Customer center login

AKG D5

379 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.7 /5
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
features
quality
sound
Direct competitor to the SM58
SZapatero, 19.01.2020
My band and I recently needed some vocal mics for our rehearsing room. We knew we wanted something in the price range of the Shure SM58, but before going directly for it, we decided to research a little bit for other options or brands who could have similar mics.

After watching some videos, we were convinced that the AKG D5 could in fact be slightly clearer than the SM58 itself, and having at the time a discount of 30% in Thomann, we decided to buy it right away.

We couldn't be happier about it! The construction is superb, it feels sturdy and the sound is very clear. The noise rejection also works really well. We have been using them for some months now on a weekly basis, also for concerts and to record guitar and drums. It's a very versatile mic!

The package also included a warranty, but for now none of ours has shown any sign of malfunction or degradation. One of them has been accidentally dropped more than once but it works as well as the others. In one occasion we had the opportunity to compare them to some SM58 from another band (more or less the same use and age), and I can assure that they sounded clearer to my ears.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
A great vocal mic
peter.m, 04.08.2017
I needed a mic to track vocals in various acoustic environments. My goal was to get decent audio quality besides maximal rejection of unwanted ambience. The D5 seems to fit the bill nicely.

The mic rolls of the low end in an I would say natural way, it has a clear midrange and a smooth top end without being harsh. Transient response is good along with the level of detail, especially given the price. Build quality is sturdy, I've already dropped it a few times accidentally without making any damage to it (not even a scratch which was surprising).

You may need to experiment a bit with mic technique to avoid excess sibilance and popping sounds although I think the mic handles these quite good.

The rejection of ambience is one of the strengths of this mic I think. I tracked some demos in an almost bathroom like ambience in a rehearsal room and the vocals still sounded dry. In the mix I couldn't hear any room sound. When used in a moderately treated room it's simply awesome!

As (I think) most of us I was also considering the SM58 and had the opportunity to test them side-by-side. I think the D5 wins in clarity with a more natural, crisp and a more detailed sound. Although I can imagine situations where I would rather pick the SM58, especially with a harsher and more sibilant female voice.

Overall it's a great vocal mic with a detailed and natural sound. Would recommend it!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
blows away the shure
Twansmusic, 20.06.2021
it's well finished, really great balanced sound, I was blown away, I always preferred the sennheiser e835 over the shure sm58, but this mic is even better!

The AKG D-5 is a great vocal mic.
but please us it only as a vocal mic, its pretty bad on guitar
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
You definitely have to try it!
Ilko Iliev, 06.06.2021
Amazing mic at amazing price. Much better than SM58 due to its higher frequency range. With a very slight EQ I was easily able to achieve a condenser mic sound with this one.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Well built all-rounder.
Malken, 15.06.2020
Compared to a SM58 I find the sound of the AKG D5 more airy. Not annoyingly so. The supercardioid pattern makes the handling of the microphone slightly noisier but that's not a problem on the stand in fact I prefer it to that of a cardioid. All in all, definitely the best money/value ratio of any dynamic at this price range.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
my review
chtoproishodit, 11.09.2020
good starting point for recording vocals
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Wow
Bassetla, 26.07.2020
It's very usefoul and good sounded mic. Solid and proper mixed on live and in studio. Very good on other instruments Live.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Christopher Lemos, 16.11.2018
Great microphone for demos due to it's very affordable price and sturdy nature.
Audio quality is great, you can't really expect better at this price point, it's clear and flat enough; the build is nice, not cheap looking but not exactly ergonomically nor aesthetically pleasing either.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
AKG D5
Chris5786, 11.11.2018
Very surprised by this mic. Great to handle, nice weight and above all a lovely crisp sound.
With manufacturers like AKG and Sennheiser putting some fabulous alternatives on the market the SM58's dominance must be in question.
My advice....buy this mic. You'll never look back !!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Good sounding microphone
MarkLim, 18.10.2018
Already have a Sennheiser E835, Beyerdynamic TG V35, t.Bone MB85 Beta, and Shure PGA58, I would put it slightly behind Sennheiser as my #2 go to mic.

It has a good gain, and crisp sound. So far, it suits our vocalists voice.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Good for Female Vocals
Liff, 20.05.2019
An excellent dynamic microphone for vocals, especially for female singers. With proper pre-amp and EQ, this microphone has an exceptional value, having served me on both live and recording applications. Highly recommended if you want something different than Shure SM57.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
i'm impressed
Abdulla J., 21.08.2018
simply will not buy the 58 while this is in production.

4 stars for features because there's no on/off switch.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Good mic
Irish Dar, 02.11.2019
Dont let the price fool you, its a good mic. Good sound and build quality. Im not sure, but I think its this cheap because they brought out a new mic with a broader rage that pics up lower freqs, This is not just a good mic for the money, but it is a good mic.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Absolutely amazing.
Lobzhana, 17.07.2020
amazing sound quality, amazing build quality and hugh output signal. realy professional level mic.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Very impressive for the money
Jason7773, 04.05.2016
Bought one of these to add some variety to my inventory, which consists of various Shure and Sennheiser live mics at different price points. It became so popular with a couple of singers I work with who previously were using SM58 and Beta 87A mics that I just ordered two more.

While it does not have the clarity of a good condenser, (although one client preferred it to an 87A!) it is extremely good by dynamic mic standards and certainly beats an SM58 hands down in that regard. Sensitivity is also very good and has a few dB more output than the industry favourite. Polar pattern is a very tight and feedback rejection is excellent. Possibly not suited to rock vocalists as some will find it not as warm or full.

At a pinch is an ok instrument mic too, though not its main function.

Speech is pretty good if you're on a budget but personally I'd use a condenser for that every time.

Altogether a great little low cost mic.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Great tool to have!
Ewl1, 25.09.2015
Great microphone for live use, especially suited for male voices (/voices that can benefit from additional clarity). It really helps you to position the vocals in the front of the mix. The AKG D-5 seems to be almost immune against feedback - atleast I, haven't been able to produce it under normal working conditions in a small club environment with more than often quite loud monitor levels.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
My first mic
Franz Z, 06.06.2019
Feels good in the hand. Metal housing and it sounds very nice to me. Can not want more for this price. Thanks Thomann
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Good speech mic
Animator, 14.12.2020
Lowest price for this particular mic that I could find. Arrived fast so I'm happy. Good voice quality and picks up less background noise.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
SM58 beater
Richard217, 23.07.2013
I own 4 D5's and 4 SM58's amongst other mics, basically the SM58's only come out if requested or numbers of mics are required. The D5 being a supercardoid polar pattern this mic has around 6db extra gain before feedback when compared ro the cardoid SM58, it also has a smoother flatter response than the 58 and is well liked by all vocalists. It is also a versatile mic, I have used it on guitar cabs, cahon and even snares and hats - all with good results. To date the D5 appears to be as rugged as my 58's and the basket appears to be harder to dent. So all in all this is the 58 replacement, a better mic at a better price!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
A great mic for less feedback and a good sound.
Andrew822, 21.07.2018
I have had lots of mics over the years this one is one of my favorites especially for the price. Its true you get less feedback on a small stage it feels quality in the hand and don't be put off its rather cheap looking design. It also feels comfortable on the lips as theres an indented grill right where you speak/sing it feels good to me. OK its not the best live mic out there but it does the job very well.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Excellent mic
Klajd17, 30.04.2019
I really like this mic. Good weight, nice feel. Although in the page it says blue, mine came black. I don't know if this was a human error, not a big deal anyway, but if it wasn't they should say that the mic is black. Recommend it totally.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
My Lovey Mic
MRmackie, 12.04.2018
I try this and love it.
Compare with Another brand in same prices this mic is the best.
You can have a warm mid and flat Hi. sound is good.
If you find the mic this is the best choice too.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
AKG-D5
Joshua6273, 20.09.2015
Veery good sound quality and it takes abuse, (drops, pulls) without a problem. Well worth the money.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
my Mic all time
Pure Sound Systems, 27.07.2019
very good brand
very good and clear sound
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
quality
sound
Good sound
Saxmandan, 27.03.2020
Nice microphone with good weight and sound quality.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

AKG D5

£53
Including VAT; Excluding £8 shipping
Available shortly (2-5 days)
Available shortly (2-5 days)

This item has been ordered with our suppliers and should be in our warehouse in the next few days.

Standard Delivery Times
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-35
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Test Report
Test Report
 
 
 
 
 
Online Guides
Dynamic Microphones
Dynamic Microphones
Dynamic microphones are the basic tools of live sound and play an important role in every recording studio.
Online Guides
Recording  Choirs
Recording Choirs
Recording choir music is always a challenge, even though it might not seem to be at first.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
test results: