Behringer Crave

419 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.7 /5
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
More fun the more I learn
Bjørnar, 13.11.2019
I'm new to modulars/semi-modulars. When I received the Crave and started playing with it, my first thought was "Ok, this thing is a liiiitle bit more basic than I was expecting" - but that didn't last for long.

Soon I had Googled my way to patches for the very similar synth from another manufacturer that I won't name (you probably know which other synth has 32 connections) and it opened my mind and I realized the real potential of the Crave.

This thing can really make a lot of nice sounds, especially for something at this price level!

Pros:
- A LOT of routing options for a beginner's semi-modular
- The oscillator (and envelope) sounds very nice, powerful and punchy
- Build quality is top notch. It's built like a tank
- Very smooth potentiometers that feel like they will last for a long time. Very sturdy, with no play.
- Patch-compatible with the other very similar synth (you know which)
- The sequencer is more advanced than I first thought. I recommend to read the manual to learn it fully.
- Configuring the "Assign" output to "Sequencer random" and patching it through the "Multiple" I/O's (or stackable cables) to inputs like e.g. VCO mod, LFO rate and VCF mod gives hours of fun.
- The side panels seem to be wood or at least wooden laminate as far as I can tell (not plastic as a Youtube reviewer recently said)

Cons:
- A 6.3mm TRS jack output would have been nice instead of the 3.5mm TS in the patch bay
- Input level of "Ext. audio" is -5V to +5V (that means the output from other line-level gear will be very low in volume
- Maybe I'm just doing something wrong, but I wish the sequencer would act more like a 303 when setting the gate length to max (the notes don't quite merge with the next note when gate length is 100% and glide is on, there's a tiny gap)
- Thomann's product page for the Crave says it has an ADSR envelope, but it's actually ADS
- On my unit the D# key on the sequencer "keyboard" is a bit more difficult than the rest. It has to be pushed exactly in center to trigger, unlike the rest of the keys which trigger both in center and sides. I assume this something that can be easily fixed by re-adjusting the placement of the plastic keys slightly. But I won't try as it's not too bothersome so far, and it might just fix itself after more use.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Solid synth with fantastic features.
PeterMcD, 25.11.2019
Since my Crave arrived a couple of weeks ago, it's had much more use than any of my other synths. There's just something about the immediacy of the interface, the simplicity of the single oscillator and the gorgeous creamy sound of the ladder filter that makes it my go-to synth.

I've got other monosynths, but none of them sound any good without effects added on. The Crave just sounds fantastic as it is.

I ordered extra patch leads but I needn't have bothered. The six that comes with the Crave is more than enough. The only quibble I do have is that mine shipped with a European power supply when I live in the UK. But it's one of those power supplies that allows you to slide on a different connector depending on which country you live in. I've written to Thomann and I assume they'll ship the right one soon.

Until then though, I can use my Virus, or I can use my Crave -- but I can't use both.

But that's a small issue and I'm sure Thomann will resolve it soon. If you're thinking about buying one, stop thinking about it and just buy it. I guarantee you, you won't regret it. It has to be the best value for money on the market.

And Thomann's customer service was first rate.

Addendum: Thomann's customer support tell me that because their Craves are intended to be sold in Germany, they only come with the European connectors. This was a bit disappointing given that they have a UK facing website and some proportion of their business is with the UK. At the very least, I would have expected them to tell me how I could actually get a working power supply -- even if that meant buying an add-on.

If this is important to you, you probably want to buy your Crave in the country where you live rather than from Thomann.

Additionally, the gate length function doesn't work on mine, so it's probably going to have to be returned. I initially thought it was probably an issue with firmware, but I'm on the latest release and it still isn't working. That shouldn't be a deal breaker though. It's still a great synth and astounding for the money. I want a replacement, not a refund.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Amazing
Justin from Alabama, 30.04.2021
An awesome and super fun little synth. It definitely takes time to get used to it if you are a beginner but once you do, it's potential is as far as you can think. I absolutely love this synth. The synthtool and Behringer software should be the first thing you download when buying this synth. It will show you the way. I recommend this product to anyone.

PS
I also own a Mother-32 and they are alomost interchangable at about a third of the price.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Simplement parfait
Gilbert D, 28.04.2021
Il n'y a pas grand chose à dire si ce n'est que pour son prix, il est imbattable.
Un seul oscillateur de base mais il y a moyen d'en avoir au moins 3 si l'on compte le lfo qui peut monter assez haut en fréquence et également la résonnance de filtre qui peut entrer en autorésonnance.
Le système de patchage permet énormément de combinaison.

Bref! C'est un plaisir de chercher des sons avec le Crave.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Good clone
IceUul, 15.03.2021
Nice Moog M32 clone, sounds same good as Mother-32.

Pros:
- Price - four times cheaper than original.
- Sound - sounds same good as original.
- Build quality - sturdy metal case, fake wooden sides, looks
like decent quality product.
- Can connect several units together to work as one synth

Cons.
- Buttons are not very good - slippery plastic and noisy,
hard to turn the knobs.
- No 6.3mm output - need to use converter
- Patch bay layout - not very convenient to connect to other synths, i would preferred right side patch bay like on Neutron and Mother-32.
- No patch sheets
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
for the price an absolute bargain
Damien Maillet, 19.04.2021
value/price this unit is the best you can find
do not be fooled thus this is a pretty complex machine to use
so good if you have a deep knowledge about subtractive synthesis and want to go closer to modular
not good if you're a beginner, better look for a Korg in this case
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Pretty great, but not for me
Chri5-HT, 21.02.2020
Got this for the purpose of giving (semi-)modular synthesis a go. It integrated quite easily into my setup well, but... I just didn't gel with it.

I found it's design is well-reasoned, and considering what you get for €150 yes it's a deal for sure.
However, at this price maybe aesthetics and ergonomics are less important. Good potentiometres, bad buttons . It felt less like a musical instrument and more tool-like, but does have a great sound and wicked patch points.

One other things, the early firmware issues were a big pain for me. Between that and the feel I decided to sell it. Probably all fixed by now, do see what people say on the forum though.

I'm sure if you put the time in it will pay its dividends.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
The Crave is an excellent device.
BobEff, 28.11.2019
I absolutely love it. First out of the box it looks amazing and the orange colour is tastefully picked, I never thought I would want an orange synth in my studio... The build quality is fantastic and you most certainly do not feel like you are picking up a toy when you hold it. The knobs are very smooth and not loose, the switches feel very sturdy and the buttons have the right feel to them (for what they are).

As for the sound; I am really pleased with it. If you have seen any videos online you will know exactly how it sounds and being able to shape your own preset right there and then is something I always enjoy. Some people will complain about not being able to save presets but I personally prefer my analog synths this way.

I still have to wrap my head around the semi modular part but that will be a fun learning curve, it is also nice that six patch cables were supplied with it!

Over-all what you are getting for the price is absolutely ridiculous - in a very good way.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
This guy knows his stuff!
Valeriy Faustov, 02.02.2021
The synth is simple, monophonic subtractive with limited LFO / ENV kits, but a step sequencer.
classic filter
Oscillator ordinary 3340.
It's good - that the synth is semi-modular at its price. Nice set of patches.
Ideal for a beginner's guide.
I should also mention that these synthesizers are very good for live performances. Laptop + Crave is much more fun than just a laptop. And such a set will theoretically even fit in hand luggage.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Got one, want another!!
Wrigley Tinn, 04.12.2019
Absolutely great entry level analogue synth.
Great feel easy to explore and find your way around but for double the fun get 2!!

PROS :-
For an analogue synth you can't get much simpler
Great build quality.
Good product support.
Easy & intuitive.
Does more than what you'd expect at this price point.
Building sequences can be done through the Behringer app quicker than through the built in sequencer.

CONS (if this is really one)
It makes you feel the need to add more modular gear !!

Overall, very impressed and happy I made the purchase.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Cheap semi-modular can't get better than that
randolfo, 23.11.2020
I praise Behringer everyday for making synthesizers at such a low price.
It looks sharp, it is true analog, and the semi-modular part is a gem for learning how Control Voltage works.
It sounds very nice, even though I suspect some equalization could be needed to integrate it in songs.
I would have liked a separate envelope for the oscillator and the vcf, but at this price range, how can I complain? Everything you need to explore subtractive synthesis is there, with a step sequencer on top!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
vitragan, 15.01.2021
the interface is not simple. take a little time to get used to. the sound is very good for the money
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Bass Pur / Flexibel wg. vielen Features / Lächerlich günstig /
Jonas8474, 26.02.2021
Seit dem ich den Crave habe, kommt jede Bassline aus dem Beast.
Der Sound ist wirklich druckvoll. Der Ladder-Filter ist ein Traum.
Dank des semi-modularen Aufbaus ist man sehr flexibel bei der einbindung in verschiedene Setups.
Ich bin sicher, es gibt keinen Synth außer dem Neutron der auch nur ähnlich viel Sound pro Euro generiert. Habe den Crave jetzt eine ganze Weile und bin jeden Tag von neuem geflasht.

Der Sequenzer ist der einzige Schwachpunkt, für mich völlig unbrauchbar. Kein Liverecording, die Bedienung unglaublich nervig. Mag sein, dass Fans von 80er Jahre Step sequencern das anders sehen. Für mich absolut unbrauchbar.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Fun
Motherspot, 06.01.2021
I am not very experienced using synths but Crave is fun to fool around with. Just beginning to get into the depths of it. A sturdy made analogue
synth. Feels great under my fingers. Generates all kinds of sounds.

**PS: the manual is practically non-existent.. you will need to dive into YouTube to find tutorial....some are workable...
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
sounding good, just the paint went off very fast...
Johanz, 13.05.2020
I have the Mother32 already and the Crave just sounds like a slighty upgraded mother with a different Pro-1 CEM oscillator, which is basically what it is. I think Behringer improved the workflow and I had some fun with it when I was touring India, but after two days of programming and playing with it live near the beach in Tamil Nadu the paint went off already so it went to a friend there, because I bought it for use during trips. And I have the Mother already, but it's build in my Eurorack setup, taking a lot of space. So I might buy a new Crave now because of it's size and the improved workflow. Would make me feel better though if they would pay Moog something too for taking so much of their design. ButI must say, after comparing many B's to originals, this one is probably their best job (maybe because the Mother is made with new modern parts too?). It sounds great.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
It's a steal for the money
Jtorres96, 09.04.2021
It is a really good synthesizer. I've used this one in different situations like Music Production in songs and movies. Extremely easy to use and comfortable, I would recommend it to get more used to Modular synthesis too!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Great little synth for the money
JakubH, 21.09.2020
Cheaper Moog Mother with a few extras...sort of.
It isn't a Moog, but for the money it still sounds great!

The size is just right. No problem fiddling with the controlls.
Knobs are not wobbly and have a decent amount of friction when turning (they could turn more freely).

I'm still getting used to the patchbay thing.
Output only to a small jack connector...I can live with that.

A lot of the functions are accessible via key combinations which are not labelled on the unit so you have to look them up and remember.
When I start my sequencer hooked via MIDI, by default Crave also starts its internal sequencer. I think this can be disabled.

It's great that it has MIDI through. Separate OUT/THROUGH would also have been nice.

I would have liked the main tuning knob to snap to the 0 position so that you could tune it correctly witout fiddling around. It only has 1 oscillator so that would make sense imo.

Overall a great machine (not just because of its price).
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Can't be beat for this price
Kobboi, 01.02.2021
The Crave is a monophonic synth with quite some editing possibilities due to an extensive patchbay and step sequencer that is quite expressive and flexible. Even if it looks like a limited synth at first sight it is surprising what you can make with it - just check youtube tutorials by loopop, Starsky Carr and Anton Anru. I use it for electro and techno and it somehow finds its way in almost any track I make.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Fantastic Value for Great Sounds
HamishTheHuman, 28.04.2020
This synth is a fantastic introduction to modular synthesis if you are new to it and is able to create some fantastically nuanced and striking sounds (very similar to the Moog Mother32).

The built-in sequencer is very usable for banking some cool ideas but I would not recommend trying to do any performing with it. The keys are small and clicky and don't lend themselves to improvisation.

Mine came with its oscillator slightly out of tune but it is able to be tuned using a small flat head screwdriver if you have the same issue. The general build quality is sturdy with a metal body and sturdy knobs. though it is nowhere near the same quality as something like the Moog Mother 32, however, considering the price as well as the sounds this thing can make, It is unrivalled.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Good Synth
Moodz, 28.04.2021
2 weeks review so far awesome synth mostly works best for Bass Lines , very heavy and clean sound knobs and build quality is on the top ends.
would definitely recommend for any start up on modular synth as very easy to learn and remember the patches as you go working on your sound design there is a few noisey clicks that happened through through out my journey working with this synth but gonna explore deeper and would update
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Mother 42
emdezet, 02.03.2021
For the price.... this machine "de-stroys-ah" its competiton, IF it even has any! It's a little modular synth of its own, sounds "PH" phat ON its own, and it plays nice with analog synths as well as well as PC/iPad. Yeah, it's got only one Oscillator. But the Crave can bend and mangle that thing like it's nobody's business. If you... um... like music... get this!

Peace out!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
What a piece of gear!
digimago, 13.05.2020
I've had the Crave in my possession for quite a while now, but only have recently started to explore it. This little box really amazes me with its depth and possibilities. Being only monophonic with a single oscillator it is incredibly versatile and really shines when driven through a reverb pedal. In that aspect it really becomes clear that this is a really clever Moog-alike synth, yet highly affordable. I may even get a second unit to expand the patching and modulation options.
The little orange box presents itself with enough versatility for a seasoned synth user while still being highly recommendable as a learning opportunity for those interested in modular synthesis.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
No complains
oneiroi, 03.09.2020
Behringer did an outstanding value instrument with this one!
With the sound and option on this semi-modular, there is nothing that comes close. It's easily comparable to the moog mother 32, which is about 4 times the price. You go do the math! :D
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
great synth and great store
vmavr, 14.03.2021
the synthesizer is very good, especially for the money you pay for it
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Crazy amount of synth for the money
DivingInSpace, 31.07.2020
I bought this synth as my first analogue synth. The plan is to use it both for recording, and eventually put together a live setup, and the fact that it is semi modular and has a great sequencer makes it the perfect start for this. While it only has one oscillator, this is still a very capable synth. The patch points makes it very flexible (especially for use together with future gear), and the sequencer makes it possible to do some very interesting bass lines.

Pros:
Cheap
Solid Build
Easy to incorporate with future gear
Nice and Beefy sound
Includes patch cables

Cons:
Only one oscillator (with two waveforms)
No release on the envelope
only 1/8 jack output
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Behringer Crave

£133
Including VAT; Excluding £8 shipping
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Online Guides
Synthesizers
Synthesizers
There are a wealth of synthesisers available today, ranging from hardware keyboards to virtual software instruments.
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Kali Audio IN-8 2nd Wave

Kali Audio IN-8 2nd Wave; Active near field monitor; 3 way system with coaxial midrange/tweeter; 8" woofer; 4" midrange; 1" soft dome tweeter; power: 140 Watt (60/40/40 Watt Tri-Amped); frequency range: 37 Hz - 25 kHz (-10 dB), 45 Hz…

Recently Viewed
Novation Circuit Rhythm

Novation Circuit Rhythm; sampler / sequencer; 8 sample tracks with 32 step patterns each, cascadable for up to 256 steps per track; functions: slice, reverse, loop, chromatic play, probability and pattern-mutate; integrated effects such as lofi tape, shutter, reverb, delay…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Arturia Keystep 37 Black Edition

Arturia KeyStep 37 Black Edition; 37-key (slimkey) USB controller keyboard; velocity-sensitive mini-keys with aftertouch; 64-step sequencer; chord and scale functionality; arpeggiator; LED display; 4 freely assignable knobs; transport keys; touch stripes for pitch and modulation; RGB LED bar; connections: 3x…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Fender SQ Aff. P Bass MN PJ PACK BK

Fender Squier Affinity P Bass MN PJ PACK Black; Electric Bass, Affinity Series; Body: Poplar; Neck: Maple; Neck Mount: Bolt On; Neck Form: c; Fingerboard: Maple; Inlays: Black Dots; 20 Medium Jumbo Frets; Nut: synthetic Bone; Nut Width: 41,3 mm…

Recently Viewed
Neural DSP Quad Cortex Gigcase

Neural DSP Quad Cortex Gigcase; Softlight Case for Neural DSP Quad Cortex Pedal; precision molded, high-impact and designed to keep your Quad Cortex safe from damage and the elements; the top clamshell includes a secure, elastic neoprene panel where you…

Recently Viewed
Fender SQ Aff. Strat HSS PACK CFM

Fender Squier Affinity Stratocaster HSS Pack Charcoal Frost Metallic; Stratocaster Electric Guitar Set; Affinity Series; Body: Poplar; Neck: Maple; Fingerboard: Laurel; Neck Mount: Bolt-On; Neck Shape: C; Inlays: Pearloid Dots; 21 Medium Jumbo Frets; Nut: synthetic Bone; Nut Width: 42…

Recently Viewed
Harley Benton CLA-15MCE SolidWood

Harley Benton CLA-15MCE SolidWood; Auditorium Cutaway Acoustic-Electric Guitar, Custom Line Solid Wood Series; Back & Sides: Solid Mahogany; Top: Solid Mahogany; Neck Shape: Oval C; Neck: Mahogany; Fingerboard: Pau Ferro; Scalloped X Bracing; Inlays: SnowFlake Inlays; 20 Frets; Nut: Bone;…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Sennheiser CX True Wireless Black

Sennheiser CX True Wireless Black In-Ear headset headphone - 7 mm hight end drivers, bluetooth 5.2, up to 9 h running time, up to 27 h with charging case, SBC, AAC, aptX Codec compatible, 110 dB SPL (1 kHz /…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Minuendo Lossless Earplugs

Minuendo Lossless Earplugs; Earplugs with passive hi-fi filter - perfect for rehearsals, concerts and in any other noisy location; Continuously adjustable volume attenuation (-7db to - 25 db) without sound loss; Neutral and natural sound; Patented adjustable membrane for volume…

Recently Viewed
Gravity LTST 01

Laptop stand with adjustable holding pins Steel tray, Powder-coated tubes made of aluminium, Die-cast aluminium base, Dimensions of the tray (W x H): 480 x 330 mm, Tube diameter: 35 mm, Height adjustment by adjusting screw with holding pin…

Recently Viewed
Casio CT-S400

Casio CT-S400 Keyboard - 61 touch-responsive keys, 48-note polyphony, AiX Sound Source, 600 sounds, 200 rythmens, 160 Songs, Auto Harmonize, automatic accompaniment, Reverb, Chorus, DSP, Master EQ, Volume Sync EQ, 10 User Songs, connection to free Chordana Play For Keyboard…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Aiaiai TMA-2 Studio

Aiaiai TMA-2 Studio; closed-back studio headphones; Design: closed-back, circumaural; S05 speaker unit; Bio cellulose diaphragm; 40 mm high-grade neodymium driver; Frequency range: 10 Hz - 40 kHz; Maximum output: 100 mW; Sound pressure level: 113 dB; Impedance: 32 ohms; E08…

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.