Harley Benton SC-Custom Honey Flame

50 Customer Ratings:
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.6 / 5.0
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
17 written ratings
Total
features
sound
quality
Harley Benton SC-Custom Honey Flame
Brahma, 13.08.2017
Another spectacular product from Thomann's Harley Benton collection. I recently purchased the TE-70 Black Paisley and needed a single cut LP-style guitar to get more sounds. I do not often play out or with others, but i will be showing this to friends, encouraging them to make their purchases before the prices at Thomann begin to increase, more accurately reflecting the quality of guitars they contract out for their house brand. Reputation and time tend to add value and can lead to increases in price... Maybe this is in the future. Hopefully not too much of a change.
The guitar I received is a 2 piece richly grained mahogany body with the merge centered mid body, as is the maple veneer on the front. The wood quality and flame look are both nice.
I had the chance to bring it right into the full sun and inspect it carefully. All i could find is one small/shallow 2 cm "fingernail" type scratch in the wood, under the lacquer, on the back. I had to look hard to find that as well. Perhaps also the binding thickness was narrower on the corners of the head stock due to slight run in with the body color. The fret board, Roseacer, was dry right out of the box but a bit of oil and it was nice. Not great, but nice. I will let the Rosewood go if it means export to the United States is possible though. The strings were on there for awhile it seemed, as there was some oxidation on one or two of the higher strings near the nut. The nut is graphite and was cut and grooved straight and proper depth wise.
The action is lower than i expected and the neck length is shorter than I imagined it would be. That was the oddest part of the feel of this new guitar. That and not owning a PUP switch in the LP position, i keep hitting it and changing the PUP position while playing. The PUPS sound good with many available tones. There is power to spare in these Wilkinson's. Mighty, beefy, full... then still full with a bit more top treble, chainsaw like, compared to my Strat, and Tele. I also own an Ovation Preacher Deluxe Full Mahogany with active HH and 50 watt pre-amp built in, from @1980. The Harley Benton SC-Custom comes close to the feel of that. It is crisper than a vintage LP type guitar through its tone range, but you can still get vintage sounds from it. You just get a bit more high end without sacrificing low end in general with the SC-Custom.
The frets are installed and cut perfectly, without buzz or sharpness and the reach is easy towards the body without interruption. Smooth, yet small pots roll well and extend through on both volumes and tone with usable stops throughout the tone and volume. A shielded electronics cavity let the sustain run clean and clear with no unwanted noise.

Pro's: Finish Quality, Wilkinson high output pick ups, especially the bridge, Grover tuners in chrome, perfect maple flame cap, centered and AAAA depth of image (better than the photos reveal), low action, speedy mid sized C profile neck with a volute, no wire on the bridge, sweet smooth chrome finish on all hardware, less than 7 business days delivered to the States, and LOW PRICE!
Cons: I could dream of a coil split perhaps, but likely not use it much? The PUP guards are matching cream and look good from a distance but they are soft and pliable and may be the first and only thing i change.
I would rate this guitar an 8 out of 10 regardless of the cost. I did purchase it from Thomann mainly for the cost, but the amount of research i did before buying, showed that value for dollar was the best for this guitar.... i don't mean best for a cheap guitar, I mean best for the LP type sounds i was looking for. Nailed it brilliantly!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Beautiful Guitar & Great Customer Service
Gus Viera, 03.07.2018
I want to thank your team at large for a great purchase experience. However, I would like to make special mention of Daniella who guided me painlessly through the international purchase and Sonja who greatly helped with shipping to my Luthier in Great Brittain. By the way, his name is Sam Deeks and I know he performs the initial set up a lot of your new guitars.

This is my retirement present and I thank you for making it a pleasure to get it through you!

With Kindest Regards,
Gus Viera
Saint Augustine, Florida, USA
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Another Fab HB
TB TB TB, 16.01.2019
The first thing that struck me about this guitar was its weight; it feels like a lot of guitar. It's also a beautiful colour. Right out of the box, a quick tune-up and I was riffing, and riffing hard. Intonation was perfect. This is a very inspiring guitar, as I created a few song ideas in the space of 20 minutes.
The build is superb; beautifully balanced and comfortable to play (as it will be for studio work, the weight won't trouble me). Well done HB (Thomann), a fab guitar for the money. A firm Yes from me.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Bad workmanship, dead electronics and old strings
08.04.2016
The Harley Benton SC-Custom did only produce sound with one of the pickups - dead on the other one.

The strings were corroded in several places and would need to be changed right away.

The surface finish had small black debris scattered in the lacquer and the claimed AAAA quality wood did not look at all similar to Thomann's pictures. The fretboard had been left uncleaned and dirty.

All in all, bad quality control meant this Thomann guitar had to be sent right back - a waste of time.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Lovely colour
04.04.2016
I chose this guitar as I fancied a second single cut and the colour really appealed to me.The packaging and delivery time were,as always,excellent and unboxing is always an exiciting moment.
This one came with no big flaws which is always a relief with instruments in this price range.The overall build quality is very good-the frets being perfect!It?ll take a bit of a set up regarding the string height,but the truss rod was straight enough for me.The nut is well cut and the tuners are Grovers which is a big plus in my opinion.The neck is comfortable,as it`s not too wide .The weight could be an issue for those of a slighter build ,but as a bass player it doesn`t bother me much.
The pick ups are decent although I might replace them later if needed.I`ll bide my time as I want to test an array of pedals before it comes to that.Last but not least -the much maligned strap locks aren`t that bad at all-they hold!

I would recommend this guitar as it`s fantastic value for the money and a decent instrument.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great value guitar
CarlosSouto, 15.10.2017
Guitar sounds amazing, great sustain and playability, and awesome groover tuners.
But the guitar had a few problems, paint on the binding and 4 or 5 high frets which had to be leveled. After scraping the binding and giving the guitar a setup, the guitar is amazing.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Impressive
Breadfan440, 25.10.2018
I bought 2 Sc Customs. The snow white active and this Honey Flame. Between the two, the quality on this one is miles above the other. Great finish, great set-up, pups sound good through my Boss Katana and my Mesa Dual Recto. Most importantly, the neck and frets are great and it plays very nicely. Very familiar neck shape- just like my LTD-Ec 1000.
If you want an Eclipse that won't bankrupt you or get you kicked out of the house, go for it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great Guitar for the Money!
Mitzy, 28.10.2018
I bought this guitar and it took about 3 weeks to be delivered. This delay may have been due to some products other than the guitar being not in stock, so I won't discount on that.
In regards to the packaging - Thomann really needs to do better for their international packages. While my guitar arrived without any major damage, I can't see that being the case for everyone. If your guitar is damaged, Thomann does a great job of helping you out and getting you a new one.

The guitar is a great quality instrument for the price. It came well set up, with just some minor fret buzz on the lower frets, due to the low action. It's completely tolerable, and I might adjust it in the future. Despite the guitar having a gorgeous finish, there were some small imperfections, but you have to look hard to see them. The only damage that I don't see as passable was a somewhat deep scratch in the fretboard. It doesn't affect me when playing, but I am worried about future damage. All of the hardware feels solid, and the guitar stays in tune quite well. I can't comment much on the sound, as I do not have an ear for that kind of stuff. It sounds good, with the only issue being interference when my phone is very close to the guitar.
As a whole, I am satisfied with my purchase. I am very happy with the guitar, and I encourage anybody who is on the fence about buying this guitar to just go for it. You won't regret it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Best guitar for the money (and for more money)
deusem, 19.02.2019
I have many guitars, and after having heard good words about this harley benton, i decided to purchase one. I was expecting something on the squier bullet-epiphone special -level of quality, but boy was I wrong. Any point off this guitar would be at minor imperfections of the finish.
This guitar plays well, sounds good, has good tuners, feels good. It would be a very good guitar for double the price tag. For this price, not only it is a very, very good guitar, you will have a hard time find another one that can compete with it even at the used market.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Surprised
gggg, 25.09.2018
Had made an attempt previously with a HB and was very skeptical with this purchase, i decided to give HB another chance, once i opened the box the guitar was very good there were some minor visual but barely noticeable. The guitar overall is very good and i recommend it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
I can recommend this
AlexRey, 09.08.2018
It's a really cool guitar. I did not imagine how a guitar that costs 12.5k rubles can sound like a real Les Paul. Mahagony contributes to this. Excellent grover pins allow you to keep the string tension well. The guitar comes already prepared - just take it and play. The height of the strings is already adjusted and it is ideal. I really liked the guitar. From the first note, it sounds perfect. There are even straplocks. In comparison, this guitar surpasses the epiphone
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
What a guitar for the money
Gazza911, 06.12.2018
Can honestly say this guitar far exceeds my expectations. Neeeded a minor tweak to the truss rod to get the action right but now plays really well. If you need a guitar on a budget I can?t recommend these highly enough ?
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
This is a gold mine
Ayyoub Lmeghribi, 25.04.2018
Recently i have purchased Harley Benton SC-Custom Honey Flame, i was confused which guitar is good for me to start playing, ihave seen many models here but i wasn't sure which to buy. Ona of my friends suggested me this Harley Benton SC-Custom. once i saw the guitar i loved it and i purchased it immediately.
The guitar is in a good shape, it is in high quality, it sounds perfect also it is easy to setup and use, i am just a beginner but i didn't find any problems using it, you can easily get used to it!
I am very satisfied and i highly recommend this guitar!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
my first benton
eddie m, 31.07.2018
saw some videos took a chance on this company..WOW..let me start by saying that i have 12+ guitars some high end so yes top dollar gets you top quality most of the time but this guitar is an exeption..it plays,sounds,feels as good if not better than most of the guitars i currently own..the action was on point also entonation..i cannot find a fault on this guitar.i expect nothing less from thomann now.i will be purchasing more in the near future..oh and yeah its a 200.00 guitar.WOW
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
I want another Harley Benton!
Nmbrjuan, 01.02.2018
Wow I am so pleased with the quality, sound and Price, I'm Going to buy another version WOW, Kudos to Corey Mura, Hennig Pauly, and Natural acoustic.
Their review and descriptions were so accurate on youtube.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Love this guitar
27.01.2017
The maple top is very nice. The tuners and bridge are good and the neck is a nice C shape that is great for small hands. The pick ups are aggressive but clean up nicely when the volume is lowered. Minor binding issues are the only thing I can say is a negative. Glad I purchased this guitar.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Amazing guitar
Maddchedda, 26.05.2018
It's way better than I was expecting. I got a newer model or something since it had the new logo and push pull pots for coil split. But not the same humbuckers as it says since it says Wilkinson and I got Roswells. I'm a beginner so i got a inexpensive guitar from thomann and I'm very impressed!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Harley Benton SC-Custom Honey Flame

€198 £177.84
Free shipping incl. VAT

The price in GBP is a guideline price only!

Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
gb
Phone: +49-9546-9223-20
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
(2)
Recently Viewed
Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 3rd Gen

2-Channel USB2.0 audio interface with USB-C connection 24-Bit / 192 kHz, 2 Scarlett microphone preamps, Phantom power +48 V, Switchable air function, 2 Mic / instrument / line inputs: XLR / 6.3 mm jack combo balanced, 2 Line outputs:...

Recently Viewed
Antares Auto-Tune EFX+

Antares Auto-Tune EFX+ (ESD); pitch correction plugin; software for automatical or manual correction of pitch and intonation; Retune-Speed control for fine tune the desired effect from subtle natural pitch correction to the Auto-Tune Vocal Effect; humanize function reduces artefacts; Auto-EFX...

Recently Viewed
Meris Hedra Pitch-Shifter

Effect Pedal for Electric Guitar Pitch shifter, 3 Harmony voices / delay lines with rhythmic time offset, Tap Tempo function and synchronisation, 12 Diatonic harmonies and chromatic pitch shifting, Up to 16 presets via MIDI, 24 Bit AD /...

(2)
Recently Viewed
Hercules Stands GS-432B+ 3-Way Guitar Stand

Hercules Stands GS-432B+ 3-position guitar stand; easy height adjustment; auto grab system for a secure hold; with adapter for smaller saddle widths (28 mm); not suitable for guitars with nitro varnish! Saddle width: 40 mm - 52 mm ( 1.57"...

Recently Viewed
Harley Benton GS-Travel-E LH Mahogany

Steel-String Guitar Left handed model, Design: Mini Travel Grand Symphony, Body: Selected mahogany, Arched back, Neck: NATO, Neck profile: V, Fretboard: Blackwood, Scale: 596 mm, Nut width: 43 mm, 20 Frets, Dot inlays, Black body and neck bindings, Bridge:...

Recently Viewed
Marshall Stanmore BT II Black

Stanmore BT II Black portable Bluetooth Speaker, 1x 50 W woofer, 2x 15 W tweeter, class D amplifier, bass reflex enclosure, 50 - 20000 Hz, bluetooth standard V 5.0, 3.5mm input for MP3 players etc, RCA input, controls for volume...

Recently Viewed
Reloop Spin

Reloop Spin, Portable Turntable, Out of the Box: Comes with 7 '' Scratch Vinyl, Pre-Assembled 45mm Crossfader & Pickup System, Built-in Speaker, Bluetooth Audio Receiver, Bluetooth Audio Streaming: Wirelessly Transfer Music or Beats to Turntable, Smart USB Recording: Direct recording...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Numark Scratch

Numark Scratch, 2-channle Scratch Mixer for Serato DJ Pro with DVS-license, Serato NoiseMap-compliant with use of Control Vinyls or CDs (optional obtainable), InnoFader Scratch Crossfader with Reverse- and Slope-control, 6 effect choice switches with two Paddle-trigger and Dry-Wet FX-control, 8...

Recently Viewed
Varytec Hero Spot Wash 140 2in1 RGBW+W

Varytec Hero Spot Wash 140 2in1 RGBW+W, 2in1 LED Spot Wash Moving Head, the "MacGyver" of the Moving Lights is the universal lighting tool for all heroes, combines two devices in one housing, saves time and space in the rig,...

Recently Viewed
Focusrite Scarlett 18i20 3rd Gen

18-Channel USB2.0 audio interface with USB-C connection 24 Bit / 192 kHz, 8 Scarlett microphone preamps, Phantom power +48 V, Switchable air function, Talkback function with integrated microphone, Pad switch, 8 Mic / line inputs: XLR / 6.3 mm...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Zoom B1X Four Bass Multi Effect

Multi-Effect Pedal for Electric Bass 71 Internal effects, 9 Amp simulations, Usable up to five effects simultaneously and in any order, Looper with a length of up to 30 seconds / 64 beats in CD quality, Integrated expression pedal,...

Recently Viewed
Enki AMG-2 Guitar Double Case

Electric Guitar Case for 2 Instruments Material: Roto-Molded polyethylene, EA Foam lining inside, With rollers, Removable lid, Suitable for padlock, Dimensions: 121 x 46 x 27 cm, Weight: 10.7 kg, Colour: Black Note: Instruments not included in delivery

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.