Harley Benton TE-20 SB Standard Series

331 Customer Ratings:
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.3 / 5.0
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
29 written ratings
Total
features
sound
quality
Great first guitar
Phanatik, 30.04.2018
I've only recently started learning to play guitar so understand that this from a beginner's point of view so I will definitely get things wrong every now and then.

As a first guitar with a small budget, this guitar is wonderful. I've seen videos of people having trouble with the "hump" in the Telecaster shape but I haven't had any problems with it (I might do when I get better but who knows).

One of the things I love about it is the sound is amazing despite the fact that the amp I have isn't the best. I got a pedal to handle the distortion since the amp is clearly weaker in that aspect and the guitar really performs with my BOSS DS-1.

I have some issues getting the exact sound that I want for certain songs (e.g. NIB by Black Sabbath) but that's most likely down to me being crap at playing as well as being surrounded by a myriad of settings with minimal knowledge about them.

I'm not sure how normal it is with electric guitars that when I put them on distortion (regardless of pedal or amp) and turn the volume on the guitar all the way, strumming the EAD strings makes a screeching sound. I'm probably playing wrong which is what I think.

I make sure to use the pickups when I turn on the distortion because it packs a punch, definitely one of my favourite settings to turn on.

In terms of the build quality, the neck is smooth and I can easily run my hand up and down it without an issue. The body is gorgeous, I never get tired of looking at it. The tuners work really well, I'm still figuring out the best way to keep the guitar in tune.

Overall, it's a wonderful little guitar, especially if you're a beginner and don't have a huge budget like me. The sound is so much better than I expected. The guitar itself looks and feels great to play.

Absolutely recommend
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
fantastic - again
lupinehorror, 28.04.2015
i really don't know how thomann do this for the money. really.
wanted something that i could do a bit of modding with...something i wouldn't regret making a bit of a mess with. at this price i didn't have to think twice.
body? my example has a 5-piece body and rather nice grain. the sunburst is done well as is the finish. the finish is quite thick...won't be easy to remove if you wanted to. that's not a criticism though as it will protect the wood from knocks and bumps.
simple bridge which provides good intonation and was already set so the strings were at a decent height. no need for adjustment there.
pickups? suitably jangly as you would expect from a tele style guitar. they do pack a punch though and i'm keeping them for the moment. they do produce a lot of hum when i'm using high gain but the vast majority of single coil pickups will do that no matter what the price.
neck? i was ready to attack the back of the neck with wire wool to obtain a nice, satin, finish. i didn't have to. out of the box it has a lovely sheen which enables your hand to slide easily up and down the neck. the neck is maybe the thing that surprised me most about this guitar. the finish is great all over and extends all the way up to the well shaped headstock.
fingerboard? one of my main criticisms with the last harley benton i purchased was the fingerboard. it wasn't well finished and could have been much improved. with this tele things are a lot more pleasant. nice close grain and very smooth. i did give it few drinks of lemon oil when i changed the strings though.
frets? they're well dressed all the way up to the top (or down to the bottom...whatever way you're looking at it). i was getting some buzz when fretting at the 1st but a slight loosening of the truss rod sorted that quickly.
tuners? not bad. not great either. sure you could get away with using them but i fitted some wilkinsons for extra stability (it's a £48 guitar remember...you can't expect grovers on there).
to sum up. am i happy with my purchase? very happy. so happy in fact that i think i'll buy another one for my brother.
service from thomann was excellent as always. i'll be back many more times.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
This has been priced incorrectly..
Scott_W, 11.07.2017
Just wow. £75?

Im a bedroom player. Occasionally I'll venture into a different room, mind.I had a relatively expensive Fender FSR Rosewood tele. Loved it, but for the price i could sell it at i could have three guitars....so thats what happened. Sold the Fender for 10 times the price of this. Really.

I expected it to look nice but feel like it cam from a kinder egg.

BLOWN AWAY. Looks are stunning, hardware is all decent. Sure, it may get modded but what you get it fine. Decent bridge, nut looks cheap but works with no flaws, tuners hold, switch and knobs are sturdy.

The neck is nice and meaty without being too fat. I expect poor fretwork...nope. Perfectly rounded but do need a polish.

£75!!! Seriously still gobsmacked.

Well played, Thomann.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
What!
Claesson, 27.04.2019
It looks so good!
Perfect finish, just hang it on the wall and look at it ;-)

Came poorly set up, except for intonation, but after some adjustments it now plays very nicely with a very low action. There are no tools included and you need a couple of umbraco for the neck and bridge. Took me less that 15 minutes to set it up properly
It sounds nice, to not exactly like telecaster but something a bit close to. I like it and I will definitely play it. Amazing value for money
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
It's cute and cheap and lovely
Bluejudeto, 08.06.2017
Bought this as my reward for giving up smoking. Didn't want to pay big bucks, I just wanted something I could plug in and make a bit of noise. I've been playing forty years and I have far more expensive guitars from Martin and Ibanez, but nothing I can pick up and not worry about dinging it. It's along time since I played a tele of any sort, but they just sort of fit you like an old pair of boots.

The finish is great, the hardware works and the pickups give a decent tele sound with some good bite. I'll change them at some point for a split coil hummer and a more powerful bridge pup, but for now they'll do.

To summarise, it's a nice guitar, quite heavy but balanced, perfectly playable neck, decent sound, classic looks and all for ¤89. If you complain at that, you obviously haven't played the amount of sh*t guitars I have over the years. Grab a bargain, turn it up to the max and have some fun.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Awesome
03.11.2015
In my opinion as good as the fender mex telecaster. Beautiful sound action and quality. I have guitars worth 8 times what this piece cost me and none of them sound as good as this one. Buy it and try. Its only a few tens...
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
First solid Body
07.01.2015
Been playing archtops for 70yrs and finding it harder to do 5and 6frets stretches so decided to get a Tcaster and bought the HBTE28 purely on price.. Well what a pleasant surprise when it arrived today. Straight out of the excellent packing-lowered the action-retuned-and voila playable. Straight ahead jazz for me. Wonderful! Thanks to all at Thomann for great service and delivery despite The New Year Festivities.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Unbelievable for the price!
05.11.2015
I was very impressed with both the speed of delivery and tracking ability of the process.

I was unsure about this guitar at this price (£48!) but I was more than pleasantly surprised.
I have been playing for almost 20 years and have paid far more than this for guitars from Fender (Mexican) of similar quality.
The finish of all aspects on the guitar is high quality.
I am yet to plug it in but playing unplugged the playability seems excellent. Movement up and down the fretboard is fast and easy - the neck itself is smooth also.

I was considering buying a Squier affinity but I can't imagine the quality is any better and at 1/3 of the price, the Harley Benton is a 'no brainer'.

Good stuff Thomann, thanks!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Harley Benton TE-20
07.10.2015
I must admit I wasn't expecting that much for the price, but I was completely amazed by what arrived!

The body finish is quite stunning: optically flat and really well polished. The fittings are decent too, well plated, fit well and work as expected.

I will probably replace the pickups in time. The balance between the tiny neck and much larger bridge pickup is odd, but then so is a real Telecaster!

The neck is lovely and straight, a couple of the frets needed a little filing, but the action is easy to set low and for the price, it was less work than I expected.

I cannot fault the value for money, as a beginner guitar, or even intermediate, it plays and works beautifully. Just buy one!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
No frills
Stookiebhoy, 05.03.2018
What can I say about this guitar? Well, let's just say that everyone should own one of these...for £77 this is a no brainer as far as I'm concerned. Lovely slim neck, a well finished body, and decent electronics for a budget price, it's all good. I've bought 2 of these now and they both play fantastically well.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
How much??!!
26.06.2015
i cant believe how much this gem cost ..less than £50 and i swear its better than any affinity tele you can buy..it has that true tele twang and the neck feels fantastic a nice satin feel and fast ..the finish is superb and looks amazing ..for this price buy 2 and mod one and keep the other stock ..well done thomann well done.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
just great
Jean123, 29.09.2018
feels good, sounds good, cost good
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Incredible value for money
Dawbo, 04.02.2015
This is an amazing guitar for the money. Nice, clean sound. Lovely finish. For the price this is genuinely astonishing. Excellent service from Thomann as always.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Very good I did not expect this.
03.05.2016
A verygood guitar for that price. Fully playable out of the box. After change of strings and small adjustments it became fantastic good. Easyto play on and such a nice sound.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Excellent value for money
Solonot, 17.07.2015
This must be the 3rd or 4th Harley Benton guitar I bought from Thomann. Their guitars beginners - intermediate packages are just the best in Europe without shadow of a doubt. The guitar sounds great, looks great and all at an exceptional price.
Have bought these over the years as gifts to my children and friends who always wanted to learn to play the guitar. The reaction is always the same...astonishment at first then pure excitement of joy.
If you are in doubt of getting one, just get one, you will not be disappointed.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Spot on
CliveM, 30.11.2013
For the price this is a great little guitar. It plays well enough and looks fabulous. It was a present for my grandson and he just loves it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
harley benton te.20 sb standard
rich47, 24.01.2018
when i placed the order i wanted the te-20 bk but that wasnt dues to be instock till march so i contacted thomanne by phone and changed the colour to the te-20 sb and wow what a guitar it is the build quality is 100% and so is the sound what a sound it sounds better than my fender 50`s relic telecaster and that was just over a grand and this was well less and it sounds better and in a few weeks i will place another order for the black version well down thomann you did it again how they can sell a telecaster so cheap beats me and the weight of the harley benton te-20 is just right well done thomann
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Top quality.
Jareddar, 23.05.2017
For a budget guitar of this type you can not go wrong. Straight from the box it played like a dream. Great sound, great feel and great looks. Thomann excelled themselves with this guitar.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great deal
25.11.2016
Amazing quality for the price! Sounds great and feels good to play. Don't know how they manage to make these for the price but I'm not complaining! Highly recommended for guitar players on a budget or just starting out
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
TE 20
07.03.2016
Superb Finish Top Quality On every thing sound like the real thing Very Pleased with this Guitar would Highly recommend this guitar to Any Level of Playing ability
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great guitar at the price
18.03.2016
I wanted a guitar with a nice action at a low cost and this guitar did just that, I lowered the action very close to the frets and had no fret buzz at all. It sounds great and won't need to buy any modifications because it delivers on all fronts. I am now considering buying another Harley Benton guitar because its the best low priced guitar that I have ever owned (and I've had a few guitars at various costs over the years) Buy one, you won't be sorry, Ian.B
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great Tele guitar
10.05.2014
This telecaster is great, not just for the money but also for its features and specs. I bought this tele for a custom project but I ended up keeping all its parts. I am not a big fan of single coils but this tele sounds hot and it's got a modern tone that could handle overdrive well enough.
The quality is really good. The setup was a bit off but I set this guitar up with a fresh set of HB 0,09" strings and it's really singing!
Totally recommended!
Also check out the TE-40 bk model if you're into tele-shaped guitars.

Cheers, GD
guitar-dreamer.blogspot.com
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Brilliant guitar
04.09.2015
Build quality is very nice, the neck would benefit from a fret leveling but is playable. Truss rod needed adjusting, pickups are a bit dull and the pickup selector switch moves a bit too tight. Other then that is a lovely guitar, would buy again any day.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
great guitar
Riffpimp, 28.10.2017
bought this guitar for someone , when it got here i was amazed at the overall finish , it looks great , i am used to guitars with binding on the neck but i loved the feel of this guitar , it has a slim neck and the radius is very appealing to someone like me who's used to slim Jackson necks , the person i bought it for is a beginner and will have no problem playing it , for the money it was well worth the price and i would not hesitate buying another Harley Benton guitar if this is the lower priced model as it is fantastic quality and sounds great.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Sunburst TE-20 SB
08.02.2015
Packaging was very very good. The finish was excellent. The hardware was excellent. I was able to lower the action right down without string buzz. The sign of a straight neck well positioned in the body. The price was unbeatable. The only thing I didnt like was the flicks of crescent shaped dark wood in the light coloured neck maple. These spoilt an otherwise perfect guitar. At the price of less than 60 quid delivered, for a very nice looking playable instrument, who can moan. Good stuff, I would not buy from anywhere else.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Harley Benton TE-20 SB Standard Series

€88 £78.64
Including VAT; Excluding €10 shipping

The price in GBP is a guideline price only!

Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-20
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Online Guides
Guitar Setups
Guitar Setups
The range of available guitars and amps has never been greater than it is today, and a huge variety of sounds are easily accessible.
Online Guides
E-Guitars
E-Guitars
Electric guitars are ten a penny and nowadays there are at least as many models and makers to choose from.
 
 
 
 
 
video
Harley Benton TE-20 SB
0:35
Harley Benton TE-20 SB
Rank #6 in T Style Guitars
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
(4)
Recently Viewed
Rode Wireless GO

Rode Wireless GO; Digital Wireless Microphone System; ultra-compact and lightweight set of transmitter and receiver; series III 2.4 GHz digital transmission; clip-on transmitter TX with built-in microphone (omni capsule); maximum SPL: 100 dB; Frequency Range: 50 Hz – 20 kHz...

(12)
Recently Viewed
Behringer Vocoder VC340

Vocoders Analog vocoder and string ensemble synthesizer, Keyboard with 37 semi-weighted and velocity-sensitive keys, "Human Voice" (Male and Female) and "Strings" sections mixable for classical string and choir sounds, Analog vocoder with tone control, BBD chorus for ensemble effects,...

Recently Viewed
Mooer GE 300

Multi-Effects Processor Integrated ToneCapture function with 4 modes (Amp / Stomp / Guitar / Cab) to capture the sound of your favourite gear, 108 High quality amp simulations, 43 IR (Impulse Response) speaker cab simulations, Support for additional Impulse...

Recently Viewed
Native Instruments Komplete Audio 6 MK2

6-Channel Audio Interface 24-Bit / 192 kHz, 2 Mic/Line/Instrument Combo Inputs: XLR/jack 6.3 mm, 2 Line inputs: 6.3 mm Jack, 4 Line outputs: 6.3 mm Jack DC-coupled, S/PDIF input coaxial, MIDI input and output, 2 Stereo headphone outputs: 6.3...

Recently Viewed
Gator Frameworks Mic 0822

Gator Frameworks Mic 0822, Mic Stand for Desktop & Bass Drum, telescoping boom mic stand for desktop, recording, kick drum and guitar amps, for microphones up to 1.5 lbs (700 g, approx.), boom counterweight weighs 2.5 lbs (1140 g, approx.),...

Recently Viewed
K&M 21427

K&M 21427, professional carrying case for 6 microphone stands, includes castors for easy and comfortable transport, case made of extremely durable 1680D nylon fabric, all seams hand-stitched in high quality, padded carrying handles and a durable zipper, castors included, dimensions:...

Recently Viewed
RCF Art 312 MK III

Passive Full-Range Speaker Rated power: 300 watts (RMS), Equipped with: 12" Woofer and 1" driver with 1.5" Mylar diaphragm, Impedance: 8 ohms, Maximum level: 127 dB, Dispertion pattern: 90° x 60°, Input and output: Speaker Twist, Plastic housing, 4...

Recently Viewed
Fender CLSC SRS Mustang/Duo Case

Guitar Case Hardshell case for Fender Mustang/Duo Sonic models, Lining on the inside: Red plush, Vinyl wrapped steel core carry handle, Large storage compartment with lid, Steel draw latches, 1 Locking latch with key set, Internal dimensions: 100.33 cm...

Recently Viewed
ADJ Contour

ADJ Contour; LED mirror ball effect; multi-colored beams crisscross back and forth at different speeds similar to a classic "fan style" effect; 36 lenses that project multi-colored beams of light from 27x 1.5W RGB LEDs; 15 built-in lightshows; controlled by...

Recently Viewed
iZotope Music Production Suite 2.1 CG2

iZotope Music Production Suite 2.1 Crossgrade 2 (ESD); plug-in bundle; crossgrade from iZotope Music Production Suite 2 or RX Post Production Suite 3 to Music Production Suite 2.1; extensive collection of software tools for music production, mixing and mastering; contains...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Taylor Capo Bright Nickel

Taylor Capo Bright Nickel for Acoustic-Guitars (Steelstrings); Made in USA

Recently Viewed
Softube Volume 3 Upgrade Volume 2

Softube Volume 3 Upgrade Volume 2 (ESD); plugin bundle; upgrades Softube Volume 2 to Volume 3; comprehensive collection of effects for professional music production containing 22 plugins: Bass Amp Room, Drawmer S73 Intelligent, Master Processor, FET Compressor, Fix Flanger and...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.