Ernie Ball 2222

1857 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.7 /5
  • sound
  • quality
Total
sound
quality
Just my two cents here.
Carnivore, 27.09.2020
Everything had been said already here, so there is only one thing that I feel like pointing out: hybrid sets could be a lifesaver. Ernie Ball or otherwise.

Let?s be honest here: As rule of thumb, you select your strings based on two general parameters: how they feel (your hand?s size, your fingers strength, your playing style and the like) and that their sound and durability are reasonably ok (let?s be honest again, not everybody could hear the slight difference in sound from brand to brand in sets of same gauge and materials). Ernie Ball fits the bill, no question.

BUT there is something else to consider. Hybrid strings could literally save certain certain guitars. Pay close attention to your guitar. If it sounds skinny, weak or loose in the bass response, hybrids could fix that at little cost and without a huge compromise in terms of action and playability.

For many of you, the afore mentioned is probably redundant and evident, but for novices might find this useful, so it did worth my while to mention this still.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Ernie Ball Hybrid
Krinn, 06.01.2018
Ernie Ball strings always were my favorite ones for my electric guitars.
I experimented with various gauges and came across these last year, now I use them on my Strat. I use this set for practicing, small gigs.

Never had a string break.
Great sound, and it is so great that you still get the great slinky bending , but with a slightly heavier and clear bottom end. Ernie Ball strings keep their tone, fantastic sound.

Blues, Rock, Heavy Metal. Drop D, E Flat - that what I use these strings for.

To sum up:

Pros -
Pretty long-lasting
Strong
Consistent
Good Tone
Affordable
Reliable

Cons -
Still didn't found any

Give Ernie Ball 2222 a try and you'll be impressed! :)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
essa, 22.04.2019
Been using Ernie Ball 8-38's, 9-42's, 10-46's for a very long time and I have found that each has their strengths. [10-46} : 46-36-26 strings are great for driving thick rhythm. {9-42} : 11-16 strings are great for solid melody and rhythm. {8-38 : 8-11 strings are great for bending pedal steel licks to radical blues-rock bends. The best the three worlds = 8-11-16-26-36-46. From an economical stand point, the Hybrid Slinky with an .008 is a pretty affordable and fun experience. I've spent a lot of money on strings over the years and during my developmental and experimental phases I've come to enjoy this combination. The 10-46 forced me to be a better rhythm player with blue-jazz origins. The 9-42 turned me on to rock. The 8-38 taught me to create wicked country bends with speed. I feel now after 30 yrs or so of playing I've decided to take what I like from each set and make it my own. I'll call it, "Three Of A Kind"
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Bang for your Buck
Sundance!, 26.03.2021
Very good strings for the price. Would recommend to everyone.
I play the strings on my Fender Stratocaster.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
My favourite strings
Razvan C, 20.11.2020
Guitar strings are a very personal choice. I can only say that I have 12 guitars and most of them have these strings on. Quality is good, they sound well in conjunction with my gear. Give them a try before buying the big packs, remember it's up to you to like them :)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
For my EpiPhone Zakk Wylde custom
Maccallan, 09.02.2021
Ideal for LP styles if you want to beef up the bass notes.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Everyone loves a Slinky ! You gotta get a slinky !
Bobbynou, 24.09.2019
Those great strings were delivered super fast and right in time to save a show and Thomann helped me once again to shine under the lights ! And size matter ! If you have slender fingers like me, you'll love this gauge. Not too big, not too small ...

I also loved the sound, and everything but nowadays having the great choice in coated and more durable strings that sound as good as the classics, would make me prefer a more durable set.

Don't get me wrong, the quality and sound are perfect but if you play often, after 1 week, you become to see a big difference.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Perfect for rock
vein, 06.10.2020
Earnie Ball strings are great as always - smooth, they don't leave marks on fingers, are easy to bend and have awesome sustain. Thicker wounded strings make it easier to get a tight riff sound that cuts through any audio system. I'm using it on my upgraded Ibanez GIO and can't be more happy.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Unmatched
Oddie43, 08.12.2020
Use to play with enrie 10s before is switch to 9s. Both the 9s and the 10s are great but I prefer the lightest feel. A no brainer for me
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Classic
Yevgeniy Kulakov, 07.10.2019
High-quality strings, the term of a good sound matches the price, I always take 9-46 for optimal tension on a standard guitar tuning.
advantages
-sound
-price
-convenience
limitations
-life time
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Ernie Ball strings don't disappoint
Adrian0072, 01.04.2020
These strings sound absolutely brilliant on my Strat and allow my fingers to manipulate bends like knives through butter. If you have a Strat type guitar and enjoy top quality clean tones like me, Ernie Ball's Hybrid Slinkys are the way to go. I've also had to replace the nut of my guitar and clean my fretboard separately in the past week, meaning I had to take the strings off and put them back on twice and they have not given me any indication that they would break at all. Loving these strings
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Earnie Ball Custom Set
Renewy, 16.08.2017
Earnie Ball are my No. 1 strings, I always
get them when I have a chance.
Recently I bought new Strat Deluxe here and was not satisfied with the sound of the stock strings, the low strings were too thin.
So I was looking for something to keep the high strings the same, but with heavier bottoms and I found this set!

Totally satisfied, really suites my Strat and provides the bottoms I needed.
Lasts 1 month for me, with about 15 hours of play per week. Tune great, they endure heavy bends and stuff. Great for Rock, Punk and Heavy Metal.

Cheers.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Good Price for the price
Rafes90, 05.01.2019
10 years using this strings and so far are my favorites.
Don?t break easily
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Very pleased with these
03.09.2015
I needed 9s for my Telecaster, so these seemed like quite a good choice. They sound good to me and I've gone through a tonne of different brands/gauges.
I've been buying them since because they've lasted me a few gigs without breaking and even after wiping them down a few times they eventually wear out a bit and there's nothing like a new set anyways. But basically, I trust Ernie Balls and they do the job !
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Great tone!
Benjamin B. 265, 20.02.2014
I am using Regular Slinky Strings usually. But I bought a Strat last month and was feeling uncomfortable with the 10 gauge strings on this guitar. Since I didn't want to lose the "bottom end" of my tone I tried out the Hybrid Slinky Strings which start with a 09 and up with a 46 gauge. The result was perfect: Bendings work just fine and the low E-string still sounds bassy. Unfortunately the great tone of the strings is fading after a few weeks of usage, but this is known with the Earnie Ball strings. Concerning me it is not a problem because I change strings very often.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
How much of an after-thought are Strings?
10.01.2017
The three factors that influence your tone the most on an Electric guitar are Hardware, Pickups & Strings!! (Sorry tonewood warriors) - the clarity & projection of Ernie Ball strings are second to none & the 9-46 guage just sing!! Get involved!!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Excellent
druidstone, 19.03.2018
You can never complain about Ernie Ball strings. Always the best! Wouldn't use anything else for my Les Paul.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Hybrids
04.03.2016
Bought these for yet another experiment. Using them on a Les Paul Standard. Been using various strings/brands at different times before: 10-46, 9-42, 9-46, pure nickel, nickel plated. Of course there are pros and cons for all of them, but for these strings:

Pros: Soft, and extremely easy to bend. Surely easier than the 10-46 Brite Wires.
At the same time looks they will last longer than Fender 150L, definitely have better expression than Pyramid pure nickel, kick juicier lows than EB2252.

Cons: They seem a little noisier than 10-46, so dirty playing will not do for solos. Harder to get the right overtone in the right moment, again compared to the previously used Brite Wires 10-46.

Conclusion: Not sure if the next set will be the same, but for now I am happy with it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Nice set
João M Silva, 29.03.2018
I bought this set because I wanted to play some power chords and at the same time being able to bend the G B and E easily.
The package comes very well isolated from air. I bought the set and only stringed my guitar 2 months later. After tuning, I played unplugged and almost fell from my chair because sound so clear. It is a good sign that the strings are always fresh inside the package.
It fits my needs and are so comfortable to play. The sound itself was a good upgrade to my old 10-46 strings.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Great value for money
NicoDjent, 01.04.2019
Ernie Ball Hybrid Slikies are my strings of choice: they are cheap, feel nice and have a great tone. What more could you want? They gives you heavy power chords and nice and bright open chords... The first time I tried this set on my guitar I was astonished, now I only use Hybrid Slinky.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Very good.
GesW, 11.01.2021
I used them for years now. Solid and reliable. Sound very good.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Twanggg
Harmonic Tonic, 17.02.2018
I haven't used these for a while and I did at first notice a twangy brightness which I did like and remember. I like bending strings and these bend really well but they do have a fatter gauge bottom end which still gives power chords some good umph.
Also a few weeks and no broken strings, so that's good too.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
A well balanced set
Giova, 15.05.2017
Not much to say, Ernie Ball make great guitar strings for the money. The scaling on this set is quite different from what you would usually get with a set of .9, because the low strings are a bit thicker, getting to 46 at the low E. Which is not a bad thing if you play rocky/metal tones, or just if you feel that you want a bit more thickness in your chords. Very good strings for a very low price, personally I would use them on a 25.5 scale guitar to get better playability.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
not for me but the high e snaped
bass,playerofthe7string, 06.11.2015
as i said i use daddarios i got these for my brother has hes new to guitar and i didnt even get to string them up before the high e snaped the rest of the string sounds good
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Good sounding, not durable
15.12.2014
As for string gauges I think these serve its purpose, though it's not my kind of stuff.

When it comes to sound and durability it is as all ernie balls i've tried: great sounding as fresh, sounds terrible when aged and they do age very rapidly.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Ernie Ball 2222

£3.99
Excluding VAT; plus £8 shipping
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-20
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
10
(10)
Recently Viewed
Audient iD4 MKII

USB-C Audio Interface 24 bit / 44.1 - 96 kHz, ADC dynamic range: 121 dB, DAC dynamic range: 126 dB, @Class A Audient console microphone preamplifier, Mic Gain 58 dB,

Recently Viewed
Focal Alpha 65 Evo

Focal Alpha 65 Evo; active studio monitor; tweeter: 1" inverted aluminium dome 25W (Class D); woofer: 6,5" carbon fibre cone 55W (Class D); frequency range: 40 - 22000Hz (+/- 3dB); max. SPL: 104dB (peak @ 1m); Inputs: 1x jack (6.3mm,…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
iZotope Spire Studio 2nd Generation

iZotope Spire Studio 2nd Generation; mobile recording studio with lithium-ion battery (up to 4 hours runtime); 2 tracks can be recorded simultaneously; up to 8 tracks per project can be played back; recording format: 24-bit / 48 kHz; up to…

Recently Viewed
Otamatone Neo White

Otamatone Neo, Electronic sound toy / synthesizer, standard size, selection of various sounds via new studio smart phone app, cross link of smart phone and Otamatone via cable, power plug for external power supply, stereo headphone jack, volume adjustable, playing…

Recently Viewed
Electro Harmonix Ripped Speaker Fuzz

Electro Harmonix Ripped Speaker Fuzz; Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar & Bass; low Fuzz settings emulate Vintage Lo-Fi Distortion Sounds created by a Razor Blade applied to a Speaker Cone, a loose Tube or a faulty channel on a Recording…

Recently Viewed
Meinl TMDDGS Didgeridoo Stand

Meinl Didgeridoo Stand, TMDDGS, material: aluminum, two leg version, soft padding with protective rubber straps, hight, angle and depth adjustable

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Hercules DJ Control Inpulse 500 Gold LE

Hercules DJ Control Inpulse 500 Gold LE; Limited edition with golden highlights; limited to 1000 pieces worldwide; number engraved on console; All-in-one-DJ-Controller; controls per desk: 1x filter-control, 3 x equalizer-control, 1 x Gain control, 1 x volume control, 1 x…

Recently Viewed
Endorphin.es Ground Control

Endorphin.es Ground Control; Eurorack module; performance sequencer; 24-pads keyboard for realtime programming; USB-B port and MIDI in/out for using external MIDI devices and DAW integration; 3 melodic tracks with CV/Gate outputs; 8 drum tracks with trigger outputs; 24 pattern per…

Recently Viewed
Blackmagic Design Pocket Cinema Camera Pro EVF

Blackmagic Design Pocket Cinema Camera Pro EVF; Viewfinder fits Pocket Cinema Camera 6K Pro; Viewfinder with internal proximity sensor, 4-piece glass diopter, built-in status info display and digital test chart; Video and power connections: via Pocket Cinema Camera 6K Pro…

Recently Viewed
Zoom PodTrak P4

Podcasting Recorder Four microphone inputs (XLR, P48V phantom power switchable), Four headphone outputs with individual volume controls (3.5mm stereo jack), Gain control and mute button per input, Mix minus function for automatic feedback suppression for incoming calls, Connection of…

2
(2)
Recently Viewed
Universal Audio UAFX Astra Modulation Machine

Enforcement Pedal Stereo modulation, With chorus, flanger and tremolo effects, True or Buffered Bypass, Preset storable, Additional effects downloadable, Live / Preset mode, Dual processor UAFX Engine, 2 Inputs: 6.3 mm pawl (input 2 for stereo connection), 2 Outputs:…

Recently Viewed
Otamatone Neo Black

Otamatone Neo, Electronic sound toy / synthesizer, standard size, selection of various sounds via new studio smart phone app, cross link of smart phone and Otamatone via cable, power plug for external power supply, stereo headphone jack, volume adjustable, playing…

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.