Harley Benton Valuestrings EL 10-46

2911 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.1 /5
  • sound
  • quality
Total
sound
quality
Not the greatest but work
Kristian2622, 27.10.2017
Let's face it, you're not going to put these on your main, or a backup guitar, if you're already on the live playing circuit or even higher.

Where you DO WANT to put these on is the guitar you might use for practicing finger gymnastic, a guitar you carry around in your car on a business trip... I put the strings onto a Harley Benton guitar kit - which I have in my office at work, you know, some people do jogging, some do yoga at work, I play guitar dry.

Having said that, the strings are pretty decent and they can be useful even if you play live often.

Imagine you're in the middle of a gig, your string breaks - do you want to unpack a set of expensive strings? No. Just replace it with a single string from this pack and you're good to go.

The price is fantastic, the quality better than the quality (or lack thereof) of no-name/fake name strings you can get off eBay, so when you're onto your next Thomann order, just throw in 2-3 packs to your basket. Heck, this might get you over to the free shipping realm.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Much better than I expected.
Axepete, 11.09.2020
I have had a few packs of the Harley Benton Value strings ( 10's ) which came with a couple of guitars and I always held them back as replacements, incase of breakages. I haven't broken any strings for a while but my TE52-NA was due for a string change and I didn't have any of my regular strings at hand so I thought I would use the HB's until my new order of strings arrived. I was stunned at the overall quality of sound from these strings. I also expected the, new, brightness would soon wear off but even after a couple of weeks solid playing, they still sounded almost as good as new. My conclusion is : these may be extremely inexpensive strings but they are in no way cheap sounding. I am immensely impressed .... and yet, I guess I should never be surprised, any more, at the great quality to price ratio of Harley Benton products. I keep a spare set in my gig bags all the time now.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Good for the price
Curt R, 20.03.2021
Sometimes I might install new machine heads on a guitar, or do some pickup work, then re-string and take the guitar to my local guitar tech for a fret dress/setup etc. I don't like to waste a set of Ernie Ball's or D'Addario's, since he usually replaces the strings. These are perfect for that situation. I can string up with these and it hasn't cost as much as a more higher end set.

Other than that, they'll get you by in a pinch, but they won't hold tuning or stay as fresh as the higher end strings.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Very good!
The Tone Lounge, 31.03.2021
I'm not going to pretend that these are great, or plain bad. They are guitars strings and do what they are supposed to. I've had no issues with tuning stability, although they did take long to settle in. Tone is good and balanced. For 1.49 euros, I really can't complain. Were I to play gigs again, this is probably what I would use.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Excellent strings!
SlipperyNutz, 27.03.2021
These sound really good for the price. I bought a bulk of these for set ups with the intention of putting elixirs on after the work was done. I was surprised to see that these were on par with elixirs in my opinion. They last just as long without any rust or noticeable wear. Buy these, they're really good!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
NOT Ernie Ball Slinky's
LarryBoy57, 04.01.2021
Bought these because some of the reviews compared them favorably to Ernie Ball Slinky's. These aren't even in the same galaxy as Ernie Ball's. First thing I noticed when opening the package was how much smaller these were coiled compared to other strings. This can cause damage to the strings by coiling them too tight distorting the structure of the strings. They could not stay in tune and sounded horrible. Cheaper for me to throw away than to return so that's what I did.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
You wouldn't believe it!
Curreeney old boy, 25.01.2020
So I have too many guitars,said no one ever !
And stringing them can be costly, so I gave these a go!
What did I get for my pittance?
Nicely packaged smooth playing, strings with a good balanced tone,I normally buy Ernie balls ,and to be totally honest see no difference in quality except to say these are nicer under the fingers! What's not to like?
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Can't complain
21.12.2015
Purchased a few packs of these to give them a go instead of the usual Ernie Ball Slinkies 10's I use. I have to say I've been impressed, not only with this product but with Harley Benton in general. I've purchased 3/4 HB products recent and every one has been spot on!

These strings sound just as good on my LP Junior as the Ernie Ball Slinkies, there's literally no difference in sound or quality as far as I can tell. The only noticeable difference is the cost, I don't know how Harley Benton manage to keep costs down like this, especially when a pack of Ernie Ball's cost you near on £4-6's on average per single set.

This is another example of Harley Benton looking after the consumer in my eyes and is only testament to Thomann and the Harley Benton brand. I will definitely be using these from now on!

Delivery process was well documented and clear, and arrive very quickly to say they'd come from Germany at this time of year too!

Thanks again for the great service!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Great strings
Wilson WIlsonson, 15.04.2021
To be honest - do not really remember on which guitar I have put these on.
But here is the deal - I have put the same size GIBSON BRITE WIRE and DUNLOP NICKEL DEN 1046 strings. I can not tell any difference while playing my guitars. Of course there are many things in play like the guitar pickups, wood, how the neck is joined to the body and color (if you are Billy Corgan), etc.
The bottom line is that these strings will work, they are durable enough for average use and for the price you could expect a lower quality than you get.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Sammyite, 05.04.2021
Basic strings with a value of usage. Good deal.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Have a lot of guitars and tend to abuse them ?
v.m.paduraru, 19.01.2021
Well, if you do, give your wallet a brake and buy 10 of these at a time.
They are not as good as D Adario , but they come close. If you play your guitars a lot , than this the way to go , believe me.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Do what theyre supposed to do
peripherylover, 05.11.2019
They are strings
And they function very good as strings.
they dont wear out too quickly
of course not as high quality as 15 coated strings of course
but overal very good price to quality ratio
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Superb
nashman, 08.01.2021
REally amazing valu for money for these quality strings.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Ideal Gauge
Omer Guven, 28.10.2020
Price-Performance string, you can stash for upcoming string changes, with this gauge it can satisfy both heavy and clean expectations of yours
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Cheap and efficient
ChrisVerwimp, 24.12.2020
I quite often resale some second hand/used guitars and in many occasions, a new string set is needed. Those inexpensive ones do the job perfectly. They're cheap, sound decent and will be the perfect spare tire when in an emergency
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
A bit trebly, but great.
Theodore85, 13.12.2019
I see no reason to use any other brand any more.
They produce a bit more treble compared to other sets, but you can always get as warm as you need with a twist of the tone knob.

They do have a weird coating that goes away after about an hour of play..
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Good value
Mindtrap, 04.12.2020
Can't fault these strings for playing at home and setting up unknown guitars, no tears if one snaps
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Unbelievable for the price
A.J.K., 17.05.2020
I have a lot of guitars and strings get expensive if you want to keep every guitar sounding good. I thought I'd give these a try. I wasn't really expecting much for the price, but they really surprised me. Full clear sound, they feel good and they last just as long as more expensive strings. They can save you a lot of money without compromising on your tone.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
The only difference I find is in my wallet!
Mark234, 19.04.2017
I use 9s 10s and acoustic 12s and after 30 years of using the market leader I have spent the last 10 years using the Thomann strings on my 35 odd Guitars and on those of my Guitar students. I use them on all my budget Guitars as well as my £1000 + guitars I may have broken one string in the last 100 sets and I did find one kinked string in the last 500 sets! My Acoustics get (really)hammered at my open mic every week and 2 strings have broken in the last 4 years (200 gigs!) If you are the type of guitarist that thinks they can hear the difference between a blue jack plug and a black one then you don't deserve to have these :-) Like I said the only noticeable difference I can find is in my wallet, ( It still has some money in it ! )
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
String broke while stringing guitar
itsmekeuh, 14.03.2020
Well, I really wanted to give these a go but unfortunately the high E string snapped at the ball end while I was stretching it during stringing the guitar. So I immediately took them off again. Strings should not break at the first bend.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Dmitrii"TerminAtor"Bunin
T-1972, 26.03.2021
Exellent strings, good price.
Fast delivery.
Highly recommended.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Great quality value strings
28.05.2015
These are great quality value strings at a price that are cheaper than the price my local music shop sells individual strings!!

Often, you get what you pay for and at this price you may easily be forgiven for thinking they are unplayable. These however, are great value strings. They're not brilliant but they are great for a student/lounge/spare guitar. They have a decent sound and a good life span on them. The strings come well presented and individually wrapped.

UK buyers may recognise the string packets as being similar to the Alice brand of guitar strings that are also advertised and sold as budget guitar strings. Perhaps they're re-branded?

I am pleased with my purchase and regularly recommend to my guitar students. I also use these sets on my own teaching guitars.

And as ever, great service from Thomann!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Quality does not have to break the bank!
Alan403, 26.09.2013
As I have said in other reviews, I buy for two purposes: 1. Items, accessories and instruments for my own use, and 2. Stock for my small music retail business, where I sell both on line and at sales events. In my business I apply the principle of the supply of QUALITY and VALUE. A difficult balancing act!
The Harley Benton Valuestrings, at all the gauges they supply are a product that keep that balance (without falling off!). The evidence? My own ears, when I use them on my own guitars. AND the fact that my customers comment favourably on them, when they return to buy more. The value that you offer enables me to supply my customers with a fine product at a price which enables me to make a small profit, but amazes my customers! Dealing in these strings is how I like a transaction to be - satisfaction all down the line: Herr Thomann and his unbelievably hard working employees sell a quantity of a product to me, then I am happy as I have a quality product that helps my business, and finally I have customer who smile when they return for more "of those cheap strings, really good they were. How can you sel them at the price?"
I smile, as if retaining a secret and just say: "I have an excellent supplier"
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Ok product, but not longlasting
Renat R., 05.02.2020
I recently put those on my guitar and they broke a month after.
Sound is okay in my opinion. Just need to replace them regulary.
Because the price is amazingly low, you can put on new set before every gig without spending a fortune. Cheap new set is better than old expensive one. :)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Well worth the money
Johnny Deadly, 01.03.2021
For a cost effective alternative for home practicing and rehearsing these make perfect sense. I usually use D'Addario but these sound as good on initial playing. Long term I can't comment on tone or longevity as yet but even if they last 2 weeks, for the money they make perfect sense
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Harley Benton Valuestrings EL 10-46

£1.09
Excluding VAT; plus £8 shipping
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-20
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
11
(11)
Recently Viewed
Audient iD4 MKII

USB-C Audio Interface 24 bit / 44.1 - 96 kHz, ADC dynamic range: 121 dB, DAC dynamic range: 126 dB, @Class A Audient console microphone preamplifier, Mic Gain 58 dB,

Recently Viewed
Roli Lumi 1 Snapcase Black

Roli Lumi 1 Snapcase Black; sturdy and magnetic cover around the LUMI Keys for a slim and seamless fit; protects the LUMI Keys during transport and storage; easily folds into a stand for mobile devices; dimensions (W x D x…

Recently Viewed
Focal Alpha 50 Evo

Focal Alpha 50 Evo; active studio monitor; tweeter: 1" inverted aluminium dome tweeter 20W (Class D); woofer: 5" carbon fibre cone 30W (Class D); frequency range: 45 - 22000Hz (+/- 3dB); max. SPL: 101dB (peak @ 1m); Inputs: 1x Jack…

Recently Viewed
Alesis Nitro Expansion Pack

Expansion set for Alesis Nitro Mesh Kit Consist of 1x 10" One-Zone Pad and 1x 08" ON zones Tom Pad, Includes necessary rack clips, cymbal holder, L-rods and cables

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Harley Benton AirBorne Go

Harley Benton AirBorne Go, hd modeling desktop guitar amplifier with built-in 2,4ghz wireless instrument system, bluetooth 4,2 dual mode connectivity, airborne go app for advanced tone editing, drum machine & rechargeable battery function, great features for wireless practice & play-along…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
L.R.Baggs Voiceprint DI

Impulse Response di pedal for acoustic guitar Voiceprint DI measures the acoustic response of your guitar by leveraging the processing power of your iPhone® to accurately capture your guitar’s one-of-a-kind voice., Notch filter, Anti-feedback function, Phase circuit, Serial FX…

Recently Viewed
Warm Audio WA-MBA

Warm Audio WA-MBA; professional broadcast microphone boom; easy-to-operate clamping hinges; hidden cable management system;, Connectors with 3/8" and 5/8" thread, suitable for all common microphone mounts; integrated table clamp; Colour: black; Weight: 2.5 kg

Recently Viewed
Otamatone Neo Black

Otamatone Neo, Electronic sound toy / synthesizer, standard size, selection of various sounds via new studio smart phone app, cross link of smart phone and Otamatone via cable, power plug for external power supply, stereo headphone jack, volume adjustable, playing…

Recently Viewed
Eurolite LED Theatre COB 100 WW/CW

Eurolite LED Theater COB 100 WW / CW; 100 W COB LED with variable color temperature 2500-5700K ; Auto, Music, Master / Slave and DMX modes (2, 4, 5, or 7 DMX channels); Integrated show programs in car and music…

Recently Viewed
Electro Harmonix Ripped Speaker Fuzz

Electro Harmonix Ripped Speaker Fuzz; Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar & Bass; low Fuzz settings emulate Vintage Lo-Fi Distortion Sounds created by a Razor Blade applied to a Speaker Cone, a loose Tube or a faulty channel on a Recording…

Recently Viewed
Otamatone Neo White

Otamatone Neo, Electronic sound toy / synthesizer, standard size, selection of various sounds via new studio smart phone app, cross link of smart phone and Otamatone via cable, power plug for external power supply, stereo headphone jack, volume adjustable, playing…

Recently Viewed
Focal Alpha 65 Evo

Focal Alpha 65 Evo; active studio monitor; tweeter: 1" inverted aluminium dome 25W (Class D); woofer: 6,5" carbon fibre cone 55W (Class D); frequency range: 40 - 22000Hz (+/- 3dB); max. SPL: 104dB (peak @ 1m); Inputs: 1x jack (6.3mm,…

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.