Boss RC-3 Loop Station

735 Customer Ratings:
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.6 / 5.0
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
38 written ratings
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Great for practice, good for live backing tracks!
19.01.2017
I wasn't sure how this pedal was going to suite my needs because using it for practice and using it live, demand different aspects and functions. So actually this product ends up having two separate ratings for me.

First, in a practice situation it performs very well. It's very easy to record a rhythm track to compose melodies or solo over, especially when you use the count in function which gives you a measure of the drum beat before starting to record. I use an octaver to record a bass line then the rhythm guitar track and I'm ready to go. To take it a step further you can load a full composition onto the pedal, minus the parts you want to play yourself. Achieving the right loudness takes a couple of tries but once you get it, you can save it as a one shot meaning it will play once in it's entirety and stop, instead of like loop. Very useful.
So, I give this pedal five stars as a practice tool!

Now onto a live situation. If you use it to play uploaded backing tracks for a small gig that doesn't require a lot of volume it will sound decent if your mix was done well.
If you use the pedal's drumbeats live, your music will sound way too repetitious and artificial due to the simplicity and the sound quality of the beats. Furthermore, if you like to improvise or switch around the order of the parts of a piece or create a piece in a live situation, this pedal is too limited and does not possess the option of recording various independent tracks over the same beat that you can switch between. So that's why I would give it four stars for live use.

Of course this doesn't stop it from being a great practice tool and jamming companion that won't give you attitude or empty your fridge every time he comes over.

But seriously, your guitar playing and creativity will definitely improve with this looper. That alone makes it worthwhile.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Boss RC-3
Stratcat, 25.07.2017
This is a great looper.
Some nice features without being too complicated. Clean bypass. Instant connection to windows 10.
Options on how to change the way you tap to stop/record (see the documentation).

Very important is where you put it in your "chain".
Done correctly, you will get a clean bypass.
Done incorrectly, you will not.

For example, my chain is;
1.Guitar into audio interface,
2, audio interface's left and right outputs sent to stereo inputs on Boss RC-3 (as shown is Boss RC-3 manual)
3. Boss RC-3 stereo outputs sent to PC audio line-in via an 2x 1/4 inch mono to 1/8 inch 3.5mm stereo Audio Splitter Cable.

Now, that might all seem more complicated than; Guitar - Boss RC-3 - Guitar amp but if you are using this with an audio interface and get the chain order wrong, your looper pedal will not operate correctly. You will easily know when the chain order is wrong because you will not have clean bypass. There will be a lot of "hissing" going on.

Important, because I see many people complain about noise problems, not realising they have their set-up chained incorrectly. Hope this helps.

The pedal itself, is another Boss masterpiece.
Highly recommended.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Best looper on the market for 2 PARTICULAR applications!
FARROKH, 25.03.2014
In my opinion this is the best looper pedal on the market for these two PARTICULAR applications:

1) This pedal can record up to 3 hours without needing any external memory card and it has 99 different slots for PERMANENTLY saving your recordings (loops) and turning the pedal off! Sometimes, you are playing at night or in a tour bus or in a rehearsal, gig, etc and you are not next to your computer, but an idea suddenly jumps into your head: maybe a nice riff, or a rhythm, or some chord progression, and you really want to record that thing before you forget it! That has been a precious spontaneous thing that has happened and you want to save it! This pedal is really nice for composers and guitar players. Many nights, my computer has been turned off and I was improvising, an idea just emerged, and I have been able to record it as easily as possible with this pedal, turn if off and go to sleep relaxed!

2) I have read many players (even professional players like Billy Gibbons of ZZ TOP), record their whole live performance for different reasons. This pedal can record up to 3 hours continuously, so you can record a whole live performance. If you have recorded your clean signal, you can later re-amp the signal and use it for different purposes. But also, I have found it very nice for practicing: When I am ready and have learnt a full song, I play the whole song and record it (not just a tiny part), and after that I listen to it, try to focus and find and correct only those parts that are not good. This is much easier than sitting in front of computer and recording with that!

Many famous pedals on the market (like ditto, etc) cannot permanently store and record 99 songs! nor they can record up to 3 hours! With this pedal I can have a library of all of my new ideas! :D
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
A must-have for creative playing
28.02.2015
The Loop Station has a wide range of usage areas. It is not necessarily the perfect fit for any pedal board when playing with a band, but it is absolutely invaluable when it comes to practising, writing songs and experimenting. You'll find that you'll get another dimension of your at-home guitar playing as you have the possibility to instantly play along with your own stuff.

The interface is impressive, as some clever designer really has figured out how to cram a LOT of functionality on just a few inches, controlling the essentials with your foot only and the more detailed settings with the smaller buttons. Don't let the familiar BOSS pedal appearance fool you - this is something completely different that something you basically just turn on and off.

I've mostly been using this on a smaller practice amp at home, and it works fine. However, you may need to fine-tune your volumes and tone settings a bit to avoid getting ugly compression overload when you record multiple layers. It seems to work good with both valve and non-valve amps though.

Don't get discouraged by the slightly advanced concept if you've never used a loop pedal before - just spend 5 minutes with the manual (the only pedal in the world that needs it probably) and you'll get a hang of it just fine. Using a loop pedal live can be a cool technique, and can be taken to great lengths with some practise. This pedal definitely gives you all of your looping needs, but if you are experienced and aiming for a full-on one-man band, it might be wise to invest in something even more advanced.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Doet wat het moet doen
svennijs, 30.07.2019
Mijn eerste Loop Station.
- Gemakkelijk om mee te nemen
- Kleine leercurve
- Stevig materiaal
Na wat spelen had ik misschien liever een iets uitgebreidere versie gehad.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Great loop pedal
kristijan_ujevic, 12.10.2019
This thing is great, either at home or playing with a band for buildup or textural stuff and experimentation.

For me it truly shines when writing stuff because i can do all sorts of experimentation with it, another great thing is the ability to save 99 loops so you can work on multiple songs without deleting your previous work.

I don't need to say this but this thing is built like a tank and will play your loops if you turn it on in 100 hundred years from now.

All in all, great pedal.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Eire, 09.09.2019
Great loop pedal.really fun to use and great as a practice buddy.very well made product.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Awesome looper
Matias M., 21.04.2016
This is very useful to import (USB) song backings you've recorded/sequenced/prepared in your computer into this unit for gigs. I imported each section of my songs so is easy to practice each individually.

Is also an outstanding tool for practicing. No need to load projects in your computer etc....the unit is there, ready for you to stomp on it and start playing.

If you don't need more than that, and don't need to use the internal rhythms/tap tempo better get a FS-5U pedal. Otherwise get two and lock them together.

I got myself a FS-6 and like it, but the downside is that it uses batteries compared to the FS-5U's

With 3 hours of memory (44.1 16bit stereo wav) it has plenty of space. (I also suspect there is a SD somewhere inside you can swap, not sure of that)

Switching between loops happens seamlessly, the unit comes already with the latest system update.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Top gadget
Gatdoc, 08.03.2019
This thing is a barrel of fun and then some. So simple and so spontaneous, just stomp and play. My favourite loops on this thing are one-offs complete with background single note melodies. . nothing to interrupt your creative flow with this pedal. Friggin' genius! You do have to be very forthright with your intentions as soft attack gets lost a bit in the mix, hence the 4 stars for sound quality. (It don't pick up half assed mumbling of the fingers so good, which is probably a good thing but annoyed me slightly all the same.)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
compact and reliable
Shahab Tolouie, 27.01.2017
what to expect from a stompbox size pedal? this tiny thing serves the purpose to full and offers even more. very straight forward loop pedal with independent controls over both phrase and guitar. rugged and safe to jump on.
to take the most of it you'll need to add a FS-6 otherwise you'll have to double hit the pedal for stop and also play the recorded phrase before being able to delete it which is quite annoying when live.
never used it's drum machine since it'll be insult to our drummer but maybe one day I do it just to take the joy of looking at his face :-D
it records, plays back, overdubs, deletes, saves and you have hours of recording time in disposal.
if that's not enough then you may want to go for the bigger and non-pedalboard-friendly, non-transport-friendly ones :-)
cheers
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Cracking bit of kit...
Mangleman, 11.02.2018
Best pedal looper out there. simple drum machine built in and has computer interface to save and upload loops on it. 3 hours of memory on it too.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Great looper
leugenaars, 28.11.2017
RC-3 is a no brainer when it comes to choose a looper pedal for starters or medium experienced players. It is not a big loop station, so it does not hold multiple tracks and it lacks some useful features, like an instant stop footswitch (which can be added with another pedal).

It is a great looper nonetheless - it tracks perfectly and I haven't noticed any tone suck for months of usage. The 99 memory banks are great to hold some of your favourite loops and the USB connection can make you upload/download any track on this pedal. Tip: you can use the Boss RC-3 to play your interlude or any piece in between your songs while playing live. The drumtracks on this pedal are also decent to jam around.

One of the cons (besides not having a second footswitch) is that it can be a bit tricky to understand the pedal in a matter of minutes. It requires a bit of tweaking and knowledge to finally manage everything it has to offer.

Still one of the best compact loop stations in the market.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Best for jaming guitar
Damjan G., 25.10.2014
I use for jam guitar the BOSS DR880, than tascam MPGT1 guitar trainer and than alple ipad2. They a good but ju need to prepare MIDI or MP3 files first or buy them.
Its spend jou very much time. The RC-3 has for 3 hour and 99 memories for loops. Jou make them very quickly. This is the best equipment for jamig the guitar for me.
Handling is easy and fast. I use vintage Fender silverface Champ in its sound fantastic. Now this is my favorite guitar effect.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Great for parctice
OOJP, 17.08.2019
Recording, overdubbing, undoing and resetting are all easy after first reading the manual. The output knob works more like a gain stage than a volume, so you might still run into issues getting your lead lines stick out. Still, the knob works great for rolling down distortion on the backing chord progression. Comes with some basic and somewhat low quality drum tracks. I've used this mainly for practicing and trying out ideas, and it works great for that purpose, though there are cheaper alternatives that probably would have cut it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Fantastic looper
dr.bikeman, 19.07.2019
Great value for money- excellent quality
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Boss RC-3
28.03.2017
Great recording some rhythm guitar first, then looping it & playing some lead or Picking acoustic styles over it. Great for busking when on your own & you can import mp3s or wav files. Get one now.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Great!
Gerza, 15.08.2019
Awesome loop! Very easy to use. USB is great feature.
It's really good for practicing, but it can be great on stage performing too!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Does what it is supposed to
09.07.2014
Am using it mainly for practice so can't comment on live suitability or such. But for my purposes, it is an excellent piece of kit. The main gripe is with the slightly complex user interface. Had to resort to the manual to turn on auto start (excellent feature, by the way for a beginner like me) and have still not figured out why it does not work for all memory slots.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Not the best sound quality, when used in recording mode
glamrock, 14.02.2014
I used the Boss RC3 mainly for sampling .wav files and firing them up while playing the guitar in live situations. For this purpose, i really recommend it for being an easy to user and good sounding loop station. PC connection works fast an reliable and it has plenty of recording time. As a live looper, its not the same. The one-button design makes it less intuitive to use, using an additional footswitch is recommended. Also the soundquality of the recorded signal is not as good as expected, as it lacks on high-frequencies and therefore sounds a bit muddy, compared to the original signal. As there are not much competitors out there, its still worth buying it. The other devices also have their faults.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Good
blob3, 08.06.2019
It works as expected, seems like it doesn't break that easily and has lasted me for a few years now. I use mine plugged in so I don't know how long it works with batteries. I think it was a good purchase, but I haven't used other loopers so I don't know if there are better alternatives for the price.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Boss Loop Station RC3
Nath, 25.07.2013
Fantastic pedal, I think it is a necessity for all songwriters. Previously I used to use my phone to record poor quality audio records to play over and see if different riffs and chord progressions worked together but it was difficult to organise all these recordings.
The Boss Loop Station makes experimenting with different ideas easy and its addictive, sometimes I could stay hours playing to loops I've made and have used it a lot in writing songs.
Loops are easily saved and loaded with this pedal too and it is very easy to learn how to use.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Really cool features and improved display.Tricky USB finctionality.
23.02.2015
I bought this product along with the Boss FS7 as an upgrade to my current rig, which includes the Boss Loop Station RC-2 and Boss FS-6 footswitch, for several reasons;- the added functionality with the Boss FS7 Footswitch, the USB compatability and the improved display. Combining the RC-3 with the Boss FS7 allows you to quickly select between loop numbers (increasing and decreasing the relevant loop number), the imprved display shows a digitial representation of the selected loop number which is a vast improevement over the RC2 (where you have to watch an LED flash, counting the number of flashes t tell you which loop you have selected - far from ideal if you are trying to concentrate on what you are playing) and the USB functionality. The USB functionality is pretty tricky to master. You really have to ensure that you set up the files in the correct format, otherwise the pedal either refuses to play the loop, or needs formatting. I would advise you follow the instructions and save a copy of your files and/or the Roland directory. Overall te RC3 represents a vast improvement over previous incarnations of the Boss Loop Station Compact Pedal format and I would highly recommend the pedal.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Nice little loop station.
Svetlin Simeonov, 14.02.2019
Very easy to use, and very goo options for a small size + battery power. I am using this both with my guitar or synthesizer - great for practice!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
absaloutely brilliant pedal
23.11.2014
brilliant pedal for learning new songs and other things like that. also great for messing around. lovely sound and great drums. i reccomend any guitarist should have one its amazing
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Loop pedal for you
GaryVz, 14.01.2015
I had tried some other loop pedals before sticking with the bossRC-3 and this was in no doubt superior to them all. Simply stomp once to start recording and it will keep layering recordings until you stomp again it will continue to play until you double stomp to stop. Simple. You can save up to 99 of your loops which isn't offered on many other loop stations. For price and simplicity this is a great looper.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Boss RC-3 Loop Station

€133 £113.80
Including VAT; Excluding €10 shipping

The price in GBP is a guideline price only!

Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
gb
Phone: +49-9546-9223-20
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
(15)
Recently Viewed
Behringer Pro-1

Analogue Synthesiser Dual VCO design based on CEM3340, Sawtooth and pulse waveform for VCO A, Sawtooth, Triangle and Pulse waveform for VCO B, Pulse Width Modulation, Noise generator, 24 dB low-pass filter with resonance, 2 ADSR envelopes for VCF...

Recently Viewed
Electro Harmonix Ram's Head Big Muff Fuzz

Effect Pedal for Electric Guitar & Bass Fuzz, A faithful reproduction of the popular 1973 V2 Violet Ram's Head Big Muff Pi sound, Controls: Volume, Tone, Sustain, True bypass, LED: Effect on, Footswitch: Effect bypass, Input: 6.3 mm jack,...

Recently Viewed
Boss Katana 100 Head MKII

Boss Katana 100 Head MKII, electric guitar head, 100 Watts, 5 amp types: Clean, Crunch, Lead, Brown & Acoustic, newly voiced variations for each, Five independent effects sections (Booster, Mod, FX, Delay, and Reverb), with three selectable variations in each,...

Recently Viewed
Harley Benton ST-20HSS SBK Standard Series

Electric guitar Body: Lime tree, Screwed neck: Maple, Fretboard: Amaranth, DOT fretboard inlays, Neck profile: Modern "C", Fretboard radius: 350 mm, Scale: 648 mm, Nut width: 42 mm, Double-action truss rod, 22 Frets, Pickups: 1 Humbucker (bridge) and 2...

Recently Viewed
Behringer Airplay Guitar ULG10

2.4 GHz Wireless System for Guitar 4 Channels, Plug & Play, Ultra-low latency of approx. 5 ms, Built-in 750 mAh lithium battery with up to 6.5 hours life, Maximum range: 30 m, Frequency response: 20-16,0000 Hz, Auto Sleep /...

Recently Viewed
Native Instruments Traktor S3

4-Channel DJ Controller and Audio Interface Sample Rate / Resolution: 24-Bit / 44.1 / 48 kHz, 2 Large 14 cm precision jog wheels, Illuminated jog-wheel rings for visual feedback, including deck selection, 16 RGB pads for triggering hot cues,...

Recently Viewed
Steinberg UR816C

16x16 USB 3.0 Audio Interface with iPad Connectivity 32-Bit integer / 192 kHz, 8 Class-A D-PRE mic preamp with +48 V phantom power, Latency-free DSP-assisted monitoring with REV-X Reverb, Channel Strip and Guitar Amp Classics - also included as...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Toontrack EZX Death Metal

Toontrack EZX Death Metal (ESD); expansion pack for Toontrack EZ Drummer 2 (item 399369) / Superior Drummer 3 (item 419735); produced and recorded by Mark Lewis at the Sonic Ranch in Tornillo / Texas; contains 2 complete drum sets, optimized...

Recently Viewed
Meinl Mike Johnston Groove Cowbell

Meinl Mike Johnston Signature Groove Cowbell, MJGB, vintage steel finish, optimized for using in acoustic drum setups, including 2 magnetic dampers for changing the cowbells decay,

Recently Viewed
Teenage Engineering PO-137 rick & morty

Teenage Engineering PO-137 rick & morty; vocal synthesizer and sampler; integrated microphone for sampling; 120 seconds sampling time; 8 voice characters; 8 effects; parameter lock (2 parameters per sound); 16-step sequencer; 16 patterns; "Lock Tab" write protection for patterns; transpose...

Recently Viewed
Boss DD-3T Digital Delay

Effect Pedal for Electric Guitar Digital delay, New function - Delay tempi adjustable via the onboard switch or external footswitch, True bypass, Controls: Level, Feedback, Time, Mode, Effect on LED, Footswitch: Effect Bypass, Current consumption: 45 mA, Power supply...

(2)
Recently Viewed
Universal Audio Apollo Twin X Duo

10 x 6 Thunderbolt 3 Audio Interface With UAD-2 DUO processor for almost latency-free recordings via plug-in emulations of classic compressors, EQs, tape machines, microphone preamps and guitar amplifiers, 24 Bit / 192 kHz AD / DA converter, 2...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.