Customer center login

Millenium Amp Clamp

635 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
3.6 /5
  • handling
  • stability
  • quality
Total
handling
stability
quality
Way too flexible
Rafael D. Nunez , 20.05.2018
This amp clamp won't stay in place for long.
I've attached it to my amp and tried it with a really light mic but even so it always starts bending down after a while.
I'd suggest you spend some extra money and buy something more sturdy...

It's easy to attach and all but it's purpose, which is to keep the mic in place in your amp, fails completely.
Anyway, if you're still interested in this piece of clamp, the flexible tube can be dettached and swapped for something sturdier. I think they sell that separate part, but I haven't look it up yet.

I hope this review helps. Have a good day!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Barely functional
Vujekvasyl, 29.01.2020
The clamp instals easily but only on small speaker cabs due to limited grip. The spring that holds the clamp makes the strange sound when the amb is being played(!) sonuns like spring reverb. Funny effect but certainly unwanted. The movement of the gooseneck is limited and the neck keeps comming back to its initial position. Hence the clamp is barely functional.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Don't bother with cab grabber
21.07.2016
Summary:
Save yourself some money, but this instead of the cab grabber

Use:
Busy pub covers band. This gets bashed around weekly. It's survived drunks kicking at it*, me loading it carelessly, the amp falling on it... it's a great piece of kit

Quality:
It's just as good as a cab grabber. The goose neck isn't quite as stiff, so you have to spend maybe 10 seconds more getting it in position, but honestly, what were you going to do with those ten seconds? Look at facebook? This is perfect for purpose

*Drunks kicking it: I don't know what it is that enrages the inebriates of this world about an amp clamp, but it does. Any time a drunk person sees it, they just want to punt it! Same for the cab grabber. This has stood up to three punts. I still have a spare though.

Seriously, great great product
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
very useful
Jack7183, 27.06.2014
a grate peace of cit for anyone doing live sound i have two of these now . grate for geting a nice tidy stage its out of the way it avoids your mic positions being moved by artiest kicking over your mic stands these clamps have a nice handy cable clip on them so you can beep your cables tidy as well. the goos neck is grate on smaller lighter mic's you can move it feely and it stays in position if you start to use heavier mics tho it dose tend to droop a bit but its not to bad iff you put the clamp up hieer than where you what your mic to go. these clamps are a grate perchance and im very happy with them word of worming tho iff you need them to mic up an orange 4x12 cabb this clamp wont fit its a bit of a stretch to fit on most cabs of that size for combos its grate ones for an experiment i did use it to clamp a mic to a rack tom witch worked pretty well looks horrible but it worked! so yeah i would recommend this clamp to a friend
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Has some flaws
Erik7934, 13.01.2014
A clamp-on mic stand for the gutar amp is very practical for many situations. I'm using the Millennium Amp Clamp during rehershals and plan on using it live too. It's very easy to mount and there is no risk of bumping it out of position.

There are two flaws with the construction. First, the gooseneck is not flexible enough and tends to flex back when you try to position it. It's difficult to get it to point exactly where you want it to point. I'm going to replace it with a better goose neck (any mic stand goose neck should be possible to mount).

Second, I would have wanted it to be able to accept wider cabinets. My fellow guitarist in the band has an Orange 2x12 cab, and it's too wide for the amp clamp.

In summary, it's a nice product, but make sure your cabinet is narrow enough, and you need to plan on replacing the goose neck.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
I thought that would be better
30.03.2017
It really stays in place when you attach it one the amp but that goose neck... It is really trash. never stays in place, I am really unsatisfied with that purchase.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
01.10.2014
Did not work for me - mic positioning is not as flexible in terms of precise mic positioning as claimed. In the model I bought mic was always bouncing back to a certain position, which I did not like. Buy it if your have a specific budget and the problem I faced actually works for you well.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Works well (if a bit fiddly)
cbd123, 14.05.2018
I leave this in my pedalboard case along with an MB75 (Thomann's excellent SM57 clone). It's much easier to carry, and quicker to set up, than a normal mic stand.

It's merely "OK" in terms of how well it holds the mic in place. I never worry that it will fall off, but it can fall a small distance before it settles in its final position, due to a combination of the spring tension and slighly weak gooseneck.

This is easy to work around - just put it on a tiny bit higher than where you'd like the mic to end up, and it will sink to the correct place. And for the price, this is definitely a reasonable compromise.

I'd definitely recommend this to anyone who needs to mic up a guitar or bass amp but doesn't want to carry a heavy mic stand around all the time.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
excellent quality
Harrisxr650, 29.01.2021
7 years of use, numerous gigs, rehearsals, recordings traveling,

and still this thing is solid as rock.

recomended
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Handy bit of kit
Harry Turner, 01.11.2019
Good strong spring.
The clamps are hard plastic.
It won't support a heavy LDC but for most mics i.e a SM57 it'll hold it in place.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Great space saver on stage
kennedydream, 28.09.2017
Great product for on stage use. Takes up less space than a bulky mic stand on stage and allows you to get the mic into the perfect position on the speaker.

I've used the clamp on a few different combo's and cabs and it's fit fine on them all.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Fits Sennheiser E609 Perfectly!!!
dspodium, 31.12.2017
The clamp is sturdy and because of the goose neck, you can position a 'non-regular' amp mic like the Sennheiser E609 or E906 in an excellent position, even touching the grill if you are into that kind of setting.

Other reviews stated that the goose neck don't hold mics properly as it's not strong, I have no issues whatsoever, the mic stays in perfect place in my rehearsal room as well as on stage.

I use is in several cabs and combos with the exact same excellent results.

Cabs Used:
- Jet City 24S+ (2x12)
- Blackstart HT-408 (4x8)

Amps Used:
- Marshall Mini Jubilee 2525C
- Fender Bassbreaker 15 Combo
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Amp Clamp for live use
Andrew G., 13.08.2020
Bought this amp clamp to negate the need to carry a mic stand around. It fits nicely on my boogie and although it can move about easily it generally stays in the right position. I have the mic off center to the edge of the speaker cone and it's perfect for this. Worth the money for the convenience.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Compact mic holder
Honza, 25.05.2017
Idea behind this compact mic holder is great, but there is still some room for improvement.

First of all, this clamp might have problem with attaching to some straight boxes, due to it's limited stretch option (We tried and failed on Orange 2x12 reprobox). On the other hand, you are still able to use it even if it doesn't fit your cab, there is always a way.

Second problem I discovered is the weight of the microphone for adjustable part of the clamp. It's quite hard to keep it at the sweet spot, since the weight of the mic dragging the clamp down to certain position. It'd be nice if the adjustable part was more solid.

Anyway, even with it's flaws it's still very good and handy product
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Unusable
mbolge, 26.04.2017
This is the worst Millenium product that I have ever purchased. I got it to use with a Champ 12 in live situations where I didn't want to/couldn't bring a Deluxe, which you have the room to just hang a mic on. I tested this with an SM57, standard mic used to mic up guitar amps. The clamp does clamp to the amp well, but that is the only thing it does well. The goose neck on it does not allow for proper mic positioning. I could bend the neck into only one real position, and then after a few minutes it would droop back to some other position. I tried it on each side of the amp and also on the top, because I wanted this to work. It just doesn't work well. If the mic position, and ensuring that the Mic doesn't move during playing, doesn't matter to you then this product will do what you want. If the mic position, and ensuring that the Mic doesn't move during playing, does matter to you then stay well away from this product.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
useful but not great
Pauls R, 16.06.2017
The conveniece is that this amp clamp is lighter, more compact and easier to setup than regular mic stands. It can save up some space when gigging. I use the amp clamp for fender frontman 212R amp and Sennheiser E 906 mic. The problem is that the amp clamp is not flexible enough to allow to put the E906 really close to the speaker. Closest it goes is around 8cm from the speaker. So if we're recording something with the band we use the regular mic stand. But for live gigs the 8-10cm distance doesnt really seem to make such a big difference. So it depends what mic you use, if the mic i meant to be put with the tip to the speaker(like shure sm57), this amp clamp will be suitable, but if something like E906 that is meant to be put parallel to the speaker then you will not be able to put it really close to speaker.
The quality seems ok, there are no defects yet after at least dozen times of use.


frontman 212r
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
the hook it not stay on the wanted shape
jimbo77, 06.02.2019
hello , cool product for the price it cost , but honestly the hook it not hold the shape i was selecting and i have to lock it with some elastic spring to stay in position
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Not really fit for purpose
27.01.2016
I've tried this with a couple of mics, and it can't hold anything in place. The gooseneck bends back out towards straight, and you can't easily fit an alternative as it's a female connector on the clamp (the supplied goose neck is male-male). It's a shame, as it's a great idea in theory, it just doesn't quite work.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Great idea, but could be made a little better
Daniel631, 21.01.2015
I bought a pair of these amp clamps in order to mic up the two Vox AC30s we use in our band. Prior to this we had simply hung our Sennheisser mics from their xlr leads slung over the top of the amps and secured in place by black gaffa tape. Sometimes however, the tape can come unstuck, so these clamps seemed to be an ideal solution. However, we're not happy with the clamps so we've gone back to the gaffa!

The AC30s are big amps, but the spring loaded clamps do manage to stretch around the cabinets and hold firmly in place. The main problems with these units is the goose neck section. It's not very long, so you may struggle to get it to stretch across to achieve a decent position in front of the speaker cone in a large cabinet. Even then, the goose neck is not of particularly high quality: it does not tend to want to stay in one place, and droops under the load of even a light weight mic.

The Sennheisser E 906 mics that we use are designed to be positioned flat in parallel with the grille cloth, and it is pretty much impossible to achieve this position with the goose neck provided. I suspect you'd have better luck positioning a mic like a Shure SM58, where the mic is positioned tangentially to the speaker - especiallly with a smaller amp or cabinet.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Rocknrolla, 07.07.2017
Interesting idea, but the sizes of clamping does not feet to my cabinet (I have Marshall 12x4 1960) and this "goose neck" is too weak to hold microphone in any position I want.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Some issues...
23.07.2015
As has been mentioned in other reviews this is 'almost' a great piece of kit. The clamp part is excellent, very sturdy and won't mark your expensive combo. The gooseneck part is not so great. If it works for your particular mic placement then fine...but if you need to bend the neck to 90 degrees there is a problem. It likes being straight and - without using gaffa tape or cable ties - the neck will straighten itself.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Useful tool - be sure to try a number of fixing positions
irfrench, 20.08.2015
The product arrived really quickly - always welcome! - and was well packaged.

My main use for this was to have a mic permanently set up on my amp for quick and easy recording purposes meaning that it would be a set and forget and therefore had to be stable.

Attaching it to the amp is easy (the springs are reassuringly strong) and the mic thread is standard so pretty much anything should attach.

I had some initial problems with it sagging - however if the clamp is place over the top of the cab (rather than on the side) it resists gravity better. I've tried it with a few mics (SM57, Heil PR30, CAD Trion 7000) and it supports those fine. It would not work with large heavy condensers such as the sE z5600aII or a U87 so consider that if you are planning to use such mics.

It has supported the PR-30 for a couple of months now without sagging so am confident in its longevity.

All in all it has done what I hoped it would and saves me having mic stands taking up floor space.

Recommended.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Works as advertised
Toneshaper, 01.03.2018
Provides a good grip, and seems sturdy. Would recommend
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Fits fine, but doesn't stay in place
09.10.2014
bought 2 of these to minimize the amount of stands on stage when performing.

Fits nicely on our fender twinreverb amps with the clamp.
The downside is that the gooseneck doesn't stay in place during a concert. We've tried different placements on the amp, but all with the result that the gooseneck straightens a bit over time and mic is therefore no longer in place causíng the sound to alter or not being there at all!!!

maybe you get what you pay for?
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
stability
quality
Pretty good
Mark381, 16.01.2014
This doesn't fit all amps/cabs but when it does fit it's pretty good.

Your microphone manual will tell you how far away from the speaker it should be, usually around an inch. When fitted to a cab I had difficulty managing this but on a combo you often gain a little play because the top (above the controls) will be set back from the frame of the cab. If the goose neck was longer this would be solved.

Having said that, this is very good value and works pretty well. You could put a longer goose neck on it if you needed to.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Millenium Amp Clamp

£20.90
Including VAT; Excluding £8 shipping
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-35
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Online Guides
Microphone accessories
Microphone accessories
The right accessories bring out the best in your microphones. Find out what’s available and what you can do with it!
Online Guides
Drum Mics
Drum Mics
Miking up and recording a drum kit is a fairly complicated procedure, and this can apply equally to choosing the right mics for the job.
 
 
 
 
 
test results: