Audio-Technica AT 2035

154 Customer Ratings:
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.7 / 5.0
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
19 written ratings
Total
features
sound
quality
Cheap but great!
22.11.2016
I am a musician and a producer and own a recording studio for almost 10 years already. I wanted to get a cheap condenser for everyday use in the studio - voiceovers, vocals, acoustic guitars and stuff like that.
I narrowed my options down to 3 microphones - AT2035, NT-1 and P220. I knew that they all are quite similar sounding and I just had to pick one. I picked this and have been very happy with my choice!
First of all - it is a solid microphone. The build quality is great, it is heavy, feels durable and looks professional. Soundwise I feel like this microphone gives me relatively flat representation of whatever I record with it. It doesn't have that boominess and uncontrolled bottom end that other cheap microphones do. Since I bought it I have had a chance to record some stuff with the Rode NT-1 too and I have to say - I feel like I made the right choice buying this. To me the bottom frequencies sound much better on the AT2035 so that the NT1 sounds a bit unnatural and glassy in comparison.
But let me tell you - whatever microphone you choose to buy - just buy it and don't look back. You can do wonders with any decent sounding microphone as long as you know what you are actually doing. In this price category every microphone I've tried sounds more or less similar and lets be honest - you can't expect this or any other 150$ microphone to sound like JZ Blackhole, Neumann u87 or stuff like that. Every microphone in this category will have its limitations and flaws that you have to learn to work around. Learn about microphone placement, position, recording techniques and you will get great results no matter what you use.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Worth the added cost compared with the already excellent AT 2020
Robert2532, 29.10.2015
Phantom-powered by my Digital Audio Interface, the AT 2035 delivers low-noise audio with only the tiniest of coloring. A switchable, high-pass filter and a low pad are included - which adds in some useful versatility. Even without kicking in the pad to add another 10dB capacity, the mic can handle a very high 148dB sound pressure level, while its signal-to-noise ratio is about 9% less than for the AT 2020.

The build is robust. It looks as if it could dent the floor rather than the other way round if I dropped it - but I am not going to try! There is no pop-shield included but, hey, what do you expect for the keen price I sourced it from Thomann for? The shock-mount included is reasonable enough quality and allows for some flexibility in positioning the mic.

Delivers clear vocal audio in my home studio, which is in a location prone to a good bit of unpredictable ambient noise intruding from the street and other houses. But with my trusty homemade audio shield (drapes) protecting it, the AT2035's side-address, cardiod characteristics meet the challenge of excluding sounds that I do not want. I read that this mic is OK for pro studios and live use as well, but have no experience of using it for these applications.

The AT 2035 is also proving good at conveying accurately the sound of an acoustic guitar or a guitar amp. I wrote 'tiniest of coloring' earlier. If anything, there is perhaps a little warmth added. I can live with that!

All in all, this beats the heck out of a lot of pricier mics and is worth paying a little more for than the AT 2020 given that the AT 2035 has a filter and pad and that improved signal-to-noise performance. I can see me buying more of these.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Amazing sound and decent price
Carlos Lteitao, 09.03.2019
Very happy with the mic. From home recording to POD CAST recording the quality is pristine.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Extremely happy.
04.02.2016
Each mic will be the best for each persons voice.
My best singing voice is rather resonant, breathy, light and airy. Singing from a considerable distance, this mic captures every nuance of my voice, and for such good price. I had heard AT wasn't legendary in mics...I was quite unsure between Rode's NT1, or AKG C214, great mics no doubt, I am however completely satisfied by my choice of AT. In a mere throw of luck because of the incorporated switches, and the design which I greatly like. Also very solid, you can tell its good quality. No seriously, I need to stress, you do not need thousands not even further than, will there be differences? Maybe...but is it worth so much more money. I'd call it diminishing returns.
Watch youtube comparisons of Neumann's U87 and see what I mean.
I recommend it (at least on the type of vocalists that I can comment as i've said at the beginning)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
At 2035
madDog88, 20.03.2019
Got the mic, working fine so far, good quality, nice sounding vocals.
Its hard to get something better for this amount of money i think.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Very clean and robust
Fedor Tkachev, 04.04.2017
Great mic for the price for home-studio use with USB interface like Steinberg UR-22 or Focusrite 2i2 or similar.


I bought AT 2035 specifically for cello recording, but it is incredibly versatile in general. The most important selling points for me were: low noise and good sound.

And for me and my ears its a win-win on both of them!
Its amazing how quiet the mic is, and how much soft, subtle details I can now capture, with almost zero noise.

Cello is considered one of the most challenging instruments to record, but AT 2035 does a great job with it, you just have to find a sweet spot. Judging from youtube reviews, its also great on vocals, acoustic guitar, guitar cabinets.


Cons:

Sound
Low noise
Robust build quality
Shockmount

The only downside I can think of is that its very sensitive, just like a good condenser mic should be. So you need your computer to be as quiet as possible, and your recording space to be isolated from unwanted sounds.

I was choosing between Rode NT-1A and AT 2035, and I'm very happy with my choice.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
quite a good mic for little money
Josh_, 06.03.2014
I was looking for a microphone to record vocals and acoustic guitar in my little homestudio. Thomann recommended the AT 2035 after I wrote for which type of recordings I want to use it. I trusted the Thomann team and there were absolutely right.
The sound suprised me a lot. I never thought that a product in this price range could sound that good. The finish of this product ist very good. The mic fits the shock mount very well which makes it easy to place the microphone properly.

This microphone is not only useable for vocal or guitar recordings. I also used it for some percussions or other instruments like a melodica. And still it sounded awesome.

Using the pad I tried to additionally mike up a bass drum and it sounded very cool. Mixing it up with a standard bass drum mic made the sound very special.

conclusion - very good microphone for home recordings for a small amout of money
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Can't get any better
Abdou's, 23.10.2018
I use it in my home studio, mainly for vocals, but i used it on acoustic guitars & my Vox AC15C1 amp(with the -10 db option), still flawless (Especially if you record at a good acoustically treated room).
Compared it to NT1-A, the AT2035 is a bit warmer and truer?
Satisfied with my purchase & my next mic upgrade would be an AT product for sure.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Nice and versatile
Wilbury, 26.12.2018
I use this mike in my home studio for various applications, including video voiceovers, solo vocals and acoustic guitar recording. In my opinion, the mike is equally good in all those departments: the sound is very clean and warm. The mike is pretty sensitive, so you need to use a pop-screen. Although I have to admit that for guitar I somehow prefer AT 2020 which seems to give a "cleaner" sound (in the sense of being raw) that can be tweaked afterwards. I use the mike with Garageband and Audacity both on Mac and PC and in both instances it is a plug'n'play situation. All in all, I like the mike and trust the brand. And yeah, it is a very solid piece of metal. )
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Just perfect!
Bliizz4rD, 07.08.2018
Everything perfect wanted to thank thomann for the excellent service provided to portugal arrived alright and as expected thank you! Now I can stream good and quality twitch with the excellent equipment!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Outstanding
rsendas, 03.06.2019
In my opinion, one of the best overall mics for this price range. You get so much more value than what you pay!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Excellent
Alex996, 02.03.2019
It's the best choice for a home studio, take's out a very clean voice near a pretty good audio interface , i use Scarlett Solo 2nd gen.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Pretty natural sounding mic for the money
K0ko, 26.04.2018
I have used this mic for male vocals and acoustic guitars and it performed well for the money, delivering what one can perceive as "natural" sound. I compared it to sE X1 and they are pretty similar. The build quality of the mic itself is great, the plastic mount however does not impress, but it's still doing the job. This is definitely a great step up from cheap condensers (I've used MXL DRK before) or dynamic mics for a home recording studio.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Very Good.
03.09.2015
Excellent microphone for the price. Very warm sound. Perfect for Vocals and acoustic instruments. I am very happy with my purchase and would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a high quality low end microphone.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Very Good Mic for Voiceover
TSF John, 14.11.2017
I use this microphone mostly for Voiceover and it performs exceptionally in my experience. Since purchasing it, I have recommended it to many people looking for an excellent quality V/O mic for a reasonable price
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Excellent mic for the money
19.10.2015
I bought this mic to replace my current large diaphragm condenser, a Stagg MCO-7w (budget copy of the Neumann U-89), as it was getting old and a little noisy. The main things I was looking for in a new LDC were low self noise and neutral frequency response, since I would be using it in less than ideal locations on several different sources. The AT2035 delivers brilliantly for its price.

With preamp gain turned right up I could hear noise from the mic, but with the setting that high I could also hear sounds from around the house better than with my own ears so I guess that's expected behaviour from any mic. When using it to record soft acoustic guitar from 1-2 ft away there was only the slightest audible noise after I increased the output using gain and compression in my DAW. I'm guessing a good room and proper gating could have gotten rid of even that.

The frequency response is pretty flat from the front. I haven't done any comprehensive tests to measure or listen to the off-axis response.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great bundle for reasonable price!
02.05.2016
Mic that stands up against mic's costing 3-4x the same amount.

Now as good as potentially the Origin Mic's range, but ultimately, a fantastic microphone that is highly transparent and handles mids very well without being 'honky'

Coming from an SE X1, I would highly recommend this mic.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great Mic!!
20.06.2016
Hard to recommend a mic, as everyone is different, voices suit different mics etc, etc. But this was my first condenser purchase and was totally happy with the purchase. A pretty flat mic with a touch of presence, and can tolerate high levels very well
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Quality Mic
JeremyJ, 14.05.2013
I was a little wary buying a mic for my home studio, as you feel like a bit of a fool if you admit to not knowing much about it. So I trusted Thomann to point me in the right direction and they got it right. The At 2035 is a quality mic for all you budding bedroom recording artists and it suits my vocals perfectly. Thomann's price was the best on the net too.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Audio-Technica AT 2035

€154 £137
Free shipping incl. VAT

The price in GBP is a guideline price only!

Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
(1)
Recently Viewed
Rode Wireless GO

Rode Wireless GO; Digital Wireless Microphone System; ultra-compact and lightweight set of transmitter and receiver; series III 2.4 GHz digital transmission; clip-on transmitter TX with built-in microphone (omni capsule); maximum SPL: 100 dB; Frequency Range: 50 Hz – 20 kHz...

(1)
Recently Viewed
IK Multimedia UNO Drum

IK Multimedia UNO Drum; analog/PCM drum machine; 6 true analog voices for kick, snares, claps, and hi-hats; 12 PCM voices with 54 samples; freely layer analog & PCM sounds with 11-voice polyphony; editable drum sound parameters like level, tune, decay...

Recently Viewed
Native Instruments Komplete Audio 6 MK2

6-Channel Audio Interface 24-Bit / 192 kHz, 2 Mic/Line/Instrument Combo Inputs: XLR/jack 6.3 mm, 2 Line inputs: 6.3 mm Jack, 4 Line outputs: 6.3 mm Jack DC-coupled, S/PDIF input coaxial, MIDI input and output, 2 Stereo headphone outputs: 6.3...

(3)
Recently Viewed
TC Electronic Polytune 3 Noir

TC Electronic Polytune 3 Noir; Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar; compact polyphonic tuner/buffer, tuner in effectpedal size, Bonafide buffer circuitry preserves your tone through long cable runs and multiple effects, polyphonic tuning - tune all strings simultaneously, fast chromatic tuner...

Recently Viewed
K&M 21427

K&M 21427, professional carrying case for 6 microphone stands, includes castors for easy and comfortable transport, case made of extremely durable 1680D nylon fabric, all seams hand-stitched in high quality, padded carrying handles and a durable zipper, castors included, dimensions:...

Recently Viewed
RCF Art 312 MK III

RCF Art 312 MK III - full range passive speaker, 12"/1", 300W, 90x70° 12" woofer and 1" driver with 1.5" Mylar diaphragm, 8ohm, 127dB max, Speaker Twist in/out, plastic housing, pole mount adapter, 4 x M10-Flying points and 3 handles,...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Jazzlab saXholder PRO

Saxophone holder For Baritone, Tenor, Alto, and Soprano saxophones, Transfers the weight evenly across both shoulders, No load on the cervical vertebrae, Can be adjusted quickly with one hand, Space-saving: Smaller than a sheet of paper when folded, Comfortable...

(2)
Recently Viewed
Harley Benton Custom Line Thunder 99

Guitar Power Amplifier in Pedal Format Compact power amp pedal for electric guitar, For direct connection to any preamp, pedal or effects unit, Power: 2 x 50W to 4 ohms, For 4 - 16 ohm speakers, Master volume controller,...

Recently Viewed
J. Rockett Audio Designs The Dude V2

Effect pedal for electric guitar Overdrive, Delivers classic D-Style ODS sounds and feel, Less aggressive volume controller than previous version, True bypass, Controls for Level, Ratio, Treble and Deep, Bypass footswitch, Input / Output: 6.3mm mono jacks, Metal housing,...

Recently Viewed
K&M 21316 Select

K&M 21316 Select, large carrying case for speaker and hand crank stands, case made of extremely durable 1680D nylon fabric, all seams hand-stitched in high quality, padded carrying handles and a durable zipper, dimensions: 1200 mm, weight: 2,1kg, colour: black

Recently Viewed
Jazzlab saXholder PRO XL

Saxophone holder For Baritone, Tenor, Alto, and Soprano saxophones, Transfers the weight evenly across both shoulders, No load on the cervical vertebrae, Can be adjusted quickly with one hand, Space-saving: Smaller than a sheet of paper when folded, Comfortable...

(1)
Recently Viewed
the t.bone free2b

the t.bone free2b, microphone wireless system, 2.4 GHz wireless plug-on microphone system for dynamic mics, without phantom power, plug-n-play XLR transmitter & receiver, 2.4 GHz band, 32 bit / 48 kHz hi-resolution audio quality, 6 channels, transmission range up to...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.