Audix i-5

334 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.8 /5
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
features
sound
quality
A Great All-Rounder!
22.02.2016
I have been a fan of Shure SM57s all my musical life (33 years). However, around two years ago, a soundman at church (who often does sound for my band) put me on to the Audix i-5; I worked with him one night and heard it for myself on snare. A few weeks later, I acquired a second hand example; now here's the surprise....

I bought my first Audix i-5 for use on snare and guitar cabinet, mainly as an alternative to my SM57s; but then one night, at a rehearsal, I set it up to sing through. My band does a fair bit of rock and I use my pharyngeal range almost exclusively. Using that system requires one to "compress" his voice, which I find pulls back the volume a little; but by using a "close-capsule" microphone (like the SM57) the singer can engage closer to the diaphragm; when I discovered this, I stopped using SM58s. When using the Audix as a vocal microphone, the "popping" problem, caused by proximity, can be avoided simply by high-passing the vocal somewhere in the 80 Hz region, maybe 100 Hz. Now, in this band, I use this microphone all of the time. I have occasionally switched to a '57 because the results are similar, but I find the Audix is more forgiving if I move off-axis.

So what about the comparison between the Audix and the Shure?

Many people have written about which they prefer and I think it's a pointless discussion. Both mics are great mics in the studio or for live. I think the Shure is the benchmark; and if we think of it that way, then the Audix has a gentle scoop when one A-Bs the two mics. Personally I like both mics and I wouldn't want to be without either type. After owning my first i-5 for a couple of months, I bought a brand-new one from Thomann, with some vouchers I needed to spend.

This weekend I recorded a vocalist and we did a text-book microphone shootout to find out which mic he should use for his lead vocal. We eventually plumped for a Rode condenser but the Audix wasn't far behind and it would have turned in a great result if it were the only mic available. That's quite amazing, since it's not considered a vocal mic for the studio by many people.

If you need an all-rounder, that's built to last a lifetime and you want an extra flavour on top of a '57, buy yourself an Audix i-5, you will not regret it; and rock vocalists might be in for an extra surprise. This would be a great starter mic for anyone into home recording because it will do everything.

Likely uses: guitar cab, bass cab and snare

Surprise uses: vocals, toms, acoustic guitar (close up)

I like: everything about this microphone

I do not like: there is nothing I do not like about it
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Very good instrument mic
Thib H, 20.10.2020
Audix i-5 is a very good instrument mic, comparable to the maybe more famous sm57 from sure. But this one is heavier, and feels more robust. I use it for snare drum recording (one on the top, one on the bottom), and i'm happy with the result!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
SM57 is now only my secondary mic for guitar
Juozapas B., 29.05.2020
Blew my mind. Way better sounding than in most comparisons I've seen online. Much deeper bass, much wider sound. I've always used it with my SM57 and together they form a monstrous sound, canceling each others fizz. Though the mic clip they sent with it can't hold the mic without tilting over... Other than that it looks bullet proof. Works amazing both on guitar and bass cabs. Also tried it on kick and it worked awesome for a demo. Output is a bit higher in level than an SM57, but not considerably. Smaller than SM57 so it can fit into tight spaces. I now use it as my main heavy guitar mic and use the SM57 as a way to cancel out fizz and to reinforce the low mids and mids. I'd chose it over an SM57 if I couldn't use both. Works well in a mix despite what some reviews said.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
sarcobe, 03.12.2019
I am using this mic for recording guitar cabs and acoustic guitar (in combination with a condenser). I also have experience with using Shure SM57 mics, which is I guess the main competitor for this Audix.

Pros:
Build quality is great! Sounds a bit more natural compared to the SM57 when recording guitar cabs, maybe because the mid-range is less pronounced. This may or may not work in your mix, but personally I was pleasantly surprised!

Cons:
None
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
The new SM57
AurelSanca, 24.03.2020
Mainly using this microphone on top snares, guitars amp or sometimes small percussions. This microphone is kind of the SM57 with a more modern sound !
Lots of musicians do prefer the sound of this Audix i5 now and I admit that I love that more modern sound for some applications.

The cons is : I think it's way more robust than a SM57.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
sm58 alternative? (oh yes)
Kreso k, 12.04.2018
I use this mic mostly on snare, but i heard that is good on brass instruments also.
Audix i5 is heavy mic, built like tank. For the first time i was sceptic to try it on snare and put my trusty sm 58 to the bag. But after some minutes i was happy to bought this mic. Sound was little brighter than 58 but looks that snare benefits from that and you don't need to raise high end on eq so much. One thing that i don't like (so much) is mic holder.
Now i must buy one more i5 ftom Thomann because guys on guitars like them too. Thanks Thomann
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Excellent for electric guitars and snare drums
Carlos Lteitao, 09.03.2019
I've been using for recording in studios and the results are awesome. This brand is not well know in Europe and I did a big research before buy them. I'm very happy and already received some complements from studio owners and musicians friends.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
the best microphone for recording the electric guitars
ksantyp FOG, 16.11.2019
I use many different dynamic mikes for recording the electric guitar, some are cheap some are studio standards for years.
Audix i5 is one of the best I ve ever used.
Very clear, much more responsive then sm57.
Bass freqs are recording much better, but they are not overloaded.
the sound is very clear.
If U bored with ur sm57 and looking sth similar priced but different, maybe even better, Audix is for U :)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Audix i-5
kp1349kp, 23.06.2016
I was really happy with this nice for a change instead of a 57 but I wouldn't compare it to it like some people do its a different mic and a different flavour great for all styles on guitar, snare, vox etc. Great price would defiantly recommend!!!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Audix's answer to the SM57.
08.07.2015
This mic is great. It's basically Audix's answer to the oh so commonly used Shure SM57 mic, and it's a fantastic all-around mic. I use two on my snare drum for the top and bottom head, and they work wonders. Inexpensive with great sound quality, and they can really take a beating if you end up hitting them or dropping them a couple of times. The only complaint I have is the clamp that comes with it. The mic tends to slip out of the clamp every so often, atleast when pointing downwards on a vibrating and shaking snare drum. I've had to push it back into the clamp a lot of times, which can be a bit frustrating if it starts coming out at the wrong time. Other than that, the microphone in itself is fantastic!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
perfect sound
plan d'off, 23.02.2020
on the snare drum I prefer I5 - sm57.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great modern sounding microphone
Pcpdrummer, 17.01.2019
I use this mic on my snare drum. It is a bit smaller than shure sm57 it is easyer to set it up on a snare and it does not get in the way. Very well built, and great sounding with minimal eq.
I decided to buy it because friend of mine recommended it . He said he used it for 10 years without any problems and got great sound results with it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Acurate mic
Velco, 26.03.2019
Great mic. After a couple of years it is my go to mic for guitar amp recording. It is acurate, small and sturdy.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
A must!
Falcon_guitar, 06.05.2014
Audix i-5 is a must for your studio or taking with you on the road!
This microphone is my first choice when the subject are snare and guitar sound for rock and metal music.
It has personality and a full sound but if you´re looking for a flat mic, this might not be your choice. It has wide peaks on 100-300Hz and 2-5 kHz range giving a lot of colour in the sonority field.
The construction is very rugged which avoids feedback and unwanted vibrations coming from the floor and stand.
It also comes with a nice bag for keeping it and an original mic clip for attaching it to stands.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Nothing to say!!
kz_test, 30.03.2019
Great for snares and guitar amps and more. This is not a sm57 alternative it is a must have like sm57.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
great mic also for didgeridoo
Vojta Violinist, 07.09.2019
I use this mic for didgeridoo and its great for live performance. No feedback, good sound. Crisp and it can handle air from different technique of playing didgeridoo.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great microphones
Martssssss, 25.12.2019
Well packed, thank you thomanns!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Excellent addition
JonnyS, 14.05.2013
I have been recording my drum kit in a home studio and the snare drum was seriously lacking feel and punch despite my best efforts in post production. I have an SM57 on the top head and this mic (although slightly cheaper) on the bottom head added so much more to the mix I was blown away. The depth and clarity of the snare drum (even during fast blast beats) has been improved tenfold. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone wanting to record snares, guitars or any instrument or sound within its comfort zone.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great snare, tom and guitar amp mic.
Ioannis Dimitroudis, 12.09.2019
The i-5 is capable of producing the very best of results. Used it as snare top mic, tom mic and guitar amp mic.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great mic for snare drum
Anton Samokhvalov, 24.08.2019
I am a drummer and I use i-5 for my snare drum.

This mic sound brighter than SM57, great build quality and cool looking.
No moving parts so it's hard to break this mic.

Good thing about i-5 is that it's shorter than sm57 and I can place it more comfortable on my snare drum.

Comes in a bag and with a good mic holder.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
For me personally, an SM57 beater
22.10.2016
I've always had a love-hate relationship with the SM57 - it does a great job for the money, but it always takes work and it's kinda harsh.

The i5 seems to be growing in popularity, and the moment I got one it was obvious why. It's even more solidly built than a 57, and it sounds better even before you use any processing on it. Much smoother high end, much punchier low end. It's the best snare mic I've ever used. On guitar cabs there's less nasty stuff in the high frequencies, though overall it might be a hair brighter.

This is my go-to on snare and guitar now, and it works on just about everything else too. Grab a couple of these for your mic locker, you won't regret it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Good Snare Mic
Rob444, 17.08.2017
I bought the Audix i-5 as a replacement for a Shure SM57 I was using on the drum kit (snare drum).... I read the reviews and thought I'd take a chance and so far so good.
Very solid and robust, it takes quite a few knocks and still sounds as good as it did on day one.
If I had to be picky I'd say that the mic holder is ok but not as adaptable as I wish - For example, if I want to place the mic on the edge of the snare I can't.
However, that doesn't diminish it at all - the mic is as good if not better than the previous SM58.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Awesome on snares and amps
Vale Perkons, 28.07.2016
I'm using the Audix i-5 in the studio, mostly for recording snare drums and guitar amps - this microphone shines on these sources. It provides a very balanced and nuanced sound without being harsh or too edgy. A great addition to any studio mic locker and it could surely cost more than it does judging by the sound and the build quality - the microphone is sturdy and rugged and can withstand all sorts of abuse - I definitely recommend this microphone for recording snares and guitar amps.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Fantastic sound!
pepepe, 03.06.2017
OK, I know...the big debate...Audix I5 or SM57?
Well, I have sm57 as well and of course the sound is awesome. Now I got this one and for what I hear, it sounds a little smoother and this I like very much. It also looks cooler then the sm57 ). I use mostly for my guitar cab and sometimes I records vocals with it and I very like what's coming out of it!
Well done Audix!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Another great Audix mic.
03.09.2014
Lovely microphone from Audix.

The build is solid and very resistant to stray drum stick hits, nice weight to it.
Comes with a mic clip which is comparable if not better than the Shure clips and fits the microphone well. The Audix cases are very nicely padded and keep the mics safe.

The size of the microphone is not much different to a sm57, so positioning is easy on snares, etc.
It has a much more fuller sound on snares than sm57's but have found that it needs an extra microphone on the underside to capture the 'snap and crack' properly.
Has a nice rejection on the sides and rear of the capsule, allowing for a lot less sound spillage from other instruments surrounding it.

I have tried this microphone on other instruments such as toms, guitars, brass, even vocals and depending on what sound you desire you can achieve some very high quality results. But i primarily use this for snare drums.

Overall i recommend trying this and other Audix microphones like the D6 if you are trying to get that full, phat and modern drum sound.

An added bonus is Audix send you a great sticker for your drum cases.
Thumbs ups!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Audix i-5

£66
Excluding VAT; plus £8 shipping
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-35
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Phone: +49-9546-9223-4800
FAX: +49-9546-9223-4899
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
(2)
Recently Viewed
Blackmagic Design Atem Mini Extreme

Blackmagic Design Atem Mini Extreme; video mixer; has all the features of the ATEM Mini Pro, plus an additional 8 HDMI inputs, 2 separate HDMI outputs, 2 USB ports and a headphone jack; In addition, this model has 4 chromakeys,...

(9)
Recently Viewed
Audient iD4 MKII

USB-C Audio Interface 24 bit / 44.1 - 96 kHz, ADC dynamic range: 121 dB, DAC dynamic range: 126 dB, @Class A Audient console microphone preamplifier, Mic Gain 58 dB,

(1)
Recently Viewed
iZotope Spire Studio 2nd Generation

iZotope Spire Studio 2nd Generation; mobile recording studio with lithium-ion battery (up to 4 hours runtime); 2 tracks can be recorded simultaneously; up to 8 tracks per project can be played back; recording format: 24-bit / 48 kHz; up to...

(2)
Recently Viewed
Universal Audio UAFX Astra Modulation Machine

Enforcement Pedal Stereo modulation, With chorus, flanger and tremolo effects, True or Buffered Bypass, Preset storable, Additional effects downloadable, Live / Preset mode, Dual processor UAFX Engine, 2 Inputs: 6.3 mm pawl (input 2 for stereo connection), 2 Outputs:...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Hercules DJ Control Inpulse 500 Gold LE

Hercules DJ Control Inpulse 500 Gold LE; Limited edition with golden highlights; limited to 1000 pieces worldwide; number engraved on console; All-in-one-DJ-Controller; controls per desk: 1x filter-control, 3 x equalizer-control, 1 x Gain control, 1 x volume control, 1 x...

Recently Viewed
Meinl TMDDGS Didgeridoo Stand

Meinl Didgeridoo Stand, TMDDGS, material: aluminum, two leg version, soft padding with protective rubber straps, hight, angle and depth adjustable

(1)
Recently Viewed
LP Ridge Rider Cowbell Tommy Lee

LP 009TL Ridge Rider Tommy Lee Signature Cowbell, sitze: 8", patented vise clamp fits fits 3/8" to 1/2"diameter rods, bolted jenior protector protects cowbell and dampens the sound, made in USA,

Recently Viewed
Flight TUC-32 Sakura Concert Travel

Flight TUC-32 Sakura Concert Travel, Concert Ukulele; top: basswood; back and sides: ABS (arched back); neck: ABS; fretboard and bridge: ABS; nut and bridge inlay: ABS; 17 frets; machine heads: Open Geared Tuners with black buttons; DOT inlays on 5th,...

Recently Viewed
Zoom PodTrak P4

Podcasting Recorder Four microphone inputs (XLR, P48V phantom power switchable), Four headphone outputs with individual volume controls (3.5mm stereo jack), Gain control and mute button per input, Mix minus function for automatic feedback suppression for incoming calls, Connection of...

Recently Viewed
Eventide MicroPitch Delay

Eventide MicroPitch Delay; Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar; Dual pitch-shifted delay with fine resolution de-tuning and modulation on tap; Achieve subtle tone fattening, lush stereo widening, rich detuned delays, thick modulation, and tempo-synced special effects; New positive envelope and negative...

Recently Viewed
Blackmagic Design Pocket Cinema Camera Pro EVF

Blackmagic Design Pocket Cinema Camera Pro EVF; Viewfinder fits Pocket Cinema Camera 6K Pro; Viewfinder with internal proximity sensor, 4-piece glass diopter, built-in status info display and digital test chart; Video and power connections: via Pocket Cinema Camera 6K Pro...

Recently Viewed
Meinl Snarecraft Cajon 100 Green B.

Meinl Snarecraft Cajon 100 Green Burst, model: SC100GRB, special edition, body and front plate made of birch, colour: green burst, two integrated snare strainers, rounded corners for better playability, measures (H x B x T) in cms: 50 x 30...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.