Customer center login

Line6 HX Stomp

254 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.8 /5
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Great but not perfect
allanjelly, 24.01.2020
I have been using HX Stomp for the past 6 months and have some remarks.
1). It's really well-built, has tons of features & the sound quality is really professional - really nothing to complain about.
2). It has some added uses - about which you might have not known:
- it is a great practice tool - on its own - you can just plug-in your headphones to it and have a good time practicing while using the simulation of whatever amp you like
- it is a really good recording interface (via USB) with ASIO/midi etc.

2). It has some minor flaws which I would like you to be aware of:
- the quality of effects is not even:
- time-based effects (reverbs, delays, vibratos, choruses etc.) are simply superb;
- amp simulations - are really great - but require lots of effort to sound right - they just don't work like real tube amps which tend to sound ok at all the settings. These simulated amps CAN sound great - provided you found the settings which suit your guitar, pickups and playstyle. And believe me there are a lot of settings that can be set wrong.
- noise gate - it' simply is there - but it's really nothing sophisticated or special
- looper - it's there but the buffer is really short
- overdrives/distortions - I still prefer the real counterparts. Maybe I still did not find the correct settings? For me they do not sound ok - they do not clean up as they should and the tone/texture is simply is not there

- you really cannot use a standard power source from your pedalboard - you have to use the one provided with the unit - it is a 3000mA source. Not a big problem, but adds some mess to your pedalboard.
- you have to be good at word puzzles to use this one - due to copyright issues - example? What is "$$ for nada" preset?
Dire Straits - Money for Nothing :-) What is "2/3 beards"? - ZZ Top
Sometimes you will guess sometimes you will not - but this does not make the life easier.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Perfect pocket solution for recording, rehreasing and live playing
BananaGuy, 13.08.2020
Ok Here is little story. I've tried lot of units. I originaly started with pod hd500x back when it was the hottest modeling unit out there. Then I started to experiment with other units and effects, went through Boss GT-100, TC electronics nova system, analog effects pedalboard, back to GT-100 and then Helix and Helix LT came out. It was perfect. Had everything I ever needed but it was little on the large side of floor units. So I sold my Helix LT and tried smaller Boss GT-1000, which was, for me as Boss fan, one of the greatest let downs ever. I was back with large and for my three and half (ambient clean/drone sound, overdrive, hi-gain) simple presets overly capable Helix LT. So what now?

Long story short, I sold the LT and bought this little piece of greatness.

There are few things worth mentioning if you are still deciding on buying:

1) It is built like tank. No bendy, soft sheet but thick casted metal stombox
2) Sound quality of amp models is, as with whole Helix family, exceptional
3) Controls and UI are amazingly intuitive. You really don't need to use PC to create sounds (except for updloading IRs)

And some little flaws I just mention so I won't sound like payed Line6 fanboy:
1) It gets warm after some time of use - lots of circuitry cramped in small metal box
2) Some of the effect models are little lacking compared to others
3) Powersource is almost as big as the unit itself and you can't use your pedalboards powersource out of the box thanks to HX stomps power demands and inverted polarity. Might be issue if you want to use it as part of bigger pedalboard.
4) It really could use some controls cover or software lock to prevent accidental switching when you misstep.

I use it for both home recording and live situations and if you are looking for all-in-one pocket solution or want to expand your pedalboard look no more. This thing is no-brainer.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Awesome product. Changed my all analog rig.
nrozinha, 13.11.2020
Hi, first of all i want to say that i fought over having digital stuff in my rig. I was a tube amp guy, expensive boutique pedals, expensive pedalboard, good cables, stereo routing, etc etc. But the truth was that i was always afraid of the amount things that could fail in a live situation. Unfortunately that happened and it was really frustrating. So after years i finnally decided to give a try and i bought the Stomp. The goal was to have a reliable pedalboard, with great sound, no more tons of cables, something almost plug and play. The first impression when i got the Stomp was how tiny but sturdy and weel built it was. Also very good looking. i tried some factory presets trough the PA system and i knew instantly that it would soung as good as my analog rig. Of course that some tweaking had to be made but he sound was there. At the present moment and after some rehearsals done and exploring the Stomp i have to say that my rig chanved completely. Now it?s Guitar into STOMP, midi switcher that i had already and an expression pedal (very needed in order to have flexibility, options and to take advantage of the full optential of the Stomp) straight into de mixer and PA systems. No more Amp, cabinet, pedalboard, mics and spare tool kit. It?s my guitar and my case with the Stomp in it. Simple, light, reliable and with a 3D sound as i?ve never had!
Also the software is really really user friendly. One of the best if not the best.
Don?t compare this with Helix floor. Their purposes are different. The only downside is that right now you only have 6 blocks. i can manage with that perfectly. Line 6 has confirmed that is going to release an update which allows 8 blocks. It?s going to be awesome and enough for 98% of players.
And the price for this little and powerfull tool is a must. So much money spent in boutique...not worthy.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Perfect for my compact pedal board build!
Rain214, 27.08.2019
There's really nothing more to say about this amazing HX Stomp. Before I have this Mooer pedals for my modulations, it sounds good also and very small which is I like because I want to have a small pedal board that is easy to carry when travelling. But I decided to change it with this HX Stomp as it has a lot more to offer than just the modulations. It's Amp and Cab simulations are so awesome, that is also another main reason why I got this baby. I used the FX loop to integrate it with my Flyrig RK5, and Dunes OD and all the modulations, compressor, and Amp&Cab sims from the HX Stomp make everything sound so complete. And the tone from my pedal board is really really awesome. Tweaking the HX stomp is really easy but it is much easier with the the software that can be downloaded on the Line6 site called HX Edit.

Pros:
-The Stomp is very well built, really cool looking device and it does what it should do, you can also use 4 cable method on it, Stereo or Mono and integrate it with the existing analog pedals on your board by using the FX loop's Send and Return.
-Not that heavy and it doesn't feel cheap.
-Value for money.
-The possibilities on this device are endless.

Cons:
-The power adapter is nice but not good position if you want to plug it under your pedal board, that is why I got the current doubler so that I can plug it in my existing pedal board power supply. It says that it needs 3A but it runs under 1A when it is powered on so I use to 9v on my board's PSU with both 500ma each isolated and it works perfectly.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
It’s awesome.
Reckonhighs, 05.06.2019
Pros. 1. Amp simulation is just beyond for the price. The unit support custom IR loading, for high gain sounds I definitely recommend doing that, but bluesy, crunchy tones and cleans sparkle out of the box. 2. Recording with it is a dream: I use USB 5 channel for the dry signal and USB1/2 stereo for the processed sound. Dry signal can be later ‘reamped’ with Helix Native (discounted with this unit). 3. It has four inputs, no XLR, but for that I use external preamp. 4. It’s small and light.
Cons. 1. Adjusting the presets on the unit is tricky, I use HX Edit for desktop. 2. Looper handling requires crazy fast double tap. 3. Bulky power supply. 4. 6 blocks per preset sometimes are not enough: almost every amp I use requires additional EQ block, that means 3 blocks are taken by IR, EQ and the amp itself.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Portable and powerful
Jack4863, 04.04.2021
A great piece of gear to help minimize board size, but keep the power and flexibility of a bigger pedal collection. The onboard amp models sound great, and the recording options via USB are top notch too. The fact that you are able to record both dry and wet signal via USB, and perform internal routing for re-amping makes it a great tool for experimenting with your sound in recordings. If it was busted (which is not likely, based on the build quality), I would definitely replace it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
top all in one unit
GMabriel, 16.06.2021
very good, compact, good qualitty, sounds awsome
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Like a Swiss knife
Francesco b, 02.01.2021
I wanted a all-in-one machine to play guitar and the HX Stomp has been the right choice. Amps simulations are pretty good, with a lot of hystoric amps and more recent machines.
There a lot of effects (od, fuzz, distortion, modulation etc.) and the new firmware 3.0 is a step beyond. Now you can get up to 8 blocks (until the dsp can run them), wich was the more requested feature by customers.
The interface is really simple to understand and the construction quality is remarkable (well made plastic knobs and solid metallic chassis). If you need an exp volume or two more switches you can add them plugging them easily.
You can use it as a all-in-one machine or a multieffects stomp. At this price it's probably the best gear you can get
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Amazing how far we've come
Bedroom warrior, 07.05.2020
I'm using the Line6 HX Stomp to 1) drive my speakers, 2) as an effects unit in the effects loop of my amp, and 3) as a silent practicing tool with my computer. All of this at the same time, which is incredible.

The unit itself is fantastic. The amp models are amazing, cabinets are great, ability to upload impulses is also spectacular. Sounds great!

Three areas where I would still be careful. First, practicing with headphones is SUPER dependent on the headphones. It sounded terrible until I got a pair of Sennheiser 650s, thanks to the open back and high quality speakers. If you want to use it for that, calculate extra costs for good headphones.

Second, my unit has frozen once or twice, forcing me to factory reset. I'm pretty sure this is due to a driver conflict with the computer, but still something to keep in mind. It is a super complex piece of kit, so you CAN run into issues with your other hardware.

Third, this thing can do so many things that the learning curve is very steep. It took me a few weeks before I found sounds that worked for me.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
All the effects you will ever need!
Kaarel Raud, 06.03.2020
I am more than pleased with my HX Stomp. The convenience of having an expansive pedalboard's worth of effects in one compact box is incredible - for most gigs and practice sessions, I simply keep the HX Stomp in my gig bag and use it as my entire rig. The top-quality amp simulation means that I haven't had to use a heavy and finicky traditional guitar amp at all. The only criticism I have is that the finish on the pedal isn't the most solid compared to some other guitar pedals and due to being carried around so much it has acquired some small visual blemishes rather easily. Otherwise, I heavily recommend the HX Stomp for all guitarists and bassists looking for the ultimate pedal experience.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
13243, 29.03.2021
Just a great multi-effect in a small box.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Sold it and got an Fractal FM3
AlesT, 19.01.2021
Had almost all LINE 6 products since 1996...
Liked them since I've first heard Fractal III. Also had Kemper (twice, FA II etc.).
Since the FAIII all of them (Kemper, Helix) seems like a plastic toys to me...
The FAIII is a hughe step forward in sound, feel, touch response etc. I have even sold my Friedman amps because of FAIII.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
The Cones of Dunshire Pedal
Bobbo Byrnes, 22.07.2019
This pedal does fuckall. And I mean that as a good thing. But I've never had to watch so many online tutorials and download such a manual just to play guitar. It's punishing and I'm not up for it. If you are willing to take the time to learn this pedal you will be rewarded with amazing sounds unique to you. If you want something to plug in and go with quickly - this ain't for you.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
You have not purchased yet?
lifedreams61, 03.12.2019
If you have a line6 product, you are a good musician! If you want to be a great musician, you have to buy Line6 HX Stomp. Line6 HX Stomp should be in your pedalboard or in your home studio. If you still do not understand this, then you will understand soon. Do not waste time, life is short!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Buzzy Product
cnsound, 12.12.2019
Easily generates buzz noise.
I?m assuming that is related with ground loops. Several people complaints about it at Line6 forum
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
good for the money
guitarBE, 29.01.2020
The amp sims sound very good and could give the AxeFX and Kemper a good run for their money. Especially at 1/4 of the price !
The ability to load you own IR really make this unit shine (Impulse Responses for cabinet, match EQ or other sound coloration).
The editor is fantastic (uses the same software as the other Helix units)

DRAWBACKS: Any preset will only hold 6 Blocks ! MAX that's it. You can put blocks in parallel but it counts the upper and lower row as 1 slot. It only has 3 buttons.

I sold it to my bass player and got a Helix LT.
As a stand-alone unit it falls short but it would be a very usefull Pedalboard addition !
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Amazing sound for the price
ZinoB, 20.12.2020
For it's price, it sounds and feels amazing. The block limitation is rarely an issue, especially since the 3.0 update increased the block limit to 8, but for this price I could not ask for more. I needed something that felt great to play through and was easy to use (I didn't want to have to connect my laptop to an interface, boot up a daw or anything, just plug and play) and for that it is perfect. If I later buy another amp, I can still use this as just fx stomp boxes.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
AMP GUY ?
husscy, 05.01.2019
Let me first introduce myself I am an amp guy I can carry ton of equipment for a good sound .... but there is no need now... here it is very small pacckage of amps for your both studio and small giggs or a backup setup for emergency situations just set it up and go wherever you want with it to a studio , practice , recording ,wedding ,gigging to club ....
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Versatile
AFICmusic, 14.01.2019
Great for use at home and gigging.
pros:
-great realistic sounds!
-easy interface with many options
cons
6 bocks may not be enough, and sometimes leaves me wanting, but realistically I'll never use more than 5.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
This device can be a lot of things.
Mel_Nick, 11.03.2019
This device does so many things it's almost a sin to not have one. Amp and cab emulation, IR import, utility (looper,tuner,etc), It's a multieffect unit emulating famous pedals and effects but giving you also all the Line6 legacy effects, it's a recording interface for direct recording or reamping, with a lot of routing options available thanks to its internal send/return chain.
It can store patches or work as single stompboxes. Personally I purchased it to be a swiss army knife in my pedalboard but since I had to downsize it all i just use the stomp in my home studio and it's so good it's always on.

Cons: Some effects are not that good (pitch effects are bad imho) and the software is not really bulletproof, I encountered some freezes here and there, but this is fixable with software updates.

Overall, the HX Stomp is an amazing tool, it offers so many possibilities that it's impossible to not to like it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Best for price
techgrip, 24.02.2021
I was rather sceptic at the beginning, but for price and possibility it is a killer. Disadvatages: you have only 3 buttons, so if you setup your sound you have to think. I use presets rather then buttons and I started to get use to it. Of corse application on computer is a must to create your profile. Those which are loaded up are in most cases s%^&. So you have to spend some time to build your own, and test. I did it for 2 weeks and got some basic sounds which I would like to expand.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
A huge amount of possibilities in a very small box.
milosh, 10.01.2020
Great for music producer who plays guitar or bass because it works as an audio interface as well.
Good-sounding effect models and amplifier models.
Learning to use requires some time but it's worth exploring the possibilities.
Perfect for the studio, great on stage. There are many scenarios and ways to use HX Stomp. The large number of ins and outs opens up many possibilities.
Also great build quality.
I use it every day.
You take the HX STOMP guitar, laptop, headphones and record your solo album :)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
my new fly rig and interface tool
seank20, 15.03.2021
Absolutely fantastic piece of gear cannot recomend it and its sounds enough
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Amazing for the price
Mohan, 18.12.2019
I got tired of carrying my big pedalboard around. I sold all my other pedals, now I use the stomp with one other pedal next to it. It does the job. I was surprises how easy it is to use and set up, very intuitive, you will learn it quickly. The power supply is perhaps a little bulky, but that is the only negative I could think of. Amazing deal for the price.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Best Investment Ever for Recording
Kvlt , 27.05.2020
I use this at home for practice and recording, through monitoring headphones and through studio monitors. Highly recommended.

The amp models sound amazing, the effects sound amazing. Professional quality. This unit has saved me literally tens of thousands of dollars/euro in gear if I had wanted to buy all of the amps/effects modeled. Does it sound 100% like the originals? No. Does it get you at least 90% there? Yes!!!

The only caveat I would add is that the best tones require some time to dial in/EQ/etc. But if you are willing to spend a bit of time getting to know the unit and tweak parameters, you will be rewarded with delicious tones.

Line 6 has updated the firmware several times, adding more amp/effect models, improving features, and the 3.0 update will expand the available blocks from 6 up to 8.

High quality unit. Zero complaints. Two thumbs up.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Line6 HX Stomp

£489
Free shipping incl. VAT
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-20
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Test Report
Test Report
 
 
 
 
 
Online Guides
Guitar Multi FX
Guitar Multi FX
The multi-FX concept has been around in various forms since the mid 80s - It is therefore no surprise that there is a huge range of hardware available.
Online Guides
Guitar Setups
Guitar Setups
The range of available guitars and amps has never been greater than it is today, and a huge variety of sounds are easily accessible.
 
 
 
 
 
video
Line 6 HX Stomp
4:56
Line 6 HX Stomp
Rank #8 in Guitar Multi Effects
 
 
 
 
 
test results: