AKG K-240 Studio

1032 Customer Ratings:
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.6 / 5.0
  • sound
  • comfort
  • quality
73 written ratings
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Worth it
07.01.2016
There are quite a few good qualities in these headphones with only minor drawbacks.

I tend to listen to high-definition music, 320 kbps and the likes.
What initially struck me when listening to music through these headphones is the quality. After owning cheap 15euro headphones for so long, I immediately noticed a huge increase in clarity, especially in the low-frequency spectrum.
These speakers have higher impedance than some and this causes them to be slightly less-loud, but they are still perfectly capable of drowning out any background noise, such as a TV or radio playing.
These headphones are also semi-open, meaning their sound-insulation isnt very high. This can be seen as good or bad, as you may not want others hearing your music, but it also means I can speak to others while the speakers are still on my ears

For comfort, I didnt give a fifth star for some minor reasons.
First, the removable audio jack extrudes quite a long way out of the bottom of the speaker, and sometimes snags on the collar of my coat. I dont mind this too much as having a removable jack at all is great for me, but still this is worth noting.
Secondly, the material used to form the speaker pads, while soft and easy on the skin, is leathery, meaning that if i wear the phones for a long duration, they will leave sweat-marks on the skin.

The rest of the build quality is very satisfactory, with self-adjusting headband and a good flexible, agile feel to the product as a whole- these will probably last a long time. These headphones are also very light, meaning they dont leave that annoying headphone-hair indent on my head when using them for hours.

So to sum up, Very good quality sound, Very comfortable (usually), durable.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
AKG Headphones
Simon C, 20.12.2018
I'm not convinced !
I'm using headphones out of a Guitar amp. Up till now been using some cheap JBL branded headphones from the supermarket ! Thought I'd treat myself and purchase something a little more "grown up". My first and immediate impression was that the AKG's just seem "dead" in comparison. I'm sure they lack something around the 3/4 mid to high frequency, clarity, presence, life, whatever you want to call it.
Playing P90 or single coil Tele guitars, the old JBL'S sound alive and portray the character of those pickups. I put on the AKG's and it's like listening through cotton wool. I even give the pickup height a tweak on the treble side and / or push the EQ on the amp.

Sound is very subjective, which sound is right. Which speaker is correctly rendering what you've actually got at source, short of actually measuring with laboratory equipment. So maybe the AKG's are technically "faithful". They are nicely made and fairly comfortable, appear to be of a quality. But as I sit here and revue my Thomann purchases, I have listened through the same classical piano cd via headphones old and new and the old are a lot more dynamic and enjoyable to my hearing - I don't believe the JBL's have any "onboard" processing / enhancement.

The AKG's are okay. Are they good ? - I have no idea.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
A Studio Standard for a Reason
Schengis, 28.06.2019
These are really just great all-around headphones, and at this price, they're very accessible. I mostly bought them because they have nearly a completely opposite sonic representation that the DT 770s, so if I'm ever questioning the quality of a mix that I'm working on I can switch between the two to make sure everything is well-represented in the mix.

In addition to being great in the studio, they can also just be great for listening. There's something magical going on around the mids in these cans and it can give you a completely new perspective on music that you thought you knew!

Having worked with 770s for a while, I was constantly battling ear-fatigue. After I added the K-240s to my toolbox, I was able to mix for longer periods of time without feeling completely washed out. They also work fantastically at low volumes, which can be a lifesaver.

I genuinely don't have much to say that's negative about these headphones. If you're looking for something to cancel out sound and thump your ears off with bass and be super crispy, then these simply aren't for you.

I won't ever work on a project without these again. Must-have headphones.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Excellent value for money
VladTheInstaller, 24.09.2017
I use these headphones for pretty much everything from monitoring, tracking, and listening to music outdoors and it does a very good job in all situations. The semi-open construction is useful for being able to hear traffic while in urban areas, which is usually difficult with closed-back designs. Unfortunately, that means there is not much rejection when tracking loud instruments like drums or a miked guitar cabinet in the same room.

The sound quality is great, but not as crystal clear as my AKG K-702 but these AKG K-240s are a fraction of the cost. The character is nice and clear but doesn't have an anaemic or over-present bottom end; The bass and low mids sound pretty good to my ears.

The construction is actually a lot tougher than it would appear, but beware that AKG headphones sometimes have a problem with wires popping loose inside the housing. Repairing this issue requires opening your headphones and re-soldering the loose wire. This has happened on 2 of the 3 AKG headphones I own. Also, the soft, plastic ear pads harden over time and need replacing. That being said, these are some of the hardest wearing headphones I've ever owned.

I highly recommend them to anyone looking for great value headphones that will serve them for years with the minimum hassle.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
ping pong
Bernstein007, 28.08.2019
Im more about 3 years guarantee which is only a joke.Used this headphones ocasionally but still after almost 3 years detachable cabel should be replaced cause one chanell is not functioning properly.Customer service is terrible.Ignorance to requests or total incompetence on a live chat.Very disapointing experience.Headphone are quite ok.Used in many fancy recording studios by leading musicians
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Guitar practice
KillY88, 18.07.2019
I bought this one for practicing quietly with my guitar. It's perfect for that.
On the plus side, listening to music through my phone (spotify) with the headphones is excellent. The first song i put on was "Welcome To the Jungle" and i heard parts of the song that I had never heard before.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Very good.
koftis, 24.04.2019
You can trust them to configure the frequency to sound your songs correctly on all playback systems but for the volume levels in the final mix it's better to use somes speakers.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Gorgeous, even if not *completely& neutral.
Con_E, 23.11.2017
I use these headphones every day, both for composing, mixing & tracking. I can wear them all day every day for weeks and weeks without any sort of fatigue, either from a sonic perspective, or from the physical weight / shape of the headphones.

The sound reproduction is absolutely dreamy, and it makes listening and writing an absolute joy -- as almost everything sounds good! Everything is also crystal clear, without ever being harsh or unrealistic.

My only critique is that in the very low-end (say, sub 120Hz) they are perhaps too smooth, making it difficult to get an accurate picture of how this frequency range will translate to other listening environments.

If you are looking for bass-heavy headphones, try something else, but if you are looking for headphones that make your work a dream, and encourage confidence when writing / composing, & recording -- then i haven't heard better than these :)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Incredible Value
Feeky B, 27.12.2018
These headphones have an astounding frequency range and I've been using them for producing for about 3 years now. They're quite comfortable however after extended periods of use the leather can make you sweat a little.

The balance between the different frequencies is brilliant and unlike many of today's commercial consumer and even some studio headphones - the bass response isn't overpowering. Everything has it's own space in a well made mix while wearing these. Once I got them I put on Bitches Brew by Miles Davis because of how intricate the mix is (3 pianos, 2 hard panned left and right, one down the centre, 2 drummers hard panned left and right plus the normal jazz setup) and I was blown away. It totally changed my perception of the album.

These are brilliant for listening, for producing, mixing, sound design, and anything else that requires hi fidelity sound. They are pretty much noiseless on their own which gives the sound clarity as opposed to being drowned out by a hiss or high pitched ringing in the case of noise cancelling headphones. Beware however, they don't have great isolation or volume because they are open backed. I highly recommend these.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Handle with care!
Akibaidisto, 13.12.2018
Sound quality is perfect! No coloration whatsoever. Very comfortable, been using them for 2, 3h straight, with no fatigue to the ears or head, but beware that the fit is auto, you cannot adjust it as you please.
I do have concernes about the quality of the materials. I'm quite afraid I will break them if I'm not extremely careful taking them off.
I'm glad with the purchase, but wouldn't buy them again due to the fragile touch and feeling. Sound is great though, very clear.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
PinupB, 13.08.2018
I use this pair of headphones as an all purpose kind of phones, the sound is clear and balanced, and honestly I like it very much, I've been using them for a year and the built quality is good i'm not a very careful guy with my equipment and they have resisted very well.
They are semi open headphones and if you like to listen music with a little bit of volume, the person next to you will be listening too because they bleed a lot.
I don't know why but the earpads, and the headband get very hot on our head after a 30m of use and on warm days they will make you sweat.
The Sound is good the built quality too but they are not very comfortable because of how hot they get in your head.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Good But Needs Improvements
riosoliveira, 28.02.2018
Sounds great into a iphone or a laptop and it doesn't need any amplification. So it works very well just for listening to music. Giving you favorite tracks a pleasent sound and a fresh start.
I would consider buying a smaller helix cable to use as a alternative but i think the one that comes with the 240 is good for the recording process.
They are comfortable and look nice.
I feel i will use them for many years to come.
A down side - They need to improve on the quality of materials ,construction and details !
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Good headphones for home studio
Iv011, 10.07.2018
I bought them for mixing and using in home studio. They are semi open so I can hear door ring, phone or some other important sounds while I am listening music or working in DAW. Sound quality is good and neutral.

Pros: Inexpensive good sounding headphones.
Cons: These doesn't have spiral cable.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
i use every day
toma022, 27.11.2018
clear sound
full confort
i will buy a same again
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Good but not loud enough !!
Alan Dub, 28.08.2019
Very decent sound but i thought it is not loud enough for me!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
AKG K-240 Circumnaural Cans
Simon6350, 09.02.2015
I bought these knowing they would be half decent and wasn't disappointed. These over ear headphones are so comfortable you forget you are wearing them and suffer very little ear fatigue which is pretty useful if your recording /mixing all day.
Sonically they are suitably flat for a pair of v.good studio headphones but the frequency response delves deep enough to pick up the subs my near field monitors can't reach..yeah am very happy with their clarity and range. I have had some very nice headphones over the years such as Grado's and AT's and for the money these come recommended.My only niggle if I had to find One would be that no bag or spare leads are provided (as the lead provided is quite long) but I believe this has been addressed in the newer model of the K-240's. Of course this "'improvement " comes at a cost! What the heck don't hesitate either way.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Use them all the time
pidah, 08.01.2018
Very nice for vocalists and other people who rely on intonation. Because of the design you hear quite a bit of "you" while the spill is not too bad.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Recommended purchase!
05.01.2017
First time when i tried out this headset i suprised.
I have never thought that for that price this headphones will be soo good.
It has warm lows and understoodable mids to, only the highs dont came through like th previouses.
Even so the the high freq.-s nice too.

I am happy with this purchase, lets try it out!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
The industry standard at a budget price.
06.01.2017
If you watched a couple Youtube videos with professionals you will see these popping up constantly. Reason? They are kickass, and for this price tag you can't go wrong. Treat yourself... Just don't bring them in the office, people don't appreciate death metal coming out of the semi-open back headphones. :D
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Good but not really what I expected
Hoodoo, 12.07.2017
I bought these headphones recently for plugging them into my audio interface and using on making psychedelic music.

What you need to know:

Long cable. You may not like it, but I love it, gives option to move around the room without needing to take them off and on all the time.

It originally comes not with the studio type jack (like guitar cables have) but with the small regular headphone jack. Fortunately, there is a qualitative adapter included. Not sure how it affects the quality though.

The quality itself is not really what I expected. I used iPhone 6 earbuds all the time, and benchmarking from them the lower frequencies are pretty weak. Too weak I'd say. Can't enjoy those groovy basslines as much I'd like to. The headphones themselves aren't too loud either, but aren't really quiet as well.

Also, remember, that they only isolate your ears partially, which maybe puts a toll on the sound quality a bit.

In general I don't feel quite content with them. I'd say you need to test them out and compare with others before buying.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Sound Quality
Radoslaw L., 09.09.2013
This product really meet my expectations, the sound quality is fantastic, this product is really worth every penny and i recommend it to all manual studio users and to everyone else who really want's to enjoy the perfect sound of their music
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Christian H. 471, 09.05.2014
To me the AKG 240 Studio headphones are THE reference, very clear sounding, you can hear lots of details in the music you wont hear with other headphones or speakers, and still they do have a great bass response, but withouth sounding muddy.
After a short period of time you get used to that detailed sound and listening to music or working on your mixes to a new level.
Or just playing your favourite electir guitar trough an kemper profiler or fractal audio axe fx II makes those headphones very versatile.
The Original Headphones, Made in Austria, have a great build quality and even after many years of daily usage they work flawlesslessly and sound great as on day one, i have bought 3 different pairs in the last decade and none of them let me down once

i will recommend them to anyone who looks out for new headphones with a great reliability and very good and clean sound
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
As always with AKG, an excelent product.
Malcolm Emmanuel, 02.07.2015
The sound quality that these studio earphones provides is next to none. They are well built and comfortable to wear for prolonged periods, whether it be in studio/recording setting or just used for music listening. The adjustability of the overhead band is ideal for comfortable wearing. The mini XLR jack that allows you to detatch the cable is very useful for storage. The bass range is solid and the highs are clear. The dynamic range of these earphones is more evident when used as studio monitoring. Strongly recommended to anyone who appreciates quality but doesn't want to break the bank.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
My only studio headphones
13.10.2015
I bought two of these AKGs in 2007 when I set up my first studio set up.
I still use them today.

Best studio headphones I have tried. They feel comfortable and last long, even though little bit of cracking has appeared on the ear cushions.
The detachable cord is also great feature and it's relatively cheap to buy a new cord for this product if the old one doesn't work.

Great for studio work, listening music and watching movies.

Clear sound and good tool alongside with studio monitors.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Never expected them to be so linear
25.10.2016
I never expected to get such a great headphones for the money!

They are very linear, and the sound is very defined!


I use them for playing guitar via my kemper and when i adjust the sound on these babys it sounds great anywhere :)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

AKG K-240 Studio

€55 £48.95
Including VAT; Excluding €10 shipping

The price in GBP is a guideline price only!

Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-33
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Online Guides
Headphones
Headphones
Headphones are basics for any studio or DJ. But not all headphones are created equal.
Online Guides
Choosing a Computer
Choosing a Computer
Computers can be very complicated. We’'re here to offer some advice!
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
(765)
Recently Viewed
Shure SE215-CK

Dynamic sound-isolating in-ear earphones Special edition exclusively available from Thomann, Dynamic micro-driver, Shields over 90% of ambient noise, Suitable for in-ear monitoring as well as HiFi listener for e.g. MP3 player, Ear-insertion, Impedance: 20 Ohm, Sensitivity: 107 dB SPL/mW,...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Rode Lavalier GO

Rode Lavalier GO; Lavalier Microphone; pairs perfectly with Røde Wireless GO (item 463781); works with most other devices with a 3.5mm TRS microphone input; compatible with most laptops, DSLR cameras, mobile recorders etc.; broadcast grade omnidirectional condensor capsule; Frequency Range:...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Electro Harmonix BASS9 Bass Machine

Effects pedal for electric guitar Generates different bass sounds from the instrument signal, No special pickups necessary, With a new algorithm that has been revised for transposing one to two octaves down with superior dynamics and optimised tracking, 9...

(3)
Recently Viewed
Solar Guitars A2.6TBR G2

Electric Guitar Body: Swamp ash, Neck: Maple, Fretboard: Ebony, Neck profile: C, Frets: 24 Super jumbo, Nut: Graphite, Nut width: 43 mm, Scale: 647 mm, Pickups: 2 Seymour Duncan Solar humbuckers, Machine heads: Solar with 18:1 gear ratio, Colour:...

Recently Viewed
Markbass Little Mark Vintage

Markbass Little Mark Vintage Bass Head - 500W/4ohm, 300W/8ohm, preamp with tube,controls for DI,Gain, Limiter, bass, low and high mid, bass, treble and master volume, 3-way switch(flat/cut/old), pre/post, ground lift, connectors: effects send and return. balanced XLR line out, tuner...

Recently Viewed
Roland DJ-707M

Roland DJ-707M; DJ-Controller; 4-channel Serato DJ Pro controller with 4 decks; combines a portable live sound audio mixer, loudspeaker management system and performance DJ controller; built-in 24-bit/48 kHz audio interface; 4-band output EQ, multiband compressor and limiter on each Master,...

(2)
Recently Viewed
Marshall Kilburn II Black

Portable Bluetooth Speaker Loudspeaker equipment: 20 W Woofer and 2 x 8 W tweeter, Class D power amplifier, Frequency range: 52 - 20,000 Hz, Bluetooth Standard V 5.0, Input: 3.5 mm Mini jack for MP3 player etc., Volume control....

(1)
Recently Viewed
XVive U3C Microphone Wireless System

Digital wireless microphone transceiver system For use with condenser microphones, Integrated phantom power: 48 V / 12 V, Works without battery or mains power, Integrated rechargeable lithium rechargeable battery, Range up to 20 m / 70 ft. (without obstacles),...

Recently Viewed
Marshall Fridge 4.4 Black

Marshall Fridge 4.4 Black; half stack design, Matte black finish on inside and outside; 7 blue LED´s; interior lighting 3 Watt E-14,Transparent removable trays; Thermostat placed at the side adjustable temperature; Increased tray space in door with additional metal holder...

Recently Viewed
Sequenz Volca Rack

Synthesizer Rack Offers enough room for up to 4 Korg Volcas, Sturdy aluminium frame, Rubber legs for a secure hold, Side panels are made from wood, Asymmetrical side panels enable 2 different kinds of installation, Dimensions: 411 x 242...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Boss DD-200 Digital Delay

Effect Pedal for Electric Guitar Digital stereo delay, 12 Versatile delay programs, Stereo sound in 32 bit / 96 kHz studio quality, Real-time control plus 4 memory slots, Built-in phrase looper with 60 seconds recording time, LED display, Controls:...

(3)
Recently Viewed
Harley Benton TableAmp BlueTooth

Compact Amplifier for Electric Guitar and Microphone with Bluetooth Function Ideal for electric guitar, acoustic guitar, ukulele, vocals and listening to music, Enables singing and playing along through the integrated Bluetooth function, Power: 30 W RMS, Loudspeaker equipment: 5"...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.