Boss Katana 100 MKII

113 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.8 /5
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Great amp for beginners
anonym5, 25.04.2021
I moved to the Katana after my starter pack of Fender Squier with the Frontman 15G. I was pretty happy with my Frontman, but I decided to try and expand my possibilities with the Katana.

Buying the Katana was a great decision that allowed me to evolve as a guitarist and learn about tones. I moved from the two channels (clean / overdrive) of my previous amp to all the different amp modes of the Katana (4 with variation + acoustic) and all the effects it includes. I think this is a great option for exploring possibilities and checking out how different pedals / effects sound for those who are not very familiar with tone crafting. At this point I have to say that the sheer number of possibilities can be daunting, but you can always start from the presets or third-party tones available in online communities.

PROS:
- A lot of effects and amp modes with endless possibilities for different tones, which allow trying new sounds, especially useful for beginners.
- You can connect it to your computer for recording or to manage the tones through the GUI.
- 8 patches can be stored in memory, allowing to switch between different tones quickly without using the computer. For this, the switch pedal sold separately is great, allowing to switch while playing.
- The effects loop comes in quite handy for my looper pedal.
- The amp sounds great to my inexperienced ears.
- The power switch allows to play indoors without the neighbors having to call the police.

CONS:
- With the huge number of possibilities it might be a daunting task fiddling around with all the options to find the tones you like. Also, the official tone patches were quite limited last time I checked, relying heavily on non-official communities.

Overall, I am really happy with my purchase and would never think about going back to my Frontman after this, I think it's great value for the money. I would recommend buying it with the switch pedal for changing channels while playing.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Versatile Amp
Cian M., 16.06.2021
Using the Boss Katana with a GA-FC and Expression pedal really opens up access to a variety of tones and effects from the amp.
I have not enjoyed the sound or experience of modelling amps until I tried this one. The tone is good, most of the effects seem to be near perfect emulations of the actual pedals.
The software to edit amp settings really allows for a wide tonal palette for your amp but can be a bit tricky to learn and set up (i spent the first 2 days just creating/editing tones & patches for the amp). But it is worth it.
The amp itself is also not the heaviest. It is a comfortable weight to be carried by the handle. (something I noted as a gigging musician)
The power adjustment (0.5W, 50W, 100W) is exremely useful going from apartment, to practice space, to the gig.
This is by far the most versatile jamming & gigging amp I have come across, but it is essential to have a footswitch (and expression pedal) to exploit the amps features.
As an added bonus the software allows you to assign quite a few footswitches and expression pedas to give you very detailed control of your sounds & patches from your feet.
It is definitely a great foundation for a customisable rig!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
ridiculous value for money
rickross, 07.08.2020
this amplifier is seriously worth every penny. I was reluctant to buy this as I love my fender Blues Junior and Vox ac 15, both being valve amps.
I thought I'd never appreciate a solid state amp but after hearing them at live shows and using my friends Katana i was blown away with the quality and sound and had to get one. Ive now had it for a little over a year, pre corona virus I have gigged with it and no complaints at all. Its the perfect home studio amp with its power control options you can set what wattage you need for your surroundings which is a vital feature for a home studio... I find the tone setting one of the most important features because you have 4 chanels where you can save the EQ, effects amd ampliefier settings to each chanel so when you come back to it its not lost if you found the perfect sound! so handy

I find the Pros of this amp are the four chanel selections that you can save for your own personal tones and sounds.

four different amp types all having a different variation and an additional acoustic amp which sounds absolutely brilliant

the ease of use

CONS

it would be nice if BOSS supplied a foot switch and a cover, other than that its a must have for any music enthusiast, session musician, home studio, gigging musician

Thomann as usual provided amazing efficient service and had the amp sent to me in very short time which was an added bonus
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Very good amp
TipoC, 10.05.2020
Very well made amp, top quality.
The sound of the clean channels is awesome. It's what I was looking for because I use a lot of pedals and it takes them very well. Love the sound.
I use it with single coils and with humbuckers

I don't like too much the dirty channels, they are okay but not awesome. You can work with them if you don't have good distorsion and overdrive pedals. Same with the booster effects, some of them sound good but in general I don't like much the sounds. I'm sure you can find good distorted sounds if you spend hours with the Tone Studio software but it's not worth it for me. I will use pedals most of the time.
The best dirty channel for me is the Lead. Crunch is ok. Brown I don't like much.

That said, the amp is amazing, I love it.
The modulation/fx effects, delay and reverb sound good, and as I already said the clean channels are amazing and take very well effect pedals.
And also important you can change whatever you want with the Tone Studio software.

Very happy with my Katana. I totally recommend it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Very nice quality amp !
explorerc, 03.07.2021
First of all, thank for you for fast shipping Thomann ! I ordered the items and Items arrived next day in Germany ! Thanks a lot ! For the price one of the best solid state amp ! a lot of features effects, especially with computer program. There is a footswitch also sold separately, I would recommend whoever wants to buy this amp to have a look on the footswitch ! You can make your tone settings and effects and so on and program it with footswitch and make the amp nicer to play ! amp has a lot of inputs in the back, fs, exp pedal, fx loop and so on, so far i used few OD pedals in front of the amp, the sound is satisfying, but not like tube amps with pedals. It is loud even in 0.5 watt mode, if you live in an apartment 0.5 watt would be helpful. Onboard effects are very nice quality. You can download from internet many presets via program of the amp itself. Overall nice quality amp, maybe best solid state for the price ! Thanks all best regards
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Amazing Amp for an upgrade!
Wiplash101, 08.03.2020
This amp is so versatile and simplistic. I was deciding between Line 6 and Boss Katana but preferred the Katana MkII because it has straight forward and simplistic features with amazing sound.
I use it with a Boss ME80 and I appreciate the fact that the effects and features don't come in the way. Though, you can download Boss Tone Studio for editing FX and loading patches.

Pros:
Basic and straight forward effects and interface
High quality sound
0,5W, 50W and 100W power switch
Very light and versatile

Cons:
(For some) Basic and straight forward effects and interface

I recently played on a Peavey Vypyr but I got so frustrated with all the different effects, amp sims, presets and EQ.

This amp is a workhorse for the simplistic player who wants an amp that can do the job no matter what.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Can't be Happier
Tuncy, 07.05.2020
It's a nice amp, with lots of features. I cannot be happier with it :))

First of all, Tone Studio makes it super easy to create a tone. Also, you can simply download other presets from the internet.

Recording friendly! If you dont have a sound card, you can use the USB interface and record directly to your computer. Otherwise, record output works nicely, and emulates the speaker so you dont have to mess with the settings. I use it with my focusrite scarlett and works fine.

Its good for home use as a practice amp at 0.25 watts, but it shines when you crank it up to the 100W mode.

Send and return functionality is awesome, makes it possible to use with a loop pedal.

I look forward to add a foot-switch and an expression pedal. Fantastic amp.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
great modelling amp with plenty power 9/10
@nonim, 27.08.2020
I bought it about 9 months ago and am more than happy, Boss as always delivers great quality product for good price. Its loud as hell, never had a chance to tune it full volume even with hard playing drummer. Option of loading third party ''patches' is absolutely fantastic, you wouldn't believe what sounds you can get out of this box. Once you figure out(there is plenty tutorials on yt) boss katana studio, you're out flying.
The only bad(?)thing I need to say is when you record your guitar through usb signal is a bit weak, which is clearly visible in your DAW during recording, but still does the job so I wouldn't worry about it too much. If I had to buy a new amp it definitely would be another katana 100 mkII but the one with 2 speakers.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Awesome beginner amp!
Tamm, 13.10.2020
Sound quality is very good, more effects added then I will ever need. Tone central is very easy to use to unlock full features of the amp. Loud enough to gig, even with a small backline.

Have not had this much fun in a few years when playing the guitar.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
The amp you won't let go
mike_goesblues, 22.01.2020
this is a real deal. a good amp for low price.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
YES - Its as good as they say
Jason M, 10.01.2020
Really short review. Just awesome.

I have some fun all tube amps but this thing is just so easy to get on with and also keeps everyone in my house (local vicinity) happy due to the power switching options. Great sounds at all volumes and the customisation options give you almost everything you could want. Really easy to get Fender or Marshal type tones though diving in to the settings in the Boss tone studio is where the magic really lives.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Most practical amp I#ve had
AndreiDM, 04.12.2019
This beauty gives you the stage ready things of a modulator, without compromising sound quality. Definitely recommended
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Very nice amp
andrew t, 17.03.2020
In the very beginning of testing, I was very disappointed. The default presets seemed to be very bad.

After connecting it to the PC and configuring the sound through BOSS software, I saw it has a lot of supported effects, and I really liked the sound I got.

There's good touch responsiveness on the higher gain tones

Overall, it is very impressive for its price
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Very versatile
Inarro, 01.07.2020
I played like 4-5 hours and I really like it. It is very versatile, you can get tones from warm clean to sharp metalcore and western blues to good lead tone.
Easy to control, loud and clear sound
Cons: for those sharp chuggy metal tones you need to spend some time adjusting if it's your first time.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Amazing!
cmdrum14, 27.02.2020
Super Amp really happy with it!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Boss Katana 100 MKII

£309
Free shipping incl. VAT
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-20
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Online Guides
Guitar Amps
Guitar Amps
The following pages give an overview of the various types of guitar amp available.
Online Guides
Amp Modeling
Amp Modeling
Amp modellers are guitar DSP effects units that emulate the sound of a range of amplifiers and speaker cabinets.
Online Guides
Guitar Setups
Guitar Setups
The range of available guitars and amps has never been greater than it is today, and a huge variety of sounds are easily accessible.
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
Recently Viewed
Novation Circuit Rhythm

Novation Circuit Rhythm; sampler / sequencer; 8 sample tracks with 32 step patterns each, cascadable for up to 256 steps per track; functions: slice, reverse, loop, chromatic play, probability and pattern-mutate; integrated effects such as lofi tape, shutter, reverb, delay…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Arturia Keystep 37 Black Edition

Arturia KeyStep 37 Black Edition; 37-key (slimkey) USB controller keyboard; velocity-sensitive mini-keys with aftertouch; 64-step sequencer; chord and scale functionality; arpeggiator; LED display; 4 freely assignable knobs; transport keys; touch stripes for pitch and modulation; RGB LED bar; connections: 3x…

5
(5)
Recently Viewed
SSL UC1

USB DAW Controller Plug-in controller with convenient mixer layout and legendary SSL workflow, 1:1 Hardware control for the included SSL plug-ins Channel Strip 2 and Bus Compressor 2, Visual feedback via LED rings on the knobs, Display for showing…

8
(8)
Recently Viewed
Harley Benton SC-550 II DFB

Harley Benton SC-550 II Desert Flame Burst; deluxe series; electric guitar; mahogany body (swietenia meliaceae) (weight relief chambered); arched & flamed AAA-maple top; set mahogany neck (swietenia macrophylla king); pau ferro fingerboard; 60`s neck profile; 305mm (12,00") fingerboard radius; 1th…

Recently Viewed
Fender SQ Aff. P Bass MN PJ PACK BK

Fender Squier Affinity P Bass MN PJ PACK Black; Electric Bass, Affinity Series; Body: Poplar; Neck: Maple; Neck Mount: Bolt On; Neck Form: c; Fingerboard: Maple; Inlays: Black Dots; 20 Medium Jumbo Frets; Nut: synthetic Bone; Nut Width: 41,3 mm…

Recently Viewed
J. Rockett Audio Designs Clockwork

J. Rockett Audio Designs Clockwork; Analogue stereo delay with switchable modulation; Designed in collaboration with Howard Davis (creator of the original "Deluxe Memory Man"); Classic analogue design with BBD chips; Tap-tempo control digital; Up to 600 ms delay time; Switchable…

Recently Viewed
Sennheiser CX True Wireless Black

Sennheiser CX True Wireless Black In-Ear headset headphone - 7 mm hight end drivers, bluetooth 5.2, up to 9 h running time, up to 27 h with charging case, SBC, AAC, aptX Codec compatible, 110 dB SPL (1 kHz /…

Recently Viewed
Soundbrenner Minuendo Lossless Earplugs

Soundbrenner Minuendo Lossless Earplugs; Earplugs with passive hi-fi filter - perfect for rehearsals, concerts and in any other noisy location; Continuously adjustable volume attenuation (-7db to - 25 db) without sound loss; Neutral and natural sound; Patented adjustable membrane for…

2
(2)
Recently Viewed
Harley Benton SC-550 II PAF

Harley Benton SC-550 II Paradise Amber Flame; deluxe series; electric guitar; mahogany body (swietenia meliaceae) (weight relief chambered); arched & flamed AAA-maple top; set mahogany neck (swietenia macrophylla king); pau ferro fingerboard; 60`s neck profile; 305mm (12,00") fingerboard radius; 1th…

Recently Viewed
Fender SQ Aff. P Bass PJ PACK 3-SB

Fender Squier Affinity P Bass PJ PACK 3-Color Sunburst; Electric Bass, Affinity Series; Body: Poplar; Neck: Maple; Neck Mount: Bolt On; Neck Form: C; Fingerboard: Laurel; Inlays: Pearloid Dots; 20 Medium Jumbo Frets; Nut: synthetic Bone; Nut Width: 41,3 mm…

Recently Viewed
KMA Audio Machines Tyler Deluxe Freq. Splitter

KMA Machines Tyler Deluxe Freq. Splitter; Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar & Bass; Two-Channel Signal Splitter with variable 12 dB/oct. Low/High-Pass roll-off, fully-isolated and transformer-based FX Loop Sends; variable Clean Blend and Mix controls allow for the perfect blend of…

Recently Viewed
Bowers & Wilkins PI 7 CG

Bowers & Wilkins PI 7 CG; In-Ear True Wireless headphones; true 24-bit Audio-connection; 2-way-driver design; high performance DSP; Bluetooth 5.0 with AptX Adaptive technology; adaptive, active Noise Cancelling (ANC); charge case with audio-transmission; wirelesse and USB-C charge; supports quick charge;…

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.