Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 2nd Gen

176 Customer Ratings:
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.5 / 5.0
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
23 written ratings
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Quality product.
08.01.2017
This is excellent product. Easy to install and operate.
Very good quality of inputs, especially really good mic preamps (48v phantom powered) - which was the main reason i boutght it for.
I'm also using it for guitar recording, which is flawless. Instrument inputs (which you can setup in dedicated Focusrite Controll app) have more than enough headroom (just in case there is 10db pad available per each front input from the controll app). Latency is marginal and thats awesome! There are very nice and informative led meters around gain knobs.

Quality of rear outputs is very good, sound is full and detailed. Only the headphone output is a bit weak, I need to crank it up when using high impedancy headphones (250 ohm version of DT770pro)

Built quality is awesome - solid aluminum case, knobs feeling good, design is simple and very pleasant to eye.

Unit is operating with no problems in Windows 7. The only thing i've noticed is that I cannot lock its operating samplerate for good. When I switch between multiple sound apps, Scarlett switches samplerate automaticly to match the app and it takes some time (2-3seconds).
That shouldn't be a problem in regular usage though.

To sum up:

Pros:
- excellent quality of sound (instrument/mic inputs, monitor outputs)
- lots of headroom, switchable 10db pad
- low latency
- built quality
- easy setup and operating

Cons:
- headphones preamp seems a bit weak
- slow switching between different samplerates
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Antonio_chico, 17.12.2018
The packaging very poor from Thomann. Without ANY protection at all.
The audio interface excellent. I ordered it after I had tried it from a friends home studio.

The worst of all is thomann's charge with an amount more of 58,98E which was all I had in that account AFTER the charge of the things I had ordered(this card and a cable). Without any warning and without any further order, thomann charged me 3-4 days later with an extra charge. My bank sent me a message that I had a debt that It cannot be paid because of this charge. HOW is it possible to charge me MORE, after I have paid my ordered, I have received it and the case is closed? Misuse of my personal and card data. I contacted the costumer service and informed me, that this is usual. THOMANN solve this ASAP.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Good interface, but not for voice comm
antriq, 04.04.2019
I bought this because I needed an audio interface for music production. The build quality is very good, feels solid and a lot of inputs/outputs for the price. For music production it's a really good interface and I'm satisfied.
When it comes to voice communication, ie. via Discord or other services - the voice becomes robotic after a while and the only thing that solves it is either restarting the interface or the application itself.
This is an issue that Focusrite are aware of but it hasn't been fixed for many years sadly.

However, if you plan to use this only for music production which is my primary use - it's well worth the price.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Perfect for little home studio!
MasterBatyr, 29.04.2019
This sound card has breathed a second life into my old EDIFIER speakers!)))
I did not expect such a change in sound quality compared to the top built-in sound card of my new computer - Realtek ALC1220-VB!

The day before yesterday recorded with friends a couple of old songs, two plugged guitars and a microphone - looks like it's time to open my personal record label!)))
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Exactly what I was looking for
taddeomaiden, 21.10.2017
Amazing audio interface and soundcard, especially for its price. Plug and play installation, the simple software that controls the interface (input level, routing, instrument/line input, pad, etc.) is very handy and intuitive.
Very low latency, good sound quality and sturdy construction make this soundcard exactly what I was looking for for my home studio.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Fantastic
AtmanActive, 13.05.2019
Everything one USB audio interface should be:
- Great sound both on input and output
- Works perfectly
- Never a glitch or a let down in any way

Simply perfect.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Improvement of an already great product
Johnny Bonkers, 01.09.2016
I already own a first generation Scarlett 2i4, which is a really great interface - but the second generation 6i6 kicks it in the teeth! Focusrite have done a really fantastic job on these!

With a recent gear purchase, I found myself having the need for an interface with an S/PDIF input. Beeing very happy with my 2i4, I looked into the next bigger Scarlett interface - the 6i6. Lucky for me, the prices for the 2nd gen Scarletts had just gone down. I had just missed their introduction mere weeks after buying my 2i4, so I was very curious to see how much better the second generation was going to be over the first.

With the second generation of Scarletts, Focusrite have really stepped up their game. Not only did they improve the build quality of the interfaces (better knobs, etc.), they upgraded their already great pre-amps and were able to reduce latency considerably.
I can get latencies of under 4 milliseconds in my DAW now without clicks or popping sounds and I haven't even seen how low I can get it yet. Yes, I wrote 4 milliseconds! Amazing, right?

Installation and registration was a breeze. It was almost like plug and play. The 6i6 comes with a software called Focusrite Control, which allows you for example to route and set inputs and outputs independently from your DAW for example, or change sample rates and switch the first two inputs between instrument and line level (done with physical switches on the 2i4).

The 6i6 is perfect for the home recording guitarist. I can get a wet and a dry signal from my loadbox using the S/PDIF input and record a DI signal simultaniously with one of the remaining inputs. The additional two line outputs could be used for a second pair of monitors for example. I use them for reamping, which works great. In short, it does everything I need it to do. No cons.
The only way I can see myself getting another interface is if I decide to start recording real drums. In that case, I'd probably just get a bigger Focusrite Scarlett again.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
This gear will get 5 stars.
Raggi, 20.01.2018
I have used the Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 for one week now, and i'm pretty impressed of the quality of this product, and at this price range wauw.
If i am pointing the finger at something regarding this device, it would be the headphones amps, they are a bit weak, or you have to set the headphones volume to max. But this is not a problem to me "home recording".
I use this device with Reaper DAW and it works like a charm. Nice sounding pre-amps. I use the two inputs in the back of the device for my piano + MIDI in and Out, and the front inputs for mic. My piano doesn't like phantom power, that is why i had to have the 6i6 with the two "jack" inputs in the back of the device.
Over all a very nice device that i will recommend to every one looking out for a USB audio interface. Have a nice buy ;)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Awesome buy
drdzed, 25.10.2017
Value for money off the hook :)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great Audio Interface for trouble free recording with Reaper
Andrex, 26.01.2017
I bought this interface after battling with the Akai EIE pro and the software interface of a MOTU Ultralite. Since installing the drivers and hooking everything up it has not given me any trouble. The virtual mixer is a bit difficult to figure out when you want to route a signal to a specific output and not include it in the main out mix, but after a process of elimination i got it sorted. FL Studio sometimes has a bit of an issue with the Focusrite ASIO driver as FLStudio can sometimes just stop responding, I believe this to be an FLStudio issue. Reaper and Harrison Mixbus on the other hand do not have any such issue. I use a line 6 xt pro for reamping, when I di into channel 1, instead of using the spdif in, the di'd guitar sounds far better than the spdif one. I haven't yet recorded anything @192Khz as 44.1 and 96 are working fine for me at the moment.
Apart from the obvious sound quality and reliability being of importance the ability to use it as a stand alone mixer is really great, it means I can leave all my gear hooked up and still get sound when the laptop is in the bag.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Works flawlessly.
andre_4, 18.08.2018
I own this product more than half a year I think. It works perfect. Recommended.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 2nd Gen
mkii, 13.07.2017
I bought this interface about a year ago and ever since then it's my primary interface.
Sound is great, latency low. I had few issues with cracking sound but it turned out that the culprit was bad bios setting (Fast Boot must be disabled).

Overall quality of the interface is very good. Mainly i use AKG-K712's with it, and the output is very good for a interface.

Highly recommended.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Focusrite quality at a good price
epz, 09.04.2017
This interface is perfect if you need to record multiple sources without hassle.

The mic preamps are Focusrite quality and work perfectly without introducing noise or hiss. The double headphone out is really useful and opens up to some itneresting use cases.

I really like the finish on the interface and the build quality is outstanding. It's a bit on the heavy side but for this size it's still easily portable.

For this price range it's a perfect choice.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Compact interface
Attila7, 20.08.2017
I use this soundcard as my mobile device.
First of all I would like to notice the huge amount of included plugins which are quite useful.
For me the ProTools first was not a big deal. It is very uncomfortable to keep only 3 songs only in the cloud. This limitation downgrades the SW to the level of a trial version.
By the way the support, updates are good and the interface works as intended. Its internal monitoring system is quite flexible.
Sound quality and the supported range of rates are super.
Plus point for the 2 independent headphone channels. it is very useful during recording. Also the preamps are outstanding.
Using this card is quite straightforward and simple. I recommend that!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Perfect price-quality but...
tolga tuvay, 21.03.2018
Sound quality of the AD-DA converters, 2 headphone outputs and the input output variety is a huge plus. Focusrite shows its difference between the cheaper interfaces. But the Focusrite Control software is hard to adapt at the beginning but you will get used to it. Only negative sides are the software's learning curve and the name they should name it 4i4 because of the 4 analog inputs.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Good.
Mike Mechanics, 13.02.2018
Looks really nice, sounds really nice, has really nice inputs and outputs, but the silver knobs feel extremely cheap.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Solid & reliable
30.03.2017
Im a experimental musician. Perfect size for carry it on life performances and stay in the studio. Cool BIG volumen Knob. and 2 headphones out, Perfect to Jam with a partner.
On a Mac, it's plug and play using the built in core audio driver.
Sound quality wise, its good, very detailed converters and the mic pres are also clean and detailed.

Best value!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Sweet!
Fluctus, 28.11.2017
Overall, this audio interface fits all my home studio's needs for ins and outs, besides having the best looks the market. The sound quality is very good, the specs match the user's needs, it's really simple and intuitive to use. Good price for the benefit.
Works just great with Ableton Live 9 and Rode NT-A 1 microphone.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Very good.
Purvesh05, 21.09.2018
The product is very good as well as the service.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great USB interface for home studio use
Laffe, 13.06.2017
I bought this for my room for working with audio at home, and it's doing a great job.
It's still a new interface, but some of the problems I had in the very beginning were fixed by driver updates, and everything is running smoothly now.
I like the sound of the pre-amps, and it's easy to connect both my home stereo and my monitors to the outputs.
I got the 6i6 specifically because I needed these connection options, and thankfully focusrite has different models to choose from.
input latency is ok, not as good as firewire or thunderbolt, but for a USB interface it's fine.

All in all recommendable for home studio use.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great for home studio
Georgios S., 21.12.2017
This audio interface in great for my home studio.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Amiro , 08.01.2019
this piece of gear speaks for itself
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Artro Vannus, 13.03.2018
I'd just like to start out by saying this is my first experience ever with an audio interface, and it couldn't be more positive.

The Scarlett 6i6 2nd Gen is amazing! At any one time I have a drum synth connected via 2x input and midi in and out, a kaoss pad, a guitar, 2x headphones... and I still have room for more. Sound quality is really really high too.

There were a few minor issues getting it up and running with the software not being up to scratch, but other than that I couldn't be happer.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 2nd Gen

€199 £175.74
Free shipping incl. VAT

The price in GBP is a guideline price only!

Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Online Guides
Choosing a Computer
Choosing a Computer
Computers can be very complicated. We’'re here to offer some advice!
Online Guides
Recording E-Guitars
Recording E-Guitars
Our aim is to explain the basic process of recording the electric guitar!
Online Guides
Audio interfaces
Audio interfaces
There is a wide range of audio interfaces available, and in the end, choosing the right one comes down to your personal preference.
Online Guides
Computer Based Studios
Computer Based Studios
This article will look at how to integrate a computer into different studio environments, and will highlight the issues of functionality and connectivity.
 
 
 
 
 
video
Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 2nd Gen
1:51
Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 2nd Gen
Rank #11 in USB Audio Interfaces
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
(2)
Recently Viewed
Casio PX-S3000 BK Privia

Digital Piano 88 Keys with scaled hammer action keyboard (Smart Scaled Hammer Action Keyboard), 700 Sounds, 200 Rhythms, 192-Voice polyphony, Audio and MIDI Recorder, Hammer response, Damper resonance, Split and layer function, Chorus, DSP, Brilliance, Pitch bend, 60 Internal...

Recently Viewed
Walrus Audio Slö Multi Texture Reverb

Walrus Audio; Slö Multi Texture Reverb; Effect pedal; Three different reverb types; Three selectable reverb modes: Dark, Rise, Dream; Dark: reverb with low octave; Rise: Spatial, swelling reverberation; Dream: Long, flat reverberation with vibrato; Three selectable waveforms for modulating the...

Recently Viewed
Arturia MiniLab MKII Deep Black

Arturia MiniLab MKII Deep Black; USB Controller Keyboard; limited special edition with black enclosure and black keyboard; 25 Mini-Keys velocity sensitive; 16 rotary encoders (2 of them are clickable); 2 banks of 8 Pads velocity & pressure sensitive with RGB...

Recently Viewed
Tannoy Life Buds

Wireless in-ear headphones Bluetooth 5.0, DSP-control for precise sound reproduction, Bluetooth profile: HSP / HFP / A2DP / AVRCP, Up to 4 hours of battery life for music playback or phone calls, Up to 120 hours stand-by, Integrated microphone,...

Recently Viewed
Moog Sirin

Analogue Desktop Synthesizer Limited edition, Based on the Moog Taurus Sound Engine, Monophonic, 2 VCOs with sawtooth and rectangular waveforms, Oscillator sync, Mixer for VCO signals, Classic Moog Ladder filter (low pass), 2 ADSR envelopes, LFO for VCO and...

(1)
Recently Viewed
KRK Rokit RP5 G4

Active Near-Field Studio Monitor 5" Glass-aramid woofer, 1" Glass aramid tweeter, Class-D amplifier, Bi-amped, Maximum SPL: Sound pressure level: 104 dB, Frequency range: 43 - 40,000 Hz, Integrated illuminated LC-display, 25 Visual graphic EQ presets (DSP-based), KRK-App with room...

(1)
Recently Viewed
tc electronic BC208 Bass Cab

Electric Bass Cabinet Rated power: 200 watts, Impedance: 8 ohms, Frequency response: 70-4000 Hz ± 3dB, 50-6000 Hz -10 dB, EQuipped with: 2 x 8" Turbo sound custom drivers, Cabinet construction: bass reflex, Compact and lightweight design, Stackable horizontally...

Recently Viewed
the t.mix Rackmix 821 FX USB

the t.mix Rackmix 821 FX, 8 channel rackmixer with built-in USB audio player and multi-effects, 3 band equalization, + 48V phantom power and pan per channel, 2 aux sends (1x FX 1x Aux), main out with XLR or jack possible,...

Recently Viewed
Fender Newport RED Bluetooth Speaker

Portable Bluetooth Speaker Classic Fender design, Compatible with Bluetooth V4.2, aptX, AAC, SBC, Power: 30 W, Equipped with: 2 Full-range speakers and 1 tweeter, Excellent listening experience, Battery life up to 12 hours, 3.5 mm jack input, USB port...

Recently Viewed
Tech 21 Fly Rig RK5 v2

Tech 21 Fly Rig RK5 v2; effects pedal for electric guitar; Richie Kotzen Signature Pedal, the same analog SansAmp circuit, Delay with tap tempo, Boost and the Richie Kotzen Signature OMG of the first version, plus some additional features such...

Recently Viewed
Dreadbox Hypnosis

Dreadbox Hypnosis; multi-effect processor; three independent effects: analog BBD chorus/flanger incl. LFO with three waveforms, digital delay with three modes and freeze function, analog spring reverb with three reverb spirals and pitch modulation; input and output levels can be adjusted...

(1)
Recently Viewed
KRK Rokit RP7 G4

Active Studio Monitor Fitting: 6.5" Glass aramid woofer and 1" glass aramid tweeter, Output: 145 Watt, Class-D amplifier, Bi-amped, Transmission range: 42 - 40000 Hz, Maximum sound pressure level: 110 dB (SPL), Integrated illuminated LC-display, 25 Visual graphic EQ...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.