Harley Benton BZ-7000 NT

46 Customer Ratings:
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.5 / 5.0
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
12 written ratings
Total
features
sound
quality
Fabulous value for money and lot of fun
AnnoyingTwit, 31.08.2014
I'm not a professional bassist, I only play for my own amusement. I'd always wanted a seven (or more) string bass, but couldn't justify the cost for a Conklin or an Ibanez BTB. As soon as I saw that Thomann had released the BZ-7000, I bought one, and eagerly waited.

The bass itself looks very good, with just a few finish flaws. The sycamore top and back look excellent, making me wonder why this wood isn't used more often for bass tops. It also looks to be a solid figured top, not a thin veneer or photoflame. I can spot a small flaw at the edge of the sycamore top where there appears to have been a bit of wood filler used on a ragged edge, but this is very small, and might ust be the wod itself. The gloss finish has some rough patches, but I think that they will buff out. There is one very small patch of lighter colour wood under the gloss finish that appears to have been missed while staining, but as this is near the neck/upper horn join this isn't easily visible. The plastic cover for the electronics cavity is scratched a bit, which is slightly disappointing in a new bass, but I can live with that. I haven't spotted any problems with the frets, no sharp edges or raised frets that I've noticed.The ebonol fretboard feels nice, similar to other ebonol fretboards that I've experienced. It's maybe not quite as smooth feeling as some (or real ebony), but I much prefer this to the cheaper rosewood you might expect on an instrument in this price range.

I haven't yet adjusted the setup of the bass. I prefer a medium action, which is what my instrument had 'out of the box', so I've left it as it is. The nut appears to be cut very slightly high, which is common with new instruments. But not enough for me to feel that I need to file the nut slots.

The electronics seem fine. The two humbuckers and the three band EQ give a wide variety of tones.This is the first time I've had three band EQ on a bass and In passive mode the EQ cases to function, though of course volume and pickup blend do. I believe that this is how the Ibanez BTB7 electronics work in passive mode. The bass sounds pretty much what you'd expect from an active bass with two humbuckers. It's not the best double humbucker active bass I've heard, it's not the worst. I much prefer the sound of the BZ-7000 to how my Shine SB26 (similar to the old Harley Benton HB600 I believe) sounded. But, I think that my Ibanez SR760 has a better native sound than the BZ-7000. Perhaps the lower notes could have a bit more oomph, and note definition. However, this could be due to strings, as I'll mention later. And it could also be because I haven't yet spent enough time working out how to coax the best sound out of the BZ-7000.

I'm not professional bassist, so any comments I make about playability should be taken with a pinch of salt. I find the bass nice to play. Perhaps I would prefer the low B and E strings to have a bit more tension, but this is not a major problem. The BZ-7000 comes with 'Olympia' brand strings, which are inexpensive strings, and online reviews are mixed. The BZ-6000 and others in the range with fewer strings come with D'Addario strings, which might be better. Another purchaser of the BZ-7000 on seenstring.org reports that he/she has replaced the Olympia strings with Warwick Red Label strings, after he found that he Olympia strings that came with his/her bass were rusty. It was reported that both sound and playability improved considerably. However, the strings on mine were in generally good condition, with just a few areas of discolouration. I am very curious to find out how better quality strings would sound/feel on the BZ-7000, and will try this at some time. However, the stock strings seem OK. I particularly like the unwound high F. Because of the B and E strings being slightly floppy, I have to restrain my playing style a bit on those strings as I usually like to dig in a bit more. But this isn't a major problem, and something I'm certainly prepared to accept 'for the price' But this may be solvable with new strings.

I've heard that seven string basses are not for everyone. (Some people say this for five strings). But I find this bass a joy to play. Some of this will be due to having the extra high string over a six, which is very useful for my inexpertly played chordal and solo work. There's just so much you can do on this bass.Low bass lines. Chords, plucked or strummed. Solos at high enough not frequencies so that they cut through more than you'd get on a high C string. I don't find the neck too big or unwieldy. I play sitting down, so I am not concerned about the weight of the bass. It seems to play fine, like other basses in the same price range.

Overall, this is 'wow' for the price. I'm not seriously expecting this to happen, but perhaps one day Thomann will extend the BZ range to include a BZ-9000. If this happened, and the price was proportional to the other instruments in the range, I would buy one.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Review for Harley Benton BZ-7000 NT
29.08.2014
Finish:
Really good, apart from a slightly askew truss rod cover, and the remnants of glue arounde some frets, I can't get stick to anything. Wood looks nice, without cavities or structural defects. Bass is obviously a massive (well it's 7 strings) and it weights arounde 8 kg. The string spacing is about 12mm. The bass is well build, the body, neck, and pickups itself looks good to me. The ebonol fretboard is black as magic and looks great withoute fret marks, ofcourse it hasn't got the feel of real ebony. Knobs twist with a little drag (which is good) and you can feel the "click" between 2 steps of adjustment.

Sound:
The stock strings are not so good (mayby only mine was a little tarnished) but if you changed them automaticly to a new set the bass will breath like scubadiver gasping for fresh air :) The one seroius flaw is lack of captured screening, so the bass howls and produced some noise. But if you have some noise reduction effects it helps a lot, it's not a big problem, but the shielding job is what need to be done in the future.

Active preamps and sound creation possibilities:
Great! There are 5 knobs with 2-step adjustment: pickup balancer (bridge, both, neck), tone (mellow-semi-bright), bass (which is also a push-pull activating preamp), mid and treble, also with 2 -step of adjustment. Like always the mid knob do the talking. You can preety much get sound from mellow jazz groove to agressive rich brutal sound.

It is clear that Harley Benton BZ-7000NT can do the trick, and it's very nicely manufactured afordable replacment for Ibanez BTB 7 or Conkiln Custom 7. For less than 300 euro I would recomende to every bassist who search for extende range bass.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
cant get better so cheap
Roy K, 05.11.2017
its very nice looking, its very solid made, some flaws, mostly the wood have some color imperfections, not any build issues,, the neck is incredible comfortable, an thin, i love it, the setup an intonation was nearly perfect out of the box with my bass at least, strings where new an good sounding, i heard in reviews the about sound, and noise problems, well let me tell ..with my bass there is no noise at all, an the sound i VERY good, the tuners feels a little cheap, but it stays in tune very well actually, so no problem, action is great, and its no more fretbuzz then most basses do have, i recomend it to everyone that wants a 7 string bass, its amazing what you get for the money.. tnx thomann :)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Fantastic bass - worth every penny
Roger b, 17.04.2015
There is so much that could be said about this bass, but I'll keep it to the main points:
It's fantastic looking (the pictures do not do the bass justice),
The sound is incredible (with the low B booming & I've been strumming the 4 high strings this morning)!
It's rich lustre of clear coat is incredible, such a high gloss and smooth finish. The woods used have been processed to such a high degree, I can't see how this bass could be so relatively low costing? I keep expecting to get a bill for the rest of the cost!
It's sound matches it's looks, being rich, full bodied, rounded yet able to be subtle and delicate!
All things considered, it's an amazing bass, at an amazing price, and well worth anything it takes to get one immediately!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Not deluxe quality - a lemon
08.04.2016
A 'deluxe' model - no, too many quality blemishes to earn such a title. In any case, a heavyweight, literally.

The active electronics were simply unacceptable - the volume pot kept scratching and even cutting off the signal entirely, all with perfectly good 9V batteries installed. The treble control did not have any discernible effect on the sound.

In terms of workmanship, already the selected wood was of very uneven quality. There were several dents from the production, some of which had been visibly filled in. There were cracks in the headstock finish. The ebonol (not ebony) fretboard arrived uncleaned and dirty. Strings showed corrosion in several places.

To top it all off, this instrument would not be the most efficient to maintain. You would have to deal with two awkwardly reached truss rods and seven mono rail bridge connectors of less than top quality for intonation.

All in all, unfortunately lower-tier standard and back she goes.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
I still can't believe
Ionases, 11.04.2017
I bought this bass on a whim when it first came out and despite not playing anywhere near as often as I should, I am keeping it because it is simply awe inspiring!

Pros
The first thing that strikes you is the look: this thing is one of the most beautiful finishes you will find at this price tag! Stunning wood choices and workmanship with no flaws.
-Action, setup, hardware etc although obviously not the highest possible is still far above the price range and after over a year I have no complaints
- Comfortable to play, ridiculously thin neck
- Passive and active mode using pull-pot on volume knob

Cons
-There is a slight lack of power in the high E string which means that when using a noise gate/compress you might end up losing quite a bit of sustain. Overall however the raw sound works fine.
- Transition from passive to active mode is a little laggy like the actives are warming up.
-I personally really like the ebanol fretboard but it might not be for the rosewood fanatics
-This is not a light bass which shouldn't be expected given the amount of wood on display!
- Given the thinness of the neck I have been reluctant to try heavier gauge and or restring it in F#. Could be my perception but I fear it wouldn't be a happy bass. In more experienced hands, it might not be a problem.

Overall this is an excellent piece of work from Thomann and given the price, there really is nothing else out there quite like it! Highly recommended and most of mycons are nit-picking at this price
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
High Quality 7-String Bass Without the High Quality Price
Epic, 14.12.2017
The choice of woods in this bass is great, it looks absolutely stunning, even better than the pictures. The bass was also set up really well out of the box, the intonation is perfect, the action is pretty low, the way I like it. The neck is about as wide as an Ibanez BTB 6-string, and coming from playing a 6-string with 16mm spacing, the spacing on this bass (14.5-15.5mm) is really not difficult to adapt to. The ebonol fingerboard is very hard, your fingers don't dig in like with rosewood. The neck is lacquered, but it's thin. The fretwork is great though I plan to make it fretless anyway. The pickups produce some beautiful clear notes on the higher 4 strings but I think the sound on the lower 3 strings is too thin. This was the same with the preamp on and off. I don't really have a problem with it because I'm replacing the pickups with Delanos but you may want to look at a the hb-6000 or a different bass entirely if you don't want to shell out the $400 for better pickups. Otherwise the preamp and the hardware seems fine. This is also a very easy bass to play with a pick. Overall for a $375 bass you could do much worse.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
great but a few problems
bass,playerofthe7string, 09.11.2015
the sound is crisp and works well but you need to buy new strings!!! to gget the best of it.

the pickup are great a bit noise but what do you expect 18v so i knew it would happen.
light for what it is


WOULD RECOMMEND IT ANY DAY AND I AM A PROFESSIONAL BASS PLAYER WHO WANTED A BIT OF A CHANGE!!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Superb Value for Money!
09.10.2016
I'm a session bass player so naturally having a bass like this grants endless opportunity in a studio setting.
I ordered this bass on a Wednesday morning and it arrived Tuesday the next week, which is rather impressive seeing as it was shipped from Germany, the finish on the bass is stunning, aside from a minor crack in the gloss coat around the cutaway the bass arrived in great condition.
The 35'' scale length means you get great clarity from the low B string, so you do get an actual note on it, not just a feeling. On top of this the 18 volt preamp is a monster, it's insanely powerful. The on-board EQ allows for a great range of tone shaping possibilities and switching between active and passive mode is extremely easy (though you would have to adjust the volume accordingly)
In terms of weight the bass is fairly light for what it is, I also own a 4 string Chapman bass and this is actually the slightest bit lighter than that while having 3 strings more, so it's a win for my back.
The neck is insanely wide, especially after the 12th fret but then again with the fairly thin neck profile it's not much different to a 6 string bass which meant it felt fairly intuitive to pick up and play.
In summary this is a great bass packed full of great features, which quite frankly is a steal for anyone at this price, Harley Benton are on to a winner with this one.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Fantastic bass
30.01.2016
What a beast of a bass. In the past I've played a 6 strings and always fancied getting a seven. This arrived and was fantastically made and despite the headstock size and neck width, balanced extremely well.

The weight surprised me as well, OK, it was heavy but I expected it to be a lot heavier, for what it is its relatively light. This got taken to a few rehearsals and the second half was always done sat down.

The pickups and preamp in this bass are very good for the money, lots of possibilities and choices with the sounds you can get out of it and the one I received didn't have any of the hum/hiss reported by some other owners.

With my one, I didn't quite fancy having the additional high string, so I moved everything down and added a low F# (175 gauge Rotosound dropzone) and it was monsterous.

An absolutely fantastic bit of kit, dirt cheap and good fun...just make sure you've got a very comfortable (and wide) padded strap.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Very good value for money
Eyvind, 20.06.2018
For the price, this is a great bass. Some rough edges here and there, but playability and sound overall are both quite alright, and very good considering the price. The strings should be changed for new ones.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Good 1st 7 bass
Elliot C., 03.07.2015
I got this bass so that i could have a low F# while still having range for fills. For your money this bass is brilliant. Set up is brill. Finish almost perfect (couple spots here and there). Its main let down is the electrics. The pickups on mine dont tend to pick up the highest string that well and when set to passive it just sounds meh with alot of noise. But overall deffenetly i non regretable purchease.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Harley Benton BZ-7000 NT

€368 £323
Free shipping incl. VAT

The price in GBP is a guideline price only!

In stock within 5-6 weeks
In stock within 5-6 weeks

This item is expected back in stock soon and can then be shipped immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-20
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
(2)
Recently Viewed
Casio PX-S3000 BK Privia

Digital Piano 88 Keys with scaled hammer action keyboard (Smart Scaled Hammer Action Keyboard), 700 Sounds, 200 Rhythms, 192-Voice polyphony, Audio and MIDI Recorder, Hammer response, Damper resonance, Split and layer function, Chorus, DSP, Brilliance, Pitch bend, 60 Internal...

Recently Viewed
Dreadbox Hypnosis

Dreadbox Hypnosis; multi-effect processor; three independent effects: analog BBD chorus/flanger incl. LFO with three waveforms, digital delay with three modes and freeze function, analog spring reverb with three reverb spirals and pitch modulation; input and output levels can be adjusted...

Recently Viewed
Arturia MiniLab MKII Deep Black

Arturia MiniLab MKII Deep Black; USB Controller Keyboard; limited special edition with black enclosure and black keyboard; 25 Mini-Keys velocity sensitive; 16 rotary encoders (2 of them are clickable); 2 banks of 8 Pads velocity & pressure sensitive with RGB...

Recently Viewed
Tannoy Life Buds

Wireless in-ear headphones Bluetooth 5.0, DSP-control for precise sound reproduction, Bluetooth profile: HSP / HFP / A2DP / AVRCP, Up to 4 hours of battery life for music playback or phone calls, Up to 120 hours stand-by, Integrated microphone,...

(1)
Recently Viewed
KRK Rokit RP5 G4

Active Near-Field Studio Monitor 5" Glass-aramid woofer, 1" Glass aramid tweeter, Class-D amplifier, Bi-amped, Maximum SPL: Sound pressure level: 104 dB, Frequency range: 43 - 40,000 Hz, Integrated illuminated LC-display, 25 Visual graphic EQ presets (DSP-based), KRK-App with room...

Recently Viewed
tc electronic BC208 Bass Cab

Electric Bass Cabinet Rated power: 200 watts, Impedance: 8 ohms, Frequency response: 70-4000 Hz ± 3dB, 50-6000 Hz -10 dB, EQuipped with: 2 x 8" Turbo sound custom drivers, Cabinet construction: bass reflex, Compact and lightweight design, Stackable horizontally...

Recently Viewed
the t.mix Rackmix 821 FX USB

the t.mix Rackmix 821 FX, 8 channel rackmixer with built-in USB audio player and multi-effects, 3 band equalization, + 48V phantom power and pan per channel, 2 aux sends (1x FX 1x Aux), main out with XLR or jack possible,...

Recently Viewed
Stairville Tour Stage Platform 1,5x1m ODW

Stairville Tour Stage Platform 1.5x1 m ODW, Outdoor Stage Platform / Podest without legs, Dimensions: 150 x 100 x 9 cm, Finish: Weather resistant plywood panel with HEXA "anti-slip" coating, maximum load: 750 kg/m², Insert for legs: 60 x 60...

Recently Viewed
K&M 18820 Omega Pro Black

Keyboard Table Compact tubular steel construction, Large, round parquet protectors, Snap-in clamping screws for easy height adjustment, Support arms individually adjustable, Foldable legs, Maximum load capacity: 80 kg, Load capacity optional second level: up to 25 kg, Height: 600...

Recently Viewed
Positive Grid BIAS FX 2 Standard

Guitar Effect Plugin Download Guitar Match technology simulates specific guitars so that they can be played with conventional guitars, Includes Guitar Match Essential with 2 guitars, 45 effect pedals and rack processors, and 30 amps, 60 Factory presets to...

Recently Viewed
Moog Sirin

Analogue Desktop Synthesizer Limited edition, Based on the Moog Taurus Sound Engine, Monophonic, 2 VCOs with sawtooth and rectangular waveforms, Oscillator sync, Mixer for VCO signals, Classic Moog Ladder filter (low pass), 2 ADSR envelopes, LFO for VCO and...

(1)
Recently Viewed
KRK Rokit RP7 G4

Active Studio Monitor Fitting: 6.5" Glass aramid woofer and 1" glass aramid tweeter, Output: 145 Watt, Class-D amplifier, Bi-amped, Transmission range: 42 - 40000 Hz, Maximum sound pressure level: 110 dB (SPL), Integrated illuminated LC-display, 25 Visual graphic EQ...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.