder is sometimes difficult to rotate.

Extra: There is a piece of metal that I do not know exactly the utility of. This piece fits in holes of the pole, I use it as a sort of security, if ever the pole doesn't hold and collapses. By putting the piece of metal in the hole, one can prevent/block the pole from sliding to the ground if ever it fails to hold.
quality
5
0
Report

Report

N
Disappointed
Nel. 05.02.2020
They seemed sturdy, reason why I purchased them, but they are not.

VERY BAD:
- The central vertical "tube" is only held by a single screw to the middle of the base, and it is likely very weak and easy to bend/damage. It does not fit very firmly, even when screwed with a lot of force
- There is metal or paint power inside the base frame, so you have to shake the things like a mad to get out what you can. Not only that powder is likely toxic (extremely thin), but also you clearly do not want that in any studio environment (magnets from speakers, mics, guitar pickups...)
- Bad powder coating/damaged finish on the base

LESS BAD
- Feet pressed inserts at the base are moving (not properly pressed into the base)
- Plastic molded parts are low quality
- You cannot put the lower cable managers, as they simply do not fit
- Not the best welding on the base
- I wish it was possible to lower a bit more the speakers

Unless you are on a budget and do not care about a bit of frustration, go ahead. I recommend purchasing something else, especially if you plan to move them a lot. You cannot tour with that.
quality
5
2
Report

Report

s
Good price for okay product
solidsoundsolutions 23.08.2016
I was purchasing the monitor stands for my little home studio to finally get my speakers off my desk and I was pretty excited when the box arrived.

The stands are easily to assemble as an easy to use manual comes with them. As a fitting Allen Key is provided, the stands should be up and ready within a few minutes. Unpacking took longer. ;-)

But unfortunately my delivery must have been a Monday production. One of the poles was slightly different, the provided bolt was not long enough to connect the foot with the pole. Therefore I was not able to assemble the second stand straight out of the box. As I am living in Ireland I figured that returning the whole thing because of a screw would not make a lot of sense. I contacted Thomann customer support but decided to visit the next ironmonger before they even had a chance to answer. Issue resolved, stand is working fine now. But I will have to remove a few stars for quality and the overall rating.

I still recommend the BS-500 Set for small project studios as the price is more than fair for what you get.
quality
2
0
Report

Report

k
Will do the job
kuca 09.06.2021
They do the job. There is nothing wrong with them for that price. Use decoupling pad because they conduct vibrations to the floor. The stability could be better. Make sure to tighten the screws well. The quality is good, but the design could be better.

Pros:
- Height adjustment
- Build quality
- Price

Cons:
- Design
- No decoupling
- Lack of mass

These are good enough, but not the final destination. I plan to upgrade from these to something more stable.
quality
0
0
Report

Report

H
Adequate
Handreas 01.02.2021
For the price these are fine. Perfectly adequate for a home studio or a small studio where they for the most part will be left alone. I would probably be worried if you have lots of people hanging around and bumping into things. I use this in my home where they stand alone behind my desk, where no one else but me have any reason to faff about.

Pros:
* They work.
* I'm not afraid they will bend or break anytime soon.
* Wide adjustment of height.

Cons:
* The screw mounting the speaker-base to the pole is not flush with the base, and the thin strips of foam just barely raises the speaker above the screw.
* They're not very stiff, I wouldn't put big or heavy speakers on them, even though they claim to hold up to 45kg.
* One of the triangular bases on mine is not perfectly flat. The feet can be adjusted to level it out, but it seems to me like these are just slapped together at the factory with very relaxed margins of error.
quality
0
0
Report

Report

z
A Bit wobbly for larger monitors!
zigy 03.01.2018
They are placed at home in a room that I am currently converting into a listening room / studio. On them sit a pair of Focal Shape 65 Monitors.

The floor that they stand on is hard stone tile so at first the plastic feet were used thinking that they would be better on the hard floor. However they did not contact the floor evenly and 'felt' slippery, sliding around. Metal spikes are provided so i switched the plastic flat feet for the metal spikes and the stands have a better grip on the tiles.

The triangular base allows a more flexible positioning between furniture and the wall than if it were to be a square or circular base shape.

the hollow vertical pipe is height adjustable but the stand can sway and does not encourage the impression of solid stability.

The Focal are relatively big and their feet barely stand on the top plate. The top plate could be a little bigger for these monitors.

Overall they are good for being a being able to position the monitors where they are needed but might be better suited for smaller lighter monitors that would fit on the top plate better.
quality
0
0
Report

Report

L
Maybe just unlucky
LouieD 08.05.2021
I use this two stands for a pair of Yamaha HS8 in my home studio.
When they arrived and i assembled i already felt that a unit of the two was really weak while the other feels more sturdy, in particular the tube of the weak one bend really really easily form the base and make the monitor oscillate.
The other stand feels more secure even not completely firm but does his job.
If the two unit would have been like the solid one at this price i would nothing to complain.
quality
0
0
Report

Report

n
Best buy
nerijozas 13.10.2021
These stands are perfect for my studio! They replaced my previous, handmade wooden ones.
I especially want to highlight the option of carpet needles - it has made placement much easier. The height-adjustable locks also made a good impression. In addition, the resonant sound of the stand tubes is almost equal to zero (Hey pro's! not to zero dB, of course :D ).
I am very happy with this purchase and highly recommend!
quality
0
0
Report

Report

A
STURDY MONITOR STANDS
Anonymous 08.07.2015
I just put Yamaha HS8 Monitors on these very well made steel stands. The stands are set up to just sit the monitors on and there's a couple holes pre-drilled for that type of mounting if you're comfortable with it. I would rather not drill the cabinets to secure the monitors on the stands as a personal preference so I'll be making some kind of bracket that will compliment the design and fulfill the purpose.

I really don't think the monitors will slide off because there's nice soft rubber strips on the platform of the stands though I'd just feel better knowing something else is holding them on.

As far as tipping over, I don't believe that will happen unless someone bumps into them quite hard. Currently, I have the stands at the lowest level whereas the stand base seems configured well enough to prevent tipping over at that height. I haven't tried higher levels but the higher they go, I would make sense that would increases the tipping tendency but there's room on the base to put weight if needed. That may not be necessary though, one would have to test it. The lowest height setting is perfect for me and it needs no added weight. It's all simple physics.

Great quality stands that are priced very reasonable.

Shipping takes a little more time from what I'm used to but it's worth a weeks wait or so. The price is more than fair and it seems Thomann is a great place to shop and I will do so again.

The stands are just as described and just as I expected. Thank you for reading my review and good luck shopping for great stuff!
quality
5
1
Report

Report

Your browser doesn't support javascript. Please update to the latest version or try another, modern browser.
Millenium BS-500 Set