Boss DS-1 Distortion
£58
Including VAT; Excluding £8 shipping
In stock within 1-2 weeks
In stock within 1-2 weeks

This item is expected back in stock soon and can then be shipped immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
1
a
worthy of its reputation
anonymous-player 11.01.2020
I'll start by saying i'm an intermediate player and I have experience with Boss MT-2 as well, but now i'm working more on getting the exact tone and effect that I desire. This is where DS-1 comes into play.
PROs:
I wanted something simple and versatile, to be able to play blues and classic rock and some occasional heavy metal (maybe even thrash metal).
The pedal does the job for me and I highly recommend it for this purpose.
It has passed the test of time and is backed by many famous players: Steve Vai, Kurt Cobain, Gary Moore.
You can also find a lot of settings and mods available.

CONs:
Not sure if my high-output humbuckers are to blame (and also a lot of other reviews mention it), but at high tone, there is a lot of buzz - than can be used in some genres, but not useful when you want a mild distortion or a slight overdrive. But there are better pedals for that.

Conclusion?
Buy it, try it, learn to use it. It's a good basis to start for every player.
features
sound
quality
handling
1
0
Report

Report

A
Very good for the price
Anonymous 25.10.2014
Well to begin this pedal is a classic. Considering that is used by many professionals I am surprised that it is still so cheap unlike the Ibanez tube screamer for instance. The controls are similar to a tube screamer but the sound is very different in my opinion. I have managed to get very good tones for soloing straight away. The distortion knob is very very responsive. With the tone knob and a bit of eq from your amp you can get a wide range of distortions suitable for many genres. What I am very pleasantly surprised about is how good it works in conjunction with other distortion pedals and even the boost channel from my amp. You can play around a bit and get some interesting tones using two distortion pedals at once, or the ds-1 going through the dirty channel. You have to be careful with the amount of distortion coming from each source or it can sound very broken and lose all consistency.
Also the construction is very solid, like all Boss pedals made to last forever. All an all a good distortion pedal especially for rock in my opinion. I would recommend it.
features
sound
quality
handling
3
0
Report

Report

A
Brilliant for 90s grunge
Anonymous 26.04.2016
Use:
I use this pedal going straight into my Marshall dsl40c tube amp.

Pros:
-solid build quality
-creates a distortion sound which cannot be achieved with your amps dirty channel
-acts like a gritty overdrive when placed in front of an amp which is just on the edge of break-up
-placed in front of a very clean amp this pedal really shines, scoop the mids and add some bottom end to bring out the best in this pedal

Cons:
-the tone control has a limited range of usefulness and should only be used to compensate for your amps natural character (my amp is quite bright so I keep the tone control on the ds1 at 10 o' clock permanently, all tone shaping should be adjusted at the amp)

Overall:
This pedal is perfect for a dirty, grungy, hard-rock sound
features
sound
quality
handling
3
0
Report

Report

M
An unadulterated classic
MikeSavage 13.10.2020
The DS-1 doesn't really need an introduction. It is a basic, rugged, classic pedal from Boss. I believe identical to the one I had over 20 years ago that put up with quite a bit of abuse.
Rock solid build quality and that classic sound!
Sure, there are better, more specific, distortion pedals but this one deserves to be in everyones arsenal.
features
sound
quality
handling
0
0
Report

Report

Y
A classic to own
YertleTheTurtle 21.04.2021
I use this pedal with a Mex stratocaster and a Blackstar 3W mini amp.

Very straightforward pedal, without many features. So easy to parameter. I would say it is more fitted to hard rock than metal.

It is easy to handle and seems unbreakable.
features
sound
quality
handling
0
0
Report

Report

K
Kurt2 26.05.2021
One of the best distortion pedals!
Easy in use!
features
sound
quality
handling
0
0
Report

Report

B
DS 1
Barry4329 08.01.2015
Good old fashioned distortion. ...not quite as I remember it. ...a bit more clip than
I recall. Compliments an over driven amp beautifully though. A really simple pedal compared to what's out there in terms of fuzz and metal pedals but really enjoying getting back to crunch and basics. For 50 squid its a steal
features
sound
quality
handling
1
0
Report

Report

F
Does the job very good. It can make very awesome sounds
Ferre11 03.03.2020
i have been using the boss ds-1 pedal for a while now. First of I used it like a real heavy distortion pedal and now i use it just to kinda boost my amp with a bit of distortion. It just works great for the low price of the pedal.
if you are looking for a good 90's distortion pedal this is defenitely it. if you are looking for a soft distortion/boost it does the job but it isnt perfect.
features
sound
quality
handling
0
0
Report

Report

A
Great pedal to begin with!
Anonymous 22.09.2014
Boss are very famous for their unexpensive pedals and with all the right they are. This is one of the best examples of that and it is a great distortion pedal to start with. Very sound rich.
features
sound
quality
handling
1
0
Report

Report

N
Edgy Distortion
Nowayout 17.05.2020
it has the rock/grunge sound. Not quite sure if it works well for middle and lower frequency ranges for genres such as thrash or death metal. It looks, good, but it doesn't feel like the one I had 25 years ago the classic piece from that era, probably because the manufacturer maybe has been changed to Taiwan. Also, I changed three new batteries to see the "light" flashing and still is not turning on. When I plug it in 9V adapter then Yes! But I still remember my old distortion which was exactly the same , the light was always on. Well it worths the try though and i am still trying to figure out if the light is this way or the batteries go weak very soon, I don't know. The sound depends on what you wanna play is ok,not bad,not perfect .
features
sound
quality
handling
0
0
Report

Report

Boss DS-1 Distortion