Daddario EXL110-3D

2209 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.7 /5
  • sound
  • quality
Total
sound
quality
Great strings with great quality.
Mick Jansen, 28.04.2019
I have been using D'Addario strings for almost a decade and they never disappointed me. I usually use 9 guage strings, but because my telecaster recently had an upgrade and needed to be restrung I considered giving the 10 guage strings a try. This gave me the opportunity to tune down more without the strings getting to loose. And after all, my telecaster is the only guitar I own that has a fixed bridge, so it wouldn't have the problem of the floating bridge being out of position etc. The 10 guage strings sound a bit fuller, but they retain the highs so it's still very defined.
I must say that only having played on 9's for so long, it was quite the challenge to adapt to the heavier strings. The upside of this, is when I switch back to a 9 guage string guitar playing becomes easier. The variety of switching between string guages is something I would recommend. After some time, you will adapt quicker between the switches.
To sum it up: These strings are just what you're looking for. They might seem very basic, but that means you can't go wrong choosing these ones. Also, they come in a pack of three!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Sometimes, change is good
dandelo, 10.05.2016
A few weeks ago, I had a string break which hasn't happened in a while though I knew I was pounding my set of strings hard; day in, day out I have been practicing and playing with a few buddies though my set of Ernie Ball hybrids (orange pack) took the beating well.

After which, I decided to try another brand of string and since I was listening to Guthrie Govan a LOT, I thought it may be a good idea to try Rotosound strings. Headed over to my local guitar shop, all they had were Roto 11's. I was contemplating for a good 5 minutes on what to do because I had a horrible experience with a set of D'addario acoustic strings and didn't want that to happen again...but I decided to tempt faith. Bought a pack of EXL110s, went home, and cleaned and set up my guitar as I do with each string change.

Once I put on that new set though, my guitar was SET! They have a different feel to them compared to Ernie Ball strings though I actually found them incredibly easier to play. The strings actually felt like they were ready to play right out of the pack and hardly needed any sort of stretching. They are a tad bright though at the same time have a VERY balanced tone which I liked. With Ernie Ball sets, a difference in gauge can be a difference in tone though the reason for buying hybrid sets (9s on the top, 10s on the bottom) was to accomodate my lead playing with the rhythm. Though with these D'addario strings, I felt like I didn't even need any custom gauges or hybrid sets.

I can't deny that my guitar setup didn't help though considering I adjusted neck relief and action again which helped tremendously though the tone of these strings has been consistent for close to a month now and I've been playing EVERY day for at least 2 hours.

I'd say D'addario did a great job and I must say that Musicians Friend has a great deal on here! Next pay check, definitely getting myself a 3-pack.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
My standard
onetw, 07.03.2018
So I've been using the Daddarios for a few years now and there isn't much, that I would complain about.
Before swithching to Daddarios I've been using Ernie Balls that were pretty good as well; I also tried other brands that were however not matching both physical or tonal qualities of these two brands (especially the expensive and underwhelming Gibsons).
To compare Ernie Ball and Daddario, they are very simmilar, but different in an inexplicable way. The Daddarios are a tiny bit treblier and in my opinion better suited for humbucker equipped guitars. All that I can say for sure is that they sound and feel better on my guitar. On a strat or a tele, I can imagine the Ernies to have an upper hand (maybe).
The main reason why switched to Daddario was actually not the tone, but It happened to me a few times, that the Ernies were slightly corroded straight out of the box. This never happened to me with the Daddarios, although they have the "ecological" but apparently functional packaging.
To comment on the durability, they last about as long as any other non-coated strings, no miracles or surprises here.
However, the ultimate difference between the two brands is this very package of three stringsets, which makes them cheaper than most of the other strings while retaining all of their qualities. It is simply the best price to performance stringset, that I found.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Good Tone. Don't break
Longy, 25.07.2020
When I stared playing in the '90s I used Ernie Ball Regular Slinkys. The tone was ok, but they rusted up quickly, and were always breaking. I thought that was just what happened to guitar strings. About 6 years ago I bought a new Fender AVRI '65 Reissue from Thomann. It had Fender stings on, and I was surprised how nice they were compared to the Ernie Balls. So I moved onto Fender 250's. They didn't rust, but still broke once in a while.

Then a few years ago I watched a Greg Koch vid and he said he used D'Addario XL's, because they didn't break. So I tried a set. He's right, they don't. They're easy to bend, don't rust and don't break. If they'll do for the Gristlemaster, they'll do for me (and you).

I recommend these stings
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
The Mitsos, 04.02.2021
The strings we love in "family" package
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Love D'addario
jrakus, 30.09.2020
I love D'addario strings. Never had a problem. The sound is always the same you can always rely on. I use them on a 90's Ibanez RG with FR.

I actually like the packaging.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Can't beat Daddario
Vertically compliant, 19.12.2020
When it comes to roundwound strings, Daddarios are my go-tos. They sound great, they last a long time and the prices are just great. I've never had any issues with poor quality using them.

The only thing I'm not crazy about is the colored ends on the strings, but I can live with that and it's not like you normally even see them. I'd also like to see the more rare sets (e.g. sets with a wound G) available as a 10-pack.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
They gave life to my guitar!
c.anto , 29.11.2020
Yeah these are a great fit to my Ibanez RG and they sound beautiful! Quite bright and clear throughout the frequencies.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Hits the performance/price spot.
Dean Elianto, 21.10.2017
I've used various strings from various brands, from cheaper Harley Bentons strings, Fenders, Ernie ball, and even NYXL sets, these are (and other gauge XL sets) are the one I kept getting back to.

Pros:
Long lasting
Great out of the box feel
Allrounder tone (not as mid-focused as NYXL)
Great price for the performance.

Cons:
So far (2 years of using these XL series) none
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
It's Daddario
Guilherme Mello, 25.11.2020
Come on guys, it's Daddario. What else can I add? Just get one or more of those string sets and have fun.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Tried and true
Sab310, 17.11.2020
Nothing much to say, great strings
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Satisfied
slawrat@gmail.com, 18.01.2019
I've been using these strings with all my guitars for many years and despite the fact I?m using different sets now I still loving them. Sometimes I want to try them again to enjoy pure nickel sound of these strings. And to be honest I haven't got anything bad to say about EXL110 except the fact they have good tone but not long life? Except of that I had no issues with breaking string or poor quality.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Nice regular strings
Gtr_player, 21.01.2021
These strings are just regular guitar strings for my Epiphone Les Paul Custom. The strings are color coded per size so you cannot make a mistake of which string is which. There are 3 packs inside the packet and each pack is in one bag. They sound and feel nice.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Classic
Alexander RU, 02.08.2020
What else can you say. Trusted strings in a saver package. Very nice!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
My standard choice
Peter1189, 15.07.2019
In my opinion the best stings out there for the majority of acoustic guitar players.

They have deep bass, loud middle and clear high frequencies.
They last very long and the price is even better in this pack.

If you have a premium quality instrument and you are going to record in studio then maybe you should consider going with an upgrade but that would probably triple the price of your strings.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Long lasting, but not groundbreaking
Owlied, 04.10.2017
I've switched for years between using these and Ernie Ball's Heavy Bottom Slinky Top, which are the same gauge. I've found that the D'addario strings snap less easily, particularly the high strings, and seem to be more resilient to energetic playing. I don't play very fast metal or lead lines often, so they don't come under a lot of stress, but I've found that they seem to hold tune a bit better than the Ernie Ball strings on the same guitar in the same room. They seem to settle in to their tuning from being strung up quite quickly, and their 'slickness' stays for a fairly long time, although they do get buildup and rust at roughly the same rate as other standard string brands (without moving up to coated strings). I have found a few times that the tie at the ball end of the string can come undone and break at that end with very heavy playing, particularly on my jaguar and jazzmaster where they may come into slight contact with the tremolo plate screws by vibration, but it has not happened that often and so I have persevered with them for now.
These strings stay quite bright sounding even when they are getting old and need replacing, but can sound a bit harsh to begin with, which I don't find with Ernie Ball strings. Overall though, I find the D'addario present better value.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Great value for the money
StaStas, 12.12.2019
These strings have clear, crisp sound, they last long and don’t cost much. Haven’t broken a string since 2008, seriously. Great product.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Professional strings
Tony Carey, 05.10.2020
My strings of choice for any type of guitar. On Rickenbacker (even the 12 string sets) and Gretsch they retain that top and upper mid sparkle that defines the sound of these guitars. They last well (although I change strings every 2 or 3 gigs anyway) and retain their tone...great pro strings.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Never disappoints
Jaber, 30.12.2017
Daddario Nickel Wound strings are known for their long life, which is really good for people who don?t change the strings regularly.

Pros,
Long lasting with excellent intonation, Budget friendly (specially the 3 set offer)

Cons,
It?s not suitable to be installed just before a gig; the strings need some hours to settle.

To sum it up, the strings can always deliver a distinctive bright tone and excellent intonation no matter how old they are. Plus, the 3 string set option is very budget friendly
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Bang for your back standard strings
Vinter, 18.03.2021
Not much to say about these strings other than that everyone should have at least one pack of these (3 sets of strings) at store at all times or any equivalents from Daddario when it comes to string size. Make sure to use Daddario Player Circle bonus if you are eligible for it in your country, it only adds extra value as this pack gives you 300 points which roughly equates to 3 €. Meaning this string pack is cheaper than it looks, and that goes for all other Daddario strings!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Great strings for a good price
Ezokas, 14.04.2021
I used these strings when I played in a band and was never let down. Sound, feel and durability were consistently great and never had any problems with it. Actually, not a single string broke on me during a year of intense playing (I was changing them about once a month)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Daddario EXL110-3D
27.01.2015
I love these, after years of playing nothing but Ernie Ball Super Slinkys and not really thinking about strings I bought a Fender AVRI '52 telecaster, the seller had strung it with the Daddario EXL110-3D and raved about the strings.
I wasn't really paying attention to the strings but when I got it home and played it fir a while I realised it was a totally new playing experience, I haven't looked back.
They feel great, don't require as much cleaning and when they do they clean really easily and last much longer than my old Ernie Balls.
They stay also stretch in very easily, really just restring and tune and then a quick stretch on each string and they are good to go, rock solid tuning with them.
They are twice the price of my old strings but then they are twice the strings, totally worth it in my opinion.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Good deal from D'addario
erdanas2010, 20.04.2018
Good strings, maybe without some "unique voice" or "character" but as a start point in the long and winding road of searching your "own sound" they are pretty acceptable. They quite cheap, long lasting and no any breakage incidents or something like that from my modest experience. And in 3 string sets pack it's very profitable too.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
3 set strings
macssou, 01.04.2021
i like those strings, balance and strongness, stability, what else?
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
no comments, just perfect and satisfied
Bernd Horstmann, 06.08.2019
no comments to give for quality strings
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Daddario EXL110-3D

£11.50
Excluding VAT; plus £8 shipping
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-20
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
2
(2)
Recently Viewed
Line6 Relay G10TII Transmitter

Line6 Relay G10TII Transmiiter, 2,4 GHz plug and play Wireless transmitter for Relay G10 systems or Spider V series from Spider V 60, with internal receiver, audio frequency range 10 - 20.000 Hz, automic frequency setup, 118 dB SPL max.,…

Recently Viewed
Arturia Pigments 3

Arturia Pigments 3 (ESD); virtual synthesizer; four sound engines with variable sound sources; Harmonic Engine with up to 512 partials; Wavetable Engine with a total of 164 wavetables; Utility Engine with sub-oscillator and two noise sample layers; Jup-8 V4 low-pass…

2
(2)
Recently Viewed
Universal Audio UAFX Starlight Echo Station

Effects Pedal Stereo delay, With tape, analogue, and digital effects, True or buffered bypass, Presets can be stored, Tap tempo mode, Additional effects can be downloaded, Dual processor UAFX engine, Live / preset mode, 2 Inputs: 6.3 mm jack…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Harley Benton TableAmp V2 BlueTooth

Harley Benton TableAmp V2 BlueTooth, compact amplifier with great features for play-along and sing-along with streamed music using the integrated Bluetooth feature, ideal for acoustic guitar, ukulele, electric guitar, vocals and music, 30 watt RMS, 1x 5" bass woofer +…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Korg SQ-64

Polyphonic Step Sequencer with 4 Tracks 3 Melody tracks with 8-fold polyphony and 16 patterns of 64 steps each, Drum track with 16 monophonic sub-tracks, 64-Key matrix with illuminated buttons, OLED display, Editing modes per melody track: gate, pitch…

Recently Viewed
Alesis Harmony 61 MKII

Alesis Harmony 61 MKII Keyboard with 61 piano style keys, 300 sounds, 300 rhythms and 40 demo songs, speakers, headphone output 3,5 mm, powered via batteries (6x AA not included!), incl. skoove 3 month premium online lessions, dimensions: 948 x…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Roli Lumi 1 Snapcase Black

Roli Lumi 1 Snapcase Black; sturdy and magnetic cover around the LUMI Keys for a slim and seamless fit; protects the LUMI Keys during transport and storage; easily folds into a stand for mobile devices; dimensions (W x D x…

Recently Viewed
SSL 500-Series SiX Channel

Solid State Logic 500-Series SiX Channel; Channel Strip; with SuperAnalogue mic preamp and 5-way LED indicator; +48V phantom power; with phase and HPF switches; separate instrument/line input on front panel with Hi-Z switch (1MO); switchable 2-band EQ with bell and…

Recently Viewed
Lewitt LCT 140 Air Matched Pair

Lewitt LCT 140 Air Matched Pair - 2 matched small diaphragm condenser microphones, polar pattern: cardioid, frequency range: 20 Hz - 20 kHz, sensitivity: 14.6 mV/Pa, -36.7 dBV/P, max. SPL: 135 dB, low-cut: 80 Hz (12 dB/oct), pad switch: -12dB,…

Recently Viewed
Rode VideoMic Me-C

Rode VideoMic Me-C; condenser directional microphone; suitable for Android devices with USB-C connector; integrated USB type-C plug; 1/2" condenser capsule; polar pattern: cardioid; front pickup angle: 90°; sturdy aluminium housing with ceramic coating; built-in microphone preamplifier with DA converter (24Bit…

2
(2)
Recently Viewed
Line6 Pod GO Wireless

Line6 Pod GO Wireless; Multi Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar; over 300 effects and models from Helix, M-Series and Legacy products, up to 6 simultaneous amp, cab, and effects models including a looper and a speaker cabinet simulation (Third-Party IR…

Recently Viewed
IK Multimedia UNO Synth Pro Desktop

Analog synthesizer Paraphonic analog synthesizer with step sequencer, arpeggiator and effects section, Three wave morphing oscillators with PWM, sync, frequency and ring modulation, dual state variable filter with 24 modes, amplifier, Original OTA filter from the UNO Synth as…

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.