Harley Benton BZ-6000 NT

66 Customer Ratings:
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.7 / 5.0
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
19 written ratings
Total
features
sound
quality
Bargain 6-string.
Ben8786, 10.02.2015
To be honest the price tag might make you think this is a cheap quality bass. I bought this as a primary bass due to my old one deceasing and budget requirements :/ However, I can see myself happily using this as my primary until things improve financially.

It's a reassuring weight, shipping label says 3kg, it can get a bit heavy after a couple of hours standing. It feels "nice and comfortable" on, the neck length again comfortable, width of the neck and string spacing slightly more than I'm used to, again though nothing horrible. It plays nice and clearly, coming with D'addario's light? gauge, maybe the B string is a touch flappy for my taste, but that's minor and can be changed.
I ended up playing very happily for a couple of hours, so far as the neck goes (and seated) this is a pretty "fast" neck and has a good bouncy feel to play. Oh, tuning is also solid and excellent :)
I don't slap much, but it lent itself nicely to the little I do, some good poppy sounds. I tend to play bluesy/prog/rock and it's a great sound for that.

Day 2: Into studio and played through a so-so Ashdown 2x10 + 15. Absolute blinder, there's a 2x9volt active which I found unusual, but hell this packs a punch, no eq, straight out this sounds fantastic - I think with a slightly heavier gauge set on this it'd be fantastic, although straight out it's probably pretty cool for low-end metal too :) My band are all jaw-dropped at this.

The bass itself looks fantastic, thru-neck AND thru-body - again unusual, but there's killer sustain. Tuners are standard and solid, bridge perhaps feels a little light to me, but again that thru-body stringing is a really nice tough.
Overall, finish and build quality is excellent, if there's one place money is saved it's the "Ebonol" synthetic wood? fingerboard, which did leave some black "residue" like felt tip pen on my fingers, but I've played that off and it's ifne now. This is where the money has been saved and is the only disappointment to me. For the money though, this is worth twice what you could pay. Very pleased.
Some videos on youtube of this are worth checking out (not mine).
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Almost perfect...
22.03.2017
Feel: This is a HEAVY bass (not a deal breaker at all). The neck feels very good, smooth and comfortable in shape, with unrestricted access all the way to the 24th fret, not a single dead note. The pickups' placements work for me. Personally, the string spacing and neck both could be a bit wider, but i'm around 1.96m (6'5") with fairly large hands and fingers and that's entirely subjective anyway. Zero neck dive; this bass balances like a dream. 10/10.

Electronics: 18v preamp = healthy signal with sufficient headroom. My onboard preamp knobs are completely different in terms of what they are supposed to control when compared to what i have seen from users on YouTube. Thomann themselves sent me an image numbering the knobs, which doesn't match what the knobs actually do (except the volume). There is a huge drop in output when the pickup selector is placed dead centre. A sliver to the bridge or the neck position though and the level kicks in big time. Faulty placement aside, the knobs do what they are supposed to and they do it well. Zero noise, very dynamic (specially the bass knob, its a beast), love the sound. 9/10

Build quality: Some of the isolated bridges are offset in that they are not perfectly parallel to each other. A couple of them are actually slightly off-contact with the body. That being said, they are not loose, so there's no loss of overall integrity. The knobs feel okay, but the tuners seem flimsy. All screws on this bass are plain bad, those heads will wear off pretty soon. The dual truss rods seem solid. The body is rock solid, as is the finish. 6/10.

Overall: Presuming that other basses don't have the problems that my piece has with the offset bridge system or the output drop when the pickup selector is centered, this would be a GOOD bass. Factor in the price point, and its just plain excellent. I have used it live a couple of times. Set everything flat (except the pickup selector) and i got a very usable tone right there. I tried opening the bass knob a smidgen; the whole stage started to rumble! That preamp is a powerhouse! There's enough power there and then some, and although i have yet to use this beast in the studio, i have no doubt that it will deliver. The preamp is VERY verstaile in terms of its tone shaping prospects. The features are great in general. At this price point, its just awesome! 9/10.

Special thanks to Thomann for, firstly, making Harley Benton products happen, secondly, making them available at these wallet-friendly prices and thirdly, having the best website in the business, coupled with top notch customer care.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
WHAT IN THE WORLD?!
JDVtheBassist, 11.09.2017
This bass has some VERY serious features! I could not believe it. I sold a 6-string Modulus Q6 bass. When I sold it, I felt so bad and I wanted to get a 6-string bass back into my collection without spending a lot of money. However, there were certain features I was looking for, and the price tag just kept going higher and higher with other brands. Then, I found this Harley Benton. Since it was an online purchase, I was very skeptical that this was going to be any good. But, it had the features I was looking for, so I took a shot. OH MY GOODNESS! This thing is incredible! First, it has a 35" scale, which means the low B resonates with great clarity. Also helping the resonance is the fact that it is a neck-through bass...just one piece of wood from neck to body. The electronics sound amazing! So much ability to shape the sound...it even sounds better than my old Modulus. The electronics are active, and there is an option to pull the volume switch and make it passive. The parts, like the tuners, and saddle, are good quality. It has ports on the back so you can change batteries without unscrewing anything. And the wood is beautiful...all the layers...it looks like plywood, but super expensive plywood or something! The finish is a very high shiny clear coat. This thing is amazing! Could not ask for a better purchase. I'm going to consider Harley Benton for several more purchases now. Wow...just wow!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
In this price range it's excelent bass
Anaalth, 25.04.2019
This instrument is a really nice price / quality ratio.
Sound is good and can be even better with new pickups and electronic.
Tuning is stable, frets are fine. But oh my Satan.... this thing is heavy as it's made from steel...
But the sustain is almost infinte xD so it's worth it.
Ebonol on fretboard is nice, but can be better treated from the stock, mine was on some places almost grey and i had to polish it, but thats a minor think.
Love it!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
good bass and quality service
Glandan, 26.04.2018
Hi, I purchased this 6 string bass as I have played a 4 and 5 string bass in the past. This adds the extra high movement on the c string. I wasn't dissappointed as the BZ6000NT offers this flexibility with added room to maneuver.
pros.
The instrument has a rich and warm tonality and the sound is balanced throughout the fret board. the action is very good if you like a low action a-on your bass. There is little to no rattling wherever you play throughout the fret board. The control knobs get the job done but the volume knob needs to be turned up past the halfway knob to get the full effect in active mode. The pre amp is 18 volts compared to the usual 9 volts and t packs a serious punch. I think this bass ranks with some of the other top end basses in terms of the feel and sound.
Cons.
There are some cosmetic issues such as the less than perfect paint job on the bridge as well as some residue just below the headstock. I think this can be cleaned off and buffed up. This is a heavier than usual bass but nothing that a good bass strap can't handle.
I really like this bass and I'm enjoying playing it more and more each day. The service and the staff at Thomann is second to none. The staff are very supportive and helpful. The resolved an issue I had very speedily and efficiently. Thanks Thomann.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Excellent sound, value, but HEAVY.
24.06.2016
I bought a BZ-6000 a few weeks ago and having lived with it for a while, I can give a proper review.

First of all, the aesthetics - the sycamore top on the example I purchased has an *exquisite* flame to it. My heart almost legitimately skipped a beat when I opened the box and took it out of its wrapper/sheet/cover thing. The overall vibe might not be your thing if you're not into the whole woodgrain/flame thing, however.

(Additionally, props to all involved when it comes to the packaging and what not - double boxed and very well secured.)

Features wise, this bass is really very tonally versatile with its 18v active circuitry and three-band EQ (how many other basses have 18v electronics at this price range? Not many, I'll warrant). The fact that one can switch the active electronics altogether is another string in its bow - you coud have the active EQ set up for, say, a slap-bass sound, play most of the set with the volume knob out on a 'regular' bass sound, then pop the active circuit in when you need to get funky like a monkey.

Looks like the bridge can be strung either through-body or over the top - I haven't tried to change strings yet, so I can't confirm this for sure.

Drawbacks - the big one is the weight of the thing. I have a few heavy instruments - my Chapman ML-1, for example is a weighty (but great sounding and playing) lump of a guitar. This is a whole other level, however. If you want to gig this, I recommend straplocks and a VERY sturdy strap. I'm mostly using this for recordings at home, however, so this is less of an issue for me (I still like to play strapped-up when I can though, so this is something I'll have to investigate the best solution for).

As a personal preference note, I would've liked a more satin finish to the neck, but your mileage may vary.

Overall though, this instrument represents genuinely excellent value for money, and if you're wanting to dip your toe into the 6-string waters, you could do way worse than picking up an HB-6000.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Awesome!
Gradoboev, 03.04.2019
2 weeks to west siberia.
Very strong quality for dat price. Thank u Harley Benton, Im really surprised!
Good pickups. Active/Passive modes. VERY NICE space between 12 fret and fretboard. Very enjoyable fingerboard and neck.
Hell, i will buy 1 more i guess, cuz price and quality! ;)

THX Thomann crew for portal delivery speed. All items secured. Even Russian post couldn't destroy it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
A lot of bass for not much money!
19.05.2016
So, the BZ-6000 has finally arrived. Strangely enough delivered at the same time as a drum kit for someone else at work who I didn't know was a musician <insert drummer joke here>.

Anyway, onwards...

Initial impressions - wow! Very impressed with the workmanship; the design of the body has lines that are pleasing on the eye. The body and head have a nice tiger stripe wavy grain. That through neck is rather reminiscent of those 80's Ibanez basses I loved when I first started playing.

The quality control out of the factory seems pretty good; the finish was clean on the whole, just some minor bits of glue(?) on a few frets. A few bits of cloth fibre around the machine heads and other metal ware - probably left by whoever dusted it prior to shipping out of the door. The D'Addario strings are okay for a start (the bass arrived almost in tune(!)). I was going to get a guitar maker friend of mine to go ahead and do a set up job for me, as I usually do when getting a new bass, but... really... no need. This surprised me but on the whole it's pretty bang on regarding set up. Intonation is good, frets are fine (aside from the glue remnants) - no sharp edges and no buzzes etc. The neck is quite comfortable and the string spacing is slightly wider than I expected (good). Machine heads are of an adequate quality and the bass is a piece of cake to tune up.

I think that I'll probably replace the pots eventually as one or two feel a little 'spongy'. Those that have centre clicks seem to click okay.

I plugged it in and again... pretty impressed. Nice quiet electronics on the whole. Earthing must be bang on as there are none of those nasty 'earthy' noises with hands on and off the strings. The sound is pretty good on the whole - nice variation of tone when balancing between front and rear PUs. Tone controls are a little rough and ready, particularly the bass one. Again, might think about modding the electronics eventually, when other projects I've got on are finished.

So, very happy with the HB - it may be the first of many!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Harley Benton BZ-6000 NT
Pilot-b, 12.11.2018
I have mixed feelings about this bass guitar.
Pros: The guitar looks beautiful. The wood work and paint finishes are nicely done. The hardwares are ok though I changed the tuning pegs as there is a bit of slack inside the tuning mechanism when tuning.

Cons: The guitar is too heavy mine weights 12 pounds!!! The wood seems to have very high density and it sounds like a stone when you knock on it. Therefore there is very little resonance from the body and you can't feel much vibrations on your hands and lap when playing. As a result, the sound is is not organic and there is very little wood tone. The sound is mostly come from the pickup itself which sounds dry to my ears. Depends on the genre of music this may or may not be an issue to some of you.

Overall: This is a nice looking bass guitar with good value for the price. If you don't mind the heavy weight and unique sound this would be a nice buy.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Amazing value for money.
Arispan, 12.02.2019
This is a great bass with an amazing value for money. It has a plethora of sonic capabilities, and I've been using it extensively in the studio for the past 2 years.

Pros:
Great sound, good EQ options.
Sturdy and durable.
Low B sounds very clear and detailed due to the extended scale.

Cons:
Weight. I would NOT recommend this bass for live usage! It makes my back hurt, it's very heavy.
String height. Unfortunately there is a minimum action string height that you can't go below by adjusting the saddles. The only way to get it lower would be to remove the saddles and sand them down to your preferred height.
Neck Dive. It gets mildly uncomfortable after some time.

I would definitely recommend this bass for someone who intends to use it in the studio.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
I Was Suspicious At First...
13.03.2017
But it turned out this was legit. I'm always unsure about purchasing items online from a website such as this. I bought this bass because it was a cheap six string bass that I could use to not only learn songs, but write them too. I was looking for a beautiful bass which also played well. It just so happened the Harley Benton series showed up with a few basses. This was the bass I chose in the end.

It's body is well designed. The neck is flat to make it more comfortable to play. The pickups are nice. Everything about this bass looks great.

However, the knobs on the bass confuse me. I'm unsure which knob does which. Some seem to add distortion, others mute the bass entirely? I'm confused, I've never had 5 knobs on a guitar or bass.

Next, the quality of the bass (Physically) is beautiful, but, it is minimal wear. Not factory new. There are marks where the bass was carelessly hitting solid objects, luckily not massive marks. So if you use this bass in a gig, any marks won't be shown unless you are four feet away. Also, something I love about this bass that no other guitars even bother to do. Is make the 23rd and 24th fret accessible with easy. The neck unfortunately isn't curved like they should be with all guitars and basses.

The bass is heavy. If you're a standing up kinda person, you may not want this bass. Find something lighter.

The jack input in the bass is a little strange too. Rather than go all the way in. It sticks out revealing the amplifier jack's silvery goodness.

The strings do have a strange issue, they seem to make your fingers dirty with either dust or the coating it has on them?

Overall. It's a great bass. It's fun to play. The delivery took 5 days from the order processing.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great for the value
RASHEDHAIKAL, 05.01.2019
This bass is really a good value for money, giving you 6 strings for a very affordable price.

Recommended for people who would love to try a 6-strings guitar for a low price.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Excelent price/quality ratio. Very happy with the instrument.
12.10.2014
Excellent price / quality ratio. Very perfect finish without riscosou flaws in the wood. Very smooth and fast scale. Sound very versatile, can go from warm sound to a more aggressive sound. The option to switch active/passive eq is na extra that i only have see inmuch more expensive basses. Without the noise level hardware. The only complaint is in relation to being overweight, but the qualities far outweigh this small defect.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
29.09.2015
I had been waiting all day for this to arrive, and late in the afternoon it's here. It had been well packaged, and turned up in perfect condition. The bass itself looks in my mind stunning enough to be worth as much as some high end instruments (reckon it would give Warwick a run for it's money..).
It will take me sometime to get used to playing with the extra 2 strings, but for now the action is lovely, the neck plays as sweetly as my much beloved Bc Rich that I've had for a long long time, and it sounds amazing. Much fiddling will be done over the next few days to see what sounds I can make this produce! I absoloutely love it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great Bass
04.03.2017
Been thinking of getting a 6 string bass for a while, never thought i would get one as good as this for under £300 but as soon as i opened it i was amazed at how it looks, it sounds great too with good depth and clarity, the only slight negative is the weight, if you don't like heavy basses then maybe not for you, but if you had a Washburn Status Bass in the 1980s then you'll be fine, i would buy one again any day.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Incredible for its price
u23l, 17.01.2018
Incredible bass. It's versitale and built nicely. There were minor issues with the tuners but its perfect other than that. Would definitely recommend to anyone.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Quality.
GraemeL, 28.01.2017
I have no idea how they sell this for the price, I own many Bass Guitars, Gibson, Fender, Ibanez to name a few I know quality when I see/play it, I was bit dubious at first, I wanted a 6 string bass to see if I could 'get along' with one but didn't want to spend a fortune, this was the right price for the job and I can honestly say hand on heart that I wasn't expecting a bass as good as this for the price, the build the sound the action/playability far exceeded my expectations. Would I recommend it? most definitely.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Awesome bass with a small issue
Rowan Aldridge, 21.03.2018
This bass looks awesome and plays really well. The craftsmanship on it is nothing short of stunning. The pickups sound cool, albeit with a bit too much mid and treble for my taste, not to worry though because the 18v 3-band EQ sorts that out. The titular small issue is that there is a huge drop in volume when using the bridge pickup - and I mean huge. However, this is a small issue when considering everything else about this bass. All in all, excellent value and a great instrument - Harley Benton have done it again.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
If you want a 6 string to add to your collection,try this......
23.12.2015
For the money, few basses of this type will give the quality of finish,features,playability and stunning good looks.
I bought this just to add to my bass collection (which lists more than a few high end names) but it looks like I will be using this as a first choice for gigs for a while.
Other reviews in this list cover some of the technical reasons for considering getting one of these,but unless you are super fussy just get one and you will like it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Harley Benton BZ-6000 NT

€348 £306.71
Free shipping incl. VAT

The price in GBP is a guideline price only!

In stock within 5-6 weeks
In stock within 5-6 weeks

This item is expected back in stock soon and can then be shipped immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-20
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
(1)
Recently Viewed
Empress Effects ZOIA

Effect Pedal Modular synthesiser, Provides the necessary modules to build effects from the ground up, Lets you create custom effects, synthesisers, midi controllers, and virtual pedalboards, Contains modules for most standard guitar effects, Over 80 modules, Over 20 ready-made...

(2)
Recently Viewed
Casio PX-S3000 BK Privia

Digital Piano 88 Keys with scaled hammer action keyboard (Smart Scaled Hammer Action Keyboard), 700 Sounds, 200 Rhythms, 192-Voice polyphony, Audio and MIDI Recorder, Hammer response, Damper resonance, Split and layer function, Chorus, DSP, Brilliance, Pitch bend, 60 Internal...

Recently Viewed
Dreadbox Hypnosis

Dreadbox Hypnosis; multi-effect processor; three independent effects: analog BBD chorus/flanger incl. LFO with three waveforms, digital delay with three modes and freeze function, analog spring reverb with three reverb spirals and pitch modulation; input and output levels can be adjusted...

Recently Viewed
Tannoy Life Buds

Wireless in-ear headphones Bluetooth 5.0, DSP-control for precise sound reproduction, Bluetooth profile: HSP / HFP / A2DP / AVRCP, Up to 4 hours of battery life for music playback or phone calls, Up to 120 hours stand-by, Integrated microphone,...

Recently Viewed
Arturia MiniLab MKII Deep Black

Arturia MiniLab MKII Deep Black; USB Controller Keyboard; limited special edition with black enclosure and black keyboard; 25 Mini-Keys velocity sensitive; 16 rotary encoders (2 of them are clickable); 2 banks of 8 Pads velocity & pressure sensitive with RGB...

Recently Viewed
Solar Guitars A2.6 C G2

Electric Guitar Body: Mahogany, Neck: Maple, Fretboard: Ebony, Neck profile: C, 24 Super jumbo frets, Graphite nut, Nut width: 43 mm, Scale: 647 mm, Pickups: 2 Seymour Duncan Solar humbuckers, Solar machine heads with 18: 1 ratio, Colour: Carbon...

(1)
Recently Viewed
tc electronic BC208 Bass Cab

Electric Bass Cabinet Rated power: 200 watts, Impedance: 8 ohms, Frequency response: 70-4000 Hz ± 3dB, 50-6000 Hz -10 dB, EQuipped with: 2 x 8" Turbo sound custom drivers, Cabinet construction: bass reflex, Compact and lightweight design, Stackable horizontally...

Recently Viewed
the t.mix Rackmix 821 FX USB

the t.mix Rackmix 821 FX, 8 channel rackmixer with built-in USB audio player and multi-effects, 3 band equalization, + 48V phantom power and pan per channel, 2 aux sends (1x FX 1x Aux), main out with XLR or jack possible,...

Recently Viewed
Fender Newport BLUE Bluetooth Speaker

Portable Bluetooth Speaker Classic Fender design, Compatible with Bluetooth V4.2, aptX, AAC, SBC, Power: 30 W, Equipped with: 2 Full-range speakers and 1 tweeter, Excellent listening experience, Battery life up to 12 hours, 3.5 mm jack input, USB port...

Recently Viewed
Headrush Looperboard

4-Channel Looper Wth time stretching and integrated effects, High-resolution 7-inch touch interface, Customisable workflow, Extensive loop control, Over 9 hours recording time, Advanced import / export functions, Numerous high quality audio inputs and outputs, Synchronisation with external MIDI hardware,...

Recently Viewed
Moog Sirin

Analogue Desktop Synthesizer Limited edition, Based on the Moog Taurus Sound Engine, Monophonic, 2 VCOs with sawtooth and rectangular waveforms, Oscillator sync, Mixer for VCO signals, Classic Moog Ladder filter (low pass), 2 ADSR envelopes, LFO for VCO and...

(1)
Recently Viewed
PRS SE Custom 24 Roasted Maple PB

PRS SE Custom 24 LTD Maple Edition PB LTD, limited edition, electric guitar, mahogany body (khaya ivorensis), curved and quilt maple top, satin roasted maple neck, roasted maple fretboard, wide thin neck profile, scale 635mm(25"), 24 frets, black bird inlays,...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.