Ernie Ball 2221

10858 Customer ratings

4.8 / 5

You have to be logged in to rate products.

Note: To prevent ratings from being based on hearsay, smattering or surreptitious advertising we only allow ratings from real users on our website, who have bought the equipment from us.

After logging in you will also find all items you can rate under rate products in the customer centre.

sound

quality

3189 Reviews

Ernie Ball 2221
£5
Including VAT; Excluding £10 shipping
In stock
In stock

This product is in stock and can be shipped immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Delivery approx. between Thursday, 7.03. and Friday, 8.03.
1
D
Feel and sound amazing!
Dutchy- 04.06.2021
I'm a beginner, so I don't have much knowledge on how different strings play, but these are great for my use. Seems to be good for everyone with how many people use these strings, they must be bestsellers for a reason!

After putting these strings on I noticed a huge improvement from the strings that were already on the guitar, they actually felt a slight bit easier to play in my limit experience. They sound much nicer too, quite a bright sounding set of strings. I can't attest to how long they last, seems to vary person to person. A decent amount of people seem to think they last a while, even after the bright sound is gone, they still play and feel good. Again, I can't say much about that as of yet.

They're perfect for me though, and they're well priced. If you aren't a huge fan of brighter tones I would suggest trying other strings, but they're so affordable you may as well try them out anyway! I'd highly recommend!
sound
quality
3
0
Report

Report

LL
Excellent Tonal Balance and Easy to Install Electric Guitar Strings
Leopoldo Lopes 25.04.2023
The Ernie Ball 2221 Electric Guitar String Set is a great choice for any guitar player looking to upgrade their strings. One of the standout features of these strings is the tonal balance they provide. They produce a warm and rich sound that's well-rounded and perfect for a variety of playing styles.

Another thing I appreciate about the Ernie Ball 2221 strings is how easy they are to use. Installing them on my electric guitar was a breeze, and they stayed in tune very well. The strings feel smooth and comfortable to play, which makes it easy to achieve the sound you're looking for.

Overall, I highly recommend the Ernie Ball 2221 Electric Guitar String Set to anyone looking for strings that offer excellent tonal balance and are easy to install. They're a great investment for any guitar player.
sound
quality
1
0
Report

Report

d
Ernie Ball are the best guitar strings there are
danstabwoi 01.04.2018
Never had a problem with these. No fuss and no nonsense?they just work. My Les Paul and my Strat sound amazing whenever newly strung with them, and they feel awesome to bend on.

That tone, of course, doesn't last long if you're playing 2-3 hours or more per day, but I find with Ernie Ball they actually also sound good as they age and wear out. Different, but good, which is why I choose them. With other strings I've tried they really sound dull after a week.

The ability to customise your gauge by buying individual strings is a brilliant plus also with these. I could not get my SG to tune to C sharp with the readily available gauge sets I found on the net. With Ernie Ball I could customise my third string to work properly and intonate well and bend properly.

Recommended.
sound
quality
6
0
Report

Report

WB
The Mutts Nuts!
Woodwork Barn 17.10.2017
These are the only strings I buy these days. Have tried a few other brands in the distant past but have always come back to EB's. Reliability, consistency, longevity, versatility, feel and tone all score 10/10 and at a price that's hard to beat. As with most strings they are too bright when brand new but they do settle in very quickly, and if lightly stretched when first fitted, tune easily and hold it well. After 35 years of playing, hopefully I should be a reasonable judge!
sound
quality
8
0
Report

Report

G
Good quality
Genci 04.01.2024
I play a lot of metal and these strings are good!
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

MC
Go for it
Mr. Crowley 06.01.2018
I use exclusively Ernie Ball strings. This gauge goes on my shorter scale length guitar (24,75 inches). On this guitar, they handle downtuning pretty well, and also bend well. I've had them sound and look fresh for up to two months. I also like the fact, that each strings has its individual paper package - they are not tied together. This makes unpacking and unwinding much easier and causes less damage. The price is unbeatable.
However, for longer scale guitars, I would recommend using the 9-46 set.
sound
quality
5
1
Report

Report

A
The classic Rock'n'Roller!
Anonymous 27.01.2015
One of the first strings I tried were these Ernie Balls.

I've searched a warm but brilliant sound for good ol' rocksounds.

If you want to rock....or blues......or jazz... go for these strings!

That's the classic, chuncky fat, open Rock'n'Roller sound you search for.
Classic to modern sounds - no problem!
They last at least 3-6 weeks and usually won't break at normal to harder playing.

The attack is great and so is the dynamic. The stability is pretty good, even if you'll strum hardly. It let's you break up your amp while it feels really controllable.
The pickups catch up every tonal differences - we are back to the dynamic.

It brings a strong but comfortable string tension, so it will take downtunings easilly.

I play Jazz, Blues, Bluesrock and a little bit of metal with these strings on a Les Paul.

So, if you search your allrounder with all qualities or you're a beginner and have to search YOUR choice of strings - go with these
sound
quality
2
0
Report

Report

A
Classic
ArtDarken 15.01.2023
Obvious choice, metal classic strings. Highly recommended
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

F
Always reliable
FinnGall 28.01.2020
My personal go-to string choice for electric guitar. Always reliable. They sound good and this lasts for a long time. You cannot go wrong with these strings.
sound
quality
1
0
Report

Report

JR
Great Product
Johnathan Rodrigues 06.07.2023
As a casual guitar player, never having owned an electric guitar until recently, I had never used Ernie Ball strings before.
The first time I tried them out I was impressed with how good they felt while playing. They are smooth to the touch and bend really well. The sound is rich and crisp. They feel great and make me want to play more often.
I haven't used any other strings since and my guitar playing has improved as a result.
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

Ernie Ball 2221