Harley Benton Coated Phosphor 012 Anti Rust

444 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.2 /5
  • sound
  • quality
Total
sound
quality
Excellent Alternative
Macs 66, 20.11.2017
I'm a long term user of the most expensive coated strings and had grown very used to their sound on my guitar. I am also very discerning about the sound I like, it has been many years since I've just put strings on and carried on. I listen very, very carefully to my sound. I did some research and decided at the price these string were selling at, they'd be worth a tryout.

They really are excellent strings in their own right. I am unable to detect any difference in the quality of sound from my guitar. They settled down very nicely after a couple of hours play.. A good six weeks down the line and I'm still happy with the sound and I've had no breakages. My conclusion is, that for me, they are easily as good as the other hexagonal core coated strings packaged by a different company. I will be absolutely happy to place a further bulk order.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Please don’t compare to Elixir, compare to D’addario
Dracorex0, 17.02.2021
D’addario and Elixir strings have completely different characters, Elixir is very bright, D’addario is more balanced. If you are looking for very bright, definitely go with Elixir. But D’addario is more suited for a warm sound. Which brings me to these strings. I bought a guitar that had D’addario exp16 coated on them and was enamored with the warm sound, just stunning for my fingerstyle playing. After the strings died I was kind of in a crisis because the d’addario exp 16 line was finished, and the new xt line was getting mixed feedback. I had never tried Elixir and put them on. The warmth of the instrument was gone totally. Before that I never thought different strings could make such a difference in sound. It was night and day. I’ve bought the d’addario strings now and they are one the way, but I still had some .12 coated strings from harley benton lying around. I put them on, and I was stunned. They sound ALMOST similar to the 3x as expensive d’addario exp16. How is this possible? How does harley benton do it?? Witchcraft, I say! Anyhow, my instrument was singing beautifully again and I am happy!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Coated and voted
29.02.2016
I carried these strings initially as an alternative set to the infinitely more expensive coated strings I have strung on my Spanish and Flamenco guitars. Spares to get me by etc. Given their price I wasn't expecting too much. I had to re string one of my guitars in emergency for a show one evening and that afternoon I put these on and were amazed. Although I normally use extra hard tension (these are normal and one disappointment is extra hard tension Isn't available) they had a good feel and very surprisingly crisp in tone. I can't conclusively say that the coating has kept the basses clean but since I change my strings once a month due to lots of playing time, tone is still bright and not that telltale thunk you get when they are worn out and they have taken a good work out.
I can't really hear the difference between the (shall stay nameless) but significantly more expensive coated sets I normally use and these who are a quarter of the price. Maybe I was lucky but in honesty I can't find anything bad to say about them. Like some of the Thomann guitars that are markedly cheaper than the big branded names but rival them in quality and playability, so are these strings so far. I will be ordering more sets but don't take my word on it. Try them for yourself. I am happy.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Good budget string!
Kevo, 22.05.2019
I have been experimenting with different strings just for the sake of it. I am not a perfectionist on sound. I am looking for a nice sound and a nice lifespan at the right price. While Elixirs are the industry standard in this class they are expensive & there are other alternatives and this offering from Thomanns own Harley Benton range is one such offering. The starting point is you are not getting elixirs so a direct comparison is not fair.

I have put them on a spare guitar I use for rehearsing and I have to say I'm impressed. I am a rough strummer and suffer quite a bit from string breaks. So far with the first set no string breaks, which if I'm honest I half expected to be an issue. The tone is pleasing and bright and they appear to be holding the tone. I do use GHS Fast Fret on the strings to help prolong life of strings. But still they seem to be lasting longer than standard strings such as D'Addario's, Martin's or GHS strings. I bought 5 sets. When I have used all 5 sets I will return and update the review if needed. If for nothing but a spare or back up guitar,

I would not hesitate to recommend these strings. The price is favorable & Thomann own brand products are well selected by their buyers. As a result Thomann are developing a solid reputation in their own brand range for quality, reliability and affordability. Thank you guys for all your hard work.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Amazing for the price!!
23.01.2015
These are not the very best coated strings out there, but they are quite decent and when you factor in the price, they are amazing. I usually use Elixir strings if I go coated, but the price has gotten to the point where I resent having to pay nearly £15 for a set, so I was willing to give these a go.

They remind me of D'Addario EXP strings, with a nice tone, and a nice feel. Not as slippery as Elixirs, but nicer feeling than Cleartone. Considering they costs less than an average package of uncoated strings, if these last even a tiny bit longer than uncoated they will be well worth the money. I will be back for more - these are so cheap that if you buy a few at a time, even factoring in the postage to the UK, these are a bargain.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Voor de prijs super snaren
bahady30, 02.11.2017
Ik heb ongeveer 2 maanden geleden een Harley Benton CLD-41SE gekocht en deze snaren erbij gekocht. Vandaag de gecoate snaren vervangen die er vanaf de fabriek opzaten. Dat waren gecoate Daddario snaren en die klonken niet verkeerd. Normaal gebruik ik ongecoate Phosphor Bronze snaren van Daddario/Martin omdat ik deze wat warmer vindt klinken dan de gecoate variant.

Deze gecoate 012 set klinkt zeer verassend en voelen goed. Het geluid is wat meer treble en de lage tonen zijn aangenaam maar niet overheersend. zijdezachte hoge tonen, erg mooi ! Toch heb ik het gevoel dat de coating teveel dempt in in de midden frequenties in tegenstelling tot de ongecoate variant die meer open klinkt. Het voordeel van de gecoate snaren zit hem in de duurzaamheid en dan is voor deze prijs en voor thuisgebruik deze snaar gewoon een zeer goed produkt. In mijn optiek zeker vergelijkbaar met de gecoate Daddario snaren maar dan een stuk goedkoper. Goed produkt Thomann !
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
On par with EXP's but not as good as Elixiers
Ulven, 26.07.2017
For the money these are great.

However, one string tarnished (D string) very quickly. I'm not sure if its just an unlucky bad string or something that is common in these sets. having said that I've had two sets of D'addario EXP coated strings that are much more expensive and also had problems with one or two strings tarnishing quickly and in fact having corrosion specks on them as new.

I've not had this problem with Elixier strings which so far for me have been perfect on opening and lasted for a long time without corrosion or tarnish signs.

Still to the point on these strings, they're still pretty good for the money and would certainly buy them over D'addario EXP's.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
not much difference from higher priced strings
MarkLim, 20.12.2020
bang for your buck, and it seems to last long.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Do the job.
strumpick, 21.02.2018
Ive used these on my own guitars and with student groups and they are fine, they do what they say on the box and with the use of a string cleaner they actually last a while and the intonation stays in ok also. On that note i've found with acoustics that if you press down on the string pins once you've tuned and then re tune it seems to help that acoustic intonation issue when strings start to go. Maybe this is common knowledge but I've only just discovered this, zoo in a nutshell don't worry about intonation, buy these keep them clean and save yourself some beer tokens!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Retired Aerospace Specialist
John7217, 25.06.2019
Fitted on student's guitar. Nice and bright. Good value.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Decent enough
Ferguitar , 13.05.2019
Not the best guitar strings obviously, but they're fine to carry in case you break a string during a performance or rehearsal, or if you don't want to spend too much money on more expensive ones.

Highly recommended for music schools though!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
14.08.2016
Very good and value for money.I use these products for my guitar and would absolutely recomend for other musicians too.I needn't to pay i fortune so that's why i will prefer thomann again for my guitar!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Medium quality cheap strings
22.02.2016
Harley Benton makes some of the cheapest and finest instruments in that price range you can find. I tried some of the basses and they are really good for what they cost.
These strings make no exception: for less than 5 euros you get a good string set for your acoustic guitar; of course if you play guitar just to have fun as a second instrument, maybe you won't put much effort in choosing a new set of strings. That's what these are for.
They are not EXCELLENT strings and most likely a professional guitarist would go for something better suited for his needs and tastes, but for a back up they work just fine.
Recommended as back up strings or if you are just starting guitar and you want to have that new string feeling without spending too much.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Actually awesome strings
Bob&HisFriendVura, 26.08.2020
Expected way less quality for that price
I play them for like 2 month, still sounds good
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
First impressions - good!
Ian47, 23.05.2013
I haven't used these Harley Bentons before and I decided to try them on a Yamaha FG750S whose D'Addario 12-gauge phospher bronzes needed replacing. Although it wasn't possible to do a proper 'A/B' comparison I can't say that they sound any worse than the original strings. This guitar is quite bright, projects well and has loads of sustain and so far, after a couple of hours playing, I haven't noticed any differences - I do have quite a sensitive ear and I think I would have detected them by now if there had bee any. Obviously I can't comment on string life - but so far so good!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Great Strings and Amazing Value
GuitarGainz, 27.06.2019
Really long lasting strings that do exactly what the bigger dearer brands do at a fraction of the cost. Owning a few guitars and only playing some every now and then, I find these strings might last me 6-8 months as they don't rott away on the guitar just because its being played now and then. Great product
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
supergood
zzrec, 05.09.2019
the stars say everything ... I'm sure I'll order more ... actually ... hahaha ... I'm just going to order them again
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Good strings for a low price
15.05.2014
While they didn't really have the same feel as more expensive strings, they sounded really good and felt alright.

I was expecting pretty crappy strings to be honest and I was quite surprised when it turned out they were acually good.

If you're an audiophile, you might not appreciate them, but if you're looking for alright-sounding strings at a good price, try a pack of these.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Harley benton.. surprise.
Chris P. 386, 04.03.2014
These came bundled with the Epiphone acoustic I bought.
I wasn't expecting too much for the price..
But I was pleasantly surprised, a great brightness and consistency to the tone.
inexpensive / good quality.
Will I use them again... Yes I definitely will..
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Cheap strings
Keegan Guitar, 17.12.2019
reasonable quality strings for a small amount of euros
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Well worth the money
muzz, 23.06.2017
Again I bought these strings as I am sick and tired of expensive coated strings that are just pricing me out of the market. With a few a guitars it is just too expensive to do them all so I went for the HB.
Obviously not quite as good as their more expensive counter parts but I have got used to them and have no problem with them at all. Unless there is a special offer going I will be staying with these HB strings for the foreseeable future.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
to coat or not to coat
glsrw, 28.09.2017
I use these for my students, these are not better then elixer but come close and will save you lots of money!! great product
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Harley Benton Coated Phosphor 012 Anti Rust
Lights, 21.10.2017
Beautiful sound but hard for the fingers. Hardest I ever taste.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Quality build but sound not impressive
Mihail Alexandru, 05.06.2013
If you are looking for a pair of strings that sound good for recording for example, this is not ideal. try going up the price range for a more quality product.
Fair for home playing
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
My new favourites!
Stefan J. 10, 15.03.2014
I use these on my Hagstrom Mora CE and they are awesome!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Harley Benton Coated Phosphor 012 Anti Rust

4,90 €
Including VAT; Excluding 2,50 € shipping
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times

Dispatch expected by Thursday, 15.04.

Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-20
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
(2)
Recently Viewed
Blackmagic Design Atem Mini Extreme

Blackmagic Design Atem Mini Extreme; video mixer; has all the features of the ATEM Mini Pro, plus an additional 8 HDMI inputs, 2 separate HDMI outputs, 2 USB ports and a headphone jack; In addition, this model has 4 chromakeys,...

(9)
Recently Viewed
Audient iD4 MKII

USB-C Audio Interface 24 bit / 44.1 - 96 kHz, ADC dynamic range: 121 dB, DAC dynamic range: 126 dB, @Class A Audient console microphone preamplifier, Mic Gain 58 dB,

Recently Viewed
Zoom G6

Zoom G6; Multi Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar; Pedal board with 6 stomp switches and expression/volume pedal; Amp modeling; 4,3" color LCD touch-screen interface; 240 Patches; 100 Presets; Chain up to 7 effects + amp simulation; IR load function for...

(1)
Recently Viewed
iZotope Spire Studio 2nd Generation

iZotope Spire Studio 2nd Generation; mobile recording studio with lithium-ion battery (up to 4 hours runtime); 2 tracks can be recorded simultaneously; up to 8 tracks per project can be played back; recording format: 24-bit / 48 kHz; up to...

(1)
Recently Viewed
Hercules DJ Control Inpulse 500 Gold LE

Hercules DJ Control Inpulse 500 Gold LE; Limited edition with golden highlights; limited to 1000 pieces worldwide; number engraved on console; All-in-one-DJ-Controller; controls per desk: 1x filter-control, 3 x equalizer-control, 1 x Gain control, 1 x volume control, 1 x...

Recently Viewed
Meinl TMDDGS Didgeridoo Stand

Meinl Didgeridoo Stand, TMDDGS, material: aluminum, two leg version, soft padding with protective rubber straps, hight, angle and depth adjustable

(1)
Recently Viewed
K&M 107 Music Stand Black Set

K&M 107 Music Stand Black Set, K&M Music Stand 10700-000-55 black incl. K&M 10711 Carrying bag, Total height max.ca.1.680mm, Made of steel, Music desk dimensions 485 x 240 x 42 mm, Desk angle fully adjustable, Music desk traditionally foldable, 3-piece...

(1)
Recently Viewed
LP Ridge Rider Cowbell Tommy Lee

LP 009TL Ridge Rider Tommy Lee Signature Cowbell, sitze: 8", patented vise clamp fits fits 3/8" to 1/2"diameter rods, bolted jenior protector protects cowbell and dampens the sound, made in USA,

(2)
Recently Viewed
Universal Audio UAFX Astra Modulation Machine

Enforcement Pedal Stereo modulation, With chorus, flanger and tremolo effects, True or Buffered Bypass, Preset storable, Additional effects downloadable, Live / Preset mode, Dual processor UAFX Engine, 2 Inputs: 6.3 mm pawl (input 2 for stereo connection), 2 Outputs:...

Recently Viewed
Zoom PodTrak P4

Podcasting Recorder Four microphone inputs (XLR, P48V phantom power switchable), Four headphone outputs with individual volume controls (3.5mm stereo jack), Gain control and mute button per input, Mix minus function for automatic feedback suppression for incoming calls, Connection of...

Recently Viewed
Blackmagic Design Pocket Cinema Camera Pro EVF

Blackmagic Design Pocket Cinema Camera Pro EVF; Viewfinder fits Pocket Cinema Camera 6K Pro; Viewfinder with internal proximity sensor, 4-piece glass diopter, built-in status info display and digital test chart; Video and power connections: via Pocket Cinema Camera 6K Pro...

Recently Viewed
Meinl Snarecraft Cajon 100 Green B.

Meinl Snarecraft Cajon 100 Green Burst, model: SC100GRB, special edition, body and front plate made of birch, colour: green burst, two integrated snare strainers, rounded corners for better playability, measures (H x B x T) in cms: 50 x 30...

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.