Customer center login

Behringer Crave

434 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.7 /5
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
More fun the more I learn
Bjørnar, 13.11.2019
I'm new to modulars/semi-modulars. When I received the Crave and started playing with it, my first thought was "Ok, this thing is a liiiitle bit more basic than I was expecting" - but that didn't last for long.

Soon I had Googled my way to patches for the very similar synth from another manufacturer that I won't name (you probably know which other synth has 32 connections) and it opened my mind and I realized the real potential of the Crave.

This thing can really make a lot of nice sounds, especially for something at this price level!

Pros:
- A LOT of routing options for a beginner's semi-modular
- The oscillator (and envelope) sounds very nice, powerful and punchy
- Build quality is top notch. It's built like a tank
- Very smooth potentiometers that feel like they will last for a long time. Very sturdy, with no play.
- Patch-compatible with the other very similar synth (you know which)
- The sequencer is more advanced than I first thought. I recommend to read the manual to learn it fully.
- Configuring the "Assign" output to "Sequencer random" and patching it through the "Multiple" I/O's (or stackable cables) to inputs like e.g. VCO mod, LFO rate and VCF mod gives hours of fun.
- The side panels seem to be wood or at least wooden laminate as far as I can tell (not plastic as a Youtube reviewer recently said)

Cons:
- A 6.3mm TRS jack output would have been nice instead of the 3.5mm TS in the patch bay
- Input level of "Ext. audio" is -5V to +5V (that means the output from other line-level gear will be very low in volume
- Maybe I'm just doing something wrong, but I wish the sequencer would act more like a 303 when setting the gate length to max (the notes don't quite merge with the next note when gate length is 100% and glide is on, there's a tiny gap)
- Thomann's product page for the Crave says it has an ADSR envelope, but it's actually ADS
- On my unit the D# key on the sequencer "keyboard" is a bit more difficult than the rest. It has to be pushed exactly in center to trigger, unlike the rest of the keys which trigger both in center and sides. I assume this something that can be easily fixed by re-adjusting the placement of the plastic keys slightly. But I won't try as it's not too bothersome so far, and it might just fix itself after more use.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
fat sound and sturdy body at a low price
habahabah, 30.08.2021
Fat sound with great sequencer and modular capabilities in a very sturdy body
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Excellent intro to modular
steviemac2000, 20.08.2021
Feature-rich, compact and sturdy, there's little not to like here. Plenty of patch options, a great sounding oscillator and filter, and a very functional sequencer. Knobs feel sturdy with a nice amount of resistance. A great budget introduction to the world of analog patching.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Solid synth with fantastic features.
PeterMcD, 25.11.2019
Since my Crave arrived a couple of weeks ago, it's had much more use than any of my other synths. There's just something about the immediacy of the interface, the simplicity of the single oscillator and the gorgeous creamy sound of the ladder filter that makes it my go-to synth.

I've got other monosynths, but none of them sound any good without effects added on. The Crave just sounds fantastic as it is.

I ordered extra patch leads but I needn't have bothered. The six that comes with the Crave is more than enough. The only quibble I do have is that mine shipped with a European power supply when I live in the UK. But it's one of those power supplies that allows you to slide on a different connector depending on which country you live in. I've written to Thomann and I assume they'll ship the right one soon.

Until then though, I can use my Virus, or I can use my Crave -- but I can't use both.

But that's a small issue and I'm sure Thomann will resolve it soon. If you're thinking about buying one, stop thinking about it and just buy it. I guarantee you, you won't regret it. It has to be the best value for money on the market.

And Thomann's customer service was first rate.

Addendum: Thomann's customer support tell me that because their Craves are intended to be sold in Germany, they only come with the European connectors. This was a bit disappointing given that they have a UK facing website and some proportion of their business is with the UK. At the very least, I would have expected them to tell me how I could actually get a working power supply -- even if that meant buying an add-on.

If this is important to you, you probably want to buy your Crave in the country where you live rather than from Thomann.

Additionally, the gate length function doesn't work on mine, so it's probably going to have to be returned. I initially thought it was probably an issue with firmware, but I'm on the latest release and it still isn't working. That shouldn't be a deal breaker though. It's still a great synth and astounding for the money. I want a replacement, not a refund.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Amazing
Justin from Alabama, 30.04.2021
An awesome and super fun little synth. It definitely takes time to get used to it if you are a beginner but once you do, it's potential is as far as you can think. I absolutely love this synth. The synthtool and Behringer software should be the first thing you download when buying this synth. It will show you the way. I recommend this product to anyone.

PS
I also own a Mother-32 and they are alomost interchangable at about a third of the price.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Simplement parfait
Gilbert D, 28.04.2021
Il n'y a pas grand chose à dire si ce n'est que pour son prix, il est imbattable.
Un seul oscillateur de base mais il y a moyen d'en avoir au moins 3 si l'on compte le lfo qui peut monter assez haut en fréquence et également la résonnance de filtre qui peut entrer en autorésonnance.
Le système de patchage permet énormément de combinaison.

Bref! C'est un plaisir de chercher des sons avec le Crave.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Good clone
IceUul, 15.03.2021
Nice Moog M32 clone, sounds same good as Mother-32.

Pros:
- Price - four times cheaper than original.
- Sound - sounds same good as original.
- Build quality - sturdy metal case, fake wooden sides, looks
like decent quality product.
- Can connect several units together to work as one synth

Cons.
- Buttons are not very good - slippery plastic and noisy,
hard to turn the knobs.
- No 6.3mm output - need to use converter
- Patch bay layout - not very convenient to connect to other synths, i would preferred right side patch bay like on Neutron and Mother-32.
- No patch sheets
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
for the price an absolute bargain
Damien Maillet, 19.04.2021
value/price this unit is the best you can find
do not be fooled thus this is a pretty complex machine to use
so good if you have a deep knowledge about subtractive synthesis and want to go closer to modular
not good if you're a beginner, better look for a Korg in this case
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
This guy knows his stuff!
Valeriy Faustov, 02.02.2021
The synth is simple, monophonic subtractive with limited LFO / ENV kits, but a step sequencer.
classic filter
Oscillator ordinary 3340.
It's good - that the synth is semi-modular at its price. Nice set of patches.
Ideal for a beginner's guide.
I should also mention that these synthesizers are very good for live performances. Laptop + Crave is much more fun than just a laptop. And such a set will theoretically even fit in hand luggage.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Got one, want another!!
Wrigley Tinn, 04.12.2019
Absolutely great entry level analogue synth.
Great feel easy to explore and find your way around but for double the fun get 2!!

PROS :-
For an analogue synth you can't get much simpler
Great build quality.
Good product support.
Easy & intuitive.
Does more than what you'd expect at this price point.
Building sequences can be done through the Behringer app quicker than through the built in sequencer.

CONS (if this is really one)
It makes you feel the need to add more modular gear !!

Overall, very impressed and happy I made the purchase.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
una bomba
LukeSkyTripper, 17.08.2021
una bomba per il prezzo che ha. Clone perfetto del mother 32
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Cheap semi-modular can't get better than that
randolfo, 23.11.2020
I praise Behringer everyday for making synthesizers at such a low price.
It looks sharp, it is true analog, and the semi-modular part is a gem for learning how Control Voltage works.
It sounds very nice, even though I suspect some equalization could be needed to integrate it in songs.
I would have liked a separate envelope for the oscillator and the vcf, but at this price range, how can I complain? Everything you need to explore subtractive synthesis is there, with a step sequencer on top!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
The Crave is an excellent device.
BobEff, 28.11.2019
I absolutely love it. First out of the box it looks amazing and the orange colour is tastefully picked, I never thought I would want an orange synth in my studio... The build quality is fantastic and you most certainly do not feel like you are picking up a toy when you hold it. The knobs are very smooth and not loose, the switches feel very sturdy and the buttons have the right feel to them (for what they are).

As for the sound; I am really pleased with it. If you have seen any videos online you will know exactly how it sounds and being able to shape your own preset right there and then is something I always enjoy. Some people will complain about not being able to save presets but I personally prefer my analog synths this way.

I still have to wrap my head around the semi modular part but that will be a fun learning curve, it is also nice that six patch cables were supplied with it!

Over-all what you are getting for the price is absolutely ridiculous - in a very good way.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
vitragan, 15.01.2021
the interface is not simple. take a little time to get used to. the sound is very good for the money
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Fun
Motherspot, 06.01.2021
I am not very experienced using synths but Crave is fun to fool around with. Just beginning to get into the depths of it. A sturdy made analogue
synth. Feels great under my fingers. Generates all kinds of sounds.

**PS: the manual is practically non-existent.. you will need to dive into YouTube to find tutorial....some are workable...
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Bass Pur / Flexibel wg. vielen Features / Lächerlich günstig /
Jonas8474, 26.02.2021
Seit dem ich den Crave habe, kommt jede Bassline aus dem Beast.
Der Sound ist wirklich druckvoll. Der Ladder-Filter ist ein Traum.
Dank des semi-modularen Aufbaus ist man sehr flexibel bei der einbindung in verschiedene Setups.
Ich bin sicher, es gibt keinen Synth außer dem Neutron der auch nur ähnlich viel Sound pro Euro generiert. Habe den Crave jetzt eine ganze Weile und bin jeden Tag von neuem geflasht.

Der Sequenzer ist der einzige Schwachpunkt, für mich völlig unbrauchbar. Kein Liverecording, die Bedienung unglaublich nervig. Mag sein, dass Fans von 80er Jahre Step sequencern das anders sehen. Für mich absolut unbrauchbar.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Great introduction
Madge, 09.08.2021
Great and simple introduction to modular synthesis. Of particular note is the fact that it contains not just a decent sequencer but that it is also capable of ratcheting.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
It's a steal for the money
Jtorres96, 09.04.2021
It is a really good synthesizer. I've used this one in different situations like Music Production in songs and movies. Extremely easy to use and comfortable, I would recommend it to get more used to Modular synthesis too!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Great little synth for the money
JakubH, 21.09.2020
Cheaper Moog Mother with a few extras...sort of.
It isn't a Moog, but for the money it still sounds great!

The size is just right. No problem fiddling with the controlls.
Knobs are not wobbly and have a decent amount of friction when turning (they could turn more freely).

I'm still getting used to the patchbay thing.
Output only to a small jack connector...I can live with that.

A lot of the functions are accessible via key combinations which are not labelled on the unit so you have to look them up and remember.
When I start my sequencer hooked via MIDI, by default Crave also starts its internal sequencer. I think this can be disabled.

It's great that it has MIDI through. Separate OUT/THROUGH would also have been nice.

I would have liked the main tuning knob to snap to the 0 position so that you could tune it correctly witout fiddling around. It only has 1 oscillator so that would make sense imo.

Overall a great machine (not just because of its price).
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
What a piece of gear!
digimago, 13.05.2020
I've had the Crave in my possession for quite a while now, but only have recently started to explore it. This little box really amazes me with its depth and possibilities. Being only monophonic with a single oscillator it is incredibly versatile and really shines when driven through a reverb pedal. In that aspect it really becomes clear that this is a really clever Moog-alike synth, yet highly affordable. I may even get a second unit to expand the patching and modulation options.
The little orange box presents itself with enough versatility for a seasoned synth user while still being highly recommendable as a learning opportunity for those interested in modular synthesis.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Crazy amount of synth for the money
DivingInSpace, 31.07.2020
I bought this synth as my first analogue synth. The plan is to use it both for recording, and eventually put together a live setup, and the fact that it is semi modular and has a great sequencer makes it the perfect start for this. While it only has one oscillator, this is still a very capable synth. The patch points makes it very flexible (especially for use together with future gear), and the sequencer makes it possible to do some very interesting bass lines.

Pros:
Cheap
Solid Build
Easy to incorporate with future gear
Nice and Beefy sound
Includes patch cables

Cons:
Only one oscillator (with two waveforms)
No release on the envelope
only 1/8 jack output
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
No complains
oneiroi, 03.09.2020
Behringer did an outstanding value instrument with this one!
With the sound and option on this semi-modular, there is nothing that comes close. It's easily comparable to the moog mother 32, which is about 4 times the price. You go do the math! :D
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Toe dipping winner
Andreas from Belgium, 15.05.2020
I bought this as an introduction to synthesizers (semi modular) and am very content. Looks, feels and sounds extremely nice for the price tag. I think it's quite versatile aswell and fun to play with. :)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
WOW
Ecco Aqua, 28.07.2020
the sound is amazing, very very fitting for 303 style rave leads and basses as well as getting this unique somewhat moogish oberheimish sound. Truly a great instrument for beginner to expert, behringer is making big moves with this
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Awesome sound
Dreddy McDred, 12.06.2020
Amazing sounds, can spend hours on this synth making great sounds from ambient to deep bass and leads. I love it.
May need a second unit i think !!
Buy it.....at this price its a steal. Thanks Behringer.
Only gripe is one of the feet are not level so it wobbles on a flat surface - solved that by putting a .46 guitar plectrum under the foot. Solid now.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Behringer Crave

£133
Including VAT; Excluding £8 shipping
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Online Guides
Synthesizers
Synthesizers
There are a wealth of synthesisers available today, ranging from hardware keyboards to virtual software instruments.
 
 
 
 
 
test results: