Shure Beta 52A

635 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.8 /5
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
features
sound
quality
Smith Smith, 21.03.2020
I have used this mic in the studio with good results for kick drum, floot tom, electric bass cabinet.

Kick drum:
I had trouble recording kick drums at first. I've read that this mic has a mid scope and thought it sounds kind of flat and lacking punch of a "real kick sound"
Long story short... I tried buying new heads and started experimenting with positioning. I found that tuning my drums was the main issue. I do use a kickport in rear and Remo CS clear (going for EQ3 or something smilar next time) with my 22"x18" and a small pillow.

With this setup i found tuning my kick drum without the need of black belt in tuning drums. Just a tip that worked well for me. So now it sounds better than the weaker papery "plack"-sound that I got before. Now it's definitivly a "boom" when placing the BETA 52A inside an inch or two aiming a bit above dead centre. I do use the Autix D6 in addition for kick drum recording. I place the D6 halfway in and get boomier kick with high frequency click. I like the D6 more, but that's another story to tell.

Pros
Legendary mic. Good starting point if buying first kick drum mic if you don't know what to aim for. This mic is great with floor tom if upgrade the kick drum mic to something else.
Cons
- Has mid scope. You should'nt be afraid to use heavy EQ to shape the sound. Consider Audix D6 if you think or know you want more low end, less mids and bit high frequency click out of the box. They are both excellent and in the same price range.

Floor tom
SM 57 is the mic i usually end up using. If i have a spare SM52 i definitivly want it with floor tom. The Beta 52A sounds great on floor compared with sm57 and the low end it lacks. The Beta 52A just adds a lot more "punch in your face"-lows compared to a SM57.
Pros
- First and only mic i used with Beta 52A
Cons
- None so far

Electric bass guitar cabinet
Beta 52A is the mic i usually end up using. It delivers good low end sound. I do sometimes use additional SM57 for a track with overdrive. I found line in more useful fot that purpose.
Pros - Gives great low end and sounds good when recording in high volume situations.
Cons - I usually need additional track from line or SM57 when recording bass for a fuller sound in the hi-end depending on music style and taste at the moment.

Overall
Great for kick drum, floor tom and electric bass cabinet. The mid scope is an issue for me with kick drum, but can easily be eq:d to sound more youi want it to. Sounds amazing in combination wuth Audix D6. I would choose Beta52A as a first kick drum mic to buy and try it out since it is a great mic as floor tom in case you buy another one. Tuning might be a problem regardless of mic used and should be a concerm to fix before recording and jiugdning, specially if there is no power in the sound.. Audix D6 is a heavy pre-EQd mic and might suit you betterif you know you more low end and a bit high freq click. Beta 52A ijs a safe bet and worth trying if you are unsure of what you want. It's built to last.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
i like it
Kristaps, 12.12.2019
I like more oldschool sounding bass drums. Audix D6, i think is a great mic, but not for recording, it has too much eq, it makes every bassdrum sound good. I wanted more character in my bassdrum sound. So there were two mics that everyone recomended in my budget, AKG D112 and this Shure. Everywhere where i listened they sounded quite similar, but for my taste, Shure had a bit more bottom. I realy like it, and i have found that this mic sounds the best, when you put this mic outside of bass drum, right where the heads hole is. It the way how i have seen Benny Greb micking his bass drum, and some Kings of Leon records where recorded that way too. I like it!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Sturdy mic that sounds great.
Anders A., 01.05.2014
I've used mostly this and the AKG D112 and I have to say I like the Shure Beta 52 better. Even though the frequency response is pretty similar I do prefer the sound coming from the Shure.

The build quality is great, and if feels like you could choose a Beta 52a as you weapon of choice in the coming zombie apocalypse and you'd stand a pretty good chance.

I do wish they had designed the "holder" for the mic a bit differently, I find that the mic is to tall to work good with floor kick stands. But then again I don't have the most flexible of stands.

I have (contrary to the other review) used this on bass amps and I really like it, maybe not as a solo mic, but as a complement (with a 57 and/or a line signal) it's nice, this has been mostly heavily distorted bass. Recording clean bass might very well be different story,
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
NIce bassdrum mic
unLaXo, 13.12.2017
This is rugged good mic.
Options for aiming are great.
Sound of kick is punchy, deep and solid. I love that it goes up to 9-10kHz - in rock music you can easily make the drum slam, with the initial click.
For Jazz I recommend D12 (or D112) but for other styles definitely Beta52. Used it on festival and it was great universal kick drum mic.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great Mic for "Kick-in" Drum
Igan, 27.10.2013
This microphone gives you exactly what you'd expect from it inside of a kick drum. Instant low end punch, and snap due to it's calibrated eq curve. Positioning is very easy with great results. What this mic will not give you is that sub thump "kick-out" sound (achieved with yamaha subkick or large condenser 3feet in front of kick). Even positioned as "kick-out" will not perform as good as subkick or large condenser.
Haven't tried it on other instruments other than cajon which sounded good but positioning proved to be tricky. I'm guessing that bass amp sound wouldn't sound so great with it, but would definitly like to try it on baritone sax.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
The classic, can't go wrong
DriesSD, 02.12.2019
Classic kick drum mic. Has a bit difficulties with picking up click of the bass drum, but it blends in perfectly with a pressure zone microphone in the bass drum itself. Quality is top notch, but very heavy.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Never let me down
Stajmen, 24.12.2019
I used this mic for years on different occasions. I could always get an usable sound no matter what kick drum is used. The only minor annoyance is the screw for the angle gets loose from time to time but nothing you can't fix in a minute Sound great, tailored for kicks, with a nice mid cut.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
It does what it says on the tin
James2242, 19.05.2014
A studio and live classic, this is a lovely mic, solid and sturdy. It's great for rock and pop in particular and with kicks above 20". Works well on jazz kicks but I'd generally pick a D112 for that application. The mic attachment location is much better than the D112 though and it's relatively easy to place. A must for any studio in my opinion.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Beta52
Migsom, 11.12.2018
One of the standard kick drum microphones.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Workhorse
Hard Sound Crew, 12.04.2019
Most bands want this microphone in a bass drum rider. The microphone well conveys the body about 80 hertz as well as the attack of the drum the so-called silk.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Amazing Microphone
Ben Brown, 05.06.2020
This is my go to microphone for Kick Drums. I'm looking to pair it with a Beta 91A soon
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Solid Mic
David5675, 10.05.2014
This is a fantastic mic for most kick drum sounds. I mainly use it for rock and metal as there is plenty of punch in it. It is very solid,well built and durable. I also use this mic for recording bass amps as it can give a very thight sound.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
a pro mic!!!
Diamond Productions, 30.01.2019
its industry standard pro mic for drums!!!!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
You can't go wrong with a classic.
TheAstrice, 12.11.2019
The Beta52A is a classic for a reason. Countless records had it as a kick drum/floor tom mic with wonderful results. Add that to Shure's reliability and it's easy to see you can't go wrong with this mic.

Great solid sound for rock, pop and metal.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
This mic is a beast!
manitari666, 09.08.2017
I recorded bass drum and bass mostly and its just amazing on how it responds.I also use it for live.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Solid microphone
29.01.2017
Have been using it on countless occasions in the studio and live. A solid option for recording at least bass drums, bass and toms.

Build quality seems really good. Haven't had any problems with it whatsoever.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Worth its weight!
Iain M., 24.09.2014
As a comparative newcomer to live sound, I'd taken guidance from both trusted experienced tour engineers plus read reviews here and elsewhere before purchasing.

Whilst there were almost as many mic choices as opinions (!) time and again people said that they included the Beta 52A as a reliable, go-to mic in their armoury.

Having used it a couple of dozen times on a kick drum in a live environment I can understand why - forgiving on placement, punchy, a huge amount of low end yet a decent amount of attack.

Most of the stages I've worked on have been small with front line monitors in close proximity to the mic - no problems with feedback however.

Like many Shure products, the high build quality gives you the confidence that not only are you working with a great mic but that it will last you for years.

Highly recommended.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
09.09.2015
I guess the Shure beta 52a is one of the most used kick drum mics in the music industry. Shure always delivers quality, it's sturdy and can take a beating.
I prefer to use it as an outside kick drum mic, while I have another mic inside the kick drum.

It's not my favorite for kick drum, but does the job well, and it's fairly priced.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great sounding kick/bass drum mic.
Konstantinos Iosifidis, 11.12.2018
Industry standard kick/bass drum microphone. Can be used both as inside and outside kick mic and also for recording bass guitar.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Instant superior kick sound
Salvatoremusic, 02.07.2017
Yess!! This is the sound i was looking for!
Having tried several mics in front of my kick drum, this mic immediately sounded so much better.

Full sound with enough high end and a pleasant 'thump'.

Excelllent choice for pop, rock, americana drummers.
Metal drummer might prefer more high end. I would recommend them to try out audix D6.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Lovin' it!
pepepe, 03.06.2017
My favorite kick drum mic of all time! Can't recommend it more...awesome sound! Never had any problem with it!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
One of the best
18.01.2017
This is the best microphone for me. I used a lot microphones, but this is one of the best for me. Fantastic sound quality.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
great for bass drum
ionral, 25.06.2015
I use it exclusively to mic the bass drum, I find it very good, shure is a security, is also aesthetically well done, take a good solution to place it, it is heavy but they are all well.
I recommend you use it just inside the hole in the resonant, and then use a sub kick by software or one itself, so you will have a big drum sound real nice to hear in the mix! advised
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Excellent kick drum mic
04.01.2016
This is a solid and sturdy mic with excellent bass response, perfect for live and studio use. I have yet to get a great sound using this through multiple desks and on numerous kick drums. I have not experienced any cons with this product as of yet, although I doubt I will any time soon. A great quality mic for a great price. I would highly recommend it to anyone.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
features
sound
quality
Great Mic
Daniel Doyen, 12.12.2019
Working as a roadie (in high level events), you always see this mic in live or studio situations. No brainer for sure.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Shure Beta 52A

169 €
All prices incl. VAT
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times

Delivery free of charge expected between Thursday, 20.05. and Friday, 21.05.

Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-30
FAX: +49-9546-922328
Phone: +49-9546-9223-26
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Phone: +49-9546-9223-35
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
2
(2)
Recently Viewed
Line6 Relay G10TII Transmitter

Line6 Relay G10TII Transmiiter, 2,4 GHz plug and play Wireless transmitter for Relay G10 systems or Spider V series from Spider V 60, with internal receiver, audio frequency range 10 - 20.000 Hz, automic frequency setup, 118 dB SPL max.,…

Recently Viewed
Arturia Pigments 3

Arturia Pigments 3 (ESD); virtual synthesizer; four sound engines with variable sound sources; Harmonic Engine with up to 512 partials; Wavetable Engine with a total of 164 wavetables; Utility Engine with sub-oscillator and two noise sample layers; Jup-8 V4 low-pass…

2
(2)
Recently Viewed
Universal Audio UAFX Starlight Echo Station

Effects Pedal Stereo delay, With tape, analogue, and digital effects, True or buffered bypass, Presets can be stored, Tap tempo mode, Additional effects can be downloaded, Dual processor UAFX engine, Live / preset mode, 2 Inputs: 6.3 mm jack…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Harley Benton TableAmp V2 BlueTooth

Harley Benton TableAmp V2 BlueTooth, compact amplifier with great features for play-along and sing-along with streamed music using the integrated Bluetooth feature, ideal for acoustic guitar, ukulele, electric guitar, vocals and music, 30 watt RMS, 1x 5" bass woofer +…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Korg SQ-64

Polyphonic Step Sequencer with 4 Tracks 3 Melody tracks with 8-fold polyphony and 16 patterns of 64 steps each, Drum track with 16 monophonic sub-tracks, 64-Key matrix with illuminated buttons, OLED display, Editing modes per melody track: gate, pitch…

Recently Viewed
Alesis Harmony 61 MKII

Alesis Harmony 61 MKII Keyboard with 61 piano style keys, 300 sounds, 300 rhythms and 40 demo songs, speakers, headphone output 3,5 mm, powered via batteries (6x AA not included!), incl. skoove 3 month premium online lessions, dimensions: 948 x…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Roli Lumi 1 Snapcase Black

Roli Lumi 1 Snapcase Black; sturdy and magnetic cover around the LUMI Keys for a slim and seamless fit; protects the LUMI Keys during transport and storage; easily folds into a stand for mobile devices; dimensions (W x D x…

Recently Viewed
SSL 500-Series SiX Channel

Solid State Logic 500-Series SiX Channel; Channel Strip; with SuperAnalogue mic preamp and 5-way LED indicator; +48V phantom power; with phase and HPF switches; separate instrument/line input on front panel with Hi-Z switch (1MO); switchable 2-band EQ with bell and…

Recently Viewed
Lewitt LCT 140 Air Matched Pair

Lewitt LCT 140 Air Matched Pair - 2 matched small diaphragm condenser microphones, polar pattern: cardioid, frequency range: 20 Hz - 20 kHz, sensitivity: 14.6 mV/Pa, -36.7 dBV/P, max. SPL: 135 dB, low-cut: 80 Hz (12 dB/oct), pad switch: -12dB,…

Recently Viewed
Rode VideoMic Me-C

Rode VideoMic Me-C; condenser directional microphone; suitable for Android devices with USB-C connector; integrated USB type-C plug; 1/2" condenser capsule; polar pattern: cardioid; front pickup angle: 90°; sturdy aluminium housing with ceramic coating; built-in microphone preamplifier with DA converter (24Bit…

2
(2)
Recently Viewed
Line6 Pod GO Wireless

Line6 Pod GO Wireless; Multi Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar; over 300 effects and models from Helix, M-Series and Legacy products, up to 6 simultaneous amp, cab, and effects models including a looper and a speaker cabinet simulation (Third-Party IR…

Recently Viewed
IK Multimedia UNO Synth Pro Desktop

Analog synthesizer Paraphonic analog synthesizer with step sequencer, arpeggiator and effects section, Three wave morphing oscillators with PWM, sync, frequency and ring modulation, dual state variable filter with 24 modes, amplifier, Original OTA filter from the UNO Synth as…

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.