Ernie Ball Super Slinky 2223

5215 Customer ratings

4.8 / 5

You have to be logged in to rate products.

Note: To prevent ratings from being based on hearsay, smattering or surreptitious advertising we only allow ratings from real users on our website, who have bought the equipment from us.

After logging in you will also find all items you can rate under rate products in the customer centre.

sound

quality

269 Reviews

Ernie Ball Super Slinky 2223
£4.90
Including VAT; Excluding £10 shipping
In stock
In stock

This product is in stock and can be shipped immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Delivery approx. between Monday, 4.03. and Tuesday, 5.03.
1
S
If you don't want to complicate yourself...
SZapatero 16.07.2018
These are the perfect strings if you just want the standard set, they don't have any corrosion protection but the tone is very good and I simply can't complain for the price. This set in particular would fit any fender Strat or Tele, as they were designed for this string caliber (0.09).

I've had this argument with many of my friends about getting a bit darker with time, and it's obvious that after one month the sound will degrade a bit, but I prefer to change my strings 3 times for less than 20 euros, and always have new strings, than to buy a single package of Elixir for the same price, that although they will last longer, they can't compete with a regular change of strings. If you complain that these strings are not so slippery as the protected ones, try with some conditioning oil for frets like 'Fast Fret', I use it every time I leave my guitar back in the case, it protects my strings and feel as nice as any other brand.

Overall, I've been using them for years and I've tried other brands too, but I would say that for this price range they're unbeatable, I'd recommend them to any musician from entry level to professional.
sound
quality
1
0
Report

Report

P
A1
PCasey 21.03.2022
Great strings for any standard of player. good tone and durability.
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

L
Good but not perfect
LooneyLoo 22.03.2021
I have been using Ernies for years now but I think I'll be switching to another brand.
I gig 1-2 times a week and I find Ernies don't last very long before they get rusty. They are perfect when you first put them on your guitar, they tone and feel are probably the best out of all strings I have tried but I feel I must change strings every 1-2 gigs due to the corrosion. I have on occasion opened a brand new Ernie Ball set and there were signs of rust on them, on a brand new set! I have tried Daddario XL over the past few months and I noticed they last way longer than the Ernies but I must say I definitely prefer the sound and feel of the Ernies.
I guess they're perfect for studio use or for guitar players that change their strings often
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

r
don't last long...
rickrock1979 30.08.2022
I like the sound, they don't break easily but they really don't last long...
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

K
what do you expect?
Kolibrick 20.04.2022
they are good quality strings, for a good price. The gauges are great for lead playing in e standard tuning, I'm not sure how good they are for downtuning since I use them on a guitar with floating trem and you basically need an engineering degree to do it. I'm not a huge fan of the packaging, every string is individually wrapped, wish makes an insane amount of trash, I prefer Daddarios packaging.
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

G
Great value
Guitar64 17.01.2021
These are my favourite strings at the cost point. Feel great, easy bends and stay in tune. They typically last me 1 month before sounding a bit dead meaning that I replace them after about 6 weeks as I am a bit tight that way. Great bright sound when new.
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

AN
Flexible
Art Nova 28.05.2021
I put these on my strat and really like how the sound and feel. Very flexible for easy bending. But they only last me about 3 weeks or so.
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

m
Great Strings for a great price!
matthew_rts 24.01.2024
I bought these to put on my new Squier Classic Vibe Strat (the original strings were rubbish) and these definitely improved the sound and playability! A big plus is that they are reasonably priced so it is not an issue to change them on a regular basis. Gotta keep your guitar strings fresh!
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

DZ
Great sound and playing, not durability
Dylan Z 28.05.2018
I recently changed to using d'Addarios of the same gauge, only because I end up spending less money because they last longer! Don't get me wrong, I love these strings. I think they play better (especially when it comes to bending) than the strings I use now, but I feel like they break too quickly.
I can't recommend enough to at least try these strings out. Maybe you will find they last longer for you than for me.
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

L
9s give my Tele a bright twang
LollarMan 29.08.2021
I can't really fault Super Slinkys. They're light enough to allow bending, speed and give the bright twang that I want from my Telecaster.
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

Ernie Ball Super Slinky 2223