To the page content
seventy years logo
Join Thomann's Anniversary! We reward your loyalty with special offers! Get your deals

Line6 Pocket Pod

565 Customer ratings

4.1 / 5

You have to be logged in to rate products.

Note: To prevent ratings from being based on hearsay, smattering or surreptitious advertising we only allow ratings from real users on our website, who have bought the equipment from us.

After logging in you will also find all items you can rate under rate products in the customer centre.

handling

features

sound

quality

275 Reviews

Line6 Pocket Pod
£102
Including VAT; Excluding £10 shipping
In stock
In stock

This product is in stock and can be shipped immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Delivery approx. between Tuesday, 30.07. and Wednesday, 31.07.
1
T
Very limited funtions without usb, flimsy build quality.
TrEr 17.11.2020
I used to own a full sized POD back when they were a new thing. It was amazing for it's time but I've since moved on to proper tube amps and never looked back.

Until now...

For various reasons I can't make as much noise at home as I used to so I needed something for silent practising/noodling. I went for the PocketPOD, expecting to get a sort of mini-version of the POD I used to own back in the day. I was wrong.

The Pocket POD is missing most of the hands on functionality of the original full size PODs. Of course there will be limitations with this small pocket size but I'm still a bit disappointed. Lots of functions (like changing cab models) aren't available except via usb and editing software so not very "pocket" at all.

I'm also disappointed with the layout for changing amp models. This requires digging into menus using a fiddly control panel. Selecting presets are actually far easier than selecting an amp model to dial in your own sound. Or to put it another way: I was expecting to get a nice variety of "amps in a box" but what I got was a bunch of "presets in a box". It doesn't exactly help that most of the presets are severely overcooked, like drenched i chorus, etc.

Of course it's possible to start with a basic amp model and go from there but the whole layout is based on presets. Using the Pocket POD the way you would use an actual amp (turning knobs) isn't really possible without digging into menus and doing the whole "hold this button and turn that knob" routine. In some ways it feels more like an 80s Japanese drum machine than a guitar amp. And THAT's the big difference to the older full size PODs: The old ones were a lot more "hands on" and the layout/functionality felt a lot more like an actual amp.

The sound quality is ok though. Not great but ok. I was expecting more to be honest but I guess amp modelling at this price still doesn't sound or feel even remotely like the real thing.

It's more than good enough for home practicing but I wish it was more user friendly for those of us who like to dial in their own sounds rather than selecting from a variety of ping-pong-delay presets.

The built quality can be summed up it two words: Flimsy plastic.

This thing isn't built to last. It's built to be cheap and it shows.

I wish I had gotten a small modelling amp with a headphone out instead.
handling
features
sound
quality
4
2
Report

Report

S
The Best Tone for the on-the-go Guitarist
Schengis 28.06.2019
I bought this as a gift for a friend after owning the POD X3 bean for many, many years. After testing it out in-store I thought it would best fit his purposes.

If you're looking for a portable unit with a ton of tone options and reasonable sound quality, then you'll be very happy with this thing. My one HUGE complaint about other effects preamps in this price range is that they never have any sort of quality speaker/amp modeling. The Pocket Pod has just enough power in it to keep most people satisfied, and it can even sound decent in a home studio setting if you want a lot of tone flexibility in a small package.

The size and portability comes at the price of usability, though. Unlike larger models like the X3, the user interface isn't as clear-cut as it could be.

Pros:
- Great for practicing, jamming, and writing
- Wide variety of tones in a portable package
- Speaker modeling

Cons:
- Maybe not "stage ready" for most
- User interface can be clunky at times
- Build quality could feel cheap to some

All in all a wonderful little gadget to have in your arsenal.
handling
features
sound
quality
1
0
Report

Report

A
A wonderful practice tool.
Alzo 03.07.2017
I use this to practice with at home with headphones plugged in and it sounds just great you can plug it into speakers to and get great sound.. ive tried it with the amp out cable into a Fender mustang and wasn't really pleased with it.. however I have plugged it straight into a PA via the headphone out jack and it sounded amazing..

Loads of great sounds and amp models just like the POD2.0
It does sound really good..

Now the cons..
It's not well built.. feels fairly flimsy plastic and one of the knobs on mine has got really stiff and hard to turn.. it's awkward to get at the different settings.. you need two hands usually to adjust.. and when you've got a guitar around your neck.. also it's very light and moves around when your playing..

All in all it sounds great.. brilliant to practice with.. or to take travelling.. just a little worried about how long it will last
handling
features
sound
quality
1
0
Report

Report

A
Good sound but bad user interphase
Anonymous 12.09.2015
This product gives good sound, and is easy tu carry around. The user interpase is very bad. This does not hinder me from using the product, but it is cumbersome to change preprogrammed sounds.
handling
features
sound
quality
2
0
Report

Report

s
pocket wow
stellios 31.03.2014
About the work of Line6 in the field of digital modelings have to I do not say much more . For thomann the pods were dozens of original amps analyzed and digitally recreated - the same modelings are also found in the Pocket Pod , at a much cheaper price than the larger models .

Operating the Pocket Pod is intuitive and easy , after a few minutes you get the hang of it. With the help of thomann knob one uses to each amp model the gain , the amount of effect , the delay proportion and the volume of the amp . By pressing a button the controller to operate a second level - bass , middle, treble and reverb. An important effects everything is there - chorus, flanger, tremolo, compressor, etc. A global noise gate thomann is also on board , very practical in single coils, because the noise but may annoy some .

The presets are very nice to start with , but at some point you would like to create his own sound. All memory locations are overwritten - it is best to done that with the free downloadable Vyzex editor. This one has thomann access to settings of the individual amps that you so on the Pocket Pod can not do ( assign a different cabinet models , microphones , Drive - switches, etc.) . So you can really work very well . On the Line6 website you can also download thousands more presets created by other users and thomann using the editor playing on his pod. Since some beads are in!

The clean and angecrunchten sounds like to me personally better than the high-gain stuff, but this is perhaps a matter of taste . In any case, you should use a good set of headphones !

The Pocket Pod is definitely a great part , to practice / play around as well as to thomann home recording . The modelings sound authentic and just sound good!
handling
features
sound
quality
1
2
Report

Report

A
Anonymous 17.10.2015
Horn of plenty?
Lots of different sounds and effects in a small packet. Sometimes too many, as the user interface gets too complex with all the features. Sounds OK but not great, the dynamics are not comparable with real amps.

This is still my choise for a practice headphone amp, it is nice to plug in a mp3-player and guitar for practice.
handling
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

H
Great device for practice, holidays or travel
Hillman 09.07.2019
Obviously not comparable with the latest generations of modelers, but if you need something really portable with more than acceptable sounds look no further. Great for guitarists when travelling and I would even consider doing gigs with it unless you need to change sounds a lot. Do buy an adapter because otherwise you'll get very poor by having to buy new batteries very often. Recommended !!!
handling
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

j
A good option for mobility
jjsefton 27.07.2019
While it's a bit outdated, it's still a good tool for those who need something light that they can take with them. It would be the perfect companion for a eletric travel guitar.
You have many sound options, and while the sound quality is not the best, it's usable for practice.
handling
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

A
Like a pedal board in your pocket
Anonymous 13.09.2014
When I first started playing the guitar, I found this to be an excellent alternative to spending lots of money on pedals I did not know how to use effectively yet. Now that I am more experienced, I still find myself using this for when I want to practice with headphones. Just make sure you take out the batteries after use as they seem to drain even when the pod is off.
handling
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

R
Fun good looking gadget
RuiFranca 11.07.2017
I have bought this because at the time I had no laptop to use guitar software and cannot have an amp not to disturb any neighbours. It is a good gadget to walk around the house does have decent presets and sounds but the batteries get consumed pretty quickly so you I advise to get really good ones.

You can have a lot of fun with it so go for it!
handling
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

Line6 Pocket Pod