the sssnake SM6BK

9799 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.5 /5
  • quality
Total
quality
Does the job, and does it well
ICTman1076, 01.06.2021
tl;dr Sturdy cable, good connectors, no damage after a year, no perceptible noise.

Connectors feel fairly good, cable feels sturdy. Hasn't broken despite the mess it's always in - not even so much as a minor cut. Bringing it close to electrical interference doesn't faze it, so that proves all the 3 wires inside are working well (plus I don't hear any noise caused by the cable). And it's a good length for my purposes.

In my view, expensive cables are almost never worth it, especially in home studio settings. This cable will set you up nicely without coming close to breaking the bank.

(Used frequently for the past year with Behringer XM8500 mic and Behringer Q802USB mixer)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Huge parasitic noise, might be because of bad luck
Ronfontu, 21.12.2020
I ordered one of these and one SM6RD (the same but in red). This one is unusable as it produces a high amount of parasitic noise, which is a big no. The red one is absolutely fine though so I may just have had bad luck. Thomann sent me a new one and once I get it, I'll update this review. For the time being, I ignore if I just recieved a bad specimen or if it translates poor build quality.

FYI, I am 100% the noise came from the cable because I did several tests, each one by changing an item (mic, preamp, sound interface input...) and the issue persisted everywhere the black cable was used and nowhere else.

I can't recommend it yet, but the other one I have is -until now- working perfectly well. I hope having a good quality cable is not a lottery because if so, I'd pass on it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Cheap and cheerful
Zaczes, 30.05.2021
Basic XLR cable. Does what it is meant to do and sounds just fine - but don't expect durability or good shielding. These are sufficient for 99% of musicians, as long as you keep some spares and pay attention to the noise - these will pick up hum if placed haphazardly, so always make sure you're getting clean signal before you hit record.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Your search ends here
Simoof, 07.09.2015
If you are reading reviews, the chances are you are trying to get the best value for your money. Well you found it when it comes to mic cables.

The quality of these cables is not just good for the price, its perfect quality for a mic cable of any price.

The cable is soft rubber and flexible allowing excess cable to be coiled and tidied away on stage set ups.

The connectors are solid and fit perfect to the cable. Inside the soldering is better that I have seen in all my other cables. Note - in one review someone mentioned it was worth while getting these cables and chopping the ends off. I believe that the connectors have been upgraded since then as there are no screws to accidentally fall out and these are high quality connectors.

I have about 50 varying lengths of these cables and unless they put the price point up, will not get a cable from anywhere else again.

I can only foresee issues if heavy equipment is dropped on these cables or they are abused by other inappropriate means.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Microphone cables
25.09.2016
I bought this cable to compliment my first ever microphone

The cables work really well, they are sturdy cables and no issues with them at all and plenty of length.

It is always worth buying good cables, these certainly are worth the money.

A couple of notes to people breaking into music or first time buyers

Note 1: There are many different cable types (XLR (3pin and 5pin are most common), RCA and TLS cables be sure to buy the correct cables for your instrument/mic and audio interface. Take note that XLR cables and connectors could be 3 or 5 pin which can cause issues, if you get wrong one.

Note 2: longer cables can often be exposed to more interference try to buy a cable of reasonable length but not too short to cause issues.

Note 3: if you are spending big sums on good instruments, don't go cheap on the cables.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
A very Good & Perfect Product (sssnake SM6BK)
NOBA-DARO, 06.02.2021
i use this sssnake SM6BK (XLR Male / XLR Female) cable for my DI box to sound Mixer in connecting my keyboard in church, this has help in the connection to eliminated the HUMMM sound that has been a distraction to my service in church.
The time delivery of my order for this product was very fast and the packet was well sealed and secured.
This was my first time order with Thomann having search the internet for a possible solution to my challenge, and i am also pleased with the customer service that attended to my call.
Thanks Thomann you are simply the best and reliable company i can trust and recommend.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
No complaints
NeilR, 04.08.2017
Nothing is amiss with this cable, I can honestly say that I have absolutely no complaints in regards to sturdiness or quality. I use these when I am DJing as well as in my home studio and they've already had plenty of things fall on them as well as people step on them among other things. Despite all o this, there are still no real signs of wear or any kind of damage to them. They spool easily to be tucked away in a bag or carry case too which is quite useful for storage purposes. The connectors are solid and fit perfect to the cable. Inside the soldering is better that I have seen in any of my other cables in my studio.
Note - in one review someone mentioned it was worth while getting these cables and chopping the ends off. I believe that the connectors have been upgraded since then as there are no screws to accidentally fall out and these are high quality connectors. In terms of value for money, this is the perfect cable for any musician as they really are perfect for any studio or instrument set up. I can't recommend this any more.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Good quality at a fair price
Joey.O, 15.04.2019
I bought this mic cable to use in my home studio. It's been used throughly since purchased. It has been used it with a variety of different mics and no noise issues have been been noticed whatsoever.

The only negative I can really say about this mic cable is in the cable thickness. In comparison to other mic cables it tends to be a bit more fragile. However for this price you don't mind the lack of cable thickness. It can be easily wrapped and stored away. The connectors are also easy to repair if ever they become broken.

Overall a very decent mic cable for an extremely affordable price.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
For price is excellent
Simon Hebar, 18.12.2020
Material is soft, but for this price i think is OK.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Great value for money
Andreas P, 20.10.2020
The Sssnake SM6BK is a great microphone cable. I bought it in combination with my Shure SM 7 B, to connect it to my FetHead and Audio Interface.

The sound quality is perfect, and the XLR connectors feel high quality and sturdy when connected.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Solid
KostasTBass, 22.05.2021
Solid cable, no issues yet.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Lasts Long and haven't had any problems
Ranaich, 14.11.2020
I've had it for about 9 months and still works like a charm
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Everything you need nothing you don't
Beau , 08.02.2021
I used to cable for my condenser microphone it does everything it needs to do, I have not noticed any introduced sounds by using this cable.

Overall I'm very satisfied with this product.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Kinda hard to go wrong...
Jonny Whatshisface, 19.01.2021
I mean, there's only so much hype that can be put in to "quality microphone cables." They're balanced, sound is good and construction is good. Connectors feel robust and reliable...

'Nuff said. :)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
One of a kind
WKvc, 30.03.2019
Having these cables used in the past in small live setups and during the studio sessions, I've just bought another 4 of them.

These cables are my go-to when it comes to connecting mics on stage. Although the price is extraordinarily low, the quality is fantastic and they last for years. However, one downside for me is its lack of thickness (compared to similar cables produced by Fender), which makes it look and feel more fragile than it actually is. On the other hand, thin isolation layer makes it super easy to make repairs in case of accidental break inside the cable, if it ever happens. As I said, these little guys are strong and durable.

Bought many of them, definitely will buy more.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
plan d'off, 01.02.2021
excellent cords. with their help I recorded more than one high-quality track
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Finally good cable!
Mgold.music, 09.02.2021
Perfect for the studio!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Seems well-built, does what I need it to.
Cocaine Johnsson, 30.03.2021
I haven't had any problems with this cable thus far, it's very long and seems well-built, it'd be nice if it was a bit thicker, but I'm not going to dock a star for that -- it's fine, honestly. (I just prefer chunkier cables)

It's very pliable and has a high quality feel to it (as opposed to cheap feeling PVC cables)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Amazing budget option
mRBRuman, 01.12.2020
These are not studio grade cables but for home recording or live shows - perfect.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Does the job
Rudolphf, 04.10.2020
No complaints. Even after almost 2 years of constant use it is still in perfect shape. I use it constantly for concerts, rehearsals, studio and home use. No signs of wear.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Ideal for fixed usage
Tearow, 01.06.2020
My cable served me just fine for 6 years until the microphone plug wore out so much that the cable started to cause static.

I used the cable to connect an Audio-Technica AT2020 to a Behringer Xenyx 302USB and disconnected it every time I moved the microphone (almost once a day).

The cable never tangled easily and it's quality was good overall.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Would buy again
19.02.2017
This cable was cheap but the price does not reflect the quality of the cable,

I have had it for a few months now, working with it every weekend and have never had an issue,

The cable has been put threw some hard times, I have it out with the rental gear and i have had to come back to me in so many different ways, the end did break off when one idiot decided it was a good idea to swing the microphone that it was connected it in the air around his head, but a bit of work and the original connector was back on and is still working to this day, I have sense ordered more and this will be my go-to microphone cable for now on,

The bands around me have also ordered these cables sense I recommended it and they are also very happy with the quality
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Excellent
JH Audio MK, 18.05.2020
Really high quality cable. Never had any issues with it. Although the XLR connectors are not Neutrik, they are still really good quality. I would recommend to anyone who is in the music industry. I have used these cables in live music applications on stage for a few years now and it still continues to keep its value and quality.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
Noisy!
Akos, 13.08.2020
The cable looks okay, got it in a bundle, but I never used it as it makes both a humming noise as well as a hiss, compared to decent quality cables.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
quality
It just works!
Omenchs, 24.09.2020
It?s a cable. All it has to do is work and it really does. For the price you can not beat it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

the sssnake SM6BK

4,90 €
Including VAT; Excluding 2,50 € shipping
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times

Delivery approx. between Tuesday, 15.06. and Wednesday, 16.06.

Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-35
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Online Guides
Cables, Leads & Connectors
Cables, Leads & Connectors
Cable... flex... lead... wire... what do all these terms mean?
Online Guides
Microphone accessories
Microphone accessories
The right accessories bring out the best in your microphones. Find out what’s available and what you can do with it!
Online Guides
Drum Mics
Drum Mics
Miking up and recording a drum kit is a fairly complicated procedure, and this can apply equally to choosing the right mics for the job.
 
 
 
 
 
Download
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
Recently Viewed
iZotope Community Appreciation Bundle

iZotope Community Appreciation Bundle (ESD); plug-in bundle; contains 11 essential tools for audio editing and creative music production; consists of Nectar Elements, Neutron Elements, Ozone Elements, RX Elements, BreakTweaker, Stutter Edit 2, Iris 2, Trash 2 as well as Exponential…

3
(3)
Recently Viewed
DSM & Humboldt Simplifier DLX Amp/Cab Sim

DSM & Humboldt Simplifier Deluxe Amp/Cab Simulator; Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar; Pre-Amp, Power-Amp and Cab-Simulator; all Analog 0 Watt Dual Channel Amp, with Cab Simulator, multistage Reverb, and versatile connectivity options; All, in an extremely small format; 2 Studio…

2
(2)
Recently Viewed
Quilter Superblock US

Quilter Superblock US, Solid State Pedalboard Amplifier for Electric Guitar; Three Classic US Amplifier voicings: 60 Tweed, 62 Blonde & 65 Black; comparable power to a 25-Watt Tube Amp when powered by the supplied PS-24 Power Supply or 1 Watt…

Recently Viewed
Blackmagic Design Web Presenter HD

Blackmagic Design Web Presenter HD; All-in-one streaming solution; hardware streaming engine for direct streaming via Ethernet to YouTube, Facebook, Twitter and more; stream to the internet using Ethernet or connect a 5G or 4G phone to use mobile data; built…

Recently Viewed
Casio CT-S1BK

Casio CT-S1BK Keyboard with Piano-Look - 61 touch-responsive keys, 64-note polyphony, AiX Sound Source, 61 sounds, Reverb, Chorus, Delay, DSP, Master EQ, Volume Sync EQ, connection to free Chordana Play For Keyboard App, Midi, transpose, metronome, midi record, headphone/line stereo…

Recently Viewed
Polyend Tracker AE Legowelt

Polyend Tracker AE Legowelt; Limited Artist Edition; individual design; incl. orig. project files and sample packs;, Stand Alone Hardware Tracker; Step Sequencer & Song Arranger; Sampler (Forward, 1 Shot, Backward, Ping-Pong); Granular Synthesizer; Wavetable Synthesizer (compatible with Ableton Wave and…

Recently Viewed
RAV Vast D Major red

RAV Vast2 D Major red edition, D3/ G3, A3, B3, C#4, D4, E4, F#4, A4, Handpans-inspired steel tongue instrument, 2mm Steel, diameter 51cm, hight 17cm, weight 5,9kg, incl. bag

2
(2)
Recently Viewed
Austrian Audio Hi-X65

Austrian Audio Hi-X65; open studio headphones; circumaural; All metal hinges and bow for maximum durability; foldable construction for easy transport; frequency range: 5Hz to 28kHz; sensitivity: 110 dBspl/V; THD (@ 1kHz):

39
(39)
Recently Viewed
Blue Microphones Yeti Blackout

Blue Microphones Yeti Blackout; Multi-Pattern USB Kondensatormikrofon für Recording und Streaming; three 14 mm condenser capsules with four different polar patterns; polar pattern: cardioid, figure-eight, omnidirectional, stereo; frequency range: 20Hz - 20kHz; max. sound pressure: 120 dB (THD: 5% 1…

3
(3)
Recently Viewed
Universal Audio UAFX Golden Reverberator

Effects Pedal Stereo reverb, With spring-, plate- and vintage digital effects, True or buffered bypass, Presets can be stored, Additional effects available to download, Live/Preset mode, Dual processor UAFX engine, 2 Inputs: 6.3 mm jack (input 2 for stereo…

2
(2)
Recently Viewed
Thomann Cats Kalimba Brown

Kalimba Made of Mahogany, 17 Tines tuned in C major, Sound hole in the shape of two cats, Colour: Brown, Includes strong case, tuning hammer, and cleaning cloth

Recently Viewed
Polyend Tracker AE Pete Cannon

Polyend Tracker AE Pete Cannon; Limited Artist Edition; individual design; incl. orig. project files and sample packs;, Stand Alone Hardware Tracker; Step Sequencer & Song Arranger; Sampler (Forward, 1 Shot, Backward, Ping-Pong); Granular Synthesizer; Wavetable Synthesizer (compatible with Ableton Wave…

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.