AKG K-702

647 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.7 /5
  • sound
  • comfort
  • quality
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Great Stage
GoranS, 22.12.2020
Got this recently to see what all the hype is about. I got them with a dose of skepticism, but after listening on this for some time now (10+ hours) I must say I'm presently surprised and enjoy this quite nicely.

Being a bold(y) as usual headphones give me irks, this are no exception, but the wide leather stripe is indeed helpful and I don't get a narrow "hot spot" on my head.

As comparison this are more comfortable (for me) than the Sony wh-1000xm3.

All in all quite pleased with the purchase!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Wonderful mastering headphones for picking out hidden details, not for recording with mics though!
midinotes, 31.05.2014
Let me start by saying I bought these over the 701's because they were in stock and the waiting time on the white 701's was several months. Apparently though they are the same drivers but a bit more comfortable and they feature a removable mini XLR cable.
They come in a fairly low key cardboard box, no fancy accessories or case included though. They are incredibly large if you haven't used pro headphones before, but at the same time wonderfully comfortable. The plush soft velvet ear pads completely fit over the ears and they auto adjust to the size of your head. They are very light and you soon forget you are wearing them! As they are of an open back design, they do little to reduce the background sounds around you. The advantage of this is that you get a very open sound, as if you were listening to speakers. The disadvantage of course is t hat they leak a lot of sound so I would advise against using them when recording a vocal line. For that I use my excellent Audio Technica ATX M50s.
Unlike many reviewers I chose not to 'break them in' and started listening immediately to a few high bit rate m4a tracks in itunes via the headphone output on my Focusrite Saffire Pro 24 DSP. The sound is best described as being faithful, very uncoloured and extremely detailed. Many have said they lack bass, this is not true. Listen to a good quality source and track and you can feel all the low frequencies and hear the instruments, but without the usual bloat and muddle that other cans bring with their emphasised low end. The stereo imaging is extremely solid and well defined, each instrument perfectly placed in the stereo field with precision and clarity. The sound is very open, crisp but not coloured in any way. There's a great sense of depth and this makes these headphones perfect for picking out defects in a mix or analysing the player's slightest nuances on a recording. Listen to a good classical recording and you can clearly hear the players breathing and their hands moving! A very exciting pair of headphones that will surely improve the more I listen to them.
Overall I am very impressed at the 702's, especially given the price of them when compared with other mid to top end headphones. Note that they do take a bit of driving though, I found when using on my iPod that I needed to turn the volume to maximum to get a good listening level so they aren't as sensitive as ear buds or smaller headphones. Get a good headphone amp though and you will love them!
Definitely recommended!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Issue with Left earcup
kk34, 17.12.2020
The sound of k702 is very clean and well balanced. I had no issues with using it and the comfort was always great for long hours. A standard DAC/AMP is good enough, no need to have expensive ones.
It is open back but no need to worry about losing bass as it is still there. Clarity of Mids/High are great for the price, well detailed but not too flat so you can still enjoy pop music,

But, after 6 months the left earcup stopped sounding. I believe its due to the cable soldering in around the detachable cable but its a bit unfortunate as the plastic build quality is well done for the outside.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Neutral Headphones great for producing
ockpii, 01.08.2020
I use these headphones for mixing and a bit of mastering in my current studio situation. I spent hours listening to different genres of music to get a feel for how they translate and I was extremely pleased.

They offer great stereo imaging (some would say too wide, but you can use that to your advantage) and clarity both in terms of detail and in terms of frequencies.

I would say they're not the most comfortable of headphones. I'm speaking mostly in regards to the headband. They're not nearly as comfortable as, say, a pair of Beyerdynamic headphones. That being said, I'm sure they'll loosen up a bit with time, and if you take regular breaks (which are useful anyway to avoid ear fatigue), then that will not be a serious issue whatsoever.

Bear in mind that you will need to be extra cautious if you're planning on using this to track (or record) as well, as they're open by design, and do let sound spill out. This makes them more suited for the mixing/producing parts of the job.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Toller Kopfhörer
lucamuc2, 09.03.2021
Ich bin total überzeugt vom Klang.
-ziemlich feiner und detailierter Klang
-sehr neutrales Klangbild
-sehr schwacher Bass (ist dem Open-Back Design geschuldet), stört mich aber nicht

Beim ersten Aufsetzen wirkte das Kopfband aus Leder recht hart und unflexibel. Das hat sich jedoch schnell gelegt und spätestens nach einer halben Stunde spüre ich den Kopfhörer fast garnicht mehr. Die Ohrpolster finde ich aber sehr gemütlich.
Ich kann ihn also problemlos für viele Stunden tragen (auch nach 5h noch gemütlich).

Der einzige kleine Kritikpunkt ist, dass sich der Kopfhörer durch die Plastikkonstruktion nicht besonders stabil anfühlt.

Sonst handelt es sich um ein tollen Kopfhörer. Würde den K702 wieder kaufen :)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Harsh as hell
VSartini, 25.03.2021
I run these through EQ Software, otherwise, they are awful for regular use.
I wouldn't use them for connecting directly to things, which sounds crazy but so do these headphones, the 10k is super harsh and loud, and so is 600hz ish, which makes everything sound honky.
It's not pleasant, but if you run them through software, they are great.

The bottom line is, only get them if you own abbey road studio 3(Sounds awesome) or some other EQ software.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
uaciaut, 20.12.2020
Probably the best bang for the buck in terms of soundstage, incredibly comfortable too. As most open cans, their bass loses a bit of its raw power and accuracy.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Open and detailed sound, one of the best in this price range
greedymind, 06.02.2021
Previously I'd had Superlux (don't remember their ID), beyerdynamic DT 990 PRO, Sennheiser HD650, Philips SHP9500, Audio-Technica ATH-M50x.

AKG K-702 are so far my favourite headhpones for mixing purposes.

I'll go straight to the point now. Below are the pros & cons that I was able to identify during 2 weeks of use for mixing:

Pros:
+ First and foremost: very open and detailed sound! I can hear all the instruments very clearly, as well as all the tweaks that I do in compression, EQ & effects. These headphones are just great in this regard, especially considering their price range. Of course I'd still recommend to use headhpones AND monitors, otherwise there's always a chance that your mix will not translate to all devices equally well. By the way these are open headhpones, so be aware that they leak volume and lack a bit of bass in comparison with closed ones.

+ They are very comfortable to wear and non-fatiguing for long critical listening sessions. After wearing them for a long time you won't have to readjust to monitors' sound, like it often happens with some sharp sounding headhpones.

Cons:
- These headphones seem a bit fragile, especially their headband. You don't want to carry them with you too often. For stationary use it's not a big problem, I suppose.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Good sound, a little uncomfortable after a while
29.04.2016
I bought these headphones to produce electronic music and I'm 100% happy with their sound, they meet my expectations.

Be aware that these are open headphones, so they are quite loud for someone near you.

They're a little uncomfortable to wear, after a while my head starts to hurt a little due to the hard leather strap.

After 6 years some parts are worn out, the little tension rubber straps at the sides which are supposed to keep the headphones in position are now worn out and the headphones are now constantly to big for me. I see no obvious way to exchange them or to fix this.

The ear cushions are filled with a fine black powder which now almost completely disappeared, because if you remove the cushions, e.g. for cleaning, the powder just falls out of the holes.
I filled them with rice (yummi) and it does the job.

Everything else is just fine, the cable seems to be of superiour quality, it never broke.

I would recommend these AKG headphones if you can live with the minor flaws, after all they still do a good job after 6 years almost daily use.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Poor quality
Pavle Samardzic, 19.01.2020
The headphones sound great, but the after a couple of months of use the right channel started cutting out because of a bad solder. Judging from the amount of people on forums with the same problem, I'd guess it's not at all uncommon.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Satisfied
15.10.2016
I bought them to better the sound of my productions at my home studio and i am very pleased.

On the sound department: all frequencies are very balanced and distinguishable. When I switch from them to my monitors (Ayra 6) the sound is incredible similar.

On the build section: they r solid. I know this because i drop them at least once a day and no problem. Also very comfortable on the head. Light and it does not bother me on the top of my head as others do, and i use them several hours per day.

Recommended.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Great headphones
ZharKhan, 13.01.2019
One of the best headphones I've heard so far in my life.

Flat throughout whole frequency spectrum, detailed and super comfortable even after longer period of listening which makes them perfect for critical listening. Although I'm extremely satisfied with sound reproduction, I must say that if you prefer bass-heavy headphones, then these ones are not for you.
On my older pair that I own for over five years, elastic suspension is completely stretched so I will see what will be the case with the new pair.

Pros:
- ultra linear frequency response
- comfortable
- detachable cable

Cons:
- headphone amp needed to drive them properly
- not so great headband suspension design
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
It is BIG and elegant looks but the headband metal looks breakable
Eugene Jake, 30.01.2021
My wife use this for podcasting, she prefer this openback because of super comfortable and natural sounding.
The sound leak is not bad at all. You need to crank up the volume but the sound is painful in order to leak that much.

PROS:
The sound is wide it is like in theater.
Solid build and super comfortable.
I like the headphone pad and it is not press my head inward.
Even though it is openback the bass is still there.
CONS:
The bass is lacking for some people.
Also the sound feels far away. When you watch movies you will feel that sound is came from neighbor.
The sound is not detail as AKG K-371. But the comfortable sacrifices when you choose that headphone.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
No delusions
MegaEgo, 04.04.2020
I've bought This product as a reference solution for mixing and mastering. Every aspettative was satisfied. Aural are very big (for my head) and gives a "strange" feeling around the ears. But the work they do is great!!
Very satisfied.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Fragile with arguable comfort
Monkkey, 18.12.2018
One side stopped working after 2 weeks (and I'm only using it at home).

The earcups are wide which is good (but too wide for my head).

The earcups are too hard which make them uncomfortable after 1 or 2 hours.

The sound quality is actually nice.

The cable has a very specific junction so if you need to buy a new one, you can't really...
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
The AKG K702 are a tool for creating music!
Banderos, 07.02.2017
The AKG K702 are completely neutral open-back reference headphones designed for professional mixing and mastering. They don't emphasize anything. Everything is exactly as it is on your recording. The AKG K702 are a tool for creating music; AKG has been a recording-studio standard for microphones and headphones for many decades.

The AKG K702 are ideal for mixing and mastering because what you hear is what you've got. When you get it to sound great in the K702, it will sound great everywhere. The K702 aren't necessarily the best for enjoying music because they don't boost the bass as do many headphones, which certainly makes the music more enjoyable ? but also means that the music you create with the K702 won't be weak in the bass. Likewise the K702 aren't that great for monitoring because they aren't sealed, and they don't emphasize the midrange so you're less likely to hear noise.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Great headphones for the price!
Kshyshieck, 27.11.2020
Those are really universal headphones. You can hear every detail in literally any kind of music, so it's perfect for both mixing and listening to the music. Definitely good thing is that those headphones can be driven by the mobile phone (doesn't require external headphone amp).
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
SerGo, 29.12.2018
Though I strongly believe that you cannot make a good mix using headphones with these ones you may take a chance) Flat, uncoloured, with great frequency response (they say 10 - 39800 Hz and I swear it shows) and beautiful spacial scene. The best for the price. Love it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Very comfortable, excellent sound
Pedromagalhaes, 23.10.2020
These are by far the most comfortable headphones I've owned.
I've paired them with Sonarworks Reference 4 for mastering and they work like a dream.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Sounds great, fits great, breaks way too soon
Dzilz, 22.02.2021
You may have read this one before: They sound fantastic, they look fantastic and they sit just right on your head. All of that is true.

Unfortunately, the build quality of all the materials that surround the drivers and padding is utter garbage. I've had a pair of K-602s before and I was struggling with a breaking solder for 2 years. I sent the cans to Harman, they fixed them, they broke again and so the cycle continued. After the warranty was gone, I had to try and fix them myself. Incidentally, they don't open very nicely, and it's really easy to damage the plastic parts.
When I received the K-702, I had to take one look to realize that they're built the exact same way, except that you can take the cable off. I've also seen many people writing that they've been having troubles with the solder breaking, so I will return these and stick to my Beyerdynamics.
Again, these headphones sound super crisp and are some of my favorites in terms of sound. Just pray that someone put a little extra soldering on your pair :)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Ask for no more!
BrianG, 30.05.2013
Having been a Sennheiser owner for many years, I wanted a pair of quality reference headphones, and was a little put off by reviews stating that the Sennheiser HD650 were a little exaggerated on the base end.
Further investigation short-listed the AKG K-702, and reading the reviews about their realistic sound stage and excellent natural response, the decision was made.
Thomann were competitively priced, a 3 year warranty, and the excellent delivery service provided in the past, clinched the deal.
Just give the headphones time for the drivers to burn-in (they only get better) and for the ear pads to soften up a little, and you certainly won't be disappointed. Just read the reviews on other sites and you will be convinced. One of my best purchases!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
I absolutely love them
Wutwutwut, 25.03.2020
I use these for listening and studio work - i.e. mixing and occasional monitoring.

Great product, with basically no downsides. They're durable, sound great, and the price is good.

And the fact that they're open-back and quite lightweight allow me to use them as long as I want to, not as long as I can before my head and neck get tired (like with many other headphones, especially closed).
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
You can wear it for hours
Samwiser, 23.05.2019
Bought these headphones about two years ago. As I am a sound enginner student I needed good reference headphones I can wear for hours and at an affordable price.
I use them to fine tune my mixes or edit sounds accurately and they are really accurate. No low mid rumble, no deafening basses and clear high ends. The impedance mean you need an audi interface to have a good enough output level though.
They're sturdy, as I have brought them along quite some times and they still hold perfectly. The best part for me is that they're really comfortable and since they're open headphones your hears arent too strained from the pressure. You do need to be in a quiet environment though as they dont isolate you from external noise.
Would buy again anydays.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
Good to go!
Book, 11.12.2019
I would buy more on this model. Sound is very nice and clear with a reasonable price but the only things that annoy me was no carrying bag.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
comfort
quality
I can wear them all day
tiagosc, 20.04.2020
They sound great, in all ranges. Moreover, I've worn them for hours and did not feel any discomfort. For its price, great headphones!

Pros:
- Comfort
- Quality sound
No cons. Get one of these, it will always be helpful.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

AKG K-702

£95
Excluding VAT; plus £8 shipping
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-33
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Online Guides
Headphones
Headphones
Headphones are basics for any studio or DJ. But not all headphones are created equal.
Online Guides
Home Recording
Home Recording
Home Recording can be very complicated. We're here to offer some advice!
 
 
 
 
 
Downloads
Downloads
 
 
 
 
 
video
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
(2)
Recently Viewed
Blackmagic Design Atem Mini Extreme

Blackmagic Design Atem Mini Extreme; video mixer; has all the features of the ATEM Mini Pro, plus an additional 8 HDMI inputs, 2 separate HDMI outputs, 2 USB ports and a headphone jack; In addition, this model has 4 chromakeys,...

(9)
Recently Viewed
Audient iD4 MKII

USB-C Audio Interface 24 bit / 44.1 - 96 kHz, ADC dynamic range: 121 dB, DAC dynamic range: 126 dB, @Class A Audient console microphone preamplifier, Mic Gain 58 dB,

Recently Viewed
Zoom G6

Zoom G6; Multi Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar; Pedal board with 6 stomp switches and expression/volume pedal; Amp modeling; 4,3" color LCD touch-screen interface; 240 Patches; 100 Presets; Chain up to 7 effects + amp simulation; IR load function for...

(1)
Recently Viewed
iZotope Spire Studio 2nd Generation

iZotope Spire Studio 2nd Generation; mobile recording studio with lithium-ion battery (up to 4 hours runtime); 2 tracks can be recorded simultaneously; up to 8 tracks per project can be played back; recording format: 24-bit / 48 kHz; up to...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Hercules DJ Control Inpulse 500 Gold LE

Hercules DJ Control Inpulse 500 Gold LE; Limited edition with golden highlights; limited to 1000 pieces worldwide; number engraved on console; All-in-one-DJ-Controller; controls per desk: 1x filter-control, 3 x equalizer-control, 1 x Gain control, 1 x volume control, 1 x...

Recently Viewed
Meinl TMDDGS Didgeridoo Stand

Meinl Didgeridoo Stand, TMDDGS, material: aluminum, two leg version, soft padding with protective rubber straps, hight, angle and depth adjustable

(1)
Recently Viewed
K&M 107 Music Stand Black Set

K&M 107 Music Stand Black Set, K&M Music Stand 10700-000-55 black incl. K&M 10711 Carrying bag, Total height max.ca.1.680mm, Made of steel, Music desk dimensions 485 x 240 x 42 mm, Desk angle fully adjustable, Music desk traditionally foldable, 3-piece...

(1)
Recently Viewed
LP Ridge Rider Cowbell Tommy Lee

LP 009TL Ridge Rider Tommy Lee Signature Cowbell, sitze: 8", patented vise clamp fits fits 3/8" to 1/2"diameter rods, bolted jenior protector protects cowbell and dampens the sound, made in USA,

(2)
Recently Viewed
Universal Audio UAFX Astra Modulation Machine

Enforcement Pedal Stereo modulation, With chorus, flanger and tremolo effects, True or Buffered Bypass, Preset storable, Additional effects downloadable, Live / Preset mode, Dual processor UAFX Engine, 2 Inputs: 6.3 mm pawl (input 2 for stereo connection), 2 Outputs:...

Recently Viewed
Zoom PodTrak P4

Podcasting Recorder Four microphone inputs (XLR, P48V phantom power switchable), Four headphone outputs with individual volume controls (3.5mm stereo jack), Gain control and mute button per input, Mix minus function for automatic feedback suppression for incoming calls, Connection of...

Recently Viewed
Blackmagic Design Pocket Cinema Camera Pro EVF

Blackmagic Design Pocket Cinema Camera Pro EVF; Viewfinder fits Pocket Cinema Camera 6K Pro; Viewfinder with internal proximity sensor, 4-piece glass diopter, built-in status info display and digital test chart; Video and power connections: via Pocket Cinema Camera 6K Pro...

Recently Viewed
Meinl Snarecraft Cajon 100 Green B.

Meinl Snarecraft Cajon 100 Green Burst, model: SC100GRB, special edition, body and front plate made of birch, colour: green burst, two integrated snare strainers, rounded corners for better playability, measures (H x B x T) in cms: 50 x 30...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.