Customer center login
Country and Language

Harley Benton Custom Line N-150CE BK

278 Customer Reviews

5 115 Customers
4 99 Customers
3 48 Customers
2 11 Customers
1 5 Customers
4.1 / 5

features

sound

quality

Harley Benton Custom Line N-150CE BK
£168
Free shipping incl. VAT
In stock within 1-2 weeks
In stock within 1-2 weeks

This item is expected back in stock soon and can then be shipped immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
1
R
Superb quality resonator
RichTea 14.06.2013
I looked, I read the reviews online, thought about it, thought about it some more, and finally bought it. For so little money I could hardly be disappointed. I just had no idea I could be that impressed! This is a great sounding resonator guitar. Unplugged it gives that superb metallic twang reminiscent of those old Dire Straits albums. Out of the box it was superbly set up with a great action. I may tweak the action down the line for some of the slightly more interesting tunings. Dropping the low E to a D did make it buzz a little but that's easily sorted out. Plugged in the sound is a little murky, but tweak the EQ of the desk and it's not half bad. Playing this live a few weeks back everyone was so bowled over with the look and the way the chrome-wear reflected the light that I don't think anyone noticed the sound. But that's me being nitpicking when really it exceeds all expectations. Honestly I couldn't have been more pleased if I'd been given this for free. It's inspired new songwriting, and made older songs that needed that little somethin' somethin' shine. Seriously at this price, and with this good build quality, what's to think about? I would highly recommend this model. Yes, you could spend more and get a high end model but what if your resonator phase is just a passing fad and it ends up sitting in a corner unused? Stop reading this review and buy it now.
features
sound
quality
18
0
Report

Report

HJ
A lot of sound for very few pounds
Hazy Jay 15.08.2021
I purchased this so that I could have a reso/dobro for taking to any jam sessions, and outdoor social gatherings, festivals etc, so that I don't have to take my much more expensive resonator and risk damaging it.

I bought this plywood constructed HB expecting a mediocre sounding guitar at best. What I received, however, has impressed myself and players of a much higher calibre than myself alike with clear, rich tones emanating from the spider cone.

PROS: Solid and sturdy construction. The binding works well to both offer a pleasing aesthetic, and hide where the plywood joint are.
The spider cone projects well with a nice rich tone & resonance.
A pickup and dual-tone/vol controls are a nice plus on a guitar at this price.

CONS: The tuners aren't the greatest. Tightening the gears a little helps, but if I was to mod this guitar I would begin with the tuners as they are they weakest feature of this guitar.

This is a dobro guitar, so as such the neck is slightly thicker than some may be used to for a more normal playing style. However, this guitar plays very well whether slung or lapped. It responds extremely well to a slide, and when in OPEN tunings such as D or G this guitar really sings from the slide.
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

E
My first and best guitar!
Eugfes 13.05.2021
I could not believe it when I saw it - the impression goes above and beyond photos.. It's honest, solid, heavy - and the resonator sound resembles Buddhist singing cups.
The build quality is so good for the price, and it sounds great when it's plugged too.
Definitely a good buy!
features
sound
quality
1
0
Report

Report

IL
Not bad. But!
Ivan Lozhkin 23.09.2021
In general, for this money, the guitar is very good, the sound is good, but there is one moment that caused me sadness!
The lower threshold. It is made of wood and the strings are metal, respectively, after several changes, the strings began to sink in the threshold, which affected the sound quality, the guitar began to get along. I hope the manufacturer will read this review and take it to attention.
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

AH
Unbeatable at this price!
Arthur H. 28.12.2014
I've had this guitar for a couple of weeks and just love it. At the £138 I paid for it it's an absolute steal. The quality of the hardware is amazing for a £138 instrument and the guitar is very well built with a good durable matt black finish. The frets are well finished and the action is just under 3mm at the 12th fret which is just about perfect for slide playing yet is still low enough to play chords and notes with your fingers. Tonally the sound is loud and ringing with no buzzing or rattles of the kind often heard on cheap resonators. Delivery to the UK took 5 days which included a weekend in the run up to Xmas which is fantastic. If you're looking for a quality inexpensive resonator give this one a try.
features
sound
quality
10
1
Report

Report

SC
Harley Benton Resonator
Simon C 07.02.2018
I am very pleased with this purchase from Thomann. This guitar sounds good, looks great and is lots of fun to play.

In more detail........ It does not have quite the "ring" (for want of a better word) of a steel bodied resonator, It lacks that "National" sound which I naively thought it might have. So obviously the body material has a large influence on the sound not just the mechanics of the resonator. But that said the guitar does have a great tone, punchy, bright, bluesy and loud - plenty of character.

When the guitar arrived I struggled with the 12's fitted and if dropped to an open G tuning some unpleasant buzzing was produced by the resonator. Fitting a new set of 11's transformed it (for me) making the instrument instantly much more playable and any strange noises cleared up. Plugged in, it's great fun. Using a Katana with various "effects" applied is entertaining, I think the pick-up is pretty good. Though the natural volume of the guitar is such that the amp has to be wound up a bit or I play through headphones to feel/hear a blend of the two.

Build quality and finish - Solid construction and nicely made. It feels and looks great. I like the satin black finish, very smart with the chrome and cream edge detailing. The fretboard and neck are nice, smooth and enjoyable to play. I would have given 4 and half stars for quality if that were possible, needing to mark it down slightly, there are a couple of very minor imperfections in the finish and the frets are slightly sharp, but it's pretty good.

So in summary. Great fun. Great value. I am very happy with this addition to the collection. I anticipate many more hours of fun with this guitar - Thanks Thomann.
features
sound
quality
2
0
Report

Report

F
I ended up very good impressed.
Francisco7821 11.02.2015
So I was looking for buying a nylon string crossover guitar and I ended up with someting very different. When my first choice ended out of stock I tought to my self "why not?".
I have this Thoman money back guarantee. No way now thinking on send it back.
Very impressive good looking guitar out of the box. It sound good , loud and responsive, whith this metallic sound. Just what I needed for starting exploring open tunnings, slides , and this Blues dirty sound. It has a pickup, but It is a bit noisy and this is meant to play unplugged or with microphone sound capture not plugged to an amp in my opinion . It come with a decent action and strings, between what is needed for fingering playing and slide.
Oh yeppp, did I mentioned : I like it this good looking guitar. Good value for the money .
features
sound
quality
1
0
Report

Report

A
worth it 100%
AK_doomGR 10.01.2021
a descend instrument, nice to the eye the hand and the ears.

Pros:
Solid-heavy build, great sound, very good sustain.
The pick-up is more than what you expect. when plugged in just turn the volume up and you'll be surprised. Also in dirty and high gain stands all the way up without loosing frequencies.

cons:
After one and a half year i don't have something actually to say.
Maybe in color there are some minor fades, but i guess it depend on the use.
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

B
What a beautiful instrument!
BenP 30.10.2013
I have to admit this was an impulse buy, but I do not regret it one bit! Right out of the box it was very playable, with a lovely full sound, which I did not expect as I hadn't ever played a resonator, and this is a fairly cheap instrument. I began doing my regular practice and gigs on this instrument, in place of my original acoustic, which costs roughly twice as much. The electronics system is reliable although a little buzzy, I haven't had chance to test whether this is the pick up or the electronics yet, although I suspect it i =s the electronics as the pickup is a humbucker. I took this guitar to a variety concert and it was used over an electric guitar (albeit for jazz) immediately. In fact, everyone at the concert used this guitar in place of their own! The actual quality of the build is excellent, all sturdily constructed including a very reliable fret board. The only problem IO had was that the bridge was not glued down at all,(it had been held on from string pressure) so it fell into the resonator chamber and took a while to get out. This is more of a caution than a criticism, other than that an amazing buy!
features
sound
quality
2
1
Report

Report

S
Skillias 04.09.2019
Really nice resonator. Great looks and great sound. But came in with bad setup, lots of dead notes, lots of buzzing and setting it up is not that easy as normal guitar. So probably count with another 50€ or so on proper setup by guitar technician.
But otherwise, great look and great sound.
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

Your browser doesn't support javascript. Please update to the latest version or try another, modern browser.
Harley Benton Custom Line N-150CE BK