Daddario EXL120

1745 Customer ratings

4.7 / 5

You have to be logged in to rate products.

Note: To prevent ratings from being based on hearsay, smattering or surreptitious advertising we only allow ratings from real users on our website, who have bought the equipment from us.

After logging in you will also find all items you can rate under rate products in the customer centre.

sound

quality

569 Reviews

Daddario EXL120
£6.50
Including VAT; Excluding £10 shipping
In stock
In stock

This product is in stock and can be shipped immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Delivery approx. between Tuesday, 28.05. and Wednesday, 29.05.
1
E
My personal favourites!
Emerald76 16.01.2022
I've been using Daddarios for 30 years, why change the habit of a lifetime?

Price, durability and sound-wise these are a winner everyday.
sound
quality
2
0
Report

Report

b
Workhorse strings for easy playability
boch 04.06.2017
D'Addario is known for reasonably priced commodity strings that provide consistent quality and durability throughout string's life. I've tested probably 2/3 of all of the available D'addario gauges, from ultra light to the heavy flatwound jazz strings.

Given that strings are covered with nickel, the touch is neutral and soft on fingers.

The tone is bright. However proper manipulation of the tone pot and the EQ section of the amp warms it up. The problem for some genres might be lack of fatness of the high E string. However, it can be augmented with an overdrive or boost pedal with pronounced mid section. Transparent pedals keep the tone of that string still rather thin.

The strings give an impression of a solid tension unlike some other lighter gauges, even with guitars characterized by a short scale length. Strings don't get floppy. The strings are highly recommended for longer scale guitars (like Fender Stratocasters). If you play heavy riffs on the bass strings with a hard pick attack, there might be too much movement on a short scale guitars before a string returns to the original position. More tension might be required, especially on short scale guitars (like Gibson Les Pauls).

One other minor disadvantage may be a slightly worn feel comparing to the higher D'Addario gauges. This however, might be just a matter of adjustment and due to the differences of guitar setup and extraneous fret noise, depending on the string action.

There are cases of nickel allergies, so player should first test if there is no such condition that would make his or her life miserable.

This workhorse string set is extremely popular and I can only recommend it, given reliability and feel. If you play with guitars equipped with higher gauge strings, the feel of E and B strings might be a matter of adjustment. It's easy to overbend, so some mental calibration might be necessary for those players.
sound
quality
1
0
Report

Report

P
Excellent
Pravz 12.03.2022
Great price and great product. My go to set of strings for Standard E tuning (I like my tension a bit lighter than most).

They last for a long time, and sounds nice and bright.
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

Il
Easy to bend witout losing tone
I like cheap gears with good sound 02.03.2024
I have been using D'Addario string for over 20 years and I return back to D'Addario each time I try other brands. Previously I used thicker gauges due to toning reasons but after I watched Rick Beato's video about string sizes I decided to give a chance to lighter gauges and guess what? Same tone with easier bending! (yeah I love bending, I can not lie)

I recommend this string in terms of quality and easy bending.
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

n
nickkon 14.12.2021
A standard trustworthy set of stings. A new pair of these immediately elevates a recorded guitar sound, also found out that I need to change strings more often (as long as the budget allows).
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

A
Better than previous strings
Anonymous 14.12.2015
So I'd had my new guitar for about 6 months and had just moved into a new flat when I got a lot of string buzz on the high 'e' string. I assumed the neck had got messed up in transit and that I'd have to replace it or have some sort of costly setup done on it.
As a chance I thought I'd change the strings; what do you know but after changing the strings, all the fret buzz stopped (which in hindsight should have been more obvious).
These strings are pretty bright sounding which I like, they really accentuate the high end of my pickups. They were easy to work with, pretty cheap and nicely packaged. I've had this set on for a few weeks now and they're holding up well, even with some aggressive tremolo use they've refrained from becoming dull. In the future I'm going to use these over my previous first choice of Ernie Ball.
sound
quality
1
0
Report

Report

c
they suit me
chriscoustic 08.12.2020
i use these on my semi acoustic and my electric. i love a light string for huge bends. not had any problems with snapping strings even though i give them a lot of abuse.
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

j
Daddario rules!
joweerocks 30.12.2019
Love these strings. Can't say anything bad about them.
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

V
What more can be said?
Vickey 28.06.2022
Have been using the same strings for years, has been beaten and tested by 100s of 1000s of musicians around the Globe I think its well over proven that these are one of the best strings out there :)
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

a
Тонкие как струна:)
as12hd 16.04.2020
Very comfortable strings for me. I do not like too thick. I used to play D'Addario NYXL 10-46, but they were too expensive for me to buy them often. But these strings are a real classic. They give a very transparent sound due to their subtlety, and are very convenient for bands and slides. In surf music, it came in handy.
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

Daddario EXL120