Customer center login

beyerdynamic M201TG

193 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.8 /5
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
features
sound
quality
Great mic!
Thobias, 14.10.2019
Love this mic. Bought it together with a pair of MC-930. Prefer it on electric guitars (in combination with a Royer R121 for example), but also acoustic guitars if you push the preamp hard enough. Sounds as good as the MC-930 when set up properly , with less room ambiance of course and a more 'intimate' experience. Depends on the sound you are looking for. Also great on percussion or anything you would use a SM57 for. SM57 has more mids, sounds more compressed. M201TG a little bit more open. Modern, but very honest sound. Very natural. Love it!
PRO: just a great mic!
CONS: none
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
A quality mic especially for recording snare drums
Matti2056, 08.02.2014
The mic is well packed, well manufactured and stylish. It looks and feels very professional.

I have been using the Beyerdynamic M201TG as snare mic in my studio. Being a hypercardioid mic the M201TG has tight polar pattern meaning it won't catch other sound sources from the sides. This is a major problem when recording snare drums - the hihat usually leaks too much to snare track. The M201TG sorts that problem out better than the usual Shure SM57. It sounds also brighter without being harsh. I haven't spotted any exaggerated frequencies or sound problems. It just gives a good pro sound and with carefull mic placement no eq is needed. There is no hum or any noise. Its small size is a big plus!

If you want a better mic than the SM 57 with just bit more money, get this one!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
New Favorite!
Hammock, 27.07.2021
This microphone is now 95% on the snare drum during the recording sessions. It can handle very high SPL, so it does not require any attenuation pad. The sound is amazing, as well as the rejection. The build quality is top-notch. Amazing microphone!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Improvement over the SM57
Branimir Bozak, 13.11.2018
I use it primarily on snare top, and it delivers much more details than the 57 or the i5, much nicer highs too.

Excellent side rejection, I think it's even hypercardiod, which makes it really pointy. The hihat bleed is minimal and sounds good too!
Easy to position, and it's not too bulky.

Solid, sturdy feel, robust microphone. Highly recommended!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Oh lord, the best dynamic mic there is!
thiagoscp, 16.10.2020
This m201 and its cousin, the m88, are the best dynamic mics you can find. They are heavy, sturdy, they sound great in every source you can imagine. I have two m88s and one m201, I regret I didn't get two m201, but I'll fix that soon. m88s are better on deep voices, brass, bass guitar, toms, kick. m201s are better on sharp voices, on steel guitars, on guitar amps, on harmonica, snares.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
why the nickname, 15.02.2021
I have bought a total of 5 of these microphones. Just like the old ones I have, these sound very good. But sadly two of the new microphones have stopped working after only two years. (just past the warranty...) They have never been mistreated, and despite regular use they still look like new. Buying replacement capsules trough Thomann would cost almost as much as the complete microphone!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Best dynamic microphone for a reason
Owlmostsibilant, 01.05.2021
This blows the shure sm57 out of the water, in my opinion it's way better than the shure SM7B for spoken word once you pair it with the Shure A81WS windscreen.
Unfortunately it's also about as quiet as the SM7B, so you will have to have very good/amazing preamps!
I had to return mine because my preamps are a bit lacking but I'll probably repurchase it once I get a better interface.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Good mic
amiko, 15.08.2017
Universal mic for recording. So far I've used this in two recording sessions. I feel this is more natural sounding than an Shure SM57, and because this has a different pickup pattern, you can get a better isolation of hi-hat from a snare track. Good for electric guitars too. Seek out the best location in front of a guitar amp speaker and you will be rewarded.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
A pretty smooth dynamic mic
bleyrad, 23.04.2021
Note that it's a bit bulkier than it looks in photos. Can be hard to maneuver around a drum kit.
The sound is smooth for a dynamic mic, with a more open top end than the usual suspects. The supercardioid pattern is fairly well-controlled and rejects well from the side. Still, don't expect condenser performance; if used at a distance from the source, the sound is much grainier and the room acoustics much less smooth than any condenser, of course. Makes quite a good instrument mic when used close up though.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Perfect for saxophone!
funkysoulmate, 01.02.2021
This is a sturdy dynamic mic I use for saxophone, I stumbled upon this brand through a web site. It states that the frequency response is very neutral. Fantastic from Baritone to soprano. It doesn't have that 6 kHz boost that the SM57 has. So very pleased with it. And it's a TG (tour gear) and is supposed to withstand the environment of the band stage.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great mic, excellent SPL and HF detail
19.12.2015
The Beyer M201 is considered the fancyman's SM57. And for good reason - flatter response, extremely high SPL output, hypercardiod pattern. It's a no brainer on snare drums, sounds great. You can get further back for a more natural tone and the rejection is comparable to cardioid mics.

It sounds good on most things, to be honest, but there are pros and cons - especially if this is your first hypercardioid microphone. It can sound great on vocals or acoustic guitar, but they have to keep still or there needs to be some extra distance. If you have a female vocalist, give it a shot, but if she's a dancer forget about it.

The small diapraghm also means it's very prone to plosives and the proximity effect can be quite severe. Pop shields are your friend!

It's also not a mic to be used around careless drummers. I've more than 1 friend who put one too close to a snare and had a drummer cave the capsule in with a single hit., so be careful.

Overall a great mic, that will serve you well if give the treatment it deserves.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Beyer M201
19.11.2014
I bought this microphone to help record a drum kit. I used it to mike the snare drum, and as this mic has excellent rejection of sound from the sides it was really helpful in filtering out the hihiats.

The sound was full and snappy, without being too brittle.

It's also come in really useful for acoustic guitar and guitar cabs.

It's a little basic, offering only one pickup pattern, but it performs its intended function REALLY well.

Recommended.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
All Around GREAT microphone
Rafa M, 12.09.2021
If you like the Shure SM57, then you will love the M201. Like the 57 it's a microphone with endless possibilities, but in my opinion sounds much better then the SM57! Great for both studio and live use on percussion, horns (brass), snare, guitar amps etc. Like the 57, the M201 is built like a tank, built to last forever. Highly recommended!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Love it
adomaslt, 29.05.2021
A great sub For the SM57. A different sound. Great on guitars, snare.. you name it. A workhorse.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great dynamic mic
Malarchist, 23.05.2013
I bought this after an engineer used one on my Maccaferri style guitar at a gig. I was immediately impressed by its transparency, clarity and feedback rejection on what is a very resonant guitar. Since then I've been gigging with it for both acoustic and electric guitars.
We've also used several for mic-ing up toms on the latest RSVP Bhangra album with very satisfying results. It's a good all rounder with excellent build quality - think of it as an SM 57 with a heap more class and you won't go far wrong.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Awesome Microphone!
Arthur99, 08.05.2019
This mic sounds great on many sources!
I've used them for snare, toms, overheads and guitar amps, they sounded great on everything.
Once you have used an M201TG on a guitar amp you won't be going back to an SM57.
Next to the sound quality, the build quality is also magnificent.
The little windscreen is a nice bonus.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
this mic is a great snare
petrr, 14.12.2020
I bought this microphone on the advice of a friend for use on hi-hat. When I got it, I tried it on a drum kit recording. On the snare drum, I liked it better. The sound without additional processing turned out to be punchy in the mix (I always liked this one). Now I use it not only for recording but also in live performances in the position of the snare drum on top.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Versatile dynamic microphone
04.03.2017
The sound colour of this microphone is pleasing. Off axis response appears relatively neutral - I do not hear congestion around the microphone. The sound is "up front" - my particular M201TG is mid forward.

I primarily use this on the snare drum. The microphone comes with a frequency response graph particular to your microphone. I have not used another M201 so I cannot compare the consistency between them.

The body is solid and I am confident with the build of the microphone: if a drummer accidentally hits it, I think they may break the tip of their stick.

My M201TG came with a pop filter, zip case bag, microphone clip, manual, individual frequency response graph, all enclosed within a cardboard box. It has worked great on some sources, good on most sources, and so far, it has never been outright wrong on any source.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Boom! Big snare!
TouchTimeRecords, 20.10.2020
I will only say that after trying this mic, I sold my SM-57 and I will never again use it on snare drum.
The M201TG has great response and will give you a big fat punchy sound to your snare drum. I used it for quite a few recordings and also live, and I love it.

A combination I particularly like is this one on top of the snare, and a Sontronics DM1S below.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
my 1st choice for snare drum!
adroit, 02.04.2020
Precise, open snare sound, full of transients, punchy but natural.
Small but built like a tank.
If placed properly, nicely rejects other drums' sounds.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great and versatile, need I say more?
fcnr, 10.09.2019
Excelent snare drum microphone , has left a good impression on my mixing and a fair amount of technicians I've worked with on the road. Notably linear particularly on the midrange, which favours coated snares and has a slight presence around 6K, without being too bright, fear not, to an extent that it keys well with the snare beat.
Great for clean, steel string, pretty-like guitars and also an ideal choice for loud amps.
Heavier than it looks.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great on snare drum
denboard, 20.11.2018
robust mic ideal for snare and percussion.
Slightly warmer en deeper sound than sm 57.
Classic mic !
you can buy this with your eyes closed ;-)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Solid, great sounding snare mic
Michael8389, 18.08.2015
I purchased this mic for my snare drum, primarily for live situations but has been used with my home recording setup. In both settings the mic has been great, capturing the sound well. Side by side with an sm57, I felt the m201 had a clearer sound. The metal body stands up well to transport and the odd accidental stick hit too. No complaints or regrets, this mic has a reputation as one of the best snare drum mics and i am happy with mine.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
great alternative to Shure SM57
Frank1175, 17.10.2016
Love this Beyer m201 on snaredrum. Especially when I use a pair of Coles 4038 on overheads this mic on snare is a great combo! Also works really well on toms and electric guitar cabs (with a ribbon mic next to it)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
great mic
29.08.2014
They say you can put an sm57 to any instrument and it will deliver a good sound you can work with. You may consider m201tg as beyerdynamics version of sm57 although its character could not be more different. m201tg sounds rich, smooth and warm. Very pleasant in one word. I love to use it mixing live sound on flutes, clarinets, acoustic guitars and any kind of acoustic instruments that need close miking. It will also work great on snare drum but its sound is very specific some love it, some not - its up to you to decide. m201tg pickup pattern is very wide but surprisingly it is very resistant to feedback. m201tg will cost you almost double the price of sm57 but it is money well spent.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

beyerdynamic M201TG

£179
Free shipping incl. VAT
Available shortly (2-5 days)
Available shortly (2-5 days)

This item has been ordered with our suppliers and should be in our warehouse in the next few days.

Standard Delivery Times
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Phone: +49-9546-9223-34
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Phone: +49-9546-9223-35
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24