Customer center login

beyerdynamic DT-990 Pro

1856 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.8 /5
  • sound
  • comfort
  • quality
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Almost perfect
125000, 18.02.2018
I bought these, the dt-880 (600ohm) and the hd-650.
And I'll quickly write why I picked the 990's over the others.

Comfort:
The dt-880's were amazing, so comfortable, perfect in my opinion.
While the 990's are really similar, they are tighter on the ears, and I don't like that at all, but they are still quite comfortable.
And the hd-650? They clamp like crazy, I couldn't wear these for over 10 minutes, really uncomfortable.

Sound:
Now this category is objective af, you have been warned.
I used the LP-phone-amp-g103 to drive all of these headphones so there shouldn't be any issues with the amp.
With that out of the way, lets start with the headphones that really disappointed me.
The 880's had a really lackluster low end, you could say non existing, and with basically no bass it was just a clear no for me and I didn't bother any further with them.
The hd-650 sounded like the 990's if someone put an equalizer on them that turned down every frequency past 3khz down 3-6db.
They sounded muddy in my opinion, especially compared to the dt-990's.
With that being said, I love the by some considered sharp highs of the dt-990's, everything sounds crystal clear, not "muddy" or "washed out". I listen to a lot of vocals so that's a must for me. But as I said, it ain't for everybody since some might say the highs are over saturated, and they are, but it sounds nice. It's something I'm looking for in headphones, are you looking for that? If not steer away from these headphones. Cons: they might be too sharp for some and too tiring if used in long sessions. Other cons are the fact that you can really hear if a song is mixed/mastered like shit, you can hear everything. I'm not gonna say sh*t like :"you suddenly hear instruments that you previously didn't hear" if you suddenly heard an instrument that you didn't hear before on decent headphones that's on you. But you definitely hear if someone didn't bother cleaning up the samples he used in his song, and you might need different headphones or speakers to enioy songs that are badly mixed.

price/performance: 10/10, I mean ¤140 for these is a steal, you don't get better audio quality for that price, but you probably gonna need a headphone amp as for almost all 250+ ohm headphones.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Great value open-back with well-balanced sound
Enriconism, 24.07.2021
I'm happy with this purchase! I'm not exactly an audiophile, but play and listen to a lot of music and do a small amount mixing / production. My previous headphones were good but exaggerated the bass. I also wanted open-back cups for comfort in long sessions.

These sound clear from low to high volume, and have a very neutral EQ response - I immediately could tell why I had trouble mixing music to sound good both on my old headphones and speakers. With these, the response is much more level and "true".

I am very happy using these when playing a digital piano, again with responsive sound and wide feeling stereo. A bonus using open-back is that when I sing while playing piano with headphones (or just talking in general) it now feels really natural, without that "underwater" voice resonance sensation of closed headphones.

The comfort is very good overall. Cups are large and well padded and easily fit over my ears - no pressure points or discomfort after hours of continuous use, even while wearing glasses. The open back allows to hear the environment around me and prevents hot or "pressured" environment for the ears.

Build quality is good overall, but there are a few edges on the metal and plastic that could be smoother. The metal frame is quite stiff, so it takes two hands to adjust the height of each cup (at least they stay in place!). It's also not possible to adjust the clamping strength of the frame - for me luckily it is a good fit.

I like the long cable with provided jack adapter. It is flexible and light, and can easily span several meters. The coil returns to shape well and does not pull or weigh heavily.

As you would expect, these headphones are not sound-isolating, so you shouldn't use these in a noisy environment. However, the sound does not leak out too strongly. Listening at a reasonable volume, it should not disturb someone sitting next to you. When recording vocals, I have had no issue with "monitor feedback" leaking from the headphones to the mic.

They have held up well over a few months of use now, still seems as new.

PROS
- Great value
- Clean sound with clear frequency response
- Nice size and padding of cups
- Long and light cable
- 6.3 and 3.5mm support

CONS
- Stiff frame with somewhat limited movement or adjustment range
- Cable is fixed to the headphones (understandable at this price point but a detachable / replaceable cable attachment would always be a plus for me)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Great for the price but needs some tuning
Braddie, 25.08.2020
Let me preface by saying that I'm mostly and IEM guy due to the detail they can provide. However, my best IEM has been the Xiaomi Hybrid Pro HD. Despite not being a bass head I do think that bass is the base in music and usually provides the "body" of a song and is what adds energy to a song. I love being able to hear every single detail in a song as well. A tall order for 115 euro headphones I'm sure. I usually listen to (pop) punk, hardcore, hiphop and jazz and I also bought these for gaming. I tried on a ton of other headphones before trying these so I'll give you an overview of those quickly:

Sony MDR 7506: Not sure what the hype is about, these sounded so bad for me. Analytical but it hurt my ears listening to songs and didn't make for an enjoyable experience
Shure SRH 840: Ok but a bit muddy, also didn't like it that much, sounded worse than my Logitech G430 in my opinion.
AKG K245: These didn't sound too bad. Good bass and mids, highs sounded a bit harsh to me but so did most headsets. Probably the closest to the DT 990 Pro
AKG K275: Absolute trash. Don't even try it. I've seen some good reviews but wow this thing hurt my ears and was not fun to listen to at all.
AKG K361: Not bad but I didn't like the sound signature. Focused more towards vocals. I'd say between the K245 and K361 I'd go for the K245 which has a somewhat warmer sound
Audio Technica ATH-M40X: The sound was good, I preferred it over the M50X which sounded a bit more muddy to me. Build quality is really meh and comfort wise also not the best
Audio Technica ATH-M50X: Marginally better built than the M40x but didn't like the sound as much. Definitely warmer than the M40x, closer to the AKG K245 I'd say.
Audio Technica ATH-M60X: Really good sound for closed backs but the earpads were a bit on the small side. My ears barely fit inside and I can imagine these to be more like on-ears for some people.
Beyer Dynamics DT-770 Pro: Oh wow what a mess. I tried all the different versions and they all sounded like complete crap. Highs were piercing and the bass felt like it was all over the place and recessed. Definitely not a good experience. Would rate these like the AKG K275, terrible and I don't really see what the hype is about.
Beyer Dynamics DT-880 Pro: Overall good sounding headphones, pretty neutral but with a good tone. These sound similar to the DT-990 Pro but a bit warmer.
Sony Fidelio X2HR: Comfortable for my head but they sounded pretty muffled to me. I'd compare them to my cheap 5 euro pair of Xiaomi Piston which has a V-shape. The bass on these is a bit clearer but it's not something I'd listen to analytically. Good for hiphop but ultimately expensive for what they offer.

Beyer Dynamics DT-990 Pro/Edition: Wow, the only pair of headphones I tried on today which I wanted to take home with me. Sound wise nothing came close. Sound stage is wide (though I've heard wider) and imaging is good, it felt like I was at the performance. Bass is really good and detailed with some deep extension, but it's not loud. I don't know how to explain it properly but . Highs were crisp and detailed, not fatiguing at all. Mids were definitely recessed but nothing an EQ couldn't handle. I didn't find the highs piercing at all compared to most other headphones I tried but high hats kinda sound fatiguing. These headphones are good enough to pick up badly mastered songs.

Another user here described the sound as "but in absolute terms the sound is at best muffled -- thin, lacking in clarity, transient response and bass" and I do kind of agree with the headphones sounding a bit thin and veiled. In the first week I thought "wow yeah I can hear mostly every detail, even in the bass, but I'm not really having fun listening to my songs. It was lacking body/power in the bass. Yesterday I messed around with my PEACE EQ, added around 7dB to 39hz and 4dB to 78hz (with -3dB on the pre-amp), slightly lowered the highs and added a tiny bit of mids and WOW do these things come alive. The bass feels like a proper closed back now and I had so much fun listening to my songs that I stayed up until 05:00 in the morning just listening to my favorite songs. It's amazing for the genres I listen to and really shines with Jazz and hiphop now. After these EQ changes it also meant that I could listen at lower volumes because I wasn't chasing the bass and in turn made the sound less fatiguing. These can be driven by an iPhone 6S but it's not as good as using a dedicated dac/amp. I drive these with a Scarlett 2i2 2nd Gen.

Build quility wise the only thing that worries me about the Beyer Dynamics are the plastic sliders for head adjustment and no removable cable. Every Beyerdynamic in the store had cracked sliders. They're cheap to replace but still not the best design obviously. Comfort wise the Fidelio X2HR and the DT880 and DT990 Edition were better but these are a close 2nd. Clamping force is somewhat high but the pads are super comfortable (though my ears do touch the driver side). The coiled cable is heavy but feels sturdy enough.

Conclusion: Good headphones but need some EQ work to reach their full potential. If you need something for home use in the €50-€200 range I wouldn't hesitate to go for these over any of the other options, otherwise I'd recommend the Audio Technica ATH-M60X.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Parfait pour l'edit et l'aide au mix
Bert Werbrouck, 21.06.2021
Les plus:
- Très bonne qualité de fabrication, comme d'habitude avec les casques Beyer.
- Très confortable pour les longues sessions, ce qui est très important
- Pas trop difficile à "driver". Même s'il est en 250 ohms, c'est ok sur ma scarlett 18i8 ainsi que sur la sortie casque de mon portable récent mais moyenne gamme. Pratique aussi pour les longues formations en distanciel (le côté ouvert du casque rend le tout hyper confortable)
- Peu flatteur, détaillé et précis, ce qui est clairement ce que j'attendais. Je l'utilise le plus pour des edit de pistes et il est vraiment pratique pour vérifier qu'il n'y ait pas de pops, clics, que les fades soient naturels lorsqu'on cleane les pistes, etc. Il doit aussi avoir des avantages au niveau du mix (pour certaines applications) et même de la prise, si vous utilisez des dynamiques peu sensibles sur une voix par exemple (ce n'est pas recommandé mais la repisse serait très faible et ça peut mettre à l'aise les chanteurs.euses qui n'ont pas l'habitude de chanter avec un casque fermé).

Les moins:
- ... son côté peu flatteur et précis. C'est pas un casque "plaisir". On retrouve la signature typique des casques beyer, avec peu être un côté un peu plus "bright": extension dans les basses généreuse, médiums très légèrement creusés, aigus hyper détaillés. Perso, j'adore.
- Le cable attaché... mais tout est remplaçable (en ce compris le cable) donc ce n'est pas trop un souci
- Le soundstage est toujours aussi impressionnant que sur mes DT770 mais pour un casque ouvert je m'attendais à un changement un peu plus net. C'est peut-être une question d'habitude... ou juste que les DT770 sont très impressionnants de ce point de vue pour des casques fermés.

En résumé: c'est fiable, précis, solide et pas trop cher donc si vous voulez un casque ouvert, foncez
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Quality for a normal consumer
Ine V, 11.01.2021
I've had quite a few headphones over the years for computer usage (Netflix, Youtube and gaming and of course since this year Zoom calls). When my last pair broke because of poor building quality I just decided I needed a more decent pair. Also I wanted to use them for more quiet bass sessions. I never had a pair that could actually handle the sound of my bass well. So I figured, Studio headphones should do.

And well they do. I use them daily for the computer usage I described earlier. For a while I took them to school which they handled perfectly. They're sturdy with a metal frame but just light enough that long time wearing is still comfortable.

Now that I'm wearing these headphones for 6-8 hours a day I do begin to notice the weight but it is not neccesarely disturbing.
So when talking about the sound quality of these. I can only say one thing: it's amazing! The open back produces a very open and light sound. The lower sounds still comes through very well. Even with the open back sound still sounds emerging. It is also nice to be able to hear yourself talking while wearing them on calls. It pairs perfectly with every device I tried to plug it into. As a result I use them for nearly anything.

As for the durability I cannot say much since I've only had them for about 9 months. But they've fallen of my desk a few times and have been carried in my filled backpack (in the sleeve included). But they hold pretty well in normal envoirments with a normal user.

To summarize: I am in love with these headphones because of the sound quality as well as the building quality and ability carry it with you. They're adjustable and comfortable for daily usage. For the price of 120 euros that's all I could ever wish for.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Nothing quite like a Beyerdynamic
Atlesque, 12.09.2021
I remember 10 years ago I put on my first DT-990 and I've never wanted any other headphones. They sit incredibly comfortably, even for hours upon hours of use. The quality of the air cushions, the headband and the cable are all top notch. I've tried headphones 10 times the price and they still used cheap plastics and cushions that fell apart after a mere year of use. Not so with these cans. My last pair would've lasted my a decade had I not made the stupid mistake of sleeping in them (protip: don't. They are very comfortable, but the cable can break when abused by sleeping with your weight on it). Oh, and the sound! The headroom is insane. Even better than some of Beyerdynamic's higher end cans! The only pair of studio headphones you'll ever need!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Astoundingly Good
Purchaser, 29.04.2021
The first time I used them to work on a track, it was late at night and I had no option to mix on the monitors, so I figured I'd do what I could with the arrangement and then fix the shortcomings in the mix on the monitors the next day.

The next day, there **were** no shortcomings in the mix and I wasted a lot of time muting and soloi-ng sounds to try and track down where I'd got the balance wrong the previous evening, because they were so well mixed that I couldn't tell if the reason I couldn't pick them out from the others was because they were perfectly balanced or because one of them was too quiet/loud (they all just blended so seamlessly that certain sounds were only what they were because the whole was greater than the sum of the parts)..

I use Yamaha HS8 monitors so, if there's anything wrong with a mix, I'm **going** to hear it: I got them precisely **because** they're so unforgiving (if you can make your mix sound good on them, it won't simply sound good on anything but **everything** else).. So that gives you some idea of the performance of the DT 990 Pros!

The only negative concerns comfort: after a couple of hours, they definitely feel a bit tight below the ear and no amount of repositioning (or even loosening) changes that. After a couple of hours it's more than time to give your ears a rest anyway, but the DT 990 Pros aren't any more comfortable when you put them back on an hour later - something about the grip just has a lasting impact, it seems. They're not painful to wear for long periods and the discomfort is only a minor irritation, but you might notice some nevertheless.

For the price, therefore, some minor discomfort after prolonged use aside, the DT 990 Pro headphones are astounding; I expected them to be okay, workmanlike and 'good enough', but nowhere near as good as they are - not only would but will buy again.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Aleksey Alekseev, 29.06.2020
I have long dreamed about such headphones (beyerdynamic DT-990 Pro) and here it is - done! Headphones came to Russia very quickly. Everything is carefully packed! It can be seen that the team of masters is working! The assembly is very high quality and strong, but if you have something broken from the parts of the headphones, you can buy it separately! Headphones delight me every day! I use them to mix music and just listen to good music in great headphones. When I put them on my head. I don’t feel them at all!
You will have to get used to the wire in the form of a spiral. In fact, it is long, but twisted into a spiral - it is not always convenient, but it’s nothing!
The sound is great! The store is super! Soon I will buy Cubase Pro 10.5 and studio monitors, wait for me to shop;)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
A versatile pair of headphones
Sashiimi, 14.12.2020
I use this mainly for gaming and do music production on the side.

I decided to get these since I had a cheaper pair of very good sound headphones that were not comfortable at all.

These ones, on the comfort are exceptionally good. I use them, sometimes, up to 16/18 hours in a single day with barely any strain (though, to be fair, you obviously start getting uncomfortable after that many hours). But the key point is, I noticed that my headaches reduced significantly since buying these headphones.

Sound quality wise they are amazing. Sounds are clear and distinct, with a good and wide soundstage due to their open nature. This is good for spatial awareness in music and gaming as well. One downside of this is, when doing home office in calls / recording voice, you can get quite a bit of noise bleed into the microphone, which is something to be aware of.

This is then, very suitable to use in quieter environments but not so much on the opposite since you will hear everything outside of your computer and they will hear what you're hearing as well.

One remark that I have are the pads, which are getting in the flatter side after roughly six months of use. For this reason, I intend to buy new pads and wash these ones properly, to see if they regain their fluffiness. Though, to be fair, please don't forget about the long usages that I have with these guys.

Thoroughly impressed.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Shocking good sound quality for the price point!
Blackwatch, 16.01.2020
Rather exciting piece of headphones!
Although they have advertised 250 Ohms impedance you average smartphone can drive them pretty well to painfully strong sound pressure level. The caveat however is that if you pair them with a simple amplifier you will unleash the beast <1KHz. I was pleasantly surprised when I first tried them on my phone, then thrilled on my audio interface Komplete 2, finally the HA4 "KOMPLETED" the circle of audio pleasure. I compared them directly to Custom One Pros, Marshall Major and K-701 all four driven from the same source - Komplete 2 + HA4. I equalised the volume to the best of my perception and the DT 990s wiped the the floor with the competition.

Sound: 5 stars - NO DOUBT ABOUT! (Metal, rock, classical music listener here)
Comfort: 5 stars - Pretty fluffy ear cups. I wear glasses and my deal breaker is that the headphones do not press my ears too hard against the frame of the glasses. I do however fear that during summer the ear cups will be a bit too warm.
Quality: 4 stars - Overall pretty solid BQ. I do not like the way that metal brackets on both sides are attached to the head band (Mechatronics engineer's inner voice says - FLIMSAAY!). Luckily ALL parts can be ordered as spares from beyer when they break. I am also not of fan of the fixed cable... that should've been a detachable 3.5mm jack like many other less expensive headphones. The cable itself is a bit of overkill sized gauge telephone coil. It is massively thick and heavy and absolutely not portable. It's not a big problem for stationary setups but please take in into account for portable intentions - they are not.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
DT-990
Will F., 03.12.2013
I bought the 250 ohm version of these headphones and they work out of my laptop's headphone port.

These headphones are light as a feather and are incredibly comfortable. They are able. The frequency response is very even except towards the higher limits of human hearing.

remember that these headphones are meant to be light-weight for a reason. THey are intended for studio use and are meant to be taken care of.

Therefor, I will warn you that these headphones are not durable and are not meant to be abused beyond their intended use. If you are looking for more durable headphones that can take more abuse, with a decent response, you may want to check out the ATH-M50's. However, those are significantly heavier.

As far as frequency response goes and pleasurable listening. These headphones are well priced. There are better headphones even by this same company. However, it seems that at this price, these have better performance per unit currency.

Bottom line is, you are not going to find a perfect headphone for every application. So, make a choice. If you are looking for headphones for monitoring, mixing, general indoor listening, studio use then I highly suggest these.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Can't say anything bad
Kerebron, 12.08.2021
I don't have experience in studio headphoes. I use them along with Scarlet Solo audio interface for practising guitar and for liistening music. They are very comfy, but if you listen something loud or very loud, because these headphones are not closed, people in the same room will hear a lot of what you hear. But from the other hand listening music with them gives you feeling of more space'y sound(?). I really like them.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Studio classic work
Ranet, 10.07.2021
It is difficult for me to imagine that you can get buy headphones better for this money. The perfect option for budget studios. In these headphones I did, testing tracks and even mastering. And when, I listened to the track in the car, in the hall, in a special room or on the phone, - I, I received the balance of the sound that I need!
Sufficient detail for the production studios, for the information of the demo records, for field work.
It's hard to imagine that someone can regret this purchase!)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Everyone told me to buy those and I am not disappointed!
Pania, 17.05.2021
I am very new to recording my own music and I needed some headphones for creating songs at home. When I was looking for headphones for this purpose I asked around and got recommended beyerdynamic. I decided to buy the DT 990 PRO and I am very happy with my choice!

The sound is very clean and balanced and when I listened to song that I know very well, I could hear things which I never noticed before which was a very nice experience!

For my head the headphones are a little big but they still are very comfortable even when I wear them for many hours. I really like the very soft inside. Only negative point would be that the cable is quite heavy and can be in the way when dancing ;-)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Excellent, naturalistic, non-fatiguing sound
Han-earl, 22.04.2020
I use these as a second pair for mixing, and for listening back to the master. These headphones have an excellent, naturalistic, non-fatiguing sound. So convincing that I have on one occasion forgotten that I was not listening through monitors (I accidentally walked away from my desk with the headphones still on my head).

Good for the initial mix, and for getting a good overview and sense of balance of the mix, but I suggest you may go elsewhere for surgical work. I prefer something like the Sony MDR-7506 for its ability to highlight the ugly, mid and high frequency range. Of course, being open-back, the spill means I would not recommended it for tracking.

Heavier than average, but the headband is comfortable; not being too tight while still secure over your head. Certainly more comfortable than the Sennheiser HD-25. Ear pads are a velour material which, while not exactly making for a sweat-free experience, at least isn't vinyl or fake-leather. I wouldn't like to use these in high-temperature, high-humidity environments, but I don't know of any headphones I would like to use in those conditions.

While the construction is a mix of plastic and metal, the only part that feel flimsy are the plastic ear cups, and not the first area that I would expect to get damaged physically.

Concerns? Cable noise does transfer to the earpads. And the tight, short coiled cable may or may not suite you (the weight of the cable is not insignificant on your head especially as it's only on attached on the left side). With an impedance of 250 Ohm, just make sure you are feeding it from a source with enough drive (for reference, my phone would not drive it, but, surprisingly, my old laptop has no problem with it). You should not, however, have any issues with most mixers or audio interfaces.

At this price point, I'm can't think of a better sounding pair of open-back headphones. Recommended for mixing and listening.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Price/Quality meets the expectations
Jack Headphone, 12.08.2021
I guess the sound can always be better. Little minus from not detachable cable.

If you wonder if 250oHm can be used without a preamp with iPhone or macbook pro, that's no problem. You get enough volume and a pleasant listening experience. When working on audio, it's good to have preamp to have full accuracy
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Best way to hear what you play
Prucha, 14.08.2021
I think this is the best from the cheapest headphones for guitarists who want to hear true sound of their instruments. These headphones dont draw sound, only give you what you play, and what your preset makes. Very useful tool for songwrighting.
But its not comfortable enough to work for hours(
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Studio quality headphones
Dunderklumpen, 05.02.2021
I use these in my studio for mixing and have spent many hours listening to music in the DT-990's. I use headphones all the time professionally as well as privately (have used Sony, AKG, Sennheiser on different occasions) and these have become my go-to's.

I really like the soundstage and the fairly linear response they give. I'm sure there are more "hi-fi" and audiophile worthy headphones available - but the DT-990's give a good frequency representation and seems to produce reasonable mixes for me. As with any pair of headphones you need to get used to them and reference other sources as well to calibrate your mix output.

Compared to the DT-770 (closed back version) they obviously open up and allow for a lot more "air" and transient response. But the open back construction also make them unsuitable to track music since they bleed the sound into the environment.

Comfort is ok. The ear pads are soft enough and they fit nicely around my (I guess normal sized) ears. But I have yet to wear any headphones that doesn't tire your ears after prolonged wear. It's just a fact of life.

Why only 4 stars for comfort? My only gripe with these is the stupid coiled cable which is a nuisance as it tends to pull at my head no matter how I set it up. A much better option would be the straight cable which I have on the DT-770's.

The Beyerdynamic DT-990's are sturdy and built for professional use. Most importantly, spare cables and pads are available.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
They're Good
Alex Pintinho, 18.12.2020
They are a good pair of headphones, I recommend. Open sound and a lot of detail. I use headphones 99% of the time, when mixing and mastering and they do just fine.

I had a bit of an issue with my left speaker, it rattles a bit sometimes, and it is always the left channel, so I assume they came faulty, Thomman was able to replace them. Now I have an issue with the headphone jack, it is a bit dented, I must have moved away with the headphones on and damaged it. Probably my fault but as I said I always work with headphones for about 20 years now and this never happened to me before.

But I have to say that I am happy with them overall, they have a good sound and I am happy to work with them.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Amazing
The real Herzog, 31.08.2020
I have a home "studio" in the living room therefore my room isnt suited for serious mixing or mastering work and I went with this headphones for serious checks and detailed sound design. Well, they are amazing. I dont have any experience with proper headphones as these are my first but the clarity of sound and the stereo image I get with them are simply amazing. It feels like the sound is coming from all around me and behind me...great stuff really. I can already see the difference in my production sound wise. The low end is also nice and clear. I would only mention, since I read before buying that people said they can work for hours and hours with them, I can't. After 1,max 2h they feel a bit heavy on my ears and head. But in the end I take that as a reminder to make breaks...
I strongly recommend to anyone that cant afford to blast their speakers or doesnt have the budget for proper speakers. I would compare this to Adams speakers for clarity for sure. Anything below that the headphones can top it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Goodwilly, 25.03.2021
First in first I tried them for mixing and ... sorry Bayedynamic, but they are absolutely unbalanced in region of "S" sounds (5-8 kHz), so sounds to harsh and prickly in this area. Low frequecies are strong and little undetailed. Stereo scene is not as big as in AKG k702, but still big enough to listen to music of any genre.
DT990 is a very good headphone in this price range and their popularity is absolutely understandable, but for mixing/mastering ... they are far away from reference type of headphone.
For any other purpose U can find frequency response they reproduce is fantastic, so just try it and judge them in Urself!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Just right
Angel Angeles III, 26.03.2021
I'm using this for mixing and mastering. It's just got a very clear sound to it and very honest. Very good sound stage and natural sound. It won't replace my monitors but it's a good pair of cans.

Be mindful that the coiled cable is unremovable. If you're gonna move side to side on a big desk, this pair might not be for you.

The box though... when it arrived at home it's a little mangled already and the headphones inside was already loose. Thankfully the product has not got a single scratch. I think Thomann can do a better job at shipping this particular product.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
1 cm short of perfection
Nänad , 04.01.2021
I bought them and used them with Scarlett 2i4 and Clarett 8 Pre USB. In both cases DT-990 Pro work perfectly, and for 250 Ohm headphones, they are actually not that quiet. They work in both scenarios. Even with my Samsung phone, I can still use them, but probably not on a bus or at the train station.

If I remember correctly, one high quality 1/4 to 1/8 inch adapter is also shipped with them, and there is a black bag that can be used to pack them and shield them from the dust, scratches during the transport etc.

However, for a 190 cm tall guy, although they fit, would be more enjoyable if they could spread 1 cm more. As I said, they fit, but I kinda have to slightly "pack" the bottom of my ears inside
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Beyerdynamic DT-990 Pro
mo572, 06.08.2021
These headphones are iconic need I say more be sure you have something that can drive them they sound very good for voice recording
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Absolutely in love
steadyokay, 01.10.2020
I bought these only cause I used to only have closed-back ones, which were often used for part of the mixing process and thought it be worth a try to test open-back and it's night and day.
I expected these to be far more annoying in terms of loudness leaving the headphones and being able to listen to outside noise, but it's actually not as exaggerated.
The experience is way less taxing on your ears. You can work for longer hours without feeling like your head might just explode.
One thing I do consider a "con" is that they can feel a bit tight on the head and I don't have such a large one, but this has happened to me with practically every headphone ever.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

beyerdynamic DT-990 Pro

£111
Including VAT; Excluding £8 shipping
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-33
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Online Guides
Headphones
Headphones
Headphones are basics for any studio or DJ. But not all headphones are created equal.
Online Guides
Home Recording
Home Recording
Home Recording can be very complicated. We're here to offer some advice!
 
 
 
 
 
Download
 
 
 
 
 
test results: