Customer center login

Gallien Krueger MB-200

87 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.8 /5
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
Tiny but effective!
09.01.2015
I bought this amp as a backup, but it sounds good enough and has enough power that I have been happy to gig with it. The small size is the first thing which stands out, and compared to amps of a few years ago it is quite startling just how much an amp this size can do. I have been using it with both bass guitar and double bass and it has performed well with both.
While it can be dialled close to flat using the EQ, the MB200 has a definite voicing built in to it with all of the controls set at noon. Fortunately, this voicing is flattering to most instruments and there is plenty of range on the EQ controls to alter it to taste. The available volume compares well with other 200 watt heads, and I would say that GKs power ratings seem honest. When the amp is pushed hard, it tends to limit the volume rather than distorting, which is a sensible design choice.
There are a couple of limitations of this amp. The first of those is the single volume control, which is less versatile when adjusting the amp for different instruments. The level of background noise is slightly higher than some amplifiers - it's not terrible but it is there. I have never noticed the noise while playing with others, but you might notice it when playing alone through a cab with a tweeter.
However, given its tiny size, good sound and reasonable price, the MB200 seems very good value. Mine has been problem free in over two years of use, so it is reliable too.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
Genious
Nickolas, 06.08.2013
Absolutely genious!!!!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
Great amp for this price!
MarcelH., 17.02.2014
Hi,

I bought the Gallien Krueger MB-200 almost two years ago. I got it as a set coming with a Gallien Krueger 210 MBX cab and a Gallien Krueger 115 MBX cab. But because the Amp is way to loud with one cab, I decided to sell the 115 and play everything since then only with the 210 MBX

The sound with this amp is very pure and unaltered, therefore it was recommended for me for playing with a double bass. The sound is really great and you have lots of options for creating your own personal sound.

In the meantime I got a “normal” E-Bass which I also play with this system. The sound is also pretty good, but I have the feeling you can’t form your sound as much as with the double bass.

The handling is quite simple and therefore also good for beginners with no experience (like I was). The gain-poti is also for volume. However you have enough possibilities to get the sound you want.

For this really low price I would buy it again, I’m very satisfied!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
Amazing
Robert1760, 24.07.2014
Had this amp for a little while now and what can I say, WOW. You would never believe such a large sound could come from such a small amp. Weighing in at just 1kg, this amp is small and light enough to carry in the pocket of a gig bag, without weighing you down. Double this with one of GK's lightweight cabs and you can easily carry all your kit into a venue in one go, so no more leaving stuff in the car to be stolen. Sound wise, the MB 200 totally delivers on all fronts, with the four band eq being more than capable of creating a wide variety of tones, especially when coupled with the contour switch. All in all this is a great head, which is more than capable of keeping up with the loudest of drummers and guitarists.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
MB200
18.04.2016
What a brilliant little amp, i bought this as a spare in case of amp fail at gig. i use it for small gigs and is similar in sound to my MB800 main amp. You can feel it compress a little compared to the MB800 when you dig into the strings, but overall a really useful bit of kit.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
Awesome little bass head
03.10.2015
Gigging a few times a week I got tired lugging around a heavy bass head. This MB-200 has ALOT of punch for a small little thing and works excellent with my Kruegar 410RBH.
I also recommend buying the GK case that comes with this head, it is very handy
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
Gallien Krueger MB-200 is excellent
14.04.2015
First off just to contextualise this review, I'm a pro musician who has played bass for 24 years. I mainly use Sadowsky basses, but also own a Zon, MusicMan and a Siveck. I play upright, fretless etc. I do around 150 gigs per year and also lecture bass and music in a college.

I was sceptical about the Gallien Krueger MB-200, but as the price came down and I read some good reviews I thought I would take a chance. It was originally brought as a back up and to run my EUB and Ubass at smaller acoustic type gigs. In the end it also formed part of my teaching and home practice rig. It was gigged every week as part of the back line for a house band at a jam night. The 200w are plenty useful, especially if you are DI'ing to FOH. Every time I used it I was more than happy with the sound. The EQ sounded great flat with a little tweak of my basses on board pre's.

Its a very useful piece of kit to have around; for example I took it to a one off pickup gig in London when I wasn't sure there would be a head available (the tech rider only stated a cab despite the band leader assuring me it was a combo). I grabbed the MB200 a popped it in to my Mono M80 gig bag and jumped on the train. Sure enough I got to the venue (Soho Pizza Express) to find it was just a cab (the venue now have a very nice Mark Bass combo BTW). The MB200 was light enough to be no trouble to take with me. It covered the pop jazz gig really well with a Sadowsky 5 string.

Build quality is great for the price, not in the same league as some exotic gear, but it certainly can handle a knock. I knocked it off the top of my cab at a gig which left a few marks, but it kept on working. I took the feet off mine to make it smaller. If you do this it benefits from some of that rubber draw liner stuff underneath to give it traction. Its very easy to drag off the top of an amp as its so light, I have FX pedals that feel heavier! It worked really well with a Zoom B3 and for the house band Jam night, giving me a great range of tones.

My top tip is to get a 10" notebook/ipad neoprene sleeve and use this for a case as this protected mine. In the end I parted company with the amp, not because I didn't like it, but one of my students desperately needed an amp. Its still going strong apparently.

This amp really surprised me, I would have another, if it was my only amp (GAS aside) I would be really happy.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
If you have a back problem!
Michael T. 293, 06.07.2013
Buy one of these small, lightweight amps by Gallien Kruger! The tone range is more than adequate for all types of basses. I also have the G.K. 15" light-weight speaker cabinet which has loads of bottom end without the normal weight penalty of a normal bass cabinet..
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
Tiny Amp Huge sound!
10.04.2015
I really needed something small to cover practice,rehearsal and gigs.
This does it all..easily!

It is well made and feels surprisingly solid. It is also very loud for 200 watts! Very easy to get good tones from, simple eq system
This amp is tiny, light, and will fit into the pocket of most gig bags.
It can do nice clean tones as well as an aggressive, punchy, tight sound that makes me really smile!
This little amp got me easily through a gig when my main amp started having issues.
I need to practice silently sometimes(kids!) so having a head phone socket was vital, the AUX in. is awesome & allows you to plug in an mp3 player or laptop to jam along to songs.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
A little monster
Geoff A., 10.04.2014
I've matched this with the 112MBX mini 12" cab and the shoulder bag. My rig-in-bag even meets the size requirements for cabin luggage :) Go on, measure it up! It's SMALL.
Together with the cab, the GK MB-200 I've got a high quality bass rig that I can just sling over my shoulder. The lows will surprise you, even at volume. And oodles of top-end snap are on tap too. I have used it for all small gigs, pubs, quieter venues and, of course, rehearsals for 2 years now and I still love it. And no thought of replacing it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
Great amp, Great price!
Victoria E., 26.09.2014
I have no doubt that this is the bast amp on the market at this price point. quality Gallien tone, good amount of power, that is conservatively rated in my opinion and a great minimalist EQ section. It also makes a great practice amp thanks to the aux input.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
handling
Gallien Kreuger MB-200
Paul710, 18.05.2013
Excellent value for money, size vs output is incredible, this unit is tiny.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Gallien Krueger MB-200

£342
Free shipping incl. VAT
Available in several months
Available in several months

This item will be dispatched immediately on arrival. Unfortunately, we cannot specify a precise dispatch date at this time.

Standard Delivery Times
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-20
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24