Customer center login

Harley Benton Valuestrings EL 10-46

3000 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.1 /5
  • sound
  • quality
Total
sound
quality
Not the greatest but work
Kristian2622, 27.10.2017
Let's face it, you're not going to put these on your main, or a backup guitar, if you're already on the live playing circuit or even higher.

Where you DO WANT to put these on is the guitar you might use for practicing finger gymnastic, a guitar you carry around in your car on a business trip... I put the strings onto a Harley Benton guitar kit - which I have in my office at work, you know, some people do jogging, some do yoga at work, I play guitar dry.

Having said that, the strings are pretty decent and they can be useful even if you play live often.

Imagine you're in the middle of a gig, your string breaks - do you want to unpack a set of expensive strings? No. Just replace it with a single string from this pack and you're good to go.

The price is fantastic, the quality better than the quality (or lack thereof) of no-name/fake name strings you can get off eBay, so when you're onto your next Thomann order, just throw in 2-3 packs to your basket. Heck, this might get you over to the free shipping realm.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Good enough at this price
Elisabeth85, 22.06.2015
I get a good month of use out of each set. I thought all was good and my pickups were not good enough. Then I bought a new Harley Benton L450 Cherryburst, which came with Diaddario strings. I got such a shock when I replaced the strings with the Harley Bentons that I am now waiting to buy more Daddarios with my next Thomann order.

The Harley Benton strings were not so bad with the high output Ceramic pickups on my L400 Goldtop. With the alnico v pickups on the Cherryburst the difference was immediately noticable. Just no sing at all.

They do last a long time however, and the Daddarios dont last long at all before they go black. I need to experiment more with strings and the Daddarios are a good standard to measure to. Now to find the perfect strings which sound as good yet don't go black. When I find them I'll repost here.

In the mean time, the Harley Benton strings are fantastic for use on a practice guitar where you want great feel and long life and play mostly unamplified. Great price for this purpose, and keep the Daddarios for gigs.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Much better than I expected.
Axepete, 11.09.2020
I have had a few packs of the Harley Benton Value strings ( 10's ) which came with a couple of guitars and I always held them back as replacements, incase of breakages. I haven't broken any strings for a while but my TE52-NA was due for a string change and I didn't have any of my regular strings at hand so I thought I would use the HB's until my new order of strings arrived. I was stunned at the overall quality of sound from these strings. I also expected the, new, brightness would soon wear off but even after a couple of weeks solid playing, they still sounded almost as good as new. My conclusion is : these may be extremely inexpensive strings but they are in no way cheap sounding. I am immensely impressed .... and yet, I guess I should never be surprised, any more, at the great quality to price ratio of Harley Benton products. I keep a spare set in my gig bags all the time now.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Great quality value strings
28.05.2015
These are great quality value strings at a price that are cheaper than the price my local music shop sells individual strings!!

Often, you get what you pay for and at this price you may easily be forgiven for thinking they are unplayable. These however, are great value strings. They're not brilliant but they are great for a student/lounge/spare guitar. They have a decent sound and a good life span on them. The strings come well presented and individually wrapped.

UK buyers may recognise the string packets as being similar to the Alice brand of guitar strings that are also advertised and sold as budget guitar strings. Perhaps they're re-branded?

I am pleased with my purchase and regularly recommend to my guitar students. I also use these sets on my own teaching guitars.

And as ever, great service from Thomann!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
You wouldn't believe it!
Curreeney old boy, 25.01.2020
So I have too many guitars,said no one ever !
And stringing them can be costly, so I gave these a go!
What did I get for my pittance?
Nicely packaged smooth playing, strings with a good balanced tone,I normally buy Ernie balls ,and to be totally honest see no difference in quality except to say these are nicer under the fingers! What's not to like?
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Can't complain
21.12.2015
Purchased a few packs of these to give them a go instead of the usual Ernie Ball Slinkies 10's I use. I have to say I've been impressed, not only with this product but with Harley Benton in general. I've purchased 3/4 HB products recent and every one has been spot on!

These strings sound just as good on my LP Junior as the Ernie Ball Slinkies, there's literally no difference in sound or quality as far as I can tell. The only noticeable difference is the cost, I don't know how Harley Benton manage to keep costs down like this, especially when a pack of Ernie Ball's cost you near on £4-6's on average per single set.

This is another example of Harley Benton looking after the consumer in my eyes and is only testament to Thomann and the Harley Benton brand. I will definitely be using these from now on!

Delivery process was well documented and clear, and arrive very quickly to say they'd come from Germany at this time of year too!

Thanks again for the great service!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Perfect For Solid Body Guitars
Mountain Tiger, 26.04.2021
I bought 10 packs of these strings because they were so inexpensive. I had been using Fender nickel strings and to be perfectly honest, see absolutely no difference.
I have been playing guitar for 46 years and while I use more expensive strings for my nylon string guitar, flatwounds on my semi-hollow and hillow body guitars and on my basses as well, I have absolutely no complaints about these strings and would highly reccommend them.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
a260261@gmail.com
andrey lebyodkin, 21.05.2021
good quality strings. the sensations and sound are the same as d'addario. Of course, time will tell how good they are or not, but first impressions are very positive. The system is kept well even after all the finger and mechanical lifts. Recommend!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
NOT Ernie Ball Slinky's
LarryBoy57, 04.01.2021
Bought these because some of the reviews compared them favorably to Ernie Ball Slinky's. These aren't even in the same galaxy as Ernie Ball's. First thing I noticed when opening the package was how much smaller these were coiled compared to other strings. This can cause damage to the strings by coiling them too tight distorting the structure of the strings. They could not stay in tune and sounded horrible. Cheaper for me to throw away than to return so that's what I did.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Extremely disappointed
25.06.2016
I ordered 10 packs of these budget strings for quite a simple reason.
My daughter plays and goes through strings at an alarming rate. As a (15 year old) teenager with hormones etc. she has developed extremely corrosive sweat which wipe strings out in days, it's like she's on tour every night. Happens even with Elixers and coated strings, I simply cant afford to replace them at the rate she goes through them, so I tended to stick with D'dardios and even that is too expensive for me at the rate needed.
I saw these and the good reviews and at the price thought I'll try a load even if I'm changing them every day at this price it's OK, it's a way forward for her to be able to practice on a regular basis without discommfort.
I hate writing negative things but these are absolute garbage and a total waste of money even at this price.
Just finished a restring and tuning up - ping snap ping snap, giving them a little stretch out like is always need ping snap.
The packaging is fine, but strings are often kinked, they also feel like strings that have already been played a while.
Very very poor, I would avoid and even advise Thomann to stop selling them. This is certainly a case of you get what you pay for. Unfortunately it doesn't matter what I pay for due to her problem and cost, but at least they don't snap on tuning and stretching out!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Lasts a long time!
darsh, 08.05.2020
Incredibly long lasting strings. Sounds good, gets the job done
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
jasrmusic , 26.04.2021
I change strings... A LOT!
For this price/quality - perfect!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
why not get them
seanwh, 10.05.2021
decent quality and very cheap, brilliant for having them as spares aswell, they sound good...not amazing but i wasnt expecting them to be, pretty much every order i make from here i intend to put a set of the 10's and 11's because it really doesn't make a difference to my order and its good to have some reliable good sounding strings on hand that i can place in my guitar toolbox, my spare parts box, and any guitar cases so no matter what, these are there ready to save the day, id recommend anyone get a couple of each to try out and keep on hand.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Good for the money
lemondrops, 10.08.2021
Use them as backup strings for my SG, surprisingly good for the money. Suitable for beginners and / or as backup strings, or even your main guitar if you're not picky. They do not last as long as more expensive alternatives but certainly worth the price.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Great Quality Sound
Ryly, 29.09.2017
I am really happy about this product for 2 reasons:
1) It is a great quality string set and its the cheapest on the Thomann Market.
2) It works very well with my Epiphone dot-eb and I highly recommend people who have a low budget to purchase this strings.

I use this on my Epiphone Guitar at church, and just hearing it come out of those speakers........IT'S AMAZING. These strings are really good sounding and it has a balance of the low end aith hi end
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
The industry standard? Could be.
nodrog2008, 26.09.2017
I have guitars with different string guages. What suits the guitar really. I have 25 so I try and get it right with each one. Its what feels right. Harley Benton products are top notch quality for the price point. Great sounding strings with a good feel under the fingers. I always buy 10 packs at a time. Makes sense really. Highly recommended.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Dmitrii"TerminAtor"Bunin
T-1972, 26.03.2021
Exellent strings, good price.
Fast delivery.
Highly recommended.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
My go-to replacement strings
guitar_den, 08.06.2017
The Harley Benton Value Strings 010 are my go-to replacement strings for electric guitar. I don?t like to swap all the strings when one gets broken so I always replace this one string with the matching Harley Benton Value String. Overall I think the quality is quite good, especially if you consider the price. In my opinion it?s obvious that the Value Strings can?t compete with strings like the ones from Ernie Ball etc. but if you have a look at the price-performance ratio I really can?t complain about the quality, sound and durability of the HB Value Strings. As replacement strings I will definitely buy them again!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Pretty good
Bajo, 06.02.2021
Great cheap string, can't go wrong with these.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
GOOD DURABILITY
Diego Mateus, 24.02.2020
I HAVE ALWAYS USED STRINGS D'ADDARIO, AND WHEN I BUY THESE ROPES HARLEY BENTON, IT WAS JUST TO COMPLETE A VALUE THAT I HAD AVAILABLE ON THE SITE, BUT WHEN PLACING THESE ROPES IN MY GUITAR, I HAD A GREAT SURPRISE! BECAUSE I HAVE INSTALLED THESE STRINGS AT A GOOD TIME, AND UNTIL THE MOMENT THEY CONTINUE WITH AN AMAZING SOUND!

WHERE I LIVE (BRAZIL), THESE STRINGS DO NOT EXIST TO SELL, AND FOR THIS REASON THERE WASN'T TESTED BEFORE THIS STRAIGHTENING, I BELIEVE THIS STRINGS IS ONE OF THE BEST COST x BENEFIT AVAILABLE ON THE SITE
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Superb
nashman, 08.01.2021
REally amazing valu for money for these quality strings.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
The only difference I find is in my wallet!
Mark234, 19.04.2017
I use 9s 10s and acoustic 12s and after 30 years of using the market leader I have spent the last 10 years using the Thomann strings on my 35 odd Guitars and on those of my Guitar students. I use them on all my budget Guitars as well as my £1000 + guitars I may have broken one string in the last 100 sets and I did find one kinked string in the last 500 sets! My Acoustics get (really)hammered at my open mic every week and 2 strings have broken in the last 4 years (200 gigs!) If you are the type of guitarist that thinks they can hear the difference between a blue jack plug and a black one then you don't deserve to have these :-) Like I said the only noticeable difference I can find is in my wallet, ( It still has some money in it ! )
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Do what theyre supposed to do
peripherylover, 05.11.2019
They are strings
And they function very good as strings.
they dont wear out too quickly
of course not as high quality as 15 coated strings of course
but overal very good price to quality ratio
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Sammyite, 05.04.2021
Basic strings with a value of usage. Good deal.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
The best cheap strings, but nothing more.
Totenbeschwörer, 28.06.2021
If you are a beginner or do not play guitar often, then there is no point in overpaying for more expensive brands, but more experienced musicians will notice the difference. These strings do not sound bright and wear out very quickly. Still a great option for your money
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Harley Benton Valuestrings EL 10-46

1,50 €
Including VAT; Excluding 2,50 € shipping
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times

Dispatch expected by Saturday, 25.09.

Your Contacts
Phone: +32-237-69120
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24