Harley Benton HB-80R

375 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.2 /5
  • handling
  • features
  • sound
  • quality
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Awesome cheap amp (for cleans)
Rm87, 10.11.2020
This amp has two channels. The channel 1 is good for crunch, It is relatively easy to get good tones out of it as long as it is set loud.

The secon channel is only good as a clean amp or a pedal platform. The gain sounds bad, but takes pedals greatly, thanks to the celestion speaker.

The included reverb is surprisingly good too. But this is NOT an amp for home use. This is loud.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Good value for the money
ajoliveira, 25.12.2019
A clear sounding amplifier for all styles. Pretty heavy but worthwhile having. Sounds better than expected. AC noise present when driving impedance is moderately high (50-100KOhm), will investigate further on that.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Hisses and hums
G KASTANOS sax, 23.12.2020
cons
-a weird spring reverb is always present even in 0
-hums from powering up
-volume controls don't apply to aux in BE CAREFULL!!!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
hmel.1957
hmel.1957, 06.04.2021
What can guarantee a good, real electric guitar sound? Speaker. Real 12 inch Seventy 80 from British Celestion.Powerful analog sound, nice velvety bass and good gain. I play more on a clean sound and thisHB-80R suits me.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Great clean sound, nice for beginner guitarists
06.12.2016
I would say that this amp is great if you're just learning how to play the guitar and you're not playing in the band and all you want to do is rehearse and get better. That was why I got this amp in the first place.

So as I wrote in the heading. This amp has really cool clean sound. It can be set nicely and you get a Fender-ish nice clean sound with a touch reverb. But when it gets to dirty sounds, they are actually dirty. Not terrible, listenable but you get what you're paying for. Maybe it sounds better if you use few stompboxes but I cannot comment this, because when I was using it, I didn't have any.

The built itself is solid and everything works as it should. I never had problems with playing on low or high volumes, it's also nice that you have the footswitch which I didn't expect when I was starting out, because I thought that this comes only with expensive high-end stuff haha. There's also an fx-chain and speakers output.

I also used it as a monitor because quite a few smaller venues don't have more than one monitor and this one was normally used for the singer, so this amp was monitor for the drummer, it went okay. It's no really what this amp is meant for but it is an additional feature.

Overall I would say that it's worth the money if you're just starting your path as a guitarist, but if you have some time to earn some money, spend a bit more and buy something that will be useful for longer period of time.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Solid clean sound for a great price
Chilly-Dilly, 08.06.2018
As usual, the Harley Benton brand is punching above its weight. This is by no means an amazing amp, but if all you're looking for is a loud amp with a good clean sound, this is the one. Having the 12" Celestion speaker is really nice, and it's not something any other companies (that I know of) could feasibly do at such a low price.

However, if you want a heavy metal tone, you're going to want something else. Personally, I'm thinking of getting the Revv G3 to go in front of the amp to solve this problem, but if you're not after the crazy metal distortion sound then it shouldn't be a problem for you.

TL,DR: Good clean sound for really cheap. Worth it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
SweeneyTj, 23.10.2017
Great sound easy to handle, great for a first amp!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
A great practice amp
Loukoil, 06.03.2019
I wanted a cheap practice amp to take with because i didnt want to take on the road my tube amps all the time. The amp has a great clean sound for its money and it is something that I did not expect. The second channel which is the overdrive one, it's decent and the celestion speaker really helps I believe that with a good pedal it will sound more than ok. The quality is surprisingly good for the money but do not expect it to be like the high end amps.
In conlusion, I highly recommend it especially for beginners but for more experienced players as well!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Disappointed
WPSMusic, 05.11.2020
Basically it arrived completely unusable. My disappointment stems from the fact that the entire faceplate broke away from the frame of the amp, and that I am unable to use it due to power issues. I am well aware of the fact that most European electronics require a transformer for the US which is why I purchased this amp specifically because in the product description it did not list a transformer as a required add-on.

Now I am trying to figure out whether it's worth sending the amp all the way back.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Very good amplifier
bajy, 26.05.2019
Harley Benton HB-80R is a very good and powerful amp for electric guitar and other instruments. I've tried it on stage without problem. I'm not so satisfied of the overdrive and sustain.
Generaly, it is a perfect choise for a beginer and a semipro guitar player. The value for money is perfect!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
A big and cheap amp
JoniT, 22.11.2014
I bought this for home practice, with it I got a few distortion/overdrive pedals, because I knew that the distortion in this amp wouldn't be that good, but I haven't tried it... I just put it on clean and plugged the pedals in... So far I'm very pleased with the amp. At first I had some issues like the sound was really quiet, but that was my fault and I fixed it and now it works really good.

The features on this are really nice. Though I haven't touched the controls after the first day, because I'm doing everything on pedals.

There was one thing that really annoyed me though and it was that the headphone output comes before the FX loop... I had my reverbs and delays in my loop and one night when I wanted to play guitar, but everybody was sleeping, so I put on my headphones and I immediately noticed that the signal was dry with only the fx that I had put before the amp.

Other than that I do recommend this amp, as it is cheap and if you got pedals it sound good even.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Interesting solution.
Marco F. 8920, 28.10.2015
Adequate equipment for smaller and home situations.
The sound is interesting and the material is tough!
The level of functionality like enough and the level of semi acoustic guitars without prejudice to the natural sound.
Simple to use, good price!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
ok for home use
Andrew V., 12.06.2013
I thought this was pretty good for practice at home, but the first time I brought it to a jam its limitations quickly became apparent. I much prefer a tube tone, this sounded very thin and weedy when put up beside a drummer, bass and valve amp. Quite harsh too, might be ok for metal and had enough volume, but too harsh for blues/classic rock imo
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Great quality for its price
Markos111, 10.03.2021
Not that bad for its features and the sound is not the best but you can handle it for basic usage and some pedal usage.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Cheap but sounds Expensive
12.01.2016
Bought it for a small rehearsal studio and was pretty surprised with its power. its loud! seriously loud!
built quality is very good for the price. love the celestion loudspeaker inside. equalizing options are wonderful.
reverb is good too, if you are not so picky.
its a pitty that it doesn't come with a footswith as dual channel option is very handy.
having 2 separate channels made this amp a real treasure for me as the price is ridiculously cheap for the futures and quality provided.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Awesome Amp
Robert Smyth, 25.01.2021
I'm new to playing the guitar , so I wanted something that would be affordable and something I could continue using as I get better . I'm still learning about settings for the sounds I need , but everything I have put the settings to have put out the sound I was looking for.. This is a loud little amp... I can see myself using this if I was to join a garage band or backyard jam
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Excellent for the money
23.06.2016
This Amp is worth the cost.
It is loud and has a very unique sound to it.
Export packaging is not so good, I received it with a busted knob and had to solder a new one.
After the fix I can say that for the value , it's worth it.
It's heavy and built ok.
Celetion speaker of high quality.
All in all , I would recommend this Amp considering the costs.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
It isn't the best amp ever
25.05.2016
So this is an okay amp, it has some nice features and it is easy to use, my only problem is the sound in my opinion.

Clean it sounds great and if you're a player that plays a lot of clean or really low-distorted tones this amp is great for you but when distortion is added it sounds really harsh, saturated and thin in my opinion, so I wouldn't use it if you're a heavy rock player in your bedroom.
Maybe it could work in a band situation though, if a bass player is playing too it could make up for the thin-ness.

So I wouldn't say it sounds great with distortion but without it it's good. the reverb is pretty nice too.
Or if you're a beginner on a really tight budget and really can't pay more than this, sure this is a great amp for the price. But it would probably be better to just save some money for a better (But possibly more expensive) amp
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Worked great - 5 months in, started malfunctioning
FuzzyDrumming, 11.05.2020
Worked great for the first few months where I actively used it, until one day it started suddenly not giving out sound while I was playing, having to be reset each time so that sound comes back on, so cannot use for live gigs out of fear it'll suddenly fizzle out.
Besides that, it was great.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Moldo, 09.03.2019
Good amp , only thing is that when it came , a button was broken in half and it fell. Good thing i have a glue gun.
Still a good amp ! Maybe it was the UPS Guy's fault.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
My first Amp
13.05.2015
Before buying this Amp, I looked in Youtube for reviews. The reviews were quite interesting considering the price... This was the first guitar's Amp I have ever used, I used it along with my first guitar "Harley Benton S-200 BK". Till this day, I have both working well. This Amp is veryyy loud and the quality is quite good, considering you don't raise the volume too much, otherwise you will feel it quite distorted.
Overall, I find this Amp good for starters, if has a lot of features on it also which make it easier for you to change between a more electrical or a more acoustic sound, the build quality is pretty decent, it's easy to setup with your guitar and it has everything essential to start rock on!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
GREAT guitar amp
DraaiStoel, 13.07.2019
The amp can range from many genres, from overdriven blues to high gain metal distortion, so i would recommend it to everyone, the OD channel is really clean without the gain, so it works well with pedals.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Just good as its price
Jilvir, 22.09.2019
Its loud its good for gig. its good for its price.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Good, but quality could be better
Siljo, 08.01.2019
Amp which i received, was not in perfect shape, as artificial leather on inside was unglued, so i had to glue it, also there was an issue with electronics which brings amp from stand by state (it was not working correctly, so i just disable this part of electronics). Regarding sound and features, amp is good and despite some imperfections i would recommend it.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
handling
features
sound
quality
Overall a good amp
Georgenaruto1, 19.10.2018
Perfect for beginners or for home jamming and studio practice. I recommend it for everyone . Alongside with a good pedal this amp becomes a monster.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Harley Benton HB-80R

149 €
All prices incl. VAT
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times

Delivery free of charge expected between Tuesday, 20.04. and Wednesday, 21.04.

Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-20
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Online Guides
Guitar Amps
Guitar Amps
The following pages give an overview of the various types of guitar amp available.
Online Guides
Guitar Setups
Guitar Setups
The range of available guitars and amps has never been greater than it is today, and a huge variety of sounds are easily accessible.
 
 
 
 
 
Download
 
 
 
 
 
video
Harley Benton HB-80R
0:49
Harley Benton HB-80R
Rank #21 in Solid-State Guitar Combos
 
 
 
 
 
test results:
11
(11)
Recently Viewed
Audient iD4 MKII

USB-C Audio Interface 24 bit / 44.1 - 96 kHz, ADC dynamic range: 121 dB, DAC dynamic range: 126 dB, @Class A Audient console microphone preamplifier, Mic Gain 58 dB,

Recently Viewed
Alesis Nitro Expansion Pack

Expansion set for Alesis Nitro Mesh Kit Consist of 1x 10" One-Zone Pad and 1x 08" ON zones Tom Pad, Includes necessary rack clips, cymbal holder, L-rods and cables

Recently Viewed
Sonor SS 1000 Snare Stand

Sonor SS 1000 Snare Stand, 1000 hardware series, gearless basket adjustment, double braced, stable rubber foots,

Recently Viewed
Electro Harmonix Ripped Speaker Fuzz

Electro Harmonix Ripped Speaker Fuzz; Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar & Bass; low Fuzz settings emulate Vintage Lo-Fi Distortion Sounds created by a Razor Blade applied to a Speaker Cone, a loose Tube or a faulty channel on a Recording…

Recently Viewed
Otamatone Neo White

Otamatone Neo, Electronic sound toy / synthesizer, standard size, selection of various sounds via new studio smart phone app, cross link of smart phone and Otamatone via cable, power plug for external power supply, stereo headphone jack, volume adjustable, playing…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
iZotope Spire Studio 2nd Generation

iZotope Spire Studio 2nd Generation; mobile recording studio with lithium-ion battery (up to 4 hours runtime); 2 tracks can be recorded simultaneously; up to 8 tracks per project can be played back; recording format: 24-bit / 48 kHz; up to…

Recently Viewed
Endorphin.es Ground Control

Endorphin.es Ground Control; Eurorack module; performance sequencer; 24-pads keyboard for realtime programming; USB-B port and MIDI in/out for using external MIDI devices and DAW integration; 3 melodic tracks with CV/Gate outputs; 8 drum tracks with trigger outputs; 24 pattern per…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Blackmagic Design Pocket Cinema Camera Pro EVF

Blackmagic Design Pocket Cinema Camera Pro EVF; Viewfinder fits Pocket Cinema Camera 6K Pro; Viewfinder with internal proximity sensor, 4-piece glass diopter, built-in status info display and digital test chart; Video and power connections: via Pocket Cinema Camera 6K Pro…

2
(2)
Recently Viewed
Universal Audio UAFX Astra Modulation Machine

Enforcement Pedal Stereo modulation, With chorus, flanger and tremolo effects, True or Buffered Bypass, Preset storable, Additional effects downloadable, Live / Preset mode, Dual processor UAFX Engine, 2 Inputs: 6.3 mm pawl (input 2 for stereo connection), 2 Outputs:…

Recently Viewed
Otamatone Neo Black

Otamatone Neo, Electronic sound toy / synthesizer, standard size, selection of various sounds via new studio smart phone app, cross link of smart phone and Otamatone via cable, power plug for external power supply, stereo headphone jack, volume adjustable, playing…

Recently Viewed
Zoom PodTrak P4

Podcasting Recorder Four microphone inputs (XLR, P48V phantom power switchable), Four headphone outputs with individual volume controls (3.5mm stereo jack), Gain control and mute button per input, Mix minus function for automatic feedback suppression for incoming calls, Connection of…

Recently Viewed
Aputure Accent B7c

Aputure Accent B7c; smart 7W RGBWW LED bulb; uses the same colour mixing technology as the Nova P300c, covering the same colour temperature spectrum from 2000 to 10000 Kelvin; built-in Li-Po battery with a runtime of up to 70 minutes…

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.