Fender Hi Mass Bridge IV Brass

300 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.9 /5
  • quality
Total
quality
Best product Fender could ever produce and what a price!
Sv1k, 11.07.2019
My Jaguar bass came with the standard fender bridge, yes the one that starts holding the saddles in place only when it gets rusty, seen that i could not wait that long i started looking for Badass (my jazz bass has one since 1998 and its great) but i could not find it, then i have seen this one and ordered it. The bridge weights 250g against the 100g of the standard bridge, feels sturdy and well machined, bright, shiny. The installation took only few minutes, mostly to remove and reinstalling string as the unscrew / rescrew took 2 minutes, direct replacement.
Pros:
the bass was a neck diver but the extra weight in that position made my bass a better balanced instrument.

Every note rings and added sustain

No more saddles moving around

The adjustment screws are very precise and stay where you leave them.

It changed the look of the instrument in a very good way

Low price for what it is really

Cons: none
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Easy to install, perfect fit to Fender Jazz Bass, noticeable quality
Kepler, 29.10.2020
I have purchased this Hi Mass Bridge to replace my Fender Flea Signature Jazz Bass vintage bridge - which was OK, but I wanted to check if I'd notice any difference.

The 5 original holes were perfectly aligned with this bridge's holes, so absolutely no adjustments were necessary.

Installing and setting up was easy - adjusting the height and the intonation is pretty straight forward.

The sound was noticeable improved - much more sustain and even more resonance to my particular instrument, given the amount of extra body contact this bridge has. Some people in online reviews mention not noticing any changes. I've recorded myself before and after and it was a very clear difference.

The saddles are much, much more stable than the original ones.

Also, being a light bass model, I'd sometimes notice a slight tendency of head heaviness; with this bridge - which is heavier than the original - the general gravity center changed a bit, making it easier to keep the bass angled without adding much noticeable heaviness.

Extremely happy with the purchase. Such a small price for a big improvement.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Love the bridge...hate imperial units
SJoe, 15.04.2021
I love this bridge, it has an immediate and noticeable impact on resonance and sustain, sounds and feels big and chunky....however...
DO NOT LOSE THE ALLEN KEY OR THE GRUB NUTS OR YOU'LL NEVER FIND THEM AGAIN... Especially if you are in Europe, or pretty much anywhere else in the world that uses metric. I have literally wept with frustration trying to find replacements for both.
After some trial, tears and error, I can tell you that the nuts seem to be equivalent to M2.5x10mm and the key is 0.050"...
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Improved the sound
EsatE, 21.06.2021
Very well built bridge. Direct replacement to my Squire p-bass. Definite improvement in sustain and clarity. It really transformed my cheap p-bass. Highly recommended.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
GREAT UPGRADE
George Kosto, 06.10.2020
Great upgrade! I used two, one in my 1978 jazz bass and one on my MIJ 80's precision. The 78's bridge had issues and was hard to maintain a setup and the fine-tuning was not good. With the new bridge the bass sounds new, the tuning after the setup is perfect , the chords in the upper register sound as in tune as I have ever heard them. Also the sound quality is better, I hear clearer notes, with more bass and treble definition and I can finally hear the Marcus Miller sound a 78 bass is supposed to have if you pluck harder. The precision was already good but it didn't have any big issues with the original bridge but still sounds better (tuning in the high register as well perfect)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Fender Hi Mass bridge
Valens666, 08.03.2021
I installed the Fender Hi Mass on a Squier VM Short Scale Jaguar bass. The Short Scale Jaguar bass is neck heavy and the Hi Mass bridge adds some extra weight to the body for better balance.

Very quick and easy to install. Mounting screws are not included (re-use the existing 5 mounting screws from a Fender bass to install). The bridge lines up with the existing mounting holes.

An Allen wrench is included for the height adjustment screws but to adjust the intonation screws, a thin Philips head screwdriver is required. A standard size Phillips screwdriver will not fit.

My Jaguar bass balances a lot better now and I recommend installing a Fender High Mass bridge if you have a neck heavy bass. Fast delivery from Thomann.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Much more stable, great sustain.
1OF1, 17.05.2021
I got this bridge because the original vintage bridge gave too much moving space to the strings. Now everything in place properly and it's so much easier to play.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Amazing value!
Piotr Nosoff, 23.03.2021
Beautiful, well made, massive brass bridge. Great quality for unbeatable price. Very stable intonation and string action.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Dejvo87, 07.04.2021
So much better than the original "vintage" flimsy bent piece of crap steel. :) No side movement of saddles whatsoever.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Top notch swap
Di Pi, 10.02.2021
Great focused tone with beautiful mids. Sounds amazing with good pick ups.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Very good bridge for the price
Remc, 29.05.2021
Much easier in use than the classic fender design. Moves very smooth and the sustain is very good. Please note that there are no screws included in the package.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
its a Day vs Night
Tomasbass, 24.01.2021
changed to P bass classics bridge its like Day vs Night. better sustain and more importantly the tuning stays in pitch
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Good product with a very minor issue
basadam, 22.05.2019
I replaced the stock bridge on my Mustang PJ bass, which is very light resulting in neck dive. Using a heavy bridge helped to fix that.

This bridge is slightly smaller than both BadAss-II and Hipshot's KickAss, resulting in slightly shorter intonation length. This was something I was afraid of because my Mustang being short-scale required longer intonation length on E-string; but it intonated well.

Being somewhat smaller, I think it looks better, thus the main reason I chose this over BA-II or Hipshot KA.

It's slightly heavier than both BA-II and KA.

It comes with fixed 19mm string spacing.

One thing I did not like is that the intonation screws are recessed in very deep and the hole is quite narrow. My usual Philips-head driver did not fit in there, I had to use a smaller driver.

It came with height adjustment allen-key, but screws are not included. If you're replacing the existing bridge no problem, but if you're building a bass from scratch you'll need to buy screws separately.

All in all, I'm happy with my purchase.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Sound changer!
shootnix, 23.11.2017
I've replaced my standard bridge on Mexican P-bass and got a huge sound! This bridge adds more tension to strings, more high's to sound, more punch and attack.
I'm very satisfied.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Awesome
C-Dizzle, 17.05.2020
I bought this to replace a broken bridge on a vintage bass. I loved it so much I ordered a second one to replace a stock bridge on a different bass I own. Really sturdy and easy to use. I highly recommend it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
superb
Pingpongunderpants, 17.02.2021
I got this to replace the Bridge on my HB shorty Bass
It fitted like a glove, all the holes lined up spot on. And at this price, it's a great value too. really happy.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Great affordable alternative to more expensive hi-mass bridges
Podge, 15.10.2020
If you're looking for a Badass style bridge at an affordable price, then this one will definitely do the job, it looks sleek and the build quality is what you'd expect from a company like Fender
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Solid bridge, greatly improved tone and sustain!
Dimitri-Herbert, 22.04.2018
I bought this bridge to upgrade an old Condor bass, and I had read good reviews on this product.
The bridge had a different screw layout than the stock bridge but they were different enough not to cause any problems when mounting the bridge.

The bridge can be lowered, raised, moved forwards, and backwards. This allows for precise intonation of the strings.

Together with the HB tuners I had bought (Harley Benton Parts JBass Tuners Set Chrome) the bridge has greatly improved the tone and sustain on this bass, making it comparable to a bass I have bought only 1 year ago: the Epihone Toby Standard-IV Bass AW).

I would recommend this bridge to anyone looking for a better and not overly expensive bridge to put on their bass.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Good quality bridge, good price, no improvement in sound...
florijan, 24.04.2018
I got this to improve the sustain on my Squier VM fretless. It didn't happen, it sounds more or less the same. I guess maybe different bass/string combos might get a different improvement. Still, it's a good bridge, sturdy, stable, tuneable, for a very decent price.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Replacement for my Fender Road Worn P-Bass
LeonardS, 18.06.2019
The replacement is simply as the five screws which hold the original bridge are at the same places, so one goes out and the new one goes in.
Adjust the height of your strings when needed and perform the intonation.
For the price this is a very high quality bridge and yes it is "Hi Mass" meaning heavy.
Again at this price it is certainly worth considering when you want to improve sustain or need to replace your old bridge!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Nikokaoja, 29.12.2018
This bridge is so much better that the original one that my Jazz bass came with. Twice the mass, more stable saddles and even the sustain has improved a little bit. Punchy and very robust. Thumbs up!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Suprised at the quality
Basspower50, 10.01.2019
Purchased this a while back, just got around to installing it.

I wanted to switch out the bridge on one of my Mexican P Basses from the stock Fender bridge, I've always used Badass bridges in the past. Tried an Omega bridge (touted as the successor to the Badass) but never really liked it, I found the strings sat a bit high in the saddles and I was forever battling weird buzzing on the frets. Decided to try this bridge, and it was the best decision I ever made. Perfect fit, feels very substantial and heavy, looks amazing and well built and no more string buzzing, plus I got my action a bit lower which was an added bonus. Definitely my go-to bridge in the future.

Highly recommended.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Great retrofit for all Fender basses and clones.
Graham3281, 22.08.2019
This is a nice solid, Korean made bridge, which I have retrofitted to my Precisions and Jazz basses. IMHO this bridge improves sustain, intonation, stability and looks rather classy. It fits without any need for redrilling body, so vintage or valuable, basses can easily be returned to original condition. I have never liked the cheap standard issue Fender bridges, and have always used Badass bridges which are no longer available ( and cost 3 times more). I have also used the Omega (Badass clone) which is a great bridge too, but at around €75 I can't perceive or justify the extra €42 cost. I now have 4 basses fitted with the Fender HiMass and thoroughly recommend them. No cons at this price.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Cant be beat
SENDERV, 03.10.2019
Cant be beat for the price!

This is a solid, no nonsense hi mass bridge. Got these on most of my basses. double (triple?) the price and get a hipshot or get similar result with this one ;)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
A very nice bridge!
OlofMa, 16.04.2018
I bought this bridge to replace the standard bridge on my Gretsch G2210 junior Jet bass. I didn?t like thats type of bridge that came with the Gretsch from factory. It felt flimsy.

First impression with the high mass bridge when it arrived was that it was big and massive. Great sturdy feel.

The mounting was easy. The holes matched so it was only to screw it on. The sound became bigger with the fender bridge also unplugged. It adds a little more weight which is godd for the overall balance of my bass.

Along with the bridge also came a hex key for adjusment. This bridge adjust way better than the origianl that came with the Gretsch.

If you like the design, go for it! Great quality and price
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Fender Hi Mass Bridge IV Brass

£23.50
Excluding VAT; plus £8 shipping
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-20
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
2
(2)
Recently Viewed
iZotope Community Appreciation Bundle

iZotope Community Appreciation Bundle (ESD); plug-in bundle; contains 11 essential tools for audio editing and creative music production; consists of Nectar Elements, Neutron Elements, Ozone Elements, RX Elements, BreakTweaker, Stutter Edit 2, Iris 2, Trash 2 as well as Exponential…

5
(5)
Recently Viewed
DSM & Humboldt Simplifier DLX Amp/Cab Sim

DSM & Humboldt Simplifier Deluxe Amp/Cab Simulator; Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar; Pre-Amp, Power-Amp and Cab-Simulator; all Analog 0 Watt Dual Channel Amp, with Cab Simulator, multistage Reverb, and versatile connectivity options; All, in an extremely small format; 2 Studio…

Recently Viewed
Fender SQ Affinity P Bass MN PJ OW

Fender Squier Affinity Precision Bass PJ Olympic White; Electric Bass, Affinity Series; Body: Poplar; Neck: Maple; Neck Mount: Bolt On; Neck Form: C; Fingerboard: Maple; Inlays: Black Dots; 20 Medium Jumbo Frets; Nut: synthetic Bone; Nut Width: 41,3 mm (1,63");…

Recently Viewed
Harley Benton EX-84 LH Modern BK

Harley Benton EX-84Modern BK, offset body-style lefthanded electric guitar; tribute series; body: mahogani (sapele entandrophrama cylindricum); neck: mahogani (sapele entandrophragma cylindricum); fingerboard: ebony (diospyros celebica); neck mount: set; neck shape: slim taper c; inlays: white dots; 22 extra jumbo frets;…

Recently Viewed
XAOC Devices Moskwa II

XAOC Devices Moskawa II; Eurorack module; 8 Step Rotosequencer; 8 steps, each with CV control knob and on/off button; for each step programmable functions like slew (portamento), slew probability, gate/trigger probability; up to 8 gate/trigger pattern programmable for each step;…

Recently Viewed
Casio CT-S1WE

Casio CT-S1WE Keyboard with Piano-Look - 61 touch-responsive keys, 64-note polyphony, AiX Sound Source, 61 sounds, Reverb, Chorus, Delay, DSP, Master EQ, Volume Sync EQ, connection to free Chordana Play For Keyboard App, Midi, transpose, metronome, midi record, headphone/line stereo…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
the t.bone Sync 2

Digital 2.4 GHz radio system with two transmitters and one receiver. The compact size is perfect for mobile applications such as interviews, micro-video recording and Vlogging, Transmitter can be used with integrated microphone or external microphone, Distortion-free signal…

Recently Viewed
Blue Microphones Snowball iCE USB Black

Blue Microphones Snowball iCE USB Black; Plug 'n Play USB microphone for recording and podcasting; USB condenser microphone; polar pattern: cardioid; perfect for vocal and music recordings as well as podcasts; frequency response: 40 Hz - 18 kHz; sample rate:…

Recently Viewed
Fender SQ Affinity Tele Lake Pl. Blue

Fender Squier Affinity Telecaster Lake Placid Blue; Telecaster Electric Guitar; Affinity Series; Body: Poplar; Neck: Maple; Fingerboard: Laurel; Neck Mount: Bolt-On; Neck Shape: C; Inlays: Pearloid Dots; 21 Medium Jumbo Frets; Nut: synthetic Bone; Nut Width: 42 mm (1,65"); Scale:…

Recently Viewed
XAOC Devices Ostankino II

XAOC Devices Ostankino II; Eurorack Modul; expander for Moskwa II sequencer (item 521036); expands Moskwa II with CV inputs for Random Play, Slew, Probability, Transpose, Range, Clock Rate, First Step, Last Step; oputput for the internal clock signal; individual gate…

Recently Viewed
Casio CT-S1RD

Casio CT-S1RD Keyboard with Piano-Look - 61 touch-responsive keys, 64-note polyphony, AiX Sound Source, 61 sounds, Reverb, Chorus, Delay, DSP, Master EQ, Volume Sync EQ, connection to free Chordana Play For Keyboard App, Midi, transpose, metronome, midi record, headphone/line stereo…

Recently Viewed
the t.bone Sync 1

2.4 GHz Digital radio system with one transmitter and one receiver The compact size is perfect for mobile applications such as interviews, micro-video recording and Vlogging, Transmitter can be used with integrated microphone or external microphone, Distortion-free signal…

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.