Arturia MiniLab MKII

341 Customer ratings

207 Reviews

Arturia MiniLab MKII
£75
Including VAT; Excluding £8 shipping
In stock
In stock

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
1
JM
A great MIDI controller, apart from some details
José Meira 26.07.2020
I was a bit divided between this Arturia MiniLab MKII and the Akai MPK mini MK2. I chose this one because it looked nicer, because I didn't like the mod and pitch wheel being merged in a joystick in the Akai and because the keys looked sturdier. I was not mistaken about that, I have some friends that had the Akai and the keys actually felt really flimsy and some even broke.
I wanted something that I could take with me everywhere and that could also be on the side of the computer in my home studio to try synth sounds and deal with them easily before going to my main keyboard that is not a MIDI controller but has more keys and better quality overall. This keyboard does the trick but there are a few details I would like to mention.
First, the knobs have really little sensibility if you turn them slowly but can go crazy if you crank them up a little faster. That can be useful in some cases, but in other is really distracting and can slow your workflow. Not something terrible, just something to keep in mind.
Second, I prefer the pitch and mod wheels being separate things, but the "touch" feature is a little unnatural and, in my opinion, unnecessary. But since I only use this keyboard it for drafts or dialing sounds, it's ok for me.

Off with the bad points, on with the good ones.

The pads are really good and sensible. They feel great and have a really nice response.
The size is perfect to put in your backpack and take it anywhere, and since it doesn't require any batteries or a power outlet, you can make music anywhere (keep in mind that it is white, it can get dirty really easily if you're not careful).
The keys are not amazing but they meet the goals that is to play with more or less sensibility.
It looks awesome!!!

Overall was a great buy, considering the price and the functionalities it has, plus the plug-ins it gives you. If your looking for something portable and powerful, I would recommend the Arturia MiniLab MKII ;)
handling
features
sound/quality
computer utilisation
3
0
Report

Report

L
It does the job
Loslos 24.06.2022
It's portable, intuitive and easy to use as it comes with Minilab which is a great place to start playing with sounds.
Not for professional use. Rather to have fun with for when you have a laptop with you on holiday (or in a coffeebar)
handling
features
sound/quality
computer utilisation
0
0
Report

Report

G
Cheap but useful and loyal
Groovial 24.12.2020
This keyboard is my main keyboard for travelling. It's light, for the way I travel the size is ok, the keys feel much better then other similar keyboards at this price range, the knobs, pads and encoders can all learn MIDI, I use it with Ableton and I am very happy with it.
handling
features
sound/quality
computer utilisation
0
0
Report

Report

m
A Very Flexible Controller
mokee 10.05.2022
I have to admit that i have not really gotten into this controller all that much but my experience is that it has lots of features and flexibility - will update this review as i use it more -
handling
features
sound/quality
computer utilisation
0
0
Report

Report

K
Good product with a lot of sounds
Kitusai 30.04.2020
The keyboard is very good but the (kind of) modwheel isn't enough precise. Otherwise great product with a lot of good sounds.
handling
features
sound/quality
computer utilisation
0
0
Report

Report

Aj
Great for ableton
A. j M. 08.02.2021
This is a great piece of gear, especially if you use Ableton. I personnalité use both Ableton and Logic Pro fro different music needs.
The setup in Logic Pro is as easy as Ableton (just plug and play) BUT you get a lot less functionalities out of the box. The pads are read by Logic as regular keys and the pots order doesn’t make any kind of sense.
If you’ll be working with Logic, expect a lot of MIDI mapping if you want to have a controller as versatile and useful as this one can be.

In Ableton - no issue at all, just freakin’ perfect out of the box.

I would have appreciated a lot more documentation from Arturia on how to use their gear with each DAW. Only YouTube and forums have been helping me so far.
handling
features
sound/quality
computer utilisation
0
0
Report

Report

R
A good Midi Keyboard for the price
Rowen94 16.05.2020
I use this keyboard occasionally when I have to work with Midi in my recordings. I would say that it is a good keyboard for the price. what i did not like was the touch pitch wheel, a physical wheel would have been better for me personally.
handling
features
sound/quality
computer utilisation
0
0
Report

Report

kS
good value for money controller
kostas Sam 20.04.2021
Using with ableton Live with custom setup for effects on vocals, guitar and as a looper.
Pros:
Very easy to setup
Cons:
None so far, durability is not tested yet, as I bought this just a month ago. Will be commenting again after a year of use.
handling
features
sound/quality
computer utilisation
0
0
Report

Report

ow
Fenomenal MIDI controller for the price
ossian w 20.06.2020
Build quality isn't perfect, but for the price I'm very satisfied. Using this in my small home studio and it works great.

As said above build quality isn't the best, I'm not sure if this is only my unit but the pads barely seem to work, which kind of bums me out. I haven't heard anyone else say anything bad about the pads though, so it might be my unit.

The drivers were very easy to install, no troubles at all.
handling
features
sound/quality
computer utilisation
0
0
Report

Report

TA
Tarik Arslan 30.04.2020
I use the keyboard in Logic Pro x and abelton live and it perfectly fits to those.Keys have relatively feels good and have consistent velocity but I can't say the same thing for drum pads. Pads feel hard and not that easy to play.But overall a good product definitely worth it
handling
features
sound/quality
computer utilisation
0
0
Report

Report

Arturia MiniLab MKII