Customer center login

Harley Benton Custom Line CLJ-412E NT

213 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.6 /5
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
features
sound
quality
Harley Benton Custom Line CLJ-412E NT
micoli, 19.10.2019
I bought this guitar for very occasional use. I already had a second-hand Freshman 12 string guitar which developed a twisted neck and needed a replacement.

It arrived safely in the usual safe Thomann packaging and in perfect condition. It is jumbo sized so it is quite a size if you are smaller in stature. Fortunately I'm over 6 feet tall so it is no problem! It is a very attractive guitar and the spruce top and mahogany sides and bottom smell wonderful.

On my guitar there is scope to shave off some of the saddle slightly to lower the action but as it stands the string height is probably as low as any 12 string guitar I have seen. The machine heads do their job well, the neck is what I would call a shallow C, and the Fishman pick-up system has a built in tuner to make life a bit easier. The frets needed a slight polish but the fret ends were fine.

Not surprisingly for a 12 string it is a bright sounding guitar and, in my opinion, when I first played it it was a bit harsh sounding. But I have owned it for 9 months now and already it is getting a bit mellower and feels like it is taming down. For anybody who needs an occasional 12 string or even if you just want to experiment on a 12 string, I don't think you will be disappointed with this. And at this price it is very good value.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
the best for the price. superb!
Zemgalietis , 05.04.2018
Actually this is my second 12string guitar.
The first one was some Ukraine made with all the problems 12stringed can have. So I can compare.
So now I have played HBCLJ412 for a month and I must admitt it is well made and good sounding guitar for excellent price.
The neck and fretwork is excellent! (I just lowered action a little bit) And during a month action has not rised, so trussrod is great, and guitar also stays in tune for long time.
At first moment guitar seemed to sound a little bit to bright, but when strings and soundboard adjusted, it sounds rich and warm while decent and juicy.
(Yes, I also took of that ugly plastic pickguard, so the soundboard can breathe uninterrupted, and guitar also looks greater. It is good, that pickguard is easy to remove, and there is rosette under pickard too, so no risks of cosmetic deffects if you do it carefully)
Speaking about rosette, it is not abalone as on youtube videos, but plain black circles. They have changed the design of saddle too as seen on picture, and they are great.
Tuner is very basic, but if You are musician, it is good to use ears too for clean intonation. At least tuner helps to save time quite a lot for basic tuning of any 12string beast. And it is very handy if You have imbuilt tuner.
Preamp has very limited tonal regulation, but anyway any amplifier offers additional controls. It is just a minor issue compared to the great acoustic performance this guitar offers.

Guitar is great and Thomann quality control is great!
You will love this guitar!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Surprising good guitar
palantine9131, 09.10.2020
I was about to complete the title with....."for the price" but it isn't correct.
This guitar is good as is......not just for the price.
I'm not an expert of 12strings guitars, but I own more than 30 medium budget guitar, so I think i know what I'm saying.
I just had to lower the saddle (as usual), and tight a little the truss rod and voilà......that's it.
Not so much basses as you would expect from a jumbo but the real deal with this guitar is the playability.
There are some guitar which requires a certain precision on playing...more pression on the fret and precision on how and where you put your fingers....these guitars do not forgive the slightest mistake and hare really hard to play.
THIS guitar is exactely the opposite; very heasy to play, bright sounding (and I love it) and very touch responsive.
Do you think all the acoustic guitars are touch responsive in the same way? You wrong! They aren't.
This is it. Believe me.

That sayd, I think he needs almost one year (four season) to deliver its potential.

Anyway, PRO:
good overal volume
bright and sparkle tone
heasy to play
preamp on board with tuner (!!)
cheap but well crafted inside/out

CONS: the only thing I dislike on far east guitars is finish.....even when it is thin it is too much

Buy it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Best 12-string I've played in a long time!
Walt P, 30.05.2021
The last 12-string guitar I owned was a Guild F-512 that I bought in 1980 and was forced to sell in 1989 because of financial needs. I've been looking for an affordable 12-string for a couple of years and always been disappointed in the quality and playability of those that I tried. That is, until now!
The Harley Benton Custom Line CLJ-412E NT is exactly what I was looking for.
The sound is deep, rich, and rings out as a 12-string should. The included pickup reproduces the acoustic sound accurately without adding its own "voicing" to the guitar.
The playability of the guitar is exceptional. I can play an F barre chord on the first fret without excessive effort, almost (but not quite) as easily as on a 6-string.
Cosmetically, there are no problems either in the finish or the inlays, bindings or purfling.
As always, Thomann Music shipped the instrument quickly and safely. It was well packaged and protected from damage.
I would definitely recommend the Harley Benton Custom Line CLJ-412E NT to anyone looking for a 12-string that gives value equal to 4 or 5 times the price!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
One of the best instrument you can buy
Rahyar.TA, 08.07.2020
Honestly this thing is amazing.
Thomann has done good with this product.
The build quality and sound are amazing and the content that follow with all very good.
The strings are still the original set that guitar came with, crisp and clear sound out of them.
The guitar also came with a battery for the inner electronics.
The keys and nubs are all well screwed and functioning.
The best part is that the machine heads are holding the tun perfectly, I can play as much as several hours every day or nothing for weeks and they don't drop tune at all(a step down tuning, no 12 string should be tuned standard anyway).
The action is a bit high but I will fix that eventually, it is not a deal breaking issue.
All in all this instrument has impressed me a lot and I am very happy with it.
If you are looking into a 12 string do not look any farther.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Excellent quality.
Guitartjeppen, 07.01.2021
Sound wise I can't compare, 'cause this is the first 12-string I've bought.
But the construction ! Right out of the box a perfect setup. All I had to do was tune it. Excellent first fret action, nice low action on the strings and no fret buzz. You can't beat the quality for that price.
For my ears it sounds fantastic.
You can't beat it for a first time 12-string guitar. I'll be using this one on stage.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great guitar at any price
SPB-UK, 23.06.2021
I love playing this guitar. It has such a big sound, rich in detail and great for picking or strumming.
The quality of construction is excellent with no flaws and a lovely finish. It even stays in tune well. I was expecting to have to keep tuning it all the time based on videos about 12 string guitars on YouTube, but no!
The only thing I think could have been done better is to cut the pickguard so it more closely follows the shape of the waist of the guitar.
Other than that I'm delighted with it and would recommend it to anyone without hesitation.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Exactly what I was looking for
Twansmusic, 23.09.2020
Pro's:
- looks excellent
- classic 12-string sound
- mostly well finished

Cons:
- tuners are a bit stiff but at least they hold tune great
- I dont like the thick poly finish but that's just taste. and every guitar under a grand has this so its not this guitars fault!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Beautiful looking and sounding
sudobuda, 19.08.2021
Very easy to play, mellow, resonant sound. Stunning wood and construction.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Can't hardly go wrong!
Pieces0fviii, 23.07.2020
I like to play 12 string guitars. Lately I've been learning more about alternate tunings and that is what this guitar is for! It's looks are amazing and not only is the sound good as well. the sound will only improve as the guitar is played more and more. There are two dislikes I have... 1: I don't care for the onboard Fishman tuners Harley Benton uses in their guitars. I'll be going with an aftermarket clip on tuner. 2: I wish the fret board was slightly wider. Not that it's bad and I won't find the touch needed for playing this particular guitar. All that being said, I feel Harley Benton makes great guitars!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Incredible value
Toph T., 07.03.2020
This guitar is beautiful and sounds incredible. There aren't too many people that primarily play 12-string guitar, but at this price you can't say no to adding it to your collection. It arrived to California from Germany in about 12 days.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Nice guitar but budget for a setup and New Strings
David132, 14.10.2013
Basically a very nice 12 string, but as with many other budget instruments, you will need to budget for a decent setup, on my mine the frets ends were sharp and slightly over hanging making the guitar very uncomfortable to play, the saddle was also cut too high resulting in a high action, they had tried to compensate for this by over tightening the truss rod, which resulted in dead notes across the fretboard, the string were corroded and the high G string snapped as soon as I tried to tune it. But once the guitar had been setup up correctly and the frets dressed, and with new strings fitted it is a very playable nice sounding guitar, not as loud as some 12 strings I’ve owned, but a nice guitar none the less, and the onboard tuner/pickup is a real plus.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
This Guitar is an excellent value
Donalddeanaa, 10.12.2020
The quality is excellent,
The sound is very good.
The action is very smooth
Craftsmanship is excellent.
A great value
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Pretty amazing.
BRP , 23.03.2021
Harley Benton continues to impress me. I don't have a single thing to complain about. The sound projection is magnificent. The tuners are decent. The guitar itself is stunning. Worth every penny.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Super Nice 12 String
Jsmart, 22.11.2020
Had the jumbo guild 12 that you see many professionals use but I had to sell it a few years back. I like noodling around with a 12 string and am an active recording artist so this was THE PERFECT option. I must say it plays very well though I wish it had a little more bottom end acoustically. For the price there is nothing close and for looks this is a beautifully finished instrument.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great Sounding Guitar but...
Havelock, 04.02.2021
This guitar is great. It looks great, sounds great, and personally I find it very comfortable to play. However, I would recommend re-stringing the guitar as soon as it arrives. When I began to tune it, the e-string snapped pretty quickly, and the other strings de-tune quite easily. So yeah, restring it. Other than that minor issue, I love it!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
12 string wonder
Jessica H., 29.07.2018
Bought this guitar having previously owned a 12 string many years ago and I always wanted to revisit the rich sound and chime like chorus of a 12 string.This guitar ticks all the boxes for me.ie.good price,great looks and good sound.Overall I am very happy with my purchase and the built in tuner is a great feature as it takes a lot of the hassle out of tuning a 12 string.Thanks thomann another winner.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Impossible quality.
Curreeney old boy, 08.11.2019
Where to start! This guitar is gorgeous ,wood choice for neck ,head stock ,and top all display Avery pleasing grain,inlays are perfect ,frets finished to perfection.it doesn't end here ,the set up out of the box fantastic 2mm at 12th fret ,4 thou at ist fret with capo on the 3rd, no fret buzz ,with a little practice this guitar is almost as easy to play as my well set up 6 string .and playing this guitar is inspirational ,so musical the notes just cascade off your fingers. Buying better for five times the money would be a challenge.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
V good.
fredbloggs, 06.08.2019
When it arrived it felt light, so was wondering if it was good on bass end. But it is excellent. I used to have an Eko 12 Ranger an this is miles better in every way. Action is low and is in tune up the neck. Have tuned it a semitone down. The sound is very big and silvery. Holds tuning well. Not tried it plugged in yet. Defo worth the money and more. Hmm, just plugged it in. M audio interface and monitoring direct out into Audio Technica 50 headphones. Even playing with the levels and Eq on guitar, the piezo p/u adds a v slight fuzz to sound. Not totally clarity clean. Sounds like something being over driven. Impedance mismatch? Had this before with piezos with Di even with attenuation pad, so not specific with this guitar. I would not DI record with it, would use Mic. Other than that v v good.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Best bang for the buck!
Renan Santos, 27.10.2020
sounds great, looks great, arrived perfectly and quick, great stuff! (considering the price, this is a miracle!)

Fully recommend the product, no negative comments.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
My first 12-String experience
Musky, 12.09.2020
This was bought to play around and record with at home. I've never played a 12 string before so I've nothing to compare it to (I'll understand at this point if you head off to another review) but it plays much easier than I'd imagined. I've tuned down a whole step (as this seems to be perceived wisdom) and it sounds epic. I'll be changing the strings as the ones that came with it are turning my finger ends black but other than that I can't fault it. Another Harley Benton triumph.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Needed setup but great guitar
Frntmn1955, 10.11.2019
The action on this guitar was so high it was virtually unplayable. I took it to my local luthier and spent $100 US to have him set it up. The bridge was so high he had to shave it down and refinish it, along with lowering the saddle. But, all that said, it now plays like butter (his words!), and is the easiest to play 12 string I have ever seen. He also was very impressed with the construction, said it is built very well. So... it needed work, but was well worth the purchase price, and is now an awesome guitar.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
awesom instrument
Hannimanni, 16.12.2020
best 12string guitar on that price range.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great 12 String
XavRad5, 05.06.2019
For a player like myself who's working on his skill this is the right guitar at the right price. I ordered this 12 String Acoustic/Electric & a 6 String Acoustic/Electric (Both Harley Benton) from Thomann at the same time. Both came in great shape (I'm very impressed with the quality at the price) & more importantly, both came with the action set perfectly. Highly recommend!!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Awesome first 12-string
Rosch-RS, 24.09.2019
If you want to get into 12-string, I think this is easily the best choice for starting. The price, the build, the quality, the sound, the amplification, the design and the looks - it's hard to choose a different guitar compared to this one in this price range.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Harley Benton Custom Line CLJ-412E NT

£211
Free shipping incl. VAT
In stock within 1-2 weeks
In stock within 1-2 weeks

This item is expected back in stock soon and can then be shipped immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-20
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24