Shure SM57 LC

4265 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.8 /5
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
features
sound
quality
THE classic workhorse!
01.08.2016
The SM57 by Shure is a classic live and studio workhorse microphone - no wonder pretty much every studio I've stepped in has had at least four or five of these!
It's a cardioid pattern mic with very strong off-axis rejection, a presence boost around 4 kHz, and a good-roll off in the lower frequencies which makes up for the proximity effect. Like its slightly younger brother the SM58, the 57 is almost indestructible, and almost every part is replaceable in case you do find a way to destroy something. If you find a Shure Unidyne, then this is an older model of essentially the same microphone.
The mic itself is very weighty and feels strong and robust, extremely well constructed. No lead but you get mic clip and carry pouch in the box!
This is a microphone which is suitable for all jobs. As mentioned in other reviews, it is widely used for drum kits and guitar amps etc., but as it was actually first designed for classical instruments, it can be used very effectively for acoustic instruments as well (tested on a harp and electro-acoustic guitars).
The sound of the SM57 up against an amplifier cabinet, such as a Marshall 4x12 or a Fender Bassman, is part of the classic sound of rock, and advanced modelling systems like the Roland VG-99 emulate a 57 up against a cabinet and at various distances, both on and off axis.
People often compare it to its brother the SM58 - but at least in my opinion the 57 has that bit more class when recording a multitude of sounds and I always prefer using it.

All in all, it's no wonder the SM57 is considered the industry standard workhorse microphone - can't go wrong with buying one (or two... or three ;) )! I've used 57s for longer than I care to admit, in various situations (both in the studio and live) and I've never been let down by one so I always highly recommend them!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Built like a tank!
mynvidia, 25.01.2021
Bought this as my first ever "real" microphone for recording vocals and guitars.

The whole body is made of metal and has a hefty weight to it. It really feels solid and I even dropped it once already. It was like nothing happened. This thing should last a really long time.

As for the sound, I am using a Behringer UMC202HD and to get decent volume I need to have around 70% gain on it. Again, this is my first every dynamic microphone so I do not really have anything to compare it with though based off the reviews I have watched this seems to be pretty standard with this mic. Sound was clear and was accurate to my ears.

For around $100 I think this is the best dynamic mic that you can buy. It is a great all-arounder. Would highly recommend!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great Mic
dreamstrider, 18.02.2021
A great all around mic. I use it for everything and especially vocals (with a windscreen). It is rugged and sturdy. Excellent microphone.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Simply the best
rockspellsinger, 22.02.2019
I have 2 and I will definitely buy more in the future.
It's true what everybody says about SM57. This mic is a legend. I don't know if I can say anything bad about it, because it reproduce the sound perfectly. It has a clear and warm sound.
I've used it for guitar amp, bass amp, vocals, acoustic guitar and drums, and so far I was very pleased of the output. From my point of view, this is more suitable for live applications, since it doesn't enter in feedback so easily, and in studio I will be using it for guitar / bass amps and toms; otherwise I would go with condensers. But sometimes, even if you have a mic suited for a specific task, it is a good idea to add one of this. It will make the sound more natural.
Like SM58, it's made of metal, looking like it would last a life time. Don't freak out about the rotating / wobbling cap. It is mentioned in the specs that it's supposed to be like that. And unlike SM58, this one is smaller. So.. from my point of view it is worth every penny, even more. I believe this is a must have mic.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Durable, budget-friendly, sound okay
Anilcan, 07.04.2021
I have used this mic for 5 years ultil suddenly it stopped working, it is durable regarding my reckless usage and frequent travel. It does what it supposed to do while being durable and budget-friendly. So I ordered new one. This time I bought it with A2WS Black pop-up filter. All sounds good. All seems good so far.

The shipment duration to Turkey was underwhelming. I waited about a month to receive this order.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
No complaint
Ondrej Lukasek, 27.03.2021
I bought this one with the beginner bundle and it feels really good. I'm definitely not a professional in world of recording but the sound feels really good when recording instruments. It's not suitable for vocals or speeches, but I think that's expected from a dynamic mic (use condenser mics for voice).
Also it comes with a really nice leather-ish bag, holder and a thread reduction, so it's ready to be used on a mic stand.
In hand it feels very sturdy and durable (not tested though :D).
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Industry standard, but not for 2020
Edgar Blackdagger, 16.04.2020
It is what it is, you stumble upon it everywhere and it used to be convenient for any occasion, but it's not the 90s anymore, it's got medium output, not great side and back rejection and off-axis colorartion and its frequency responce is full of peaks and drops.
For me nowadays it should be considered as just a character mic if you want the sound of the '80s and '90s, nothing bad with that, but it's not that miraculous mic you hear about, at least not for today's standards.

I much prefer my Sontronics Solo for smooth and accurate sound capturing, and for character Sennheiser e845s, lower output but the gurthiest, yet spanky bass and guitar cab sounds, the best low mids I've ever come across.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
It's a 57
nicouou, 16.10.2020
I mean, what more can you say.
It's a workhorse and it's sound really good. Also works well on vocals with the optional A2WS pop-stopper.

The way this mic handles low-end, I much prefer to the SM58 for vocals. The 58 gets a lot more boomy when you get close. The 57 handles this much better in my opinion.

Despite the 57 and 58 having the exact same capsule, they sound quite distinctly different. Both good, tho.

And it's build like a tank. I do live audio, primarily. This thing is just a go-to. And I've never experienced one malfunction, in spite of how roughly stage gear is handled.
We expect our gear to hold up the "abuse," and this mic certainly does that.

And it's compact enough to easily fit 2 of these, plus the mic clips in a single mic bag.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
I use it for everything
Mik-303, 08.12.2020
It's a well known mic for a very good reason. I am using it for my voice and also to record percussion. Build quality, sound and price are all excellent so I give it a 5/5. My only regret with this product is that I had two of them but now I only have one. I am definitely going to buy one more so I can make stereo recordings with them in the future. Thumbs up.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
You'll need a hefty pre-amp
YossMarr, 15.02.2021
my setup: Focusrite Scarlett2i2, sE DM-1, Shure SM57, A2WS
I use it for - as a mic for conference calls (Discord, etc), vocal recording and guitar amp mic-ing (have not mic-ed drums yet)

The mic itself is really nice, no doubt about it, I am still getting to know it, but the first thing you may need to know is that it needs a lot of gain.

I thought that with the Scarlett 2i2 I would just be able to plug it in and get the crispy studio mic quality, but it wasn't that easy, the mic was really quiet and I was forced to buy an in-line preamp (sE DM-1 Dynamite, but you could go with the FetHead, CloudLifter and others). (that's why I gave it 4/5 on sound, otherwise it's really good)

You should be prepared to spend a couple of bucks on a seperate pre-amp if you are going with a similar setup to mine, but otherwise the mic is top quality, a rigid build, it weighs quite the bit, maybe not great to be hand-held.

Be sure to use a good cable though, not too long, to avoid noise, and plug the in-line pre-amp, if you are going with a type, similar to mine, directly in the mic with the cable following, so that you would not boost the noise of the cable (it's inevitable to have some really low cable noise).

And good luck!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
I LOVE YOU THOMAN !
BluesGuitarMan, 04.04.2021
There was some problems but thomann solved all of problems !
I LOVE YOU THOMAN !
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
João Pedro Osório, 14.12.2020
There's really nothing to say about a 57.
It's a 57 after all...
Throw anything at it, it can take it. Couldn't have picked a better first mic for my arsenal. I think everyone should have at least one or two of these.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
By far the most heavy duty piece of equipment I have
Quincy jones, 01.03.2021
well, it's an SM57.
Heavy Duty (you could literally hammer a nail on the wall with it haha!)
I have tried so many Snare drum mics, and I always come back to this one.

Best mic to record CONGAS! no question.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
A monster in Live situations
Rade V., 11.09.2015
By all means, this has got to be one of if not the best microphone I have ever used for live purposes. Do bear in mind that this mic was only used in front of celestion V30s which already have a great sound, so it was more a question of documenting the dynamics of the sound and distortion of my amplifier correctly rather than loudness or openness of sound. I play without reverb, with a very drivey, punchy sound that feels very dry at the same time because I use absolutely no pedals. With an orange amp and a V30, cranked to about half capacity, this mic would pick the tone up perfectly, and it would make me consistently happy with how the sound would turn out in the mixing desk when it would come out of the general PA. Power and clarity.

However, I do not have any experience with this mic in a studio, but I have heard amazing things. Frankly, if it could perform so well in such loud settings on a stage where a lot of things are unpredictable in terms of sound distribution through the venue, I am sure it can be tweaked to utter perfection within the confines of a studio.

Most heartily recommended!!!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
classic
Marko Marić, 08.02.2021
for live usage or studio great for micing guitar cab, sounds like u want to hear your guitar and like u heard it milion times, just play with mic position and use your in ears top monior it to get great sound
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Reference for cabinets mic
Charly303, 29.09.2020
Very nice for tracking, specially guitar cabinets !
Used this over a year to record a Dumble clone. Very clean and useful !
A reference for tracking guitar sessions !
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
best mic in the market
jjohhny, 11.10.2020
best mic in the market for guitar no matter genre dont forget lemmy used it for vocals too!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Doesn’t need to rated, it’s been 5 stars for a looong time
Mani Draugabani, 03.03.2021
Sm57 is probably the most used mic there is
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Industry standard
Nänad , 04.01.2021
It's SM57....it does what SM57 does, and it does it better than the competition
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Top for Guitar Amp recording!!
Fanhs, 10.11.2020
One of my top guitar mic for recordings love it!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
good
samobor, 14.01.2021
I use it for my home studio. Good microphone.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Can't be beat
DavidNotDave , 12.10.2020
is what it is, classic reliable all rounder, can never have enough of these
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Gifted, 09.12.2020
Best mic for snare. Fully satisfied.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Everything I need
Synleaf, 07.12.2020
What can I say?
I use this mainly for recording vocals and many old acoustic instruments (lyre, flute, etc).

This is just perfect. The sound is great, but for vocals, you'll need a windsreen, otherwise, a lot of popping can be heard.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
THE SM57
Andrew J., 25.12.2016
The SM57 is good on anything because you always know what you're going to get - detailed sound of a solid dynamic mic.

Built to withstand the toughest of handling, the SM57 is a workhorse microphone which will work with almost any sound source from vocals to guitars (acoustic or electric), woodwind to brass and drums to percussion. It's also a great live or studio mic which makes it a go to for stage or studio.

There is nothing to it, no switches, cut offs or switchable patterns... not even an on/off switch. What you see is what you get. And in this you get a seriously robust, unbreakable* microphone with an equally reliable sound and characteristic.

So what's bad about it? Can a budget mic really be this good?
Well, yeah! It really is this good. Which is why all major studios have loads of them (and the SM58s - which are pretty much the same but with a different 'mouthpiece').
Being hyper critical, one of the things which I have to keep in mind when using this mic is proximity - you have to be close the get the sound source. This is the nature of dynamic microphones so it's not a fault of the Shure as such. You'll see these mics on stage and singers are touching their lips against it just to make sure the sound is level... Other than this, you can't fault it. Especially at this price.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Shure SM57 LC

95 €
Free shipping incl. VAT
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times

Dispatch expected by Friday, 23.04.

Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Phone: +49-9546-9223-26
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Phone: +49-9546-9223-35
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
1
(1)
Recently Viewed
MOTU UltraLite mk5

USB 2.0 Audio Interface With USB C connector, ESS Sabre32 Ultra DAC technology, 24 Bit / 44.1 - 192 kHz, Precise level meters for all analogue inputs/outputs with high-resolution OLED display, 2 Microphone / line / Hi-Z inputs via…

Recently Viewed
Roli Lumi 1 Snapcase Black

Roli Lumi 1 Snapcase Black; sturdy and magnetic cover around the LUMI Keys for a slim and seamless fit; protects the LUMI Keys during transport and storage; easily folds into a stand for mobile devices; dimensions (W x D x…

2
(2)
Recently Viewed
Harley Benton AirBorne Pro 5.8Ghz Instrument

Harley Benton AirBorne 5.8Ghz Pro Instrument, 5,8GHz digital wireless instrument system; suitable for all instruments with 6,35mm audio jack; plug-n-play transmitter & receiver; 5,8GHz band (5.729~5.820GHz); 24 bit/48KHz; 4 channels; transmission range up to 35 meter; latency 5,6ms; battery…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Harley Benton AirBorne Go

Harley Benton AirBorne Go, hd modeling desktop guitar amplifier with built-in 2,4ghz wireless instrument system, bluetooth 4,2 dual mode connectivity, airborne go app for advanced tone editing, drum machine & rechargeable battery function, great features for wireless practice & play-along…

Recently Viewed
Line6 Pod GO Wireless

Line6 Pod GO Wireless; Multi Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar; over 300 effects and models from Helix, M-Series and Legacy products, up to 6 simultaneous amp, cab, and effects models including a looper and a speaker cabinet simulation (Third-Party IR…

Recently Viewed
Alesis Nitro Expansion Pack

Expansion set for Alesis Nitro Mesh Kit Consist of 1x 10" One-Zone Pad and 1x 08" ON zones Tom Pad, Includes necessary rack clips, cymbal holder, L-rods and cables

Recently Viewed
Otamatone Neo Black

Otamatone Neo, Electronic sound toy / synthesizer, standard size, selection of various sounds via new studio smart phone app, cross link of smart phone and Otamatone via cable, power plug for external power supply, stereo headphone jack, volume adjustable, playing…

Recently Viewed
Focal Alpha 65 Evo

Focal Alpha 65 Evo; active studio monitor; tweeter: 1" inverted aluminium dome 25W (Class D); woofer: 6,5" carbon fibre cone 55W (Class D); frequency range: 40 - 22000Hz (+/- 3dB); max. SPL: 104dB (peak @ 1m); Inputs: 1x jack (6.3mm,…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
iZotope Spire Studio 2nd Generation

iZotope Spire Studio 2nd Generation; mobile recording studio with lithium-ion battery (up to 4 hours runtime); 2 tracks can be recorded simultaneously; up to 8 tracks per project can be played back; recording format: 24-bit / 48 kHz; up to…

Recently Viewed
Line6 Relay G10TII Transmitter

Line6 Relay G10TII Transmiiter, 2,4 GHz plug and play Wireless transmitter for Relay G10 systems or Spider V series from Spider V 60, with internal receiver, audio frequency range 10 - 20.000 Hz, automic frequency setup, 118 dB SPL max.,…

2
(2)
Recently Viewed
Universal Audio UAFX Astra Modulation Machine

Enforcement Pedal Stereo modulation, With chorus, flanger and tremolo effects, True or Buffered Bypass, Preset storable, Additional effects downloadable, Live / Preset mode, Dual processor UAFX Engine, 2 Inputs: 6.3 mm pawl (input 2 for stereo connection), 2 Outputs:…

Recently Viewed
Focal Alpha 50 Evo

Focal Alpha 50 Evo; active studio monitor; tweeter: 1" inverted aluminium dome tweeter 20W (Class D); woofer: 5" carbon fibre cone 30W (Class D); frequency range: 45 - 22000Hz (+/- 3dB); max. SPL: 101dB (peak @ 1m); Inputs: 1x Jack…

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.