Customer center login

Allen & Heath Xone 23

171 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.6 /5
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Excellent mixer, outstanding price point.
PrinceofTescoLager, 08.03.2018
Just been using this for home mixing over the past 15 months with two 1210?s, mixing mainly techno, house while my roomamtes would use it for mixing everything from hip hop to rock.

Regarding build quality - from the start I was blown away by the solid feel of the mixer. It comes in a compact size but it heavy and feels sturdy. the rubber EQ knobs feel great just adjustments and the faders all feel high quality. The LED's are also excellent and easy to use for quick reassurance when cueing. My mixer still feels new and looks it after a over a year of heavy use.

Regarding handling, it works a charm for mixing 2 tracks. The knobs feel well, the faders slide well and everything feels well balanced. At first I found the setup of the filter a bit strange - due to it basically being two rotary knobs to control wet/wild and resonance that acts as a filter for either channels (you can use one one channel or both simultaneously). It's a bit tricky at first due to the low and high pass sharing the same knob, so if you switch to low pass while having a high pass on by mistake, you'll potentially cut a track. It takes some getting used to, but once you do it's absolutely fine. The EQ'ing feels fantastic, and adding tone to tracks is excellent and simple. This mixer has basically hit the nail on the head for mixing two turntables - 2 channels that work well, an amazing filter, good crossfader and no extra effects or anything that I would never find myself using anyway.

Feature wise, as Ive mentioned above the filter is strange at first but an excellent addition, after a while I came to prefer it to separate channel filters such as on DJM series. Another sweet ability is to have the ability to connect 2 inputs to each channel, meaning you could have a CDJ and Technics in the same channel, and these are basically controlled by the gain of each at the top. It's basically a 2+2 mixer - it's strange but works well.

The sound is the best thing about this mixer. I still scratch my head thinking how something at this price point sounds so good. I've considered several times to get a new mixer but honestly can't justify it at the moment unless I move onto 3/4 decks. This mixer has everything you need for 2 channel mixing in my opinion. I was going to get a Xone 92 for the sake of the extra filter and handling, but can't find myself ever upgrading unless I ever get CDJ's.

Bottom line is if you play vinyl and have a grand to spend on a new mixer - get this and spend the remainder of the money on records.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Gianni Moranni, 23.02.2020
Abslolutely fantastic, nice and heavy exactly what you'd expect from an analog device and more importantly it sounds like a dream. I've been using it at home for more than 5 years, never had any issue with the product.

Pros:
The filter sounds proper whopper.
Pots and faders feel good and sturdy. No sign of deterioration yet.
Loads of connection options.

Cons:
If I have to say anything It's sort of unnoticeable and not a huge thing, but the EQ doesn't kill the corresponding volumes completely when all of them are at zero with the channel faders fully up... I mean overall lt gets the job done 98% .. it's apparent when you crank the master pot to the sky otherwise naaah.. I recorded several mixes with it and never heard any of the above mentioned issue.

Highly recommend it
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Best! And what a price!
18.05.2016
Fantastic sound for fantastic price!

And those amazing fully analogue filter! My mixes are so precise and clear! If you ever played with Xone 62 or 82 you know the sound, especially for vinyl. Phono-preamps on all digital mixers (pioneer, numark etc) are so harsh and bad sounding. With this mixer your vinyl will sound the same as with Xone 62 or 82. Or I don't hear much difference. What I hear is HUGE difference with Pioneers. Really. You will be surprised why they are considered 'industry standards'. Because everyone plays mp3s?

Build like a tank. We all know that Allen&Heath DJ mixers made 10 years ago (or so) were not so durable. This is not the case anymore. I take Xone23 with me twice a week in a club during two years and it is still looks and sound just like brand new! Unbelievable build quality. Not any single flaw!

I DJ since 1996 and I had possibility to play on many mixers. Vestax Rotary and A&H 82 were the best sounding I can remember, but you know the price. This little baby sounds just like them. If you just play two records nothing can beat it. And you can connect 2xCDs and effect processor.

Outputs are professional: XLR, Booth has separate volume, Record Out. In some clubs/bars they use RCA - so I just connect it through Booth RCA outputs, no adapters needed. Only adapter I recommend is RCA to Jack Female, for Booth if you gonna use in club where Pioneer is installed.

This mixer changed the way I mix. I don't use EQs anymore to kill the bass (even EQs are kill-EQs). I Prefer to kill bass on one records using Filter, this allows me to tune its frequency precisely to each track, then I mix in second record, and after playing a wile both I press both Filter buttons at the same time - this allows me to perfectly in time switch bass-lines from records A to record B. So Easy! Ans sounds like a magic.

Pros: Perfect size, perfect weight, amazing price, fantastic sound. Analogue Filter! Build quality is great.

Cons: You will need to use soldering iron to remove 'ear protecting resistors' in order to have maximum possible Gain. This require some experience and it is easy do damage the mixer.
Still on some very silently recorded vinyls Gain is not enough (some 'silent' albums with 20+ minutes on each side). For singles Gain is enough.

I LOVE XONE23!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Slightly Disappointed.
Dave Sin Santos, 08.04.2015
All the pots are solid and well made but it's massively let down by the channel faders - they rock from side to side with about 2mm play each side. For someone who uses these for mixing, it's slightly nervewracking each time you grasp them how flimsy they are. The cross fader itself isn't as bad, but there's still some wobble. I'm nervous about using them to mix, something I don't remember feeling about other A&H models.

The sound quality is great though - rich and clear, and the quality of the pots compensates a little for the faders (traditionally the lowest point of any A&H product).

Really disappointed by the flimsiness of the faders - everything else is beautifully solid and well made. On arrival the boxes had all previously been opened, making me wonder whether I'd been sent B-stock - more likely they'd been opened and checked by Irish customs. If anyone is curious the item is built in China not England - I'd hate to blame the fader build on where it was manufactured.

Incidentally the Thomann provided EU to UK plug converter is useless. You will need to rewire the plug if you're in the UK or Republic of Ireland as the EU plug will not fit the socket in the converter.

**EDIT** OK, had a few hours playing with this and although the faders are flimsy, they are easily going to cope with most styles of use. In the vertical movement they are sturdy enough to feel safe and the play becomes imperceptible. And listening to things played through this device I'm loving it more every hour.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Wonderful mixer
Pjay, 14.04.2020
I bought the Xone 23 when I started DJing and I still have it. The quality of build is awesome, case in metal. The knobs feel great and haven't moved despite several years of use. The filter is way better that what you can find on a DJM-350 for example, but that is my opinion. And it has XLR inputs, which is great. Long story short: awesome mixer!
Only thing that could be improved in my opinion: the VU meter but that is a detail.
I used this with vinyl turntables so it is great, maybe someone playing with CDJ or a more advancer DJ will want more features but for me, it is perfect, I don't need more.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Awesome
Flu420, 10.09.2020
Very happy with this mixer, I'd say it's very well spent money.
The Xone 23 feels really robust and has surprisingly well balanced faders and knobs. Sound quality is incredible at this price, with a great eq and very nice filter I get everything I need for two channel mixing.
I guess it could have been nice to have some effects to play around with but I personally rarely implement fx during a set. Anyways, still highly recommended product.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Great mixer , lacks style - Rotary conversion
LeeRoyBrown, 27.02.2020
I turned mine into rotary with custom faceplate and wooden sidepanels. I also applied the +6db phono boost mod. Now it rocks!
https://www.instagram.com/darkbahamas/
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Allen & Heath Xone 23
14.06.2016
Great mixer. feels really nice to use and looks good. not having kill switches is not a problem because you can use the filter to cut every thing out then use the filter button to cut a track abruptly, you may prefer actual switches but for me its not a problem. the only thing i find annoying is the headphone mix as I can't listen to the track I'm about to bring into the mix without listening to the other track at the same time, but all in all I thinks its a fantastic mixer and would recommend it to anyone looking for a mixer in this price range
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
The best sound for the best price!
Soundbwoy, 29.04.2020
I was completely blown away by this mixer! The build had me asking friends to touch it I thought I was going mad, this thing is SO well made. I heard the sound was good from reviews but my god it really is a great super warm tone really brings life to a digital setup. Can't recommend this mixer more, long blends are an absolute treat and the filters are so playable. If you break it down you've basically got yourself a Xone 92 for a third of the price its a no brainer. Good job A&H on this one.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Great value, excellent build
09.05.2016
I bought this for my home set up replacing an old Pioneer DJM 600 that had seen better days. This is a steal at this price, built like a tank with very nice smooth faders and pots. Fantastic analog filter. Although much smaller and lower level than my previous mixer i feel much happier with it. Perfect for a home set up for turntables and a line input.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Good product
slow.g, 15.05.2019
Happy with the product. Sound is fat and crisp just like all A&H equipment. It will not disappoint.
all pros
no cons
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Perfect for this price!
Jeborson, 31.03.2020
Very good quality for this money!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Really good sounding mixer
daadadaamoromoro, 01.04.2018
Really good sounding mixer. Everything feels well made and ridgid. The sound is magnificent compared to my earlier dj mixer.

One thing I don't understand with dj mixers commonly is that why almost every mixer is 'innofader combatible' and these mixers have these stickers. Why they don't just put the innofader on the mixer if it's something that you should use. (I haven't used it yet)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Great Sound in a Small Compact DJ Mixer
DJ Sarumawashi, 02.11.2018
Great Sound and Features.
Cons -- External power source!
In all Very Happy with it and having lots of fun while DJing ;-)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
best choice
Edharas, 19.11.2019
Top mixer for simple djing.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Excellent Little Mixer
Schottky, 04.08.2014
Perfect 2 channel mixer for a mix dj. Only drawback is that there is no line/phono switch to quickly cut audio.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Allen & Heath Xone 23

£225
Free shipping incl. VAT
Available shortly (2-5 days)
Available shortly (2-5 days)

This item has been ordered with our suppliers and should be in our warehouse in the next few days.

Standard Delivery Times
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-441
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Online Guides
DJ Mixers
DJ Mixers
When choosing a mixer, the most important thing to consider is what style of mixing you will be doing.
Online Guides
Mixers
Mixers
In this guide we’ll concentrate on the functionality of hardware mixers. They are an essential part of any live sound systems and studio setups.
Online Guides
DJ Setups
DJ Setups
DJing has rather murky origins, and there are many people who claim to have been the first to mix two records together.
Online Guides
DJ Record Decks
DJ Record Decks
Turntables have evolved over the years from traditional record players into the professional record decks seen in every club today.
 
 
 
 
 
Downloads
 
 
 
 
 
test results: