Customer center login

Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 3rd Gen

1232 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.8 /5
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
About linuxsupport
born to be root, 20.04.2020
I bought this device because its predecessor had a pretty good reputation in the linux world. While the 2i2 2nd Gen seemes to have worked right out of the box under linux operating systems, this is no longer the case with the 3rd generation. One can get it working, though.

The problem is that the 2i2 3rd gen ships in mass storage mode. So when you plug it into your computer the first time, it appears like a usb drive and is not usable as a soundcard. It needs to be set into its operational mode before you can actually use it, which is done using Focusrite's control software. But sadly the software is only available for windows and mac. So I had to go to my parents place, plug my scarlett into their old windows pc and download the necessary software from Focusrite, which then performed a firmware update on the device and set it into "sound card mode". After the firmware update the scarlett worked without further configuration on my Arch Linux laptop.

I don't know if there are other ways to set the device into operation mode, so if you don't have access to a windows or mac computer, I would advise against buying this audio interface.

Although, when you got it working, it seems to be a pretty good audio interface and i had no problems so far. Nice sound, very low background noise, good latencies, and I like the direct monitoring feature. I really don't need the 'Air' feature, but that might just be a matter of taste.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Super Happy!
Jonas Lange, 02.04.2021
I'm using this audio interface with my XLR microphone and my electric guitar, to simulate amplifiers in Cakewalk TH3. I'm extremely happy with it. Everything feels and looks high quality and the controls are intuitive. There's nothing bad to say about the sound, playing guitar in TH3 feels like it's straight through an amp, no delay whatsoever and a great full sound. All together an amazing product that does what it's designed for extremely well while looking good. I don't really know much about audio, but it's very user friendly and pretty much self explainatory in all aspects.

The only thing I had missed was that the headphone output is a 6,35mm (1/4 inch") jack and the interface does not come with an adapter for 3.5mm Headsets. Audiophiles probably have those laying around everywhere, or 6.35mm jacks on their headphones to begin with. As I'm just getting started with music, I had to buy one. Not an issue, they're less than an euro, just something worth mentioning. Other than that, zero issues.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Most popular for a reason
lmismyl, 26.08.2021
I had red a lot of hate towards this interface and many friends tried to talk me out of buying this, but I am glad I did.
There were no problems with installation, the tutorial videos they have are amazing and easy to understand. The setup took me maybe 5-10 minutes at most. Also the plugin bundle is quite decent for starting out.
Build quality is good, sturdy, knobs feel good and respond as should. I had no problems plugin in both a guitar and a microphone, gain is plenty if you have a decent guitar/microphone. Volume knobs are amazing, they feel great and respond nicely. I have my AKG-702 at 50% volume and I don't really need more, so it is able to feed enough power for higher ohm headphones.
Recording has very low latency and I don't even need to use the direct monitor button, and even if I did, it works great.
Overall I get why this is the most popular interface - you get a lot for the price and if you need something to record with at home, look no further.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great sound card but..
Elie Kh, 21.07.2021
The sound quality is excellent and free of any noises, easy to use and well built, but one thing I really didn't like was the maximum output volume in my Beyersdynamics headphones, it is significantly lower than my older Roland Edirol UA-25 sound card, that I cannot hear myself playing, therefore, almost unusable for me with headphones, which is very important :(

I am not sure if mine has a problem, or if they are all like that, but it's a big con for me, because I was actually hoping to get a higher output than my older Roland sound card, instead, I get significantly lower. And the sound quality is imo the same with the Roland, but yet, cleaner from any noise, which was to be expected.

So I am still using my Roland while the brand new Focusrite is now gathering dust. Personally, not happy with the output which is a deal breaker, so overall 3 stars for me :(
To be used with external speakers only..
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Time to create some music
CrackTail, 25.11.2020
So you wanted to start creating your music or record some instruments. Well good for you because this red brick can do just that and more.
Great input, Great protection, doesn't break just like nokia3310, the design is very nice, the box is smaller than my phone and i can share my awful taste of music now to even 1 more person.
After full day of recording and trying to sound like the bands i listen to, i actually make a good song and go to sleep, happy to progress further tomorrow. Well tomorrow comes and i realize how bad everything sounds. I try to mix everything perfectly only to now sound like from some cave underground homeless guy playing with a flute in my nose.
10/10 would throw this brick at my neighbour's window again
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Worth the Price
Ibanez S521-MOL Review, 10.11.2020
TL;DR Version:
Pros:
1. Affordable
2. Solid Build Quality
3. Great Sound Quality and Control

Con:
1. Fingerprint Magnet

Non-TL;DR Version:
I was debating whether I'd purchase a Solo or a 2i2, but after watching and reading reviews, the 2i2 is definitely more future-proof of the two considering its input capacity.

This is my first time trying out and finally owning an audio interface, so I have no further comments except for its great sound and build quality (especially with the rubber stoppers at the bottom to avoid slippage). While not much of a big deal, the body is sort of like a fingerprint magnet and may require additional effort to clean after use.

Software installation was hassle-free, and works great with Reaper. I bought an Ibanez S521-MOL, and it sounds amazing with it.

To anyone who would want to purchase this product, you would probably want a headphone jack adapter (3.5mm to 1/4) as well.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
denisldniv1995@gmail.com
Denis Ledenev, 28.03.2021
The sound card is made of very high quality, which hardly anyone would argue about.
I had to work with her many times in the recording studio, and I was always happy with the result. This sound card is suitable for both music writing and voice recording.

Very user-friendly and stylish interface. The LED lights look really cool.
A reliable metal case will help you keep your sound interface for a long time, I personally made sure of its strength several times :)

If you really value good quality, then this sound card in this price segment will be the best choice for a musician.

Perfectly writes sound from all inputs (Line / Instr.) Very pleased with the headphone switching engine, either only the sound from the computer, or also the sound of the recorded instrument. It is also very convenient that the channel overload indicators are located in the body, it is convenient to adjust the microphone sensitivity. Of course, phantom power is pleasant (it is still not available on all audio cards). The assembly and appearance are completely beyond praise. Very robust aluminum body, and precisely fitted parts. In general, the view is very presentable and "expensive". A wonderful device that is firmly fixed on the desktop
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Excellent Audio Interface
BobTC, 14.09.2021
If you don't need that many connections, then this could be your interface. From vocals to Fender Rhodes, the recorded sound quality is just great.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
My Recommendations!
Vika., 13.09.2021
This audio interface is great for anyone who is trying to record something with high quality but minimal gear! I am very satisfied! My recommendations!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Solid.
Magdowich, 23.02.2021
You have already watch lots of review so i just want to tell you some different -not general- pros and cons :D
Cons:
3 color signal level parameter not that useful
you only have one phantom power button for two channels
there isnt typec to type c cable in the box, it isnt thunderbolt or usb 3 device, it is USB2.0 audio interface with USB-C connection.
headphones knob is too close to monitor volume knob -little hard to reach sometimes-
pros:
dedicated volume knob for headphones
smaller than last gen -on size-
looks and feels solid
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
ro f, 25.12.2020
I like excellent sound quality, simple design and low price
I don't like Quick start Tool - online registration which unlocks device and makes it fully operational
Registration process is anything but quick
I think it is overkill for such simple and cheap device and I would be much more satisfied if it was plug an play
I don't like USB C to USB A cabel and USB C plug on rear panel because they don't feel robust
I have cracking noise on windows OS when using sample rate higher then 48 kHz
For home recording it is a good choice so I'm satisfied
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Ton-Unterbrechungen
canbay, 22.03.2021
Es gibt Tonunterbrechungen in Kombination mit Macbook Pro (Big Sur 11.2.3/ 3.1GHz i7 16GB DDR3).
Ein Ticket bei Focusrite hat leider nichts gebracht. Die Reaktion war eine Standardreaktion, wie z.B. aktualisiere Treiber, versuche Direkt-Monitoring. In meiner Ticketbeschreibung habe ich deutlich erwähnt das ich diese Standardaktionen durchgeführt habe.
Meine Erwartung wäre z.B. gewesen, das ich durch irgendeine Einstellung eine Log-Datei generiere und diese wird vom Hersteller analysiert.
Anscheinend funktioniert das Produkt in anderen Konstellationen .. ist ja sehr beliebt.
Leider musste ich es zurückschicken.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Good product
viviansilai, 05.08.2021
The setup is really simple. And it works really well with my beyerdynamic DT-990 headphone. Would like to try some music production with DAW software. Highly recommended.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Potis kratzen nach einem halben Jahr schon
kartoffel_enthusiast, 17.02.2021
Das Produkt ist in sich super - Sound ist TOP, der Treiber läuft auf macOS sowie Windows rund in die Mitgelieferte Software ist auch ein nette plus.

Aber ich kann kein Produkt empfehlen, dass nach so kurzer Zeit (6 Monaten) bereits ein Kratzen auf den Potis der Kopfhörer und der Mic-Eingänge aufweist. Nach 12 Monaten ist das jetzt so stark, dass ich eine retoure beantragt habe. Es ist normal das eines Tages das anfängt, Analoge Hardware hält nicht für immer, aber mein Vorgänger, der Steinberg UR22 mk2 hat es mehr als 4 Jahre ohne kratzen geschafft.

Produkt ist an sich mega, aber solche billigen potis kann man nicht vertreten.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great price for what it can do
Bunny Power, 24.04.2021
It's no wonder that the scarlett 2i2 3rd gen has become one of the most popular options for low budget content creators today.
for its humble price not only does it pack more pre-amp power then the competitos withinin the pricerange, it offers great functionality aswell.
with the mono and stereo hardware monitor built at the front, you can easily adjust your own volumes
and with the combojacks at the front u can easily plug in 2 mics or two instruments to get going with some crazy sound effects!
i was afraid because of the image here on thomann because i thought it looked like the hull was made out of plastic and the whole thing looked a bit flimsy... well its not
when u get this thing home youll see it has a darker red colour and is made of metal/aluminium and doesnt look at all like a plastic toy
i recomend this product 4/5 stars
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Not compatible with AMD CPU
Jahseh, 07.05.2021
Focusrite interfaces are not comaptible with AMD CPU's, it gives a lot of crackling noise and a lot of other problems with sound. Seems like I'm not the only one having such problems, but unfortunately, there is no fix for that. So if you have an AMD cpu, just buy another interface, before you regret.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
The competition has caught up
Angel Angeles III, 23.06.2021
The 2i2 is still a great value for money but the competition has become so good that this interface has to be 2nd thought. The Presonus Studio 24c includes a ton of software with it and Audient has come up with some great stuff too which makes this less relevant.

If you're looking for an interface then you might look elsewhere instead then come back here if you really want it.

Otherwise, this interface is solid and sounds good. Noise is very low and have good converters. This is as basic as it can get. The Air preamp emulation sounds good on vocals but I just leave it off most of the time.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Bang for the buck deal
Owl89, 01.07.2021
Had it for 2 years and it's being used daily for listening and once or twice a week for playing guitar. I cannot say anything about how it handles a microphone, but it's perfect for guitar and the sound quality is not lacking.

I use this sound card with Kali Audio 8 monitors and while I'm nothing like a sound engineer I can say that this combo is satisfying for the average person and well worth for casual usage.

The only negative for me, and it's a very little one is that there is no power button - when you connect it to working PC it's on and you can turn it off either by disconnecting or turning off the PC.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Remarkable sound at this price range.
Jorge., 10.04.2021
I bought this audio interface to connect it to a synthesizer as audio input, I must say that I tested several audio interfaces with a similar price range, this interface for its size and price is the best I found, it is quite transparent in its sound, I recommend it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Works great even on Linux
Synleaf, 09.06.2021
I use this on Linux, and it works very well.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
best audio interface for beginners
tengi, 07.05.2021
i recently got the focusrite scarlett 2i2 3rd gen and i absolutely love it! it has everything that you need on your home studio from an audio interface!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Great interface for the money
kacpeerr, 25.08.2021
For the money it's probably the best interface you can buy!
The sound is great as well as the build quality.
The only bad thing about it is that I've had some slight issues with weird noises while streaming on Discord.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 3rd gen
theincredibleme, 30.03.2020
I bought this to record my bass during quaratinte because i couldn't go to the studio anymore .
And my first thaught was " why didn't i buy this 10 years ago" such a revelation to be able to record yourself so clearly , helps me a lot for my techniques ( specially avoiding fretbuz and muting in general) . Also great recording tool and great software that comes with it.
I picked ableton and am very satisfied with it.

so if you consider buying this , stop hesitating.

br,
Matthias
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Fast to set up, easy to use
RandyS, 17.09.2019
After battling crackling and popping and the horrible drivers that came with the EIE Pro for years, then trying to use a Xenyx 1002 USB, I was ready to pull my hair out. I splurged to get this relatively higher priced USB interface, and so far I am very happy.
Use: I use this with Windows 10, Cubase 8.5, Premiere Pro, and whatever else I have around on hand.
Pros: Nice, small, good looking, and no more wall wart to plugin. Almost flawless installation on Windows 10 with great video tutorials focused on getting started and usage for various purpose.
Cons: A minor hang on install, but it went away with restart.
My only concern is the small micro USB data/power jack that seems a nit vulnerable. I have seen these often fail on USB power banks. I'd like to see a recessed socket that uses the plastic of the plug to support/protect both the socket and plug a bit, instead of just relying on the brittle metal connector.
I'd also like to see a power switch, as I never turn the computer off. It is easy enough to dial the volume down, but the unit is always on. Hopefully this isn't aproblem.
These are the only reasons I give a 4/5 on features.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
features
handling
sound
Low Noise
Vassilis63, 15.06.2021
Extremely low noise on my pc, very important for me.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 3rd Gen

£129
Including VAT; Excluding £8 shipping
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Online Guides
Computer Based Studios
Computer Based Studios
This article will look at how to integrate a computer into different studio environments, and will highlight the issues of functionality and connectivity.
Online Guides
Recording E-Guitars
Recording E-Guitars
Our aim is to explain the basic process of recording the electric guitar!
 
 
 
 
 
test results: