Fender Classic Player Baja Tele BL

204 Customer Ratings:
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.6 / 5.0
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
12 written ratings
Total
features
sound
quality

Perfect Tele!!!

16.05.2016
I had MIM Standard Tele with Custom Shop NoCaster pickups, but i sold it to get the Baja and it was right thing to do.

Sound is outstanding, neck is super comfortable, 4 way switch gives extra position where both pups are in series and s-1 switch gives two out of phase sounds.

All my life i've been doing heavy modding on all of my guitars - strats, teles, les paul, es-335 (changing pickups, pots, caps, bridges, tuners...), but this is really my first guitar that i'm gonna leave stock. That's how good this Tele is. Of course i did a proper setup (action, pickup height, intonation...) but that is a must-do thing on every new guitar.

I really don't think that you would get better Tele if you're planning to go American Standard or even Elite.

I think this is one of the best teles before reaching Custom Shop Models (That are super pricey)

Highly Recommend!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality

Killer sound and features, poor quality control from Fender MIM

Derekinho, 25.02.2018
Let's be clear, the sound of this guitar is very good, the classic Tele tone is definitely there.

A nice feature of this guitar is the variety of tones that it can do, with the 4 way switch and the S1 switch you can have 6 tones instead of the 3 of a classic Tele. One of the most versatile guitars that I ever played, it goes from the classic Tele sound with a lot of twang to some hard rock humbucking tone (with the pickups in series, almost a true humbucker).

The neck in the other hand is something that either you love it or hate it, it feels like a baseball bat with its V profile. For me it is very confy, but you need to try it.

I think it's a lot of guitar for the price IF you don't have quality issues from the factory.

Mine came with the second fret scratched in 3 points that makes very annoying to bend the notes there - nothing that a fret job doesn't solve but for me at this price range you shouldn't have to bother with that kind of issue.

Thomman did a very good job and its not their fault, but Fender needs to find this kind of problem with their quality control.

I'm returning mine and I'll go for an MIA - never had this kind of problem with an American made Fender.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality

Excellent guitar

Fabio992, 16.08.2013
The finish is superb (mine is Blonde - I love it), all is spot on. The look is super cool.
I just changed the strings to coated 9-42 as this is what I prefer always.
One remarkable feature is the sustain: absolutely endless (I use a Bugera tube amp).
I have not yet experimented the S1 switch options.
I love the simplicity of the Tele, its countour-less body helps me firmly hold the guitar and properly position the right arm.
The original vintage Fender bridge is a nice touch but not the best design (3 saddles only, no firm hold for the strings). I may consider a replacement with a 6 saddle bridge e.g. Gotoh.
The 9.5" fingerboard radius needs some getting used to, if one is used to the more friendly 12".
I play rock/ hard rock/ punk and the sound of this guitar is excellent for this music types.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality

Amazing Tele

TommyBoy, 10.10.2017
Neck: baseball bat. Love it.

Body: nice and heavy. The finish is very thick, which I don't think will age in that classic way. I don't mind it, but a potential buyer should be aware of this.

Electronics: is there a better sounding MIM Tele? Don't think so. It will easily outroar many Americans. Snappy Broadcaster bridge. Nice and round Twisted Tele neck. The S1 switching system gives great out of phase and parallel/series options. I love the both pups in parallel out of phase position - reminds me of Strat middle positions . Both pups in series out of phase is a very nasal sound with no bottom end, not very pleasant when clean, but put it through a heavy fuzz (fuzzface woks excellent) and you will be amazed, you'll cut through the thickest mix. However, the quality of the S1 switch could be better. The button fell out during a show, I stepped on it, broke it and now I am stuck with out of phase sounds when both pickups are selected, which I love from sonic perspective. But still -1 star in quality. Push/push pot or extra toggle switch would have been much better.

Frets: after 3 years of intense playing (I don't go nice and easy on my guitars) frets are showing bit of wear. Some higher priced axes might do better.

Gigbag: it is ok, nothing really special

Mojo: This thing rocks. Despite the small flaws this is an amazing Tele. Have been enjoying it for almost 3 years.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality

Fender telecaster

AlanW, 15.08.2013
I purchased this product without having tried the product. previously and was impressed with the quality of the craftmanship for a mexican Telecaster. unfortunately when i recieved the guitar the pickups were not working correctly. however Thomann were very good in that when i contacted them they arranged for the guitar to be collected and shipped back to Germany and for the guitar to be repaired at no extra cost. which was handy. normally i wouldnt buy a guitar without having played it first. but this one worked out well. and i was impressed by thomanns policy on returns and repair. fair play and well done on looking after your customers.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality

Fender Baja Telecaster

Josh G., 30.11.2014
Have owned a fair few guitars since i've been playing guitar, and since setting up my own studio I wanted a guitar that would suit the rock/indie bands I have been recording recently. This guitar does that job perfectly. With the multiple choices of pickup selection there is a wide range of sounds you can get from this guitar. I have a had great success recording metal riffs to clean jazzy sections and the clarity is superb.
From previously playing an ESP LTD EC401 there was a bit of change in the size of the neck, as it was a lot fatter than I was used to but after a while it actually became very comfortable.

Great all round guitar, can't wait to play some live shows with it!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality

Fender Telecaster Baja Review

Anthony7199, 25.01.2014
This is easily one of my favourite guitars ever. It's built to last, sounds amazing as well as the additional tone options with the S-1 switch. I've never had a single problem with it after playing it for nearly 2 years now. The only way I could fault it would be that the Volume and Tone pots become slightly loose, but that could eve be an anomaly, and even saying that, is nitpicking. I'd recommend it to anyone looking for a professional workhorse of a guitar.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality

Tasty Tele

PieterS, 22.08.2013
I always thought Tele's look and feel a bit awkward. But once I tried this baby I was converted! It's a guitar that just makes me want to play it more and more. I pick it up and it won't be put down for the next hour. Guaranteed. At a reasonable price you get a fantastic sounding guitar that's also tough enough to withstand anything really. I've gigged with it plenty, banged it against walls, amps, bandmates and whatnot (accidentally, mind you) and it hasn't even got a scratch. Before I got straplocks for it the strap came undone once. She hit the floor and i prepared for the worse. Great was my surprise when i picked her up and she was totally unharmed. And even still in tune! This one's a keeper!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality

awsome guitar!

Robert3817, 04.06.2015
Really well made guitar that sounds really cool. I did change the saddles for compensated ones to help with intonation. The service throughout from Thomann was excellent!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality

Value for Money

Stelios, 25.02.2014
The best tele I ever played with! ;)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality

Fender Classic Baja Tele

JeffK, 25.03.2015
Never bought a mim Fender before so a little apprehensive about quality issues. the no quibble guarantee provided by Thomann gave me the confidence to 'try it out'. Very happy with the guitar in terms of quality, versatility of tones and phenomenal value for money.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality

It's a Fender Tele

Andrew8816, 08.05.2014
C'mon it's a Fender Tele designed by the custom shop.....'nuff said. If you need a review of a Tele, you really are in the wrong business :-)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Fender Classic Player Baja Tele BL

€825 £724.62
Free shipping incl. VAT

The price in GBP is a guideline price only!

On request
On request

Our supplier has not yet provided us with an expected delivery date. Kindly contact us for further information or to see if we have a B-Stock or suitable alternative available.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-20
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Online Guides
Guitar Setups
Guitar Setups
The range of available guitars and amps has never been greater than it is today, and a huge variety of sounds are easily accessible.
Online Guides
E-Guitars
E-Guitars
Electric guitars are ten a penny and nowadays there are at least as many models and makers to choose from.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
Recently Viewed
Rode Rodecaster Pro

Rode Rodecaster Pro; Podcast Production Studio; designed for podcasts; 4 x XLR microphone inputs with 48V phantom power; 8 programmable sound effects pads for jingles and FX; instant mix minus for phone or app calls; 3.5mm TRRS cable, USB and...

to the product
€649
Recently Viewed
Fun Generation CL 105 A

Fun Generation CL 105 A, Personal Monitor with Bluetooth/USB player, class D, 50 W RMS, frequency response 40 - 18.000 Hz, 3-band EQ, 1x Line In (3,5 mm jack / RCA), 1x Mic In (XLR / 6,3 mm jack), net...

to the product
€76
Recently Viewed
Stairville LED Pixel Rail 40 RGB MKII

LED Pixel Effect Bar Follow-up version of the Stairville LED Pixel Rail 40 RGB with increased luminosity (not compatible with the previous model), Extremely compact design, Generates impressive effects in combination with the Pixel Rail Drive (Art.449740 , not...

to the product
€87
Recently Viewed
Stairville TourStage Tele Leg 4x 60-100cm

Tour Stage Leg Set Set consisting of four height-adjustable feet for Tour Stage platforms, Dimensions: 60 x 60 mm, Adjustable length: 60-100 cm

to the product
€92
Recently Viewed
Alesis Turbo Mesh Kit

Alesis Turbo Mesh Kit, E-Drum Set for beginners and semi-professionals, tom and snare pad with mesh heads, Turbo drum Module with 120 sounds, 10 drum kits, 30 Play-Along tracks, training and metronome functions, CD/MP3 aux input for drum playalong, USB/MIDI...

to the product
€289
Recently Viewed
Tech 21 Fly Rig PL 1 Paul Landers Sign

Multi-Effect for Electric Guitar Paul Lander's (Rammstein) Signature Model, 2-Channel SansAmp Fly Rig section, Active 3-band EQ in the "Fire" channel with switchable mids, Bite switch, 2-Band EQ and compressor in the "water" channel, Switchable dual mode boost, Optionally...

to the product
€399
Recently Viewed
Fender SQ Bullet Tele LRL Red SPKL

Electric Guitar Body: Alder, Neck: Maple, Neck profile: C, Fretboard: Indian Laurel, Scale: 648 mm, Nut width: 42 mm, 21 Medium frets, Pickups: 2 single coils, Vintage style bridge, Colour: Red Sparkle

to the product
€174
Recently Viewed
Lanikai Kohala Soprano WN

Soprano WN Ukulele Basswood body and top, Sapele neck, 356 mm Scale length, Neck width at the nut: 34.9 mm, Walnut fretboard, 12 Frets, Hardwood bridge, Colour: Dark satin

to the product
€53
Recently Viewed
Mackie MC-250

Studio Headphones Circumaural, 50 mm Reference-quality drivers provide high overdrive safety and accurate playback across the entire frequency spectrum, Precisely tuned housing delivers powerful bass and detailed highs, A soft padded and adjustable headband and comfortable ear cushions provide...

to the product
€98
Recently Viewed
Korg KDM-3 Dig. Metronom Limited

Korg KDM-3 Digital Metronome Limited Edition, With front panel of durable and elegant Pyinkado wood, the chic brown wood grain lends warmth to the monotonous case, 30 beats per minute to 252 beats per minute. Tempo setting option. Pendulum mode/full...

to the product
€64
Recently Viewed
the t.bone SC 420 USB Desktop-Set

USB Studio Large Diaphragm Microphone Set With USB port for direct operation on the computer, No additional drivers necessary, Directivity: Cardioid, Frequency range: 30 - 18,000 kHz, Sensitivity: 25 mV / Pa, Maximum sound pressure: 140dB (at 1 kHz...

to the product
€67
Recently Viewed
Mackie MC-150

Studio Headphones Circumaural, Precise 50 mm drivers deliver outstanding transparency across the entire frequency spectrum, Amplified bass reproduction accurately reproduces low and very low frequencies, so that individual bass notes or kick drums can be heard very well, A...

to the product
€77
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.

Please leave a comment. Please enter your email address.