Customer center login

Bugera PS1 Power Soak

218 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.4 /5
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
features
sound
quality
Better than more expensive option
johan75, 19.02.2019
I've tested 3 attenuator:
Bugera PS 1 at ¤79
Jettenuator at ¤128
SPL Reducer at ¤369
The SPL and Jettanuator use fancy aluminium housed resistors, the Bugera has plain ceramic resistor that sit elevator from the pcb for cooling.
All 3 devices have just resistors inside, I was expecting some additional components in SPL to justify the price, but only the housing is nicer, the electronics are not.
The SPL has a noisy and cracking potentiometer, the other 2 are noiseless when adjusting the damping level.
The Bugera has an extra feature in the dail that consists of a magnet, a metal plate and an unknown wired component. I'm not sure what this is for, but I think it's to stabilize the resistance of the potentiometer. The more expensive Jettenuator has the same potentiometer but without these extra components.
I didn't have the SPL available for a side by side test, so I only tested the Bugera and the Jettenuator side by side. They sound almost exactly the same, the Bugera is slightly smoother and the Jettanuator sounds slightly more brittle. To me, the Bugera is the more realisticly sounding device.
On both you lose some depth in the sound. Although I find the sound surprisingly good.
Even if all were the same price, the Bugera would be a clear winner for me. The SPL is very disappointing at that price level.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Not too shabby
riffsnoleads, 17.03.2021
Works pretty great but I would never hook up a 100 watt head to it. 65 watts would probably be the highest I would go.

As others have said, the more you attenuate the signal the more highs you lose but I have not noticed it to be all that bad personally. If there was any top end loss I made it up with the amp EQ easily.

I found the best aspect is that it can be used as a load box just note that if you do so you have to crank the big knob up to 0 (or no attenuation) and then the Line Level knob will begin to work. You can do this without a cab and it is fine.

Used this to DI a couple of amps I have into a cab IR in my DAW and sounded great.

Gets pretty warm after long use but nothing that will burn you.

Mine made a rather fishy smell (burn in) for the first day or two of heavy use. Stopped after that, just keep that in mind.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Bugera PS1 Power Soak
H review, 18.11.2020
If you simply want to reduce the volume/output on a 15 watt and upwards valve amp without losing very much at all of the tonal quality, then this is an excellent product especially for the price...a great well built box...
But bear in mind two essential factors: firstly, the moment you put it between your amp and the speaker you are automatically reducing output by 50%; secondly, if you want to play or record silently using the emulated or line output (to a mixer/headphones for example) you can't do that without having sound still coming from the speaker, which has to take the load. No good for middle of the night recording unless you live alone in a castle!
If Bugera could get round these two factors it would be 5 star brilliant, but if you simply just want to 'tame' your valve amp to a much lower volume level then its a very good choice.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
deusem, 24.02.2020
It's really good at this price range. What I have noticed is that it increases a little bit the gain/distortion compared when it's not connected, but not the bass/mid/treble, so i back down the gain a little bit to have the exact same sound. The manual is not very clear for all the options.
Once it is connected the amp is at half power. Meaning for a 50w amp, the maximum rating will be 25watts.
The power soak knob, is what controls the output, which means that if you use the line out, which is the second knob, you still need volume coming out. That was unclear to me as I thought I could do a "silent recording" with no sound coming from my speaker whatsoever. It is useful however if you don't have a microphone and want to record or sent at a PA at the same time.
Overall it is a great product, small, light, that doesn't need an extra outlet being passive that can tame down a large amp (up till 100w) head and enjoy it in an apartment.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Not good for a clean amp: Fender 65' DRRI
manofstrat, 22.11.2019
When my roughly 8 years old AlenGeere WattKiller 100 stopped working I needed a new attenuator for my Deluxe Reverb. Reviews were good as well as the price for such unit. So, I ordered one. Since I didn't have the chance the compare with my old unit. I couldn't be sure about the sound quality at first. But now I am sure that it adds a considerable amount of distortion to the amp's output through the loudspeaker. The sound is much cleaner when I remove the attenuator between the amp-out and loudspeaker. For a high gain amp, this might be a issue that one can ignore, but not with a clean amp. Thus if you consider this product for a clean amp, I wouldn't recommend it. If I wouldn't have missed the return period, I would definitely return it and look for alternatives.

In my opinion the unit lacks of a very important feature though it is very interesting one with 3 output options and 2 control knobs for speaker output and line-out: Bypass switch! It would even make it okay to keep the unit for me! I could activate it when I need amp overdrive and bypass it when I play clean in lower volume levels. Sadly, it doesn't have such feature...

Now I am looking into repairing my old attenuator and trying to find a buyer for this one. :(
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Can't get better
Martin Maertens, 23.08.2020
This unit does whats it most do, reduce the volume of your amp. I open'd the unit and it's complete passive resistor, well built. I read here some reviews where they mention a change tone and adding distortion. Because this mainly is an passive high power poteniometer, it can't add nothing to your sound. The change of tone is because you speaker does not get the full power and it's normal that it's changing how it's behaving.
Overall if your want to cranck up you valve amp without blowing you eardrums and keeping you tone, this is the gear to buy.
A qiuick re marque, Do use the right cable, a signal cable is not an speaker cable!!!!!!!!
I use one om my Marshall Orgine20 and Marshall DSL40 and i'm very happy with it.
I will buy an other one very some for my Vox AC15 C2, Mayby Thoman can give me some special price here ;)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Effective attenuator
tnt220, 02.02.2021
I am using this for my 50watt tube amp, and it is the only reason I can use the amp in my bedroom.

By just plugging in the attenuator the volume is reduced by 50% and you can then adjust gradually down to 0 and turn up the volume and gain on your amp giving you the sound you want/need/

I am not an expert but did not note any noticable difference in the sounds after plugging in the attenuator.

The build of the attenuator is very solid with a metal cabinet and feels like quality materials were used.
and with the volumes I play at it does not even get lukewarm.

I don't need it myself, but for some a bypass switch would likely be useful and had I needed it I would have only given 4 starts in features

Can definitely recommend this and would get one again immediately if it broke.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Let your amp breathe!
Aron96, 12.02.2021
This little black box is a miracle maker!
I use it in conjunction with a bugera v22hd infinium at full blast and the power soak allows the amp to run really hot and achieve natural power tube distortion at a level that doesn't make your ears bleed. Granted when turned down to minimum there is some added compression and presence loss but when its turned even just a bit higher ( about 15%) it starts to open up. It does seem to get warm though. Worth a mention is the fact that even open fully it is still attenuating 50% of the overall signal, but then again when youre up to that point you might as well play without it ( at least with smaller amps).
Keeps me happy with searing tones and my wife happy because she can watch tv without needing subtitles or earphones.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
It does the job Ok and it's dead cheap
CreepBG, 17.07.2021
Great attenautor to get you started.
Sound is Ok, but if you like the result maybe consider getting a more expensive one.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Good attenuator for the money!
mikedervos, 26.08.2021
For this amount of money i think is the best choice ,thats my first attenuator and does the job pretty good so far ,also i connect the line out straight to my sound card and i can record my tube amp very easly without mics on the cab nothing! i just use an ir loader plugin on my computer to use as a cab and thats it! and it sounds amazing! it does 2 things in one box! definitely recommended!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Good for me, great for the neighbour
Pixolives, 03.07.2021
I use this with two different amplifiers. A small 5 watt and a 50 watt. They attenuate the sound alright, which is what I wanted the machine to do. Tonewise I can make the most of both amplifiers at any level--so I can keep the same settings and sound for home, studio, rehearsal and stage.

The information provided with the machine is rather deficient.

I do not use the line and emulated outputs, so I don't have anything to say about that.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Apartment Guitarist
MT444, 04.05.2021
Great for running your tube amp hot at lower volumes if you want to keep things budget friendly and not get complains from neighbours.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Inconsistent output volume but does what it's supposed to
StanAron, 07.01.2021
The power soak has some strange inconsistencies where setting the volume at 0 (on either or both knobs) will not completely mute the device, both volume controls will affect each other's output level.

However, it does what it's supposed to, I'm able to plug my amp straight into my interface and get the best guitar tone I've ever had with IRs, so definitely would recommend at this price.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great and affordable
K.Kay, 29.01.2020
I use this product to tame my Badcat hot cat amplifier. The PS1 does exactly what it says, you can tame a monsterous loud amplifier to bedroom levels, and it does a great job.
Since I bought it I was cranking up my high gain channel and I was getting a big headroom coming out from my speaker without having the police stepping in my door every week :)
Yes there is a slight less high end/ treble when I was turning the output knob below 40% but this was so unnoticeable that with a small tweaking of amp eq I was getting the same sound in both channels without the PS1.
The PS1 doesn’t get hot at all during operation and I’ve noticed that the back of my amplifier / valve section was also cooler compared to without the PS1. Its build like a tank with the solid metal construction and the knobs does not feel flimsy at all.
My only complain is that the balanced XLR output cab simulation (which is an extra feature ) does not sound like my cabinet on a mic When I plug it directly to my sound card, but again the primary use of PS1 is power soak / attenuator and not a speaker simulator.
It would be great if it had a better speaker simulator like some other (and more expensive) attenuators have, but for 75 euros its a steal!!! I couldn’t be happier with the product, it is worth every cent.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
It simply sound bad
stratoplaster, 21.12.2020
This is good if you are a amp technician and you need a dummy load just to make some no-sound testing.
The sound is terrible, the high frequencies are lost, the middle-bass range become muddy even at low attenuation levels.
OK the price is very low, but I wish I had tested it earlier (properly) and I probably would have return it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Budget solution
P to the ieter, 12.12.2020
I wanted to start playing guitar again, and still have an old 100w tube head standing around. Considered buying a small low power head to use at home, but for less budget decided to try a power soak instead and continue to use the amp I already have.

Build quality is ok but it feels a bit light and cheaply put together. Does what it says, so soaks up power which allows a big amp to be used at in-house volumes. Can't really think of any other use case, unless someone bought the wrong amp. The fact that it's a passive unit makes it easy to use, it just sits between the head and speaker, however the lack of a headphone out does mean you still don't have an option for really silent practicing.

So yes it's a solution but basically only if you have the wrong amp at the wrong place and don't want to break the bank.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Best £60 quid ever spent
John SB , 13.01.2020
Just received my PS1. I ordered this after seeing Phil McKnight comparison and wow I am not disappointed. I just used this on my Marshall Astoria and my Marshall Bluesbreaker.
For the first time. I could let these Amps breath without bursting my eardrums, or blowing out my windows or being arrested for noise pollution. What a great experience even the speaker sag is there, no more pedals needed for AC/DC just crank the amp attenuate and hey presto. Maybe there is some high end tone loss and a little fizziness ( just turn the Amps gain down (Astoria) ) but for £60 quid!!! really it’s that good. Don’t hold back buy this you will not be disappointed.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Excellent Product
The Bear, 15.01.2020
The PS1 is an excellent attenuator and an essential piece of equipment for my amplifier. It keeps the volume level as quiet as I want, allowing me to get the rich harmonics and breakup of my tube amp without losing tone. It is a remarkable piece of equipment for the price. I have also found the line out and xlr out to be very useful.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
AVOID - Strong smell of burning
PhilOa, 01.10.2020
Unit ran red-hot using 100w Marshall . Was too hot to touch and had very strong smell of plastic burning . Immediately removed from studio due to fire-risk . Amazon reviewers have reported similar experiences check there 1 stars search for bugera power soak burning smell in google
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Only cheap
cpbird, 19.09.2020
It's just cheap, but the bass is very muddy, and the volume is unstable when the cabinet is distorted.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Does the job.
Bob Katsionis, 04.03.2020
I have never used a Power Soak unit before, but this one did everything it was advertised for.

Leaves absolutely no trace of sound or gives you as much as you want.

Only minor thing could be that big rotary switch which feels a little "odd" like something is not well fine-tuned in there.

But no complains, it does what it's supposed to do!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
The neighbours don't know they love it.
Topazz, 07.01.2021
Is just what I needed for quiet recording at home. I don't use the mic level out and would recommend any user recording with it to opt for using the line signal and using their own cab sims.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
To much change of the sound for me
T.J., 18.02.2021
I liked the fact that it seems well built and sturdy. The motion on the rotary knob on the other hand felt not that comfortable to me.
It does what it's supposed to do, lowering the output of the total volume, but in my opinion it changed the sound in a way that I didn't like.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Power Soak
Juha8152, 27.10.2020
No power cable, no software, no apps...Barebone power soaks just what I wanted to get my amp volume down. It does the work and tone/ soundwise is good, can be a little muddy in high gain but just dialing a little back, and it's fine.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
philld, 06.02.2020
absolutely necessary for home praktice. i have a marshall origin 20h and bugera is the only way to hear the amp at bedroom levels. highly recommended
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Bugera PS1 Power Soak

£76
Including VAT; Excluding £8 shipping
Available shortly (2-5 days)
Available shortly (2-5 days)

This item has been ordered with our suppliers and should be in our warehouse in the next few days.

Standard Delivery Times
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-20
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24