Harley Benton Coated Electric Guitar 010

406 Customer Ratings
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
4.1 /5
  • sound
  • quality
Total
sound
quality
Not very good...
onet, 05.06.2019
I've never used coated strings before so I cannot compare these to the more renowned brands such as Elixirs, but one thing's for sure: these strings sound completely different than your ordinary nickel-plated strings.
Quality-wise the strings are fine, none of them snapped during use, they felt quite normal to play and they did stay rust-free for a long time, as you'd expect.
Now about their sound. The very moment I strung up my guitar and hit the first chord, I was quite shocked, the strings sounded like the oldest and most heavily used nickel plated strings that I've played. Imagine a normal set of strings that was played for months, very dull and lacking any clarity, that's the kind of sound I got with these.
Now, some people might enjoy the sound, I however certainly don't.
For the money it was worth the try though, no big loss. If you're really on a budget, I recommend the standard nickel-plated strings from HB, they're dirt cheap and certainly more usable.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Bargain price for strings
make1968, 03.01.2020
I tried these strings with a Les Paul type guitar. Compared to the other strings I've used by other brands, these sounded a little dull, but apart from that they are very durable. As the price is about the lowest I can find, and thats the best part of the set, I still rate these good strings for electric guitar. But personally I will buy more expensive strings in the future - in order to get the desired clear sound.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Great value
Vyrd, 07.06.2021
These strings are overall great.
They're rusting much slower than the D'Addario strings I was using previously and I can't hear any difference in sound.
I've had one D string which was a bit unevenly wound but it didn't seem to affect the tone at all.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
why not get them
seanwh, 10.05.2021
decent quality and very cheap, brilliant for having them as spares aswell, they sound good...not amazing but i wasnt expecting them to be, pretty much every order i make from here i intend to put a set of the 10's and 11's because it really doesn't make a difference to my order and its good to have some reliable good sounding strings on hand that i can place in my guitar toolbox, my spare parts box, and any guitar cases so no matter what, these are there ready to save the day, id recommend anyone get a couple of each to try out and keep on hand.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
They sound great
Stefan Lucian, 08.11.2020
Was using Elixirs up until now.

Now i'll be using these going forward.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Deep
15.09.2014
These strings are a cheap alternative and are best suited to beginners. These strings are nothing compared to Ernie Ball (my favourite) but they do sound quite good.
The coated strings allow me to move my fingers across the fret board with ease and also reduce the pressure exerted on my fingers which then allows me to play for longer.
The only problem with these strings is the sound. It isn't top quality and does make the guitar sound a little tinny...however not as tinny as other brands i have tried that cost more money than these.

In short, these strings are very effective and do wow a group of people. They do have clarity, but you can hear a bit of tinniness .
I would recommend these to beginners any day.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
I don't really like the feel...
Blandrys, 17.06.2019
First time trying the HB coated strings and unfortunately I don't like them very much. Primarily the coating is very prominent on the lighter strings and they feel very different from normal, un-coated strings when playing. No doubt they will stay rust free longer than regular strings but I think I'd rather try Nanowebs next time if I want something longer lasting.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Suprisingly good!
NicJamesGuitarist, 13.10.2020
Coated strings at this price?? I thought they muct be rubbish, but no! They're fab! They sound nice, the hold their tuning and they intonate well. Great stuff!
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Great if you run them in
Mr Greggles, 12.10.2018
I thought I would try these because they are coated strings for the price of uncoated. I bought 9s first but have since bought 10s as well.
I was a bit disappointed to start with, they are noticeably less bright than uncoated strings - with Elixirs I struggle to hear the difference (with my gear and my old ears). The worst thing was they feel odd, a little rough to the touch when sliding up and down the fretboard. I nearly took them off again.
Due to circumstances (I couldn't be arsed to change them) I persisted and found that, once worn in, they develop a really good feel - as good as Elixirs. I've continued to use them and they are lasting really well. I've never had any problems with the 10s though I did break a 9 but that was my fault.
If you are prepared to spend a little time running them in and don't want the very brightest tone these strings will repay you with a great experience and a long life at an amazing price.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
They have done it again
Tambet, 18.01.2021
Man... Hod does Harley Benton manage to offer such quality for so reasonable price. Coated strings under 4€.

I cant comment on sound yet - they are waiting for next string change and then I will update my review.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
A greaat set of strings
mRBRuman, 01.12.2020
I am a person with very sweaty hands, so coated strings are a must for me. Not coated ones last me a week and are completely black in a month. I have been using Elixirs for many years, but i was looking for a budget option and honestly, these are fine. They are not as good as Elixirs but they last me 3 months without any corrosion. They feel fine to play, a bit more smooth than standart non coated ones, but not as smooth as Elixirs.
To cut it short : 75% performance of Elixirs for 30% of the price
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
I like them
Bullyweeman, 01.03.2018
I wasn't altogether sure about these, before I bought them. I wanted to try coated strings, but didn't want to pay £15 a set. So, I took a punt on some of these, and some for my acoustic. So far, they seem pretty good. They feel alright, and they sound alright. I don't change strings as often as some people do, so I could probably stand to pay a bit more, but I just can't bring myself to spend all that.. The packaging is pretty cool, too..
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Good for this amount of money
09.08.2016
I got these strings in order to use in my old electric guitar however the quality is not as bad as you can imagine. I mean of course it is not wise to expect to get the same thing which costs 12¤ but it is not rubbish as the other couple of euro strings. I personally believe the value of the strings are more than their price. If you also like the sound would you prefer 3 sets of these or 1 good one, something that need to find out :)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
The best "budget" coated strings
MB2 , 18.10.2019
I can say there is no significant difference between theese and any other "high end" coated strings.
Sound great-price even better!
Quality and durabiliti-wise I will be able to say more after using them a while.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Wow for the price is prize.
DarkEj, 01.03.2021
I was expected worse quality
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Good Value For Money
La Motte, 25.07.2020
I've used these strings for some time now, live and in the studio, and am still amazed at the quality and tone considering the low price. Because they are coated they are long lasting. I have spent a fortune in the past on "name" coated brands but if you understand that you are not buying top of the range, these strings are very good value, with not a huge amount of difference in tone...I just love them.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Great coated strings at an amazing price
John8610, 28.10.2015
I added some sets of these on to an order. I like Elixer Polywebs on some of my guitars, and find them to be very tonal and long lasting. When I saw these HB Strings at the low prices, I wasn't expecting them to measure up to the Elixer strings. Needless to say, I was very pleasantly surprised. The HB Coated Strings are very high quality. They sound great, and last longer than non coated strings. A lot of players I know don't care for coated strings. Some say they aren't as chimey on the treble side and they sound dead on the bass side. That's simply not the case based on what I hear when I play them. These sound every bit as good as my favorite non coated strings. The big advantage to the coated strings is simple. They last longer. Less time changing strings and more time playing. These HB Coated strings hold tune real well after being stretched a few times too. If you're on the fence, I would not hesitate to try a few sets. I am happy to have both Elixers and HB's in my string drawer.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Amazing value for money
greengauge, 07.05.2019
These strings are excellent. I usually use Elixir Optiwebs, which definitely still have the edge for me from a feel and sound point of view, but I keep a couple of sets of these in my gig bag in case something goes wrong at a gig. The first set I had I couldn't even remember which guitar I'd put theme on because they were such a good alternative. They seem to last quite a long time too, I probably got about 10 heavy-usage gigs out of them. I'd like to see a few more gauge options before I could give them a 5 star review (some 11's and also baritone would be great!)
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Great strings for guitars you don't play all that often!
Tim2790, 14.11.2014
I bought these to put on a couple of guitars that I don't play all that much. I thought they would be adequate strings for this purpose, and being coated, that they would last well. I have been pleasantly surprised by these strings. They were very cheap (less than most well known brands' uncoated strings), and they sound great.

The only negative was that out of the packet they had a slightly sticky feel to them - not ideal obviously - but after a few hours of playing this disappeared and now they feel like any other set of strings. So far, after about 4 months, they still sound new and fresh, so the coating seems to be effective.

I would not put these on a guitar I was about to gig with because of that initial weird slightly sticky feel they have, but I have rated them as good because I think for the money they are excellent value, and I will buy them again for guitars that tend to sit around my studio without getting very high usage.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Seem to last really well.
Colin1501, 15.01.2015
Put these on main guitar guitar a couple of months ago and they still seem to have maintained their zing. They seem a bit weird in quality before you put them on the guitar, it's hard to describe, they don't lie normally. It's the first time I've used coated strings and the feeling takes a wee bit of getting used to. Less string noise so they would be good for recording
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Leftybest, 18.02.2018
A great sounding economy string
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Good sound, super long lasting
Martin John 17, 17.11.2019
Really good guitar strings for the money. As they're coated they last for a lot longer, and sound new for a lot longer as well.

These are now the main strings I use on my guitars, and as they're so much cheaper than their equivalant competitiors you can afford to change your strings more often before recording or a big gig.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Good strings for a good price
ryo200024, 10.05.2017
Where else can you get coated strings for 3.90 Euros? I bought these as an experiment instead of the usual ernie ball and they work great unlike some acoustic harley benton strings i bought. I really see no flaw with these strings and the tone does not really differ much from my old ones (due to pickup). For the price, this is definitely a string set i would recommend.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Good
Tim132, 06.07.2015
But very good for the price. These coated string are comparable to the big name brands for a fraction of the cost.
I am not a huge buyer of coated strings because of the initial expense. If I didn't have to pay huge shipping expenses for shipping to the states I would buy these often. Do yourself a favor and try these...put them on an existing order.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report
Total
sound
quality
Guitar strings best kept secret!
Macs 66, 18.12.2018
I used the acoustic version of these and I'm quite happy to buy the electric version now. Easily on a par with the more expensive direct brand-new alternatives. Will buy these for as long as I play, or that they're available.
Helpful · Not helpful · Report
Report rating…

Do you believe this rating to be inaccurate or unacceptable for some reason?

Send report

Harley Benton Coated Electric Guitar 010

3,90 €
Including VAT; Excluding 2,50 € shipping
Available immediately
Available immediately

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

Standard Delivery Times
Share This Product
Your Contacts
Phone: +49-9546-9223-20
FAX: +49-9546-9223-24
Recently Viewed
iZotope Community Appreciation Bundle

iZotope Community Appreciation Bundle (ESD); plug-in bundle; contains 11 essential tools for audio editing and creative music production; consists of Nectar Elements, Neutron Elements, Ozone Elements, RX Elements, BreakTweaker, Stutter Edit 2, Iris 2, Trash 2 as well as Exponential…

3
(3)
Recently Viewed
DSM & Humboldt Simplifier DLX Amp/Cab Sim

DSM & Humboldt Simplifier Deluxe Amp/Cab Simulator; Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar; Pre-Amp, Power-Amp and Cab-Simulator; all Analog 0 Watt Dual Channel Amp, with Cab Simulator, multistage Reverb, and versatile connectivity options; All, in an extremely small format; 2 Studio…

2
(2)
Recently Viewed
Quilter Superblock US

Quilter Superblock US, Solid State Pedalboard Amplifier for Electric Guitar; Three Classic US Amplifier voicings: 60 Tweed, 62 Blonde & 65 Black; comparable power to a 25-Watt Tube Amp when powered by the supplied PS-24 Power Supply or 1 Watt…

Recently Viewed
Casio CT-S1RD

Casio CT-S1RD Keyboard with Piano-Look - 61 touch-responsive keys, 64-note polyphony, AiX Sound Source, 61 sounds, Reverb, Chorus, Delay, DSP, Master EQ, Volume Sync EQ, connection to free Chordana Play For Keyboard App, Midi, transpose, metronome, midi record, headphone/line stereo…

Recently Viewed
Polyend Tracker AE Legowelt

Polyend Tracker AE Legowelt; Limited Artist Edition; individual design; incl. orig. project files and sample packs;, Stand Alone Hardware Tracker; Step Sequencer & Song Arranger; Sampler (Forward, 1 Shot, Backward, Ping-Pong); Granular Synthesizer; Wavetable Synthesizer (compatible with Ableton Wave and…

Recently Viewed
RAV Vast D Major red

RAV Vast2 D Major red edition, D3/ G3, A3, B3, C#4, D4, E4, F#4, A4, Handpans-inspired steel tongue instrument, 2mm Steel, diameter 51cm, hight 17cm, weight 5,9kg, incl. bag

Recently Viewed
Behringer MIC300 Tube Ultragain

Behringer MIC300 Tube Ultragain; 1-channel tube preamp for Mic and Instrument; hand-selected 12AX7 tube; built-in limiter; 20dB pad; phase reverse switch; +48V phantom power; gain and output volume controls; LED meter; connections: XLR Mic-Input, Instrument-Input 6.3 mm jack balanced, XLR…

Recently Viewed
Mojotone T Standard Solderless Harness

Mojotone T Standard Solderless Harness; Z4T3W730; Solderless Pre-Wired Electronics Replacement Kit for T-Style Electric Guitar; pre-wired Harness with highest quality components that offers a vast improvement over stock electronics; Push-in solderless wire connection for quick installation and easy pickup swaps;…

1
(1)
Recently Viewed
Line6 HX Stomp XL

Line 6 HX Stomp XL; Multi Effects Pedal for Electric Guitar; Exceptional sound quality with 123 dB dynamic range, features the same SHARC DSP chip and HX models as the Helix, eight capacitive touch footswitches with colour-coded LED rings, 300+…

Recently Viewed
Casio CT-S1WE

Casio CT-S1WE Keyboard with Piano-Look - 61 touch-responsive keys, 64-note polyphony, AiX Sound Source, 61 sounds, Reverb, Chorus, Delay, DSP, Master EQ, Volume Sync EQ, connection to free Chordana Play For Keyboard App, Midi, transpose, metronome, midi record, headphone/line stereo…

Recently Viewed
RAV Vast B/H Kurd red

RAV Vast2 B Kurd red edition, B2/ F#3, G3, A3, B3, C#4, D4, E4, F#4, A4, Handpans-inspired steel tongue instrument, 2mm Steel, diameter 51cm, hight 17cm, weight 5,9kg, incl. bag

Recently Viewed
Quilter Superblock UK

Quilter Superblock UK, Solid State Pedalboard Amplifier for Electric Guitar; Three Classic UK Amplifier voicings: JMP, AC Normal, and AC Top Boost; comparable power to a 25-Watt Tube Amp when powered by the supplied PS-24 Power Supply or 1 Watt…

Give Feedback
Feedback Found an error or want to give us feedback about this page?

We're looking forward to hearing from you and aim to solve any problems as soon as we can.