Arturia MicroBrute

229 Customer Ratings:
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.6 / 5.0
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
24 written ratings
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Nice analog synth for price
Nigel H., 01.05.2017
This is a great little synth for the money.

I purchased this synth to use in my home studio and i was not disappointed. the sound from this unit is anything but small. Even with one oscillator there is a variety of tones you can produce with this synth. The synth is mono meaning you cannot play chords but it is great for bass and lead tones.

There is a range of waves you can produce and mix through the interesting panel and the filter on the unit is very good. you can also run other instruments through the filter.

The build quality of the unit is very solid and it is made from plastic and metal. The knobs have nice resistance when you turn them and overall the build quality of the unit is rock solid.

The patch section is fun and when you take the time to learn it can yield some very interesting results. There is also a sequencer section which is worth taking the time to learn how to use.

The synth takes a few minutes to warm up and tune itself, as when you initially power it on it takes a few minutes for the pitch to settle. The synth does not run on batteries as per arturia because of the amount of voltage requires to run it. when you hear this synth you will hear why...

overall a great unit and i would recommend this to anyone who is looking to learn about synthesis. the fact that you need to build each sound without presets means you will learn a lot by using this synth.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Bargain synth, update may confuse
05.06.2015
I bought this synth after I noticed it was on discount and was not disappointed. As a newcomer in the world of hardware synths, the Microbrute is a great starting point. One quickly learns the basics of actually creating a sound instead of those presets most of us accustomed to software synths have applied. There is just this unique feeling of twisting actual knobs compared to moving computer mouse on sample synth screen, that's for sure. The keyboard is mini-sized but ok to use, and if you have a MIDI keyboard, just use standard MIDI cable to connect it with Microbrute and you can play the brute sounds with it.

The pitch wheel in my unit is leaning a bit to the left, but there are no performance issues, the thing works as it should. Also, if you update the synth firmware via USB, the step sequencer may go silent. This does not mean that your synth is broken, the Microbrute Connection has just made one extra change to settings it probably shouldn't have. If this happens to you, check the Connection software manual, it should be included in the software installation.

Lastly - this is for the very starters - Microbrute does transmit USB data but requires separate audio input to get audio signal into DAW. So make sure you have an audio interface that can do the job. In DAW Microbrute syncs with the DAW tempo clock just fine if it is connected via USB and the DAW settings are in order.

Then again, I may just put Microbrute on my lap, connect the headphones and try to come up with different sounds. Playing with Microbrute is pure fun, which is normally not the case with soft synths and their seemingly endless menus. If you want to get onboard in the hardware synth world, I cannot think better bang for your buck than Microbrute.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Best beginner synth
MattValo, 04.04.2019
I really recommend it as a synthesizer for beginners. I will teach You everything You need to get into hardware synths :)
I sold mine just so I can get bigger model. Minibrute, but if You are just starting out, Microbrute is all you need.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
sergiusz_w, 20.06.2019
I use it at home studio. The Microbrute shines with convincing sound and the hands-on user interface.

Twisting knobs on this thing gives you immediate, interesting results. The way you interact with this instrument is genuinely musical. I enjoy playing with it and use it often, which is the point of owning a musical instrument, right?. The only downside for me is lack of a delay effect and the necessity to route the output through external gear.

It is a characterful little synth though and for the price it is hard to beat.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Fabulous Machine
FC Music , 18.12.2018
I bought this a year ago but forgot to review it. Even having bought a further 5 synths since this one I still use my MicroBrute daily. It's an essential part of my set up especially for either mellow or cutting leads and bass sequences. A truly great piece of gear.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
The way synths should be.
26.07.2014
Most inspiring, fun, great sounding low-priced ,monophonic synths that you can get in this galaxy. Period.
Tons of routing options, fun sequencer, great sound.
Keys are useless for those who love full-sized keys. But anyway i dont play keys and i use it as a module with its built in sequencer.
Build to last, inspires creativity.
You lose patch memory but you get "patch sheets" with "presets" and also empty ones to write your own. Cables for routing lfos and such are also included.
Nice manual with synthesis in general, explained.
Sound is great, no question about it. Basses, leads, you name it.

So this synth is for everyone: guys with with modular setups and also first time buyers. If you can live without patch memory, you cant go wrong. For learning, creating and jamming all night long.

10 stars of 5
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
A great intro to Analogue
05.02.2017
I bought this one to start delving into the analogue side of electronic music and I am so far very pleased with the results. It is not overwhelmingly complicated to start getting some nice sounds out of it whilst learning the basics of analogue gear. The built is also very robust and feels solid. The only thing which did not impress me is the keybed, feels a bit too toyish but overall for the price I recommend it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Amazing Synth!
Soundguyben, 24.02.2019
You will not find many analog synths for this price. This thing is truly a brute. Money well spent. Really powerful bass. Can get very angry with leads and bass but also some cool atmospheric sounds through fx etc. Nice sequencer on board. All in all, this thing is amazing. Would highly reccommend.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
The perfect intro to subtractive synthesis
10.08.2015
Having used VST's & VA synths for years this is my first fully fledged analog synth.

Don't let its size fool you, this thing is feature packed, Only one VCO & Envelope but the mod matrix and CV connectivity really open this thing up.

No patch memory which is why this synth is so good to learn programming on, one know per function means dialing sounds takes no time,

Mod Matrix/ Patch bay is a nice introduction to mod style synth sounds, get some stckable cables and you are in crazy sound territory.
Sound is basic enough with only one VCO but there are lots of options to modify including metalizer, PWM,

All in all A great buy
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Excellent for the price
13.01.2015
Suprisingly versatile synthesizer, you can get huge sounds out of it despite only having a single oscillator + sub osc. It's also good for classic clean synth tones, just don't crank the oscillator controls past 12 o clock, after that it starts to overdrive. The patch bay is a huge plus, you can expand it with eurorack compatible stuff. This thing feels like it was designed with love. And the manual is excellent.

On the minus side the mini-keyboard isn't as nice as for example on Microbrute XL. After you get used to it it's okay though.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Great synth
The Fed, 06.11.2018
Amazing synth, analogue but very stable, full of feature and "cheap" (considering the price of analogue synths). You don't have anything: a second VCO apart from the sub and a second envelope generator would have been amazing, but you can pair it with other equipment thanks to the CV in/out.
The minikeys are good but, of course, are minikeys, but dimension wise is fantastic and portable.
And, most important thing, it sounds great.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
A great introduction to Analogue Synthesis
12.11.2016
The Arturia MicroBrute provides a seriously fun introduction to the fundamentals of synthesis. It has a huge sound which isn't generic, but has its own special character. Linking it to effect pedals one is able to create some wonderful sounds to use in songs and sound experiments. Using the sequencer one is able to also experiment with note progressions and is a tool for effective song writing.

It is built amazingly however some aspects do feel a bit cheap. Sometimes the keyboard is a bit "loose" and kind of bends a bit.

An amazing purchase, I would seriously recommend it to anyone who is even a little interested in sound design and music sythensis.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Fun and easy to use synth.
Steven262, 03.01.2014
Fantastic sounding analogue synthesiser for the price, very easy and intuitive to use. Great fun to play, either for experienced synth players or for those starting out with analogue synthesisers.

The small size of the instrument makes it highly portable as well.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Nice little synth with lot of possibilities
navymaker, 20.04.2017
Very nice device with low, with great sounding oscillator and filter.
It can be used as companion to eurorack modular, or standalone, whatever.
It have some cons, such as one envelope generator, one oscillator and missing noise generator, but again: price.

By the way, filter cutoff frequency can be modulated from external sequencer by MIDI using modwheel.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Outstanding Analog Mono Synth - Excellent Value For Money
TerenceB, 04.12.2014
I've used Arturia's software synths for many years - I'm a particular fan of their take on the classic Yamaha CS80 - but this was my first experience of their hardware. At its price I had expected it to be a bit cheap and "plasticky" in feel, and I was OK with that - in the event I was pleasantly surprised to find a rather solid solid piece of kit.

I sometimes work with a "virtual" studio setup using the excellent Five12 Numerology sequencer and a massive bank of plug-in synths. I also have an ever-growing analog modular system. One of the reasons I chose the Microbrute was that its mix of on-board MIDI, USB and CV connections made it a potentially cost-effective bridge between the two systems. For my first experiment I slaved the Microbrute's in-built sequencer to Numerology's MIDI clock and controlled a number of analog parameters using the Microbrute's CV out connections. And all of that worked quite smoothly. There's still plenty of work for me to do here.

What I hadn't particularly factored for was - from a sound perspective - what a powerful little device it would be, with a versatile and meaty oscillator and some ripping filtering options. (And to illustrate its value for money, some of the single oscillator modules in my analog rack have cost me more than the Microbrute!) It's already had plenty of use in recording.

I've also seen the Microbrute working as a neat introduction to basic analog synthesis, with my 11-year-old son was good results out of it within a five minutes and quickly having a ball!

Finally, one other aspect I hadn't thought about at all was the usefulness of the miniature keyboard itself. Although, like all traditional analog synthesisers, it has no dynamic sensitivity relating to the on-board oscillator, when connected to other equipment, either via MIDI or USB, it does transmit this data. So it can also act as a handy touch-sensitive programming keyboard - in fact it now sits permanently alongside my desk so that I can use it to enter notes and beats without having to hook up a full size keyboard if I don't need one.

All in all, for the money, there's really nothing to criticise. I did, after a few weeks of playing around, wonder if I should instead have bought its bigger brother, the Minibrute, but I'm certainly very happy to have the Microbrute in my arsenal.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
best synth in its price range
10.12.2015
I love the sound possibilities, despite it has one oscilator. The built quality is very good, the keys are touch sensitive but you won't notice that as synth itself does not use it. I love the handling, very clear control design and mod matrix is a great feature. What I do not like is very sensitive tuner knob on the back. And it goes out of tune much more that my moog slim phatty (but that one has autotune).
But for the money it's great piece of solid hardware.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
nice
Lemme, 15.03.2018
really nice analog sound, nice sequencer.

overall, good product for the budget
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Incredible introduction to analogue synthesis
11.12.2014
This is an excellent synthesiser. I'm guitarist with no keyboard skills at all but fancied a little synth to play with. I've used software synths before like ES2 and Massive so had some knowledge of synth architecture but even for people with no knowledge at all can pick it up and start making sounds instantly. For the price its a great sounding mono synth, the filter is incredibly versatile and the modular style patch bay is brilliant. Solid construction, very reliable, definitely would gig with!

Takes a couple of minutes to 'warm up' but this isn't really an issue at all, once you've plugged everything in and got everything else set up its all ready for you. The pitch is extremely stable. If you want a mono synth, buy this one!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Arturia MicroBrute
23.02.2015
First of all, First Class service by Thomann in shipping to the UK free of charge .............. amazing !!

The Microbrute is more than I imagined it would be, unbelievable the amount of fun and creativity from such a small size synth. The sound is huge, due to the fact that the single oscillator can produce 4 waveforms at once, giving it a huge multi timbral sound, add LFO and the Sequencer and it is analog heaven............... in a tiny package.

Well built and easy to use too.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
BRUTAL monophonic analog synth :)
Suuka, 14.07.2015
Arturia did an amazing job with this little synth. So far I haven't found a single weakness. Filter sounds quite dirty (in a good way). Oscillator has some interesting and useful features (metalizer, ultrasaw, sub osc & overtones...). It has a simple LFO, ADSR and a sequencer but one of the best features is the mod matrix with CV ins/outs! You can use it with external eurorack filters and make it sound similar to any legendary monophonic synth. It has no presets but this is where the fun begins. It can easily compare with much more expensive synths.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Viva la analogue
Larry Poulton, 06.01.2014
Quite a revelation and an amazing product. I started out many years ago on a Korg MS20 and this takes me back to that feeling of excitement. You cannot beat knob twiddling. The lack of patch memory may seem ludicrous but its not. This is what sound creation should be about, not 1000 patches, a variation on each other, but getting hands on. As usual the Thomann team delivered amazingly quick. The added bonus of a free 3 year warranty is most appreciated.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
My first synt
Bernard8458, 19.12.2014
Excellent fun with this. learning quickly how to play around get some funky tunes going. Im now officially a synt head, love it!!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Amazing Sound!
lobo00, 09.12.2013
This mini-monster is a true gem!

pros:

oscillators. A Steiner-Parker filter, Brute Factor, and MOD MATRIX! It's a proper modular for under 300$ !

cons: "poor" keyboard (but it does the trick). I can't think of anything else, since this synth is fantastic!

I'm using it with a Korg Monotribe and iPad w/ FL Studio HD. Works like a charm!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Abby, 05.12.2018
I'll need some time to get used to the minikeys, and they feel kind of plasticky and toyish but the unit is sturdy AF, and the sound is just what I wanted! Check out youtube demos to get an idea
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Arturia MicroBrute

€279 £252.05
Free shipping incl. VAT

The price in GBP is a guideline price only!

Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Online Guides
Synthesizers
Synthesizers
There are a wealth of synthesisers available today, ranging from hardware keyboards to virtual software instruments.
 
 
 
 
 
Download
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
(2)
Recently Viewed
Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 3rd Gen

2-Channel USB2.0 audio interface with USB-C connection 24-Bit / 192 kHz, 2 Scarlett microphone preamps, Phantom power +48 V, Switchable air function, 2 Mic / instrument / line inputs: XLR / 6.3 mm jack combo balanced, 2 Line outputs:...

Recently Viewed
Antares Auto-Tune EFX+

Antares Auto-Tune EFX+ (ESD); pitch correction plugin; software for automatical or manual correction of pitch and intonation; Retune-Speed control for fine tune the desired effect from subtle natural pitch correction to the Auto-Tune Vocal Effect; humanize function reduces artefacts; Auto-EFX...

Recently Viewed
Marshall Stanmore BT II Black

Stanmore BT II Black portable Bluetooth Speaker, 1x 50 W woofer, 2x 15 W tweeter, class D amplifier, bass reflex enclosure, 50 - 20000 Hz, bluetooth standard V 5.0, 3.5mm input for MP3 players etc, RCA input, controls for volume...

Recently Viewed
Reloop Spin

Reloop Spin, Portable Turntable, Out of the Box: Comes with 7 '' Scratch Vinyl, Pre-Assembled 45mm Crossfader & Pickup System, Built-in Speaker, Bluetooth Audio Receiver, Bluetooth Audio Streaming: Wirelessly Transfer Music or Beats to Turntable, Smart USB Recording: Direct recording...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Numark Scratch

Numark Scratch, 2-channle Scratch Mixer for Serato DJ Pro with DVS-license, Serato NoiseMap-compliant with use of Control Vinyls or CDs (optional obtainable), InnoFader Scratch Crossfader with Reverse- and Slope-control, 6 effect choice switches with two Paddle-trigger and Dry-Wet FX-control, 8...

Recently Viewed
Meris Hedra Pitch-Shifter

Effect Pedal for Electric Guitar Pitch shifter, 3 Harmony voices / delay lines with rhythmic time offset, Tap Tempo function and synchronisation, 12 Diatonic harmonies and chromatic pitch shifting, Up to 16 presets via MIDI, 24 Bit AD /...

Recently Viewed
Harley Benton GS-Travel-E LH Mahogany

Steel-String Guitar Left handed model, Design: Mini Travel Grand Symphony, Body: Selected mahogany, Arched back, Neck: NATO, Neck profile: V, Fretboard: Blackwood, Scale: 596 mm, Nut width: 43 mm, 20 Frets, Dot inlays, Black body and neck bindings, Bridge:...

Recently Viewed
Varytec Hero Spot Wash 140 2in1 RGBW+W

Varytec Hero Spot Wash 140 2in1 RGBW+W, 2in1 LED Spot Wash Moving Head, the "MacGyver" of the Moving Lights is the universal lighting tool for all heroes, combines two devices in one housing, saves time and space in the rig,...

Recently Viewed
MXL AC-360-Z V2 Black

MXL AC-360-Z V2 Black; Conferencing Microphone; USB microphone for conferences and webinar applications; 12 internal condenser capsules for full 360° audio pickup; compatible with Zoom Video Communications software; connection via USB-C cable; no driver installation required; audio pickup radius: >...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Focusrite Scarlett 4i4 3rd Gen

4-Channel USB2.0 audio interface with USB-C connection 24 Bits / 192 kHz, 2 Scarlett microphone preamps, Phantom power +48 V, Switchable air function, 2 Mic / instrument / line inputs: XLR / 6.3mm jack combo balanced, 2 Line inputs:...

Recently Viewed
dB Technologies FMX 12

Active 2-Way Coaxial Stage Monitor Equipped with: 12" woofer and 1" tweeter, Frequency range (-10 dB): 52 - 19,000 Hz, Max SPL: 128 dB, Coverage pattern: 60° x 90°, Class D amplifier, Peak power: 1200 W, Integrated handle on...

Recently Viewed
Tech 21 Fly Rig 5 v2

Multi-Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar The same analogue SansAmp circuit, plexi distortion and delay of the first version plus some additional features, such as switch between Plexi and Cali distortion mode, an independent reverb with adjustable room size, an...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.