Customer center login
Country and Language

Bugera PS1 Power Soak

221 Customer Reviews

5 142 Customers
4 50 Customers
3 15 Customers
2 8 Customers
1 6 Customers
4.4 / 5

features

sound

quality

Bugera PS1 Power Soak
£75
Including VAT; Excluding £8 shipping
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
1
j
Better than more expensive option
johan75 19.02.2019
I've tested 3 attenuator:
Bugera PS 1 at ¤79
Jettenuator at ¤128
SPL Reducer at ¤369
The SPL and Jettanuator use fancy aluminium housed resistors, the Bugera has plain ceramic resistor that sit elevator from the pcb for cooling.
All 3 devices have just resistors inside, I was expecting some additional components in SPL to justify the price, but only the housing is nicer, the electronics are not.
The SPL has a noisy and cracking potentiometer, the other 2 are noiseless when adjusting the damping level.
The Bugera has an extra feature in the dail that consists of a magnet, a metal plate and an unknown wired component. I'm not sure what this is for, but I think it's to stabilize the resistance of the potentiometer. The more expensive Jettenuator has the same potentiometer but without these extra components.
I didn't have the SPL available for a side by side test, so I only tested the Bugera and the Jettenuator side by side. They sound almost exactly the same, the Bugera is slightly smoother and the Jettanuator sounds slightly more brittle. To me, the Bugera is the more realisticly sounding device.
On both you lose some depth in the sound. Although I find the sound surprisingly good.
Even if all were the same price, the Bugera would be a clear winner for me. The SPL is very disappointing at that price level.
features
sound
quality
23
0
Report

Report

r
Not too shabby
riffsnoleads 17.03.2021
Works pretty great but I would never hook up a 100 watt head to it. 65 watts would probably be the highest I would go.

As others have said, the more you attenuate the signal the more highs you lose but I have not noticed it to be all that bad personally. If there was any top end loss I made it up with the amp EQ easily.

I found the best aspect is that it can be used as a load box just note that if you do so you have to crank the big knob up to 0 (or no attenuation) and then the Line Level knob will begin to work. You can do this without a cab and it is fine.

Used this to DI a couple of amps I have into a cab IR in my DAW and sounded great.

Gets pretty warm after long use but nothing that will burn you.

Mine made a rather fishy smell (burn in) for the first day or two of heavy use. Stopped after that, just keep that in mind.
features
sound
quality
2
0
Report

Report

Hr
Bugera PS1 Power Soak
H review 18.11.2020
If you simply want to reduce the volume/output on a 15 watt and upwards valve amp without losing very much at all of the tonal quality, then this is an excellent product especially for the price...a great well built box...
But bear in mind two essential factors: firstly, the moment you put it between your amp and the speaker you are automatically reducing output by 50%; secondly, if you want to play or record silently using the emulated or line output (to a mixer/headphones for example) you can't do that without having sound still coming from the speaker, which has to take the load. No good for middle of the night recording unless you live alone in a castle!
If Bugera could get round these two factors it would be 5 star brilliant, but if you simply just want to 'tame' your valve amp to a much lower volume level then its a very good choice.
features
sound
quality
3
1
Report

Report

d
deusem 24.02.2020
It's really good at this price range. What I have noticed is that it increases a little bit the gain/distortion compared when it's not connected, but not the bass/mid/treble, so i back down the gain a little bit to have the exact same sound. The manual is not very clear for all the options.
Once it is connected the amp is at half power. Meaning for a 50w amp, the maximum rating will be 25watts.
The power soak knob, is what controls the output, which means that if you use the line out, which is the second knob, you still need volume coming out. That was unclear to me as I thought I could do a "silent recording" with no sound coming from my speaker whatsoever. It is useful however if you don't have a microphone and want to record or sent at a PA at the same time.
Overall it is a great product, small, light, that doesn't need an extra outlet being passive that can tame down a large amp (up till 100w) head and enjoy it in an apartment.
features
sound
quality
5
0
Report

Report

m
Not good for a clean amp: Fender 65' DRRI
manofstrat 22.11.2019
When my roughly 8 years old AlenGeere WattKiller 100 stopped working I needed a new attenuator for my Deluxe Reverb. Reviews were good as well as the price for such unit. So, I ordered one. Since I didn't have the chance the compare with my old unit. I couldn't be sure about the sound quality at first. But now I am sure that it adds a considerable amount of distortion to the amp's output through the loudspeaker. The sound is much cleaner when I remove the attenuator between the amp-out and loudspeaker. For a high gain amp, this might be a issue that one can ignore, but not with a clean amp. Thus if you consider this product for a clean amp, I wouldn't recommend it. If I wouldn't have missed the return period, I would definitely return it and look for alternatives.

In my opinion the unit lacks of a very important feature though it is very interesting one with 3 output options and 2 control knobs for speaker output and line-out: Bypass switch! It would even make it okay to keep the unit for me! I could activate it when I need amp overdrive and bypass it when I play clean in lower volume levels. Sadly, it doesn't have such feature...

Now I am looking into repairing my old attenuator and trying to find a buyer for this one. :(
features
sound
quality
1
0
Report

Report

MM
Can't get better
Martin Maertens 23.08.2020
This unit does whats it most do, reduce the volume of your amp. I open'd the unit and it's complete passive resistor, well built. I read here some reviews where they mention a change tone and adding distortion. Because this mainly is an passive high power poteniometer, it can't add nothing to your sound. The change of tone is because you speaker does not get the full power and it's normal that it's changing how it's behaving.
Overall if your want to cranck up you valve amp without blowing you eardrums and keeping you tone, this is the gear to buy.
A qiuick re marque, Do use the right cable, a signal cable is not an speaker cable!!!!!!!!
I use one om my Marshall Orgine20 and Marshall DSL40 and i'm very happy with it.
I will buy an other one very some for my Vox AC15 C2, Mayby Thoman can give me some special price here ;)
features
sound
quality
2
0
Report

Report

t
Effective attenuator
tnt220 02.02.2021
I am using this for my 50watt tube amp, and it is the only reason I can use the amp in my bedroom.

By just plugging in the attenuator the volume is reduced by 50% and you can then adjust gradually down to 0 and turn up the volume and gain on your amp giving you the sound you want/need/

I am not an expert but did not note any noticable difference in the sounds after plugging in the attenuator.

The build of the attenuator is very solid with a metal cabinet and feels like quality materials were used.
and with the volumes I play at it does not even get lukewarm.

I don't need it myself, but for some a bypass switch would likely be useful and had I needed it I would have only given 4 starts in features

Can definitely recommend this and would get one again immediately if it broke.
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

A
Let your amp breathe!
Aron96 12.02.2021
This little black box is a miracle maker!
I use it in conjunction with a bugera v22hd infinium at full blast and the power soak allows the amp to run really hot and achieve natural power tube distortion at a level that doesn't make your ears bleed. Granted when turned down to minimum there is some added compression and presence loss but when its turned even just a bit higher ( about 15%) it starts to open up. It does seem to get warm though. Worth a mention is the fact that even open fully it is still attenuating 50% of the overall signal, but then again when youre up to that point you might as well play without it ( at least with smaller amps).
Keeps me happy with searing tones and my wife happy because she can watch tv without needing subtitles or earphones.
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

C
It does the job Ok and it's dead cheap
CreepBG 17.07.2021
Great attenautor to get you started.
Sound is Ok, but if you like the result maybe consider getting a more expensive one.
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

m
Good attenuator for the money!
mikedervos 26.08.2021
For this amount of money i think is the best choice ,thats my first attenuator and does the job pretty good so far ,also i connect the line out straight to my sound card and i can record my tube amp very easly without mics on the cab nothing! i just use an ir loader plugin on my computer to use as a cab and thats it! and it sounds amazing! it does 2 things in one box! definitely recommended!
features
sound
quality
0
0
Report

Report

Your browser doesn't support javascript. Please update to the latest version or try another, modern browser.
Bugera PS1 Power Soak