Customer center login

Daddario EXL110

2640 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.7 /5
  • sound
  • quality
Total
sound
quality
Some of the best guitar strings out there
Zisis Marangianos, 08.08.2020
To be perfectly honest, I haven't tried out every brand of guitar strings out there, and in my 11 years of playing, D'Addario EXLs have always been a mainstay for me, mainly because they are so cheap and readily available. Even when do I try out some other brand, at the end of the day I see myself coming back to D'Addario EXLs, because they just work. I've used the EXL110 set extensively on my old Dean Vendetta XMT, and I also use them on my newer Dean ML 79 F, mostly tuned at Standard C# plus 30 cents (yes, I'm weird like that), sometimes lower or higher.

I've seldom had issues with intonation from these strings. That's usually the fault of your guitar setup, specifically the position of the saddles, the string height and the neck's contour. Once the strings are stretched out, they keep their tuning fairly well - barring changes in temperature and humidity, of course. But I'd wager that, even if you forget to stretch your strings while restringing, they'd still be quite stable after a few bends here and there. Sometimes I don't even let them sit after restringing, and they're still good to go.

Now, I love the sound of fresh strings, and I tend to change strings once they start sounding somewhat dull. On the D'Addario EXLs, that's usually about a month, month and a half, but I've also gone with the same set for longer. In my experience, the wound strings can stay pretty fresh (or, as some like to say, keep their "zinginess") for approximately two, sometimes even three weeks of moderate playing, depending on the air humidity and how much I sweat.

I've found these strings to be quite durable. The only issues I've had thus far with string breakage are on the old Dean Vendetta, where the highest string would sometimes break at the tuning post after bending a bit too much (the age and quality of the guitar are to blame; I've since kept one or two more turns around that tuning post), and on my Dean ML 79 F where after three to five weeks, they have somewhat of a tendency to break at the saddles after ridiculous pull-ups with the Floyd Rose. But on a Floyd Rose equipped guitar, it's a good idea to keep more of the string around the tuning posts anyways, so that you can just feed the strings back into the saddle and retune without much hassle.

I've also tried the D'Addario EXL110BT in the past, which is the balanced tension version of the EXL110, but that would probably also call for a separate review. I will however mention that, at least on the Dean Vendetta, it has indeed given a much more balanced feel when doing bends with the plain strings; on the flipside, the wound strings do feel a tad slinkier.

Last but not least, the EXLs just feel right on my fingers. Coarse enough to get a good grip on, yet they still seem to allow the fingers to glide with ease.

I realize that string brand preference differs from person to person. But if you're looking for good round wounds, at least in my experience I can wholeheartedly recommend the EXL110s - or, for that matter, any of the D'Addario EXL sets, depending on your scale length, tuning or tension preferences.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Really good!
GuitarPlayerFromMinsk, 31.10.2017
It's very good sounding strings. Quite bright, and hard to brake them. A lot of guitarists choose this brand because of quality and stability - every series is the same and you have no problems with this strings.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Excellent!
pumpkinspice3333, 05.06.2021
These are the standard strings that other strings are compared to. They nicely intonate, they don't take too long to break in. They sound lively for two weeks easily and they don't seem to break at all. Besides that, they're cheap enough that they won't hurt your wallet. There's nothing to dislike about these. And although the company produces some string packs which are mediocre, these EXL110 are absolutely amazing. They are my favorite strings in any price range for standard tuning on both Fender scale instruments and my shorter scale Les Paul SGs and the bunch.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
It's D'Addario! Duh!
Jerryteacup, 03.02.2020
You know what you get with this one. D'Addario has been around a long, long time and is a well known label of guitar strings. The color coding... well, nuff said about that one. If for some reason you can't determine which string is the thinnest, the color coding will help you. In a Gibson style tailpeace they'll also look sort of entertaining with the different colors.

Some people may complain that they feel plasticy and I can sort of see what they mean by that assessment. On the other hand I have never been bothered by it. I suppose that has everything to do with their advertising point that, they will not rust that easily.

There is, however, one gripe I might have about the D'Addario strings. It is that, all the strings are packed in that plastic bag, meaning that, if for some reason you need to swap just one string, for example at a show, the rest of the strings will be just lying around sort of unprotected.

Of course, in this day and age we would have a whole discussion about having less packing material this way. However, there is a case for the individual string envelopes here.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
I'm never going back
Georges L, 03.11.2020
I have tried all string brands out there, been a "slinky" user for 9 years, Elixir for 4 years, ghs, DR, rotosund etc. You name it, I've tried it.
There is no better strings to put on my guitar than D"Addario EXL110, period.
For what my needs are, these strings check every box. The beautiful sound, the right comfortable tension, the great durability. Everything that I would want from my guitar strings.
I strictly use them on shorter scales though (les paul), as on the longer scale guitars I use the same ones, but 9s. They still deliver great amount of output.
I absolutely love them, I can't recommend them enough.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Industry standards
Art Nova, 28.05.2021
What can I say. These never disappoint. Very bright sound and last me about a month.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Classic
Dan Ker, 15.03.2021
Great strings, used these for years and years. Durable in both quality and sound when compared to the likes of Ernie Ball. Keep the new bright tone for a lot longer than other strings and don't suffer as much breakage. I've since moved on to 9s but I do keep 10s on some of my other guitars.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Simply awesome
Eltoon, 09.04.2019
I tried other brands but I simply love Daddario for either acoustic or electric guitar... you won't regret buying them!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Great performance for the price!
16.08.2016
Everyone knows these strings. Their affordable, reliable and perform greatly for a long time.
Obviously, there are better strings in the market, whatever the parameter and even Daddario makes strings that are more perfected in every way. But if you dont know where to start, this are the standard strings of choice.

You broke a string? Get some Daddario EXL110
Bought a guitar and strings sound dull? Buy a new pack of Daddarios EXL110
Bought a new guitar and the strings play and feel great? They're much likely Daddarios EXL110

It's that simple, they're the standard.
But every rose has its thorn, and with this pack of strings the finish is the flaw.
I'm not talking about the packaging, nor the way they're made. It's just that they break in if you put them in a stressfull environment. (Like all of us, i think) So they tend to "finish" early. If they're well treated, they'll last decades.

You see, the G string is always breaking because it stands in the middle of the neck, right next to the truss rod, where the guitar feels more pressure (per inch).
But now you ask "The D string is also in the middle, why doesnt it break as well?"
Well, the D string is wounded, thereby reinforcing its resistance to break.

These strings are not well suited for other-than-standard tunings. Drop D is fine and all, but Drop Cs or a "capo" kind of tuning will leave the strings in a not so desirable environment. Other than that they feel great, the sound coming out is great as well and they're dirt cheap.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Satisfied
slawrat@gmail.com, 18.01.2019
I've been using these strings with all my guitars for many years and despite the fact I?m using different sets now I still loving them. Sometimes I want to try them again to enjoy pure nickel sound of these strings. And to be honest I haven't got anything bad to say about EXL110 except the fact they have good tone but not long life? Except of that I had no issues with breaking string or poor quality.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
New go-to strings
Peteni, 09.04.2018
I have previously used D'addario NYXLs but thought I'd give these cheaper ones (they're less than half the price) a go and must say I don't notice that much difference. I appreciate that they will need changed sooner than the NYXLs but I love the sound of fresh strings on my telecaster and don't find it a chore to change them, so it looks like EXLs for me from now on. Thomann excellent as always
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Totally worth it
Zurg31, 28.05.2021
Great strings that just sound good. Hard to find better strings for the same price. I put these on all my guitars.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Daddario rocks!
Alexandre RC, 01.10.2020
Since changing to Daddario I haven't looked back. These string feel really good and I love the sound, it's bright and a little bit mellow. The colour coding is super helpful as well.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Always the best match
Untox Jenkins, 24.05.2021
Nothing to say more. Daddario EXL110 for Les Paul are the best choice for me, and quality is always the best. And thanks Thomann for the price.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
D'Addario EXL 110 " That's all I need to say really "
Axepete, 11.09.2020
I have used these D'Addario EXL110 strings for a good few years now and they are consistently great strings for the money. I love the feel and tone their Nickel Wound strings produce. I have regularly experimented with gauges but always seem to return to the 10/46's which seem to suit my playing on most of my guitars. I tend to use my fingers more than a pick so I like the low E string to have a full, bottom end, whilst the mids and top end still cut through with great clarity. Very reliable performers.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Does what is says on the tin
Adrian918, 15.01.2021
These are great strings. They hold tune really well, have a nice feel and are easy to install.

They have a nice bright clear sound with plenty of low end punch. I use them on my Fender Jazz Base.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
axewound, 19.07.2019
Just the go to really, have played a few other sets from different makers and always come back to these .. being a skin flint they last a bit longer too so good value for money
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
The never fail
Mostro, 27.06.2020
I like the balanced sound they have, I have used them in different guitars and always do an amazing job. Since I use this ones I haven't had more broken strings, I don't know if it is just a coincidence, but so far it is working for me.

I could tell they last long without loosing the shine.

Only thing, but I don't know if it is only me, but I have the feeling they are harder to stretch until they don't lose tuning than other brands, but that is ok for me and maybe just a subjective perception (or I am not the best stringing guitars). One they are well stretched, they keep in tune very good.

All in all, for me this are the strings to go to.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Great strings.
Sabin Kolarov, 04.04.2021
Very good strings, perfect tuning stability, strings hold tune after long playing. Very nice feel.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Good string set
Maccosta, 27.01.2021
Good quality and good sound strings. My brand of strings for guitars.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
My favorite strings
javimachado, 13.11.2018
I think that relation quality price for these strings is a very good one.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Quality Sound
joao_velez, 08.05.2018
Always loved the Nickel sound of this set. Bright tones and very clear tonality. Good for almost everything from Blues/Jazz to Rock.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Great sound and reliability
JCS84, 13.08.2017
My brand of choice for strings for many years. They have a pleasant brightness (in sound) that lasts for many days and even when worn, they still sound great. Very durable, even when abused with a whammy bar they don't break easily. Color coding makes changing strings easy. Highly recommended.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Affordable strings with good quality
maslascher, 02.02.2018
As long as you will change strings correct way and give them good stretch it will hold tune pretty good. On cheap Squier Strat I was able to stay in tune even with some huge dive bombs. After a day there will maybe just small change in pitch like 2 cents on one string but that's just normal. With no tremolo it should be even better.
Sound is decent. I didn't really can compare to anything since i stayed for so long with d'addarios. I just buyed some ernie balls but that's for future testing.
EXL were pretty durable for me. Even with some insane tremolo use string didn't broke.
Light gauge is best in both worlds. Strings don't feel slacky and they are still good to make barre chords and bends with not so strong fingers.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Best strings around
28.05.2015
Being an active working musician, I go through a lot of strings across various types of guitars. I always use D'addario. I've tried many other brands but these just sound and feel great. They also offer the 10 gauge with a wound third - great for those Gibson styled headstocks where the unwound G-string just won't stay in tune!

I also use their sets for acoustic, classical and bass guitars as well as various other gauges for electric - all with great results. I never notice any string breakages and the tuning is stable enough. Also, they still feel comfortable to play even when they start to collect your hand sweat/grime

Thomann offer these at better than half the price my local music shop sells them for, so I buy in bulk - Thanks Thomann!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Daddario EXL110

£5.30
Including VAT; Excluding £8 shipping
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-20
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24